DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
In Claim 1, “a marking step” (line 2); and “an insulating layer forming step” (line 3).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
In this case, each of the steps recite sufficient acts to entirely perform the recited function, e.g. “forming a mark…support board” (line 2), and “forming an insulating layer…with the mark” (lines 3-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 10, the phrase of “where the mark is formed” (line 4) implies that the mark is formed, which contradicts the phrase of “before the marking step” (line 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 through 4, 6, 7, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Japanese Patent Publication, JP 2011-171658 (hereinafter “JP’658”)1.
Claim 1: JP’658 discloses a method for producing a wiring circuit board assembly sheet (e.g. Fig. 1B) comprising:
a marking step of forming a mark (e.g. 28) made of a recessed portion (hole) in a metal support board (e.g. 11), and
after the marking step, an insulating layer forming step of forming an insulating layer (e.g. 14A, 14B) on one surface in a thickness direction of the metal support board formed with the mark (e.g. Fig. 3B, ¶ [0027]).
Claim 2: JP’658 discloses the method for producing a wiring circuit board assembly sheet according to claim 1, wherein the mark includes a trace mark (e.g. hole 28 with conductive trace 43, ¶ [0073]).
Claim 3: JP’658 discloses the method for producing a wiring circuit board assembly sheet according to claim 1, wherein the mark includes an alignment mark (e.g. hole 28).
Claim 4: JP’658 discloses the method for producing a wiring circuit board assembly sheet according to claim 2, wherein the mark includes an alignment mark (e.g. another hole 28, Fig. 2A, ¶ [0065]).
Claims 6 and 7: JP’658 discloses the method for producing a wiring circuit board assembly sheet according to claims 2, 4, and 3, wherein in the insulating layer forming step, the insulating layer is aligned with the alignment mark as a reference.
Claim 9: JP’658 discloses the method for producing a wiring circuit board assembly sheet according to claim 1, wherein the recessed portion is formed by a laser (e.g. ¶ [0036]).
Claim 10: JP’658, as best understood, discloses the method for producing a wiring circuit board assembly sheet according to claim 1, wherein before the marking step [before 28 is formed as 11 is rolled], a region where the mark is formed and its periphery are subjected to a surface smoothing treatment (e.g. unrolling 11 to a flat smooth structure in Figs. 2A, 2B, ¶ [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP’658 in view of U.S. Publication 2013/0232784 to Hida et al (hereinafter “Hida”).
JP’658 discloses the claimed manufacturing method as relied upon above, further including that JP’658 meets the limitations of Claim 8 for the same reasons in Claims 6 or 7. JP’658 further teaches forming a trace mark (one hole 28, Fig. 2A) and an alignment mark (another hole 28, in Fig. 2A). JP’658 does not teach that the trace mark and the alignment mark are formed simultaneously.
Hida discloses a metal support board (e.g. 53, Fig. 5) in producing a circuit board assembly, where a trace mark (e.g. left Pa, Fig. 6) and an alignment mark (e.g. right Pa, Fig. 6) are formed simultaneously using a mask and etching (e.g. ¶¶ [0060], [0061]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the trace and alignment marks of JP’658 simultaneously, as taught by the method of Hida, to produce a circuit board assembly faster, as opposed to forming each mark individually, one at a time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Japanese Patent Publication, JP 2019-140286, discloses a method of producing a circuit board assembly including a marking step of forming a mark (e.g. 14, Fig. 3, or 24, Fig. 5) in a metal support board (e.g. 22, see SOLUTION).
b) Non-Patent Literature IEEE Publication to Kim et al, entitled "A Simple Low-Cost Electric-Contact-Assisted Alignment Method for Die Stacking on an Interposer or a Printed Circuit Board", discloses a method of producing a circuit board assembly sheet using marks for alignment reference (e.g. Fig. 1, see entire document).
/A. DEXTER TUGBANG/ Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3729
1 The interpretation of JP’658 was taken from a Machine Translation provided by the examiner, a copy of which is attached herein.