Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No. 11,414,543. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to thermoplastic polyurethanes, process for preparing shaped articles, and articles produced therein wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane comprises at least the following components (a) a polyisocyanate, (b) at least one chain extender, and (c) a polyol mixture including a polyester polyol containing an aromatic block and another polyol component. The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. The patent claims include mechanical properties and more specific type of polyester polyol containing aromatic groups. Thus the invention of claims 1-21 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 1-20. Since application claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-21 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct.
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,077,628. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both sets of claims are directed to thermoplastic polyurethanes, process for preparing shaped articles, and articles produced therein wherein the thermoplastic polyurethane comprises at least the following components (a) a polyisocyanate, (b) at least one chain extender, and (c) a polyol mixture including a polyester polyol containing an aromatic block and another polyol component. The difference between the application claims and the patent claims lies in the fact that the patent claim includes many more elements and is thus much more specific. The patent claims include mechanical properties and more specific type of polyester polyol containing aromatic groups. Thus the invention of claims 1-14 of the patent is in effect a “species” of the “generic” invention of the application claims 1-20. Since application claims 1-20 are anticipated by claims 1-14 of the patent, they are not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10, 12, and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0322794 to Richter et al.
As to claims 1-2, 5-6, and 10, Richter discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane comprising at least one polyisocyanate composition, at least one chain extender, and at least one polyol composition comprising a polyol (P1) which has a molecular weight of from 1500 to 2500 and has at least one aromatic polyester block (B1) and at least one other polyol selected from aliphatic polyester polyols, polyether polyols or polycarbonate alcohols (Claim 1, 24, Examples, 0042-0048) wherein the ratio of aromatic block polyester polyol to the additional polyol is 5:1 to 1:5 (0048).
As to claims 3-4, Richter discloses polyethylene terephthalate blocks within the polyester polyol (Synthesis example 4).
As to claims 7-9, Richter discloses 4,4-diphenylmethane diisocyanate or aliphatic diisocyanates selected from hexamethylene diisocyanate or 4,4-methylenedicyclohexyl diisocyanate (0055).
As to claim 12, Richter discloses hardness values of 87 or 89 Shore A (Table 3).
As to claims 15-17, Richter discloses a process for preparing a shaped body comprising preparing the thermoplastic polyurethane and producing a shaped body from the thermoplastic polyurethane by extrusion, injection molding, or sintering methods (0138-0141).
Claims 1-10, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0359823 to Tomovic et al.
As to claims 1-2, 5-6, and 10, Tomovic discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane comprising at least one polyisocyanate composition, at least one chain extender, and at least one polyol composition comprising a polyol (P1) which has a molecular weight of from 1500 to 2500 and has at least one aromatic polyester block (B1) and at least one other polyol selected from aliphatic polyester polyols, polyether polyols or polycarbonate alcohols (Claim 1, 9, Examples, 0071-0076) wherein the ratio of aromatic block polyester polyol to the additional polyol is 5:1 to 1:5 (0051).
As to claims 3-4, Tomovic discloses polyethylene terephthalate blocks within the polyester polyol (Synthesis example 4).
As to claims 7-9, Tomovic discloses 4,4-diphenylmethane diisocyanate or aliphatic diisocyanates selected 4,4-methylenedicyclohexyl diisocyanate (0166-0167).
As to claims 15-17, Tomovic discloses a process for preparing a shaped body comprising preparing the thermoplastic polyurethane and producing a shaped body from the thermoplastic polyurethane by extrusion, injection molding, or sintering methods (Claims 12-13).
As to claim 20, Tomovic discloses applications include phone parts or plugs (0085-0086).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0322794 to Richter et al.
As to claims 11 and 13-14, Richter discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane comprising at least one polyisocyanate composition, at least one chain extender, and at least one polyol composition comprising a polyol (P1) which has a molecular weight of from 1500 to 2500 and has at least one aromatic polyester block (B1) and at least one other polyol selected from aliphatic polyester polyols, polyether polyols or polycarbonate alcohols (Claim 1, 24, Examples, 0042-0048) wherein the ratio of aromatic block polyester polyol to the additional polyol is 5:1 to 1:5 (0048). Richter discloses a transparent TPU (0031).
With regard to the transmittance and staining properties, the Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed ingredients including TPUs comprising the reaction product of aromatic containing polyester polyols, chain extender, and diisocyanates. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties would implicitly be achieved by a composite with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicants’ position; and (2) it would the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Claims 11 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0359823 to Tomovic et al.
As to claims 11 and 13-14, Tomovic discloses a transparent thermoplastic polyurethane comprising at least one polyisocyanate composition, at least one chain extender, and at least one polyol composition comprising a polyol (P1) which has a molecular weight of from 1500 to 2500 and has at least one aromatic polyester block (B1) and at least one other polyol selected from aliphatic polyester polyols, polyether polyols or polycarbonate alcohols (Claim 1, 9, Examples, 0071-0076) wherein the ratio of aromatic block polyester polyol to the additional polyol is 5:1 to 1:5 (0051).
With regard to the transmittance and staining properties, the Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed ingredients including TPUs comprising the reaction product of aromatic containing polyester polyols, chain extender, and diisocyanates. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties would implicitly be achieved by a composite with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants’ position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicants’ position; and (2) it would the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Pub. No. 2019/0322794 to Richter et al. in view of CN-112724364 to Li et al.
As to claims 18-20, Richter discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane comprising at least one polyisocyanate composition, at least one chain extender, and at least one polyol composition comprising a polyol (P1) which has a molecular weight of from 1500 to 2500 and has at least one aromatic polyester block (B1) and at least one other polyol selected from aliphatic polyester polyols, polyether polyols or polycarbonate alcohols (Claim 1, 24, Examples, 0042-0048) wherein the ratio of aromatic block polyester polyol to the additional polyol is 5:1 to 1:5 (0048). Richter discloses a transparent TPU (0031). Richter discloses many application end uses of the TPU, however, Richter does not expressly disclose the use as a mobile phone cover.
However, within the same field of endeavor, Li discloses a thermoplastic polyurethane with hardness values of 75-85 Shore A (same Richter) that can be used as phone protective cases or wristbands (Abstract/Introduction). It is maintained that it would have been obvious to one have ordinary skill in the art to have produced the claimed mobile phone cover or wristbands from the TPU of Richter, per the teachings of Li et al as the molded article which is produced from patentees’ process with the reasonable expectation of success. This is because teaching of “desired final products” implicity suggest the production of any conventional product, inclusive of mobile phone covers as presently claimed, to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL L LEONARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763