Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clement et al. (DE 202018006588 U1) in view of Bauer (US 20120135259 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Clement teaches a method for manufacturing paper printable with an inkjet printer and/or analog printing for use as a decor paper in a laminate panel (Paragraph [0001] describes a method for manufacturing an ink jet printable paper or sheet to use as "decorative paper or sheet" for manufactured decorative panels.), the method comprising:
providing a paper layer (Paragraph [0013] describes the first step of the method is to provide a paper layer.);
coating at least one side of the paper layer with an ink receiver coating (Paragraph [0013] describes the second step of the method to be coating at least one side of the paper layer with an inkjet ink-receiving coating.);
wherein the ink receiver coating includes a binder (Paragraph [0013] describes how the inkjet ink-receiving coating in the second step comprises a binder.) and the binder is polyvinyl alcohol (Paragraph [0025] describes how polyvinyl alcohols are used at least or mainly for the binder in the inkjet ink-receiving coating.);
providing the paper layer with an ink adhesion promoter in the ink receiver coating (Paragraph [0023] describes an adhesion promoter, such as amino-organo-silanes, and /or other silanes are included and applied in the method.);
Clement fails to teach wherein the ink adhesion promoter includes urea-based promoter, polyurethane-based promoter, casein-based promoter, styrene-based promoter, polyester-based promoter, alkyd- based promoter, ketone-based promoter, melamine-based promoter, silicone-based promoter, cellulose-based promoter, gum-based promoter, acrylic-based promoter or a mixture or a copolymer thereof.
However, Bauer teaches wherein the ink adhesion promoter includes urea-based promoter, polyurethane-based promoter, casein-based promoter, styrene-based promoter, polyester-based promoter, alkyd- based promoter, ketone-based promoter, melamine-based promoter, silicone-based promoter, cellulose-based promoter, gum-based promoter, acrylic-based promoter or a mixture or a copolymer thereof (Paragraph [0033] describes an adhesion promoter where “… primers on a polyurethane basis, polyester basis or also epoxy resin basis, known per se, can be used as…” an adhesion promoter.).
Clement and Bauer are considered analogous to the art because they are in the same field involving a method for an inkjet printer for printable medium. Therefore, it would be obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Clement to also apply wherein the ink adhesion promoter includes urea-based promoter, polyurethane-based promoter, casein-based promoter, styrene-based promoter, polyester-based promoter, alkyd- based promoter, ketone-based promoter, melamine-based promoter, silicone-based promoter, cellulose-based promoter, gum-based promoter, acrylic-based promoter or a mixture or a copolymer thereof taught by Bauer. This would have been done for the purpose of promoting the adhesion of the paper medium and the dyeing liquid when the dyeing liquid is applied (Bauer, paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Clement and Bauer teaches the method according to claim 1, Clement further discloses wherein the ink adhesion promoter is provided in an amount above 0.2 g/sqm (Paragraph [0029] describes how the "particle surface modifying agents or adhesion promoters" ranged between 0.05 - 5 g/sqm).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Clement and Bauer teaches the method according to claim 1, Clement further discloses wherein the ink receiver coating comprises a pigment (Paragraph [0013] describes how the inkjet ink-receiving coating in the second step comprises at least a pigment.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Clement and Bauer teaches the method according to claim 5, Clement further discloses wherein the pigment comprises silica (Paragraph [0023]-[0024] describe how silica particles are used at least or mainly for the pigment of the inkjet ink-receiving coating and gives several examples.).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Clement and Bauer teaches a printable paper obtained according to the method of claim 1 (Clement, paragraph [0001] and [0062] describe how the manufacturing method makes ink jet printable paper or sheets obtained for manufacturing decorative panels.).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.D.Q./Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/RICARDO I MAGALLANES/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853