DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pp. 7-9 of the remarks the applicant argues that Compere does not provide for the amended limitation requiring that a combustion gas line “…opens into the first chamber (4) upstream of the distal end of the conically tapering sub-portion…” because the opening is “at the distal end of the conically tapering portion” [see pp. 7 of the remarks]. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Fig. 2 of Compere is recreated below showing the outlet plane of the combustion gas line relative to the distal end of the conically tapering sub portion; furthermore, with regards to the combustion gas line Compere discloses that “[t]his pipe extends through the coupling 13 and sleeve 15 and terminates in a tapered end 22 having a restricted opening 23 therein. The outer end 22 of the pipe 21 terminates adjacent the restricted opening 17 of the chamber 16” (emphasis added) [pp. 1 lines 79-84]. Adjacent is defined as “[n]ext to or very near something else”1, in combination with the drawings it is clear that the pipe terminates “next to or very near” the distal end of the conically tapering portion in the upstream direction. Therefore, the rejection of claim 16 is maintained.
Claim(s) 16 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Compere (US 1,503,817).
With respect to claim 16 Compere discloses a burner [see Fig. 2] for a shaft melting furnace2, comprising: a first chamber [reference characters 13-16] with an inlet opening [reference character 14], via which an oxygen-containing gas can be supplied to the burner [pp. 1 lines 50-54], and an outlet opening [see annotated Fig. below], which is arranged at a distal end of a conically tapering sub-portion [see annotated Fig. below] of the first chamber; a second chamber [the interior of reference character 44], which is connected to the conically tapering sub-portion of the first chamber [via intervening structure] and which has a burner nozzle [reference character 46]; a combustion gas line [reference character 21], which opens into the first chamber upstream of the distal end of the conically tapering sub-portion (see response to arguments above) and via which a combustion gas can be supplied to the burner3; and a mixing nozzle [reference character 24], which is arranged in the outlet opening of the first chamber and which has a mixing chamber [see annotated Fig. below] via which the oxygen-containing gas and the combustion gas can be mixed to form a combustion gas mixture.
With respect to claim 24 Compere discloses that the burner nozzle comprises a conically tapering outlet opening [see annotated Fig. below], which is arranged in a rear region of the burner nozzle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Compere (US 1,503,817) in view of Little Jr. (US 4,536,152).
With respect to claim 20 Compere does not disclose an observation device (9) with a viewing axis (28) extending through the first chamber (4), the mixing nozzle (19), the second chamber (6) and the burner nozzle (7), via which a flame chamber of the shaft melting furnace can be monitored.
Little Jr. discloses a burner having an observation device [reference character 65] with a viewing axis [the axis through 65] extending through the burner the mixing nozzle, the second chamber and the burner nozzle, via which a flame chamber of the shaft melting furnace can be monitored.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the burner taught by Compere by including an eyepiece, as taught by Little Jr. in order to allow the operator to monitor the furnace for flame instability and verify for the presence of the flame.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Compere (US 1,503,817) in view of Gutmark et. al (US 2005/0100846 A1).
With respect to claim 23 Compere does not disclose that the burner nozzle comprises a plurality of guide blades, which are arranged in a front region of the burner nozzle.
Gutmark discloses a burner having an upstream swirl generator and mixing chamber [reference character 2] and a downstream nozzle having a swirler [reference character 10] with a plurality of guide blades [reference character 11] arranged in a front region of the burner nozzle. The exit swirler provides for “…increased flow stability. In addition, the axial vorticity provides enhanced small scale mixing in the region of the outlet 10” [paragraph 0024].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the burner taught by Compere by including an exit swirler in the nozzle, as taught by Gurmark, in order to increase “…flow stability. In addition, the axial vorticity provides enhanced small scale mixing in the region of the outlet 10” [paragraph 0024].
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Compere (US 1,503,817).
With respect to claim 26 Compere does not disclose that the mixing nozzle and/or the burner nozzle is made of silicon carbide. However, in the same field of burners it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify Compere by forming the mixing nozzle/burner, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known component or material on the basis of suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious mechanical design expediency. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. Also see MPEP 2144.07. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp. states "Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle." 325 U.S. at 335, 65 USPQ at 301.). Since the burner nozzle requires the use of a high temperature material, the designation of a specific material does nothing to enhance the patentability of a design.
Claim(s) 29-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hugens et. al (US 2007/0175297 A1) in view of Compere (US 1,503,817).
With respect to claim 29 Hugens discloses a copper shaft melting furnace [see Fig. 1, Abstract, and paragraph 0012] having at least one burner [reference character 24].
Hugens does not disclose the burner of claim 1.
Compere discloses the burner of claim 1, see rejection for claim 1, above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to use the burner taught by Compere in the furnace taught by Hugens because the burner taught by Compere provides for efficient pre-mixing of fuel and air [pp. 1 lines 14-18 of Compere].
With respect to claim 30 Hugens discloses that the at least one burner is arranged at an inclined angle with respect to a horizontal line in a wall of the shaft melting furnace [see Fig. 1].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-22, and 27 allowed.
Claims 17-19, 25, and 28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 “Adjacent, Adj. & N.” Oxford English Dictionary, Oxford UP, December 2025, https://doi.org/10.1093/OED/3582910173.
2 The limitation “for a shaft melting furnace” is interpreted as intended use, where the prior art need only be capable of being used in the intended way. In this case a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the burner taught by Compere could be used to provide heat in a shaft melting furnace.
3 The limitation “a combustion gas can be supplied to the burner” is interpreted as functional in nature, where the prior art need only be capable of performing the required function. In this case although Compere discloses oil [pp. 2 lines 25-29] it would be clear to a person having ordinary skill in the art that line 21 could be connected to a source of gas with a reasonable expectation of success.