DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 11/15/23 has been considered and placed of record. The initialed copy is attached herewith.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 12-14, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP document JP2012105375A (see attached machine translation).
Re claim 1, the document discloses a connection device for connecting an electric vehicle for a charging process (para 8; “electric vehicle charging device module”) having, inter alia, at least one receiving profile (para 25; fig 1; “gatepost bodies 1”) open at one side for receiving at least one module (para 37; “outlet module 10”), wherein the at least one module 10 includes a housing 10 having a first side configured to form part of an outer surface of the connection device when received by the receiving profile (“gatepost bodies 1”). See figure 1.
Re claim 2, the document further discloses the at least one module 10 has a plug-in connector (“power cable”) on at least one additional side of the housing 10 to electrically contact an adjacent module 100 inserted into the receiving profile 1 the adjacent module including a housing 101 having a first side and a plug-in connector (“power cable”) on at least one additional side. See figure 1; para 101.
Re claim 12, the document further discloses the plug-in connector having contacts for voltage/current and data signals. See para 24, 34-35.
Re claim 13, the document further discloses the receiving profile 1 has a u- or c-shape. See figure 1.
Re claim 14, the document further discloses at least one of the modules 10 is concealably screwed into the receiving profile 1. See para 30.
Re claim 16, the document further discloses a wall-mounted profile 1. See para 23.
Re claim 17, the document further discloses the module has a plug socket, an operating unit or a power meter. See para 34-36.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP document JP2012105375A (see attached machine translation).
Re claims 3-6, the document is silent on the specific orientation of different plug-in connectors. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have placed the connectors in most efficient manner within a set of specifications since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claims 7 and 8, the document is silent on the specific path of the two independent current paths. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have routed the current in the specific claimed paths since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Re claim 9, the document is silent on having the connector configured in the housing with lateral play. Official notice is taken of the fact that having installed items with lateral play is to allow movement, adjustment and longevity to take into account temperature and humidity fluctuation. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have the connectors configured tin the housing with lateral play to prevent wear-and-tear due to, for example, temperature or humidity to vibration.
Re claims 10 and 11, the document is silent on the specific configuration of the connector (i.e. plug-in with circumferential edge and grove. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fabricated the connector as claimed since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known materiale on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Re claim 15, the document discloses only one receiving profile 1. The document does not disclose two profiles connected back-to-back with respective door opened in opposite direction. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have multiple chargers with claimed profiles connected in the claimed manner since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art (i.e. two same profiles 1 connected back-to-back).
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087