CTNF 18/561,234 CTNF 78175 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Response to Arguments Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-20, 22, 25-27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mei et al. (Pub. No. 20230143815) in view of Raghavan et al. (20200229161) . - With respect to claims 1, 12, Mei teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory (e.g. the Fig. 7-8 show the UEs), the one or more processors configured to: receive a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) that indicates one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states to be activated (e.g. the par. 17 discloses the MAC CE that indicate TCI state “The MAC CE can activate and update the candidate beam by activating the transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated by a codepoint, and the TRP can choose one or some TCI state(s) in the TCI field by configuring a codepoint from the MAC CE and use the reference signal indicated in the codepoint as the transmitting beam”); receive one or more channel measurement resources (CMRs) that correspond to the one or more TCI states (e.g. Fig. 4-5 shows the CMRs receives from base station); transmit a channel state information (CSI) report for a first CMR of the one or more CMRs (see par. 41 discloses the CSI reports for CMR; and fir. 5 shows the CSI report for CMR); and Mei teaches beam changing, but fail to teach switch to a beam that is quasi-co-located (QCLed) with a first TCI state, of the one or more TCI states, that corresponds to the first CMR, independent of receiving downlink control information (DCI) that indicates switching to the first TCI state. Raghavan discloses the beam switching that is QCL with TCI state (e.g. par. 9-16 discloses “a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state is used to establish the quasi co-location (QCL) connection between the target reference signals (RS) and source RS”; “TCI state change and corresponding beam switch could be initiated via MAC CE or DCI. When TCI for PDSCH is indicated by DCI, the TCI state or beam switch can be configured via DCI. DCI based TCI state switch is applicable to PDSCH. When PDSCH follows the TCI state of PDCCH, for a beam switch the TCI state of PDCCH must first be initiated via MAC CE. Hence, for PDCCH MAC CE based TCI state switch would be applicable”) and independent of receiving downlink control information (DCI) that indicates switching to the first TCI state (see par. 13 discloses “TCI state change and corresponding beam switch could be initiated via MAC CE or DCI. When TCI for PDSCH is indicated by DCI, the TCI state or beam switch can be configured via DCI. DCI based TCI state switch is applicable to PDSCH. When PDSCH follows the TCI state of PDCCH, for a beam switch the TCI state of PDCCH must first be initiated via MAC CE. Hence, for PDCCH MAC CE based TCI state switch would be applicable.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the step of switching beam into Mei’s invention for beam management in the communication based on the report. - With respect to claims 2, 11, 13, 26, Mei teaches the CSI report includes a second CMR that corresponds to a second TCI state, and wherein the first CMR is first in order in the CSI report between the first CMR and the second CMR (e.g. Fig. 4 shows the multiple CMR from base station). - With respect to claims 3, 14, Mei teaches the first TCI state is associated with an uplink channel (e.g. the CSI report from UE to base station discloses in par. 18). - With respect to claims 4, 15, Mei teaches wherein the second TCI state is associated with a downlink channel (e.g. par. 5 discloses the TCI with PDCCH). - With respect to claims 5, 16, Mei teaches the first TCI state is associated with a downlink channel (e.g. par. 5 discloses the TCI with PDCCH). - With respect to claims 6, 17, Mei teaches the second TCI state is associated with an uplink channel (it is inherently that the CSI report from UE to base station discloses in par. 18). - With respect to claims 7, 18, Mei teaches the first TCI state is a unified TCI state, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine that the first TCI state is associated with an uplink channel or a downlink channel based at least in part on the unified TCI state (e.g. the par. 5 discloses “The TCI codepoint information is indicated in a TCI field in a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the reference signal measurement information includes a TCI codepoint index”). - With respect to claims 8, Mei teaches the one or more processors are configured to determine power control parameters based at least in part on the unified TCI state if the unified TCI state is associated with an uplink channel (e.g. par. 19 discloses “The codepoint index or the codepoint index with the coreset pool index is contained in a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (NZP-CSI-RS) resource set or a non-zero power channel state information reference signal (NZP-CSI-RS) resource configuration. The CMR or IMR can be configured in the CSI-RS resource set configuration”). - With respect to claims 9, 20, Mei teaches the first TCI state is associated with a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) if a TCI state is not received in DCI that schedules a communication for the PDSCH (e.g. the par. 18 discloses PDSCH; par. 22, 26, 43…). - With respect to claims 10, 25, Mei teaches a base station for wireless communication, comprising: memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory (e.g. Fig. 7-8 discloses the Base stations), the one or more processors configured to: transmit a medium access control-control element (MAC CE) that indicates one or more transmission configuration indicator (TCI) states to be activated (e.g. the par. 17 discloses the MAC CE that indicate TCI state “The MAC CE can activate and update the candidate beam by activating the transmission configuration indication (TCI) state indicated by a codepoint, and the TRP can choose one or some TCI state(s) in the TCI field by configuring a codepoint from the MAC CE and use the reference signal indicated in the codepoint as the transmitting beam”); transmit one or more channel measurement resources (CMRs) that correspond to the one or more TCI states (e.g. Fig. 4-5 shows the CMRs transmit from base station); receive a channel state information (CSI) report for a first CMR of the one or more CMRs (see par. 41 discloses the CSI reports for CMR; and fir. 5 shows the CSI report for CMR); and Mei teaches beam changing, but fail to teach switch to a beam for a first TCI state, of the one or more TCI states, that corresponds to the first CMR, independent of transmitting downlink control information (DCI) that indicates the first TCI state. Matsumura discloses the beam switching that is QCL with TCI state (see par. 79 discloses “If, within the same symbol as the CSI-RS, there is any other DL signal with one indicated TCI state, the UE will receive the A-CSI-RS. Also applies the QCL assumption of the DL signal. The DL signal (other DL signal) is a PDSCH having an offset equal to or higher than the timedurationForQCL for QCL, and the beam switching timing threshold reported by the UE is one of {14,28,48}. , A-CSI-RS scheduled with an offset greater than or equal to the beam switching timing threshold, and an offset greater than or equal to 48 when the beam switching timing threshold reported by the UE is one of {224,336}. Refers to A-CSI-RS, periodic CSI-RS (P-CSI-RS), and semi-persistent CSI-RS (SP-CSI-RS).”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to implement the step of switching beam into Mei’s invention for beam management in the communication based on the report. - With respect to claims 19, 29, Mei teaches the first TCI state is a unified TCI state, and wherein a TCI codepoint for the first TCI state is based at least in part on a mapping order associated with the unified TCI state (e.g. codepoint associated with TCI state discloses in par. 5, 19-22). - With respect to claims 20, 22, 27, Matsumura teaches the DCI schedules a physical downlink shared channel, wherein a TCI codepoint in the DCI is associated with the first TCI state, and wherein the first TCI state is mapped to the first CMR (e.g. scheduled DCI for PDSCH see par. 29, 32) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 21, 23-24, 28, 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 . . Examiner's Note : Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PHUC H TRAN whose telephone number is (571)272-3172. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8-5 Flex. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Sujoy K. Kundu can be reached at 571-272-8586. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/561,234 Page 2 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/561,234 Page 3 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/561,234 Page 4 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/561,234 Page 5 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/561,234 Page 6 Art Unit: 2471 Application/Control Number: 18/561,234 Page 7 Art Unit: 2471