DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 5, 7-9, 11-12, 14 and 18 have been amended.
Claims: 13 have not been amended.
Claims: 2-4, 6, 10, 15-17 and 19-30 have been cancelled.
EXAMINER’S NOTE:
The examiner notes that the applicant’s current amendments to the claims filed on 02/02/26 have changed the scope of the claims and necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites the limitations of “… receiving, by the wireless device from the network, information related to on network slice restrictions …” reciting the term “on” in between the recited “information related to” and “network slice restrictions” which is grammatically incorrect and appears to be a typographical error and should instead be written without the term “on” in between (i.e. “… receiving, by the wireless device from the network, information related to).
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, 11-14 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7-9, 11-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIH et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0030150 herein after referenced as Shih) in view of GAO et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0172063 herein after referenced as Gao).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 14, Shih discloses:
A method comprising, and A wireless device in a wireless communication system comprising: a transceiver; a memory; and at least one processor operatively coupled to the transceiver and the memory, and configured to: receiving, by a wireless device from a network, information related to slice-based cell reselection, (Shih, [0123] discloses The UE (i.e. reads on by a wireless device) may be provided (i.e. reads on receiving) with the information of frequency priority (i.e. reads on information) used for slice-based cell reselection (i.e. reads on related to slice-based cell reselection) with the following approaches; Shih, [0125] discloses In some examples, the UE may receive the system information e.g., SIB1, other SI, slice-specific SIB or dedicated signaling e.g., RRC message, RRC Release message with/without suspend configuration including the information of frequency priority from the serving cell (i.e. reads on from a network); Shih, [0029] discloses Additionally, any two or more of the following paragraphs, sub-bullets, points, actions, behaviors, terms, alternatives, examples, or claims in the present disclosure may be combined logically, reasonably, and properly to form a specific method; Shih, [0402] discloses Moreover, while the concepts have been disclosed with specific reference to specific implementations, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that changes can be made in form and detail without departing from the scope of those concepts. As such, the present disclosure is to be considered in all respects as illustrative and not restrictive. It should also be understood that the present disclosure is not limited to the specific disclosed implementations, but that many rearrangements, modifications, and substitutions are possible without departing from the scope of the present disclosure; Shih, Fig. 4 & [0400] discloses The processor 428 may process the data 430 and the instructions 432 received from the memory 434, and information received through the transceiver 420).
wherein the information related to slice-based cell reselection includes: i) information related to a frequency, ii) information related to one or more network slice supported in the frequency, and iii) information related to priority of the frequency; (Shih, [0102] discloses In some examples, the information of frequency priority may include (i.e. reads on information related to slice-based cell reselection includes) a per-frequency list that indicates, for each supported frequency (i.e. reads on information related to a frequency), a priority value (i.e. reads on information related to priority of the frequency) and slices e.g., S-NSSAI(s) supported by the frequency (i.e. reads on information related to one or more network slice supported in the frequency); Shih, [0082] discloses The UE may be provided with the information of frequency priority when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection. The information of frequency priority may include but is not limited to slices e.g., S-NSSAI(s), the frequencies that support the slices, and their corresponding priority values. In other words, the frequency priority information may include a priority value associated with a slice and/or a priority value associated with a frequency).
receiving, by the wireless device from the network, information related to a condition for slice-based cell reselection, (Shih, [0344] discloses the UE may further determine whether the number of frequencies that the UE has considered (i.e. reads on information related to a condition) in the slice-based cell reselection (i.e. reads on for slice-based cell reselection), in the same-frequency based cell reselection, and/or in the next-frequency based cell reselection is greater than or equal to a value. The value is predefined or configured by the serving cell (i.e. reads on from the network) to the UE (i.e. reads on receiving, by the wireless device) e.g., via system information, via dedicated signaling; Shih, [0248] discloses the UE may continue to perform the slice-based cell reselection when some conditions (i.e. reads on condition) occur).
wherein the information related to the condition includes information related to a maximum number of frequencies considered for slice-based cell reselection; (Shih, [0347] discloses In some examples, if the value is 3 (i.e. reads on wherein the information related to the condition includes), and the UE has considered 3 frequencies (i.e. reads on information related to a maximum number of frequencies considered) in the slice-based cell reselection (i.e. reads on for slice-based cell reselection), but still cannot find any cell fulfilling the requirements to be selected as the outcome of the slice-based cell reselection, the UE may perform the legacy cell reselection).
and determining, by the wireless device, a slice priority list, based on the information related to slice-based cell reselection; (Shih, [0210] discloses the UE is configured/provided with the slice priority e.g., by the previously mentioned slice priority information. For example, the slice priority information may indicate a slice list including the slices S1, S2, and S3. Slice S1 may be assumed to have the highest slice priority, while slice S2 may be assumed to have the middle slice priority, and slice S3 to have the lowest slice priority. FIG. 1 illustrates that the slice priority S1>S2>S3. In step 104, the UE (i.e. reads on by the wireless device) may perform the slice-based cell (re)selection based (i.e. reads on determining) on the assumed slice priorities e.g., slice priority S1>S2>S3 (i.e. reads on a slice priority list) as shown in FIG. 1. For example, the UE may select slice S1 before the other two slices. In step 106, the UE may (re)select a suitable cell or an acceptable cell. The suitable cell or the acceptable cell may support the selected slice S1; Shih, [0097] discloses the information of frequency priority (i.e. reads on based on the information related to slice-based cell reselection) may include a slice list (i.e. reads on a slice priority list) that indicates, for each slice, supported frequencies in an order; Shih, [0213] discloses The reselection priorities for the frequencies indicated in the frequency priority information are used for finding a frequency that supports the reselected slice. The UE may determine a reselection priority for the frequency that supports the reselected slice according to a slice priority e.g., priority value in the frequency priority information associated with the reselected slice. For example, the UE reselects a slice S1, and two frequencies f1 and f2 support the slice S1. For the frequency f1, the priority value associated with the slice S1 in the frequency priority information is ‘2’. For the frequency f2, the priority value associated with the slice S1 in the frequency priority information is ‘3’. Thus, the UE may determine the reselection priority for the frequency f1 as ‘2’ and the reselection priority for the frequency f2 as ‘3’).
based on that the condition for slice-based cell reselection is met, performing, by the wireless device, a first slice-based cell reselection procedure (Shih, [0248] discloses the UE (i.e. reads on performing, by the wireless device) may continue to perform the slice-based cell reselection (i.e. reads on a first slice-based cell reselection procedure) when some conditions occur (i.e. reads on based on that the condition for slice-based cell reselection is met)).
considering the slice priority list, (Shih, [0210] discloses the UE is configured/provided with the slice priority e.g., by the previously mentioned slice priority information. For example, the slice priority information may indicate a slice list including the slices S1, S2, and S3. Slice S1 may be assumed to have the highest slice priority, while slice S2 may be assumed to have the middle slice priority, and slice S3 to have the lowest slice priority. FIG. 1 illustrates that the slice priority S1>S2>S3. In step 104, the UE may perform the slice-based cell (re)selection based on the assumed slice priorities e.g., slice priority S1>S2>S3 (i.e. reads on considering the slice priority list) as shown in FIG. 1. For example, the UE may select slice S1 before the other two slices. In step 106, the UE may (re)select a suitable cell or an acceptable cell. The suitable cell or the acceptable cell may support the selected slice S1; Shih, [0213] discloses The reselection priorities for the frequencies indicated in the frequency priority information are used for finding a frequency that supports the reselected slice. The UE may determine a reselection priority for the frequency that supports the reselected slice according to a slice priority e.g., priority value in the frequency priority information associated with the reselected slice. For example, the UE reselects a slice S1, and two frequencies f1 and f2 support the slice S1. For the frequency f1, the priority value associated with the slice S1 in the frequency priority information is ‘2’. For the frequency f2, the priority value associated with the slice S1 in the frequency priority information is ‘3’. Thus, the UE may determine the reselection priority for the frequency f1 as ‘2’ and the reselection priority for the frequency f2 as ‘3’).
until a number of frequencies considered for the first slice-based cell reselection procedure reaches the maximum number; based on that the condition for slice-based cell reselection is not met, performing, by the wireless device, a second cell reselection procedure (Shih, [0347] discloses In some examples, if the value is 3 (i.e. reads on the maximum number), and the UE has considered 3 frequencies (i.e. reads on until a number of frequencies reaches the maximum number) in the slice-based cell reselection (i.e. reads on for the first slice-based cell reselection procedure), but still cannot find any cell fulfilling the requirements to be selected (i.e. reads on based on that the condition for slice-based cell reselection is not met) as the outcome of the slice-based cell reselection, the UE (i.e. reads on by the wireless device) may perform (i.e. reads on performing) the legacy cell reselection (i.e. reads on a second cell reselection procedure)).
Shih discloses performing a legacy cell reselection when a slice based cell reselection fails but fails to explicitly recite that said legacy cell reselection includes excluding frequencies used during the slice based cell reselection and therefore fails to disclose “a second cell reselection procedure without considering the slice priority list, based on excluding one or more frequencies, which had been evaluated during the first slice-based cell reselection procedure, from the second cell reselection procedure.”
In a related field of endeavor, Gao discloses:
a second cell reselection procedure without considering the slice priority list, based on excluding one or more frequencies, which had been evaluated during the first slice-based cell reselection procedure, from the second cell reselection procedure (Gao, [0107] discloses Step 8: Perform legacy cell reselection (i.e. reads on second cell reselection procedure) using non-slice-based priorities for example for frequencies not corresponding to any slice support (i.e. reads on without considering the slice priority list, based on excluding one or more frequencies, which had been evaluated during the first slice-based cell reselection procedure); Gao, [0100]-[0106] discloses Step 1: List Slices in the priority order (i.e. reads on slice priority list) starting with highest priority slice and discloses Step 2: Select the first or next if from Step 7 slice in the list (i.e. reads on during the first slice-based cell reselection procedure) and discloses Step 3: Assign the priorities to frequencies (i.e. reads on frequencies which had been evaluated) according to the priorities provided to the selected slice and discloses Step 4: Perform cell search according to the legacy procedure using the priorities assigned in step 3 and discloses Step 5: If the highest ranked cell is determined to be suitable then exit this sequence of operation and discloses Step 6: If there are remaining cell frequencies then go back to step 3 and discloses Step 7: If the end of the slice list has not been reached go back to step 2; Gao, [0076] discloses Option 1 of Item 2.1: Select one or more slices or slice group(s) or access category/categories associated with one or more corresponding reselection priority values specific to the slice(s) or slice group(s) or access category/categories. Determine the reselection priority values for frequencies associated with the selected slice. Decide or determine the target cell for cell selection or reselection based on the determined reselection priority value for the frequencies).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Shih to incorporate the teachings of Gao for the purpose of providing the system with a means to conserve network resources by only considering frequencies that has not yet been considered when performing legacy reselection after slice based cell reselection on frequencies that supports the slice has failed to find a suitable cell (Gao, [0103]-[0104] & [0107]) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality (Shih, [0402]), thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of performing legacy cell reselections when unable to find a suitable frequency supporting a slice during slice based cell reselections as taught by Shih) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of performing legacy cell reselections when unable to find a suitable frequency supporting a slice during slice based cell reselections, wherein the legacy cell reselections considers frequencies not supporting the slice as taught by Gao) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of performing legacy cell reselections when unable to find a suitable frequency supporting a slice during slice based cell reselections (i.e. as taught by both Shih & Gao) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding claim 5 and claim 18, Shih in view of Gao discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1) and The wireless device of claim 14 (see claim 14).
wherein the information related to slice-based cell reselection includes information related to a slice ID which is associated with one or more network slices (Shih, [0102] discloses In some examples, the information of frequency priority may include a per-frequency list that indicates, for each supported frequency, a priority value and slices e.g., S-NSSAI(s) supported by the frequency; Shih, [0210] discloses the UE is configured/provided with the slice priority e.g., by the previously mentioned slice priority information. For example, the slice priority information may indicate a slice list including the slices S1, S2, and S3. Slice S1 may be assumed to have the highest slice priority, while slice S2 may be assumed to have the middle slice priority, and slice S3 to have the lowest slice priority. FIG. 1 illustrates that the slice priority S1>S2>S3. In step 104, the UE may perform the slice-based cell (re)selection based on the assumed slice priorities e.g., slice priority S1>S2>S3 as shown in FIG. 1. For example, the UE may select slice S1 before the other two slices. In step 106, the UE may (re)select a suitable cell or an acceptable cell. The suitable cell or the acceptable cell may support the selected slice S1).
Regarding claim 7, Shih in view of Gao discloses:
The method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, (see claim 1).
receiving, by the wireless device from the network, information related to (Shih, [0127] discloses The system information may include area-scope information e.g., associated with the slice-specific SIB including the information of the frequency priority from the serving RAN or serving cell associated with one given system information area ID e.g., systemInformationAreaID. The UE may further determine whether to apply the information of the frequency priority based on area information e.g., area-scope information, system information area ID).
Regarding claim 8, Shih in view of Gao discloses:
The method of claim 7, (see claim 7).
wherein the information on network slice restrictions includes information on at least one of (i) a specific area (Shih, [0127] discloses The system information may include area-scope information e.g., associated with the slice-specific SIB including the information of the frequency priority from the serving RAN or serving cell associated with one given system information area ID e.g., systemInformationAreaID. The UE may further determine whether to apply the information of the frequency priority based on area information e.g., area-scope information, system information area ID. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or (ii) a specific time period”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 9, Shih in view of Gao discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the slice priority list includes information related to priority of each network slice (Shih, [0210] discloses the UE is configured/provided with the slice priority e.g., by the previously mentioned slice priority information. For example, the slice priority information may indicate a slice list including the slices S1, S2, and S3. Slice S1 may be assumed to have the highest slice priority, while slice S2 may be assumed to have the middle slice priority, and slice S3 to have the lowest slice priority. FIG. 1 illustrates that the slice priority S1>S2>S3. In step 104, the UE may perform the slice-based cell (re)selection based on the assumed slice priorities e.g., slice priority S1>S2>S3; Shih, [0082] discloses The UE may be provided with the information of frequency priority when the UE performs slice-based cell reselection. The information of frequency priority may include but is not limited to slices e.g., S-NSSAI(s), the frequencies that support the slices, and their corresponding priority values. In other words, the frequency priority information may include a priority value associated with a slice and/or a priority value associated with a frequency).
Regarding claim 11, Shih in view of Gao discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the information related to slice-based cell reselection is transmitted via broadcast or dedicated signalling (Shih, [0125]-[0126] discloses In some examples, the UE may receive the system information e.g., SIB1, other SI, slice-specific SIB or dedicated signaling e.g., RRC message, RRC Release message with/without suspend configuration including the information of frequency priority from the serving cell and discloses The system information may include the cell-specific information of frequency priority that may be applied by the UE(s) camping on or served by the cell that broadcasts the system information).
Regarding claim 12, Shih in view of Gao discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the information related to a condition for slice-based cell reselection is transmitted via at least one of a radio resource control release message, a radio resource control reconfiguration message (Shih, [0344] discloses the UE may further determine whether the number of frequencies that the UE has considered in the slice-based cell reselection, in the same-frequency based cell reselection, and/or in the next-frequency based cell reselection is greater than or equal to a value. The value is predefined or configured by the serving cell to the UE e.g., via system information, via dedicated signaling; Shih, [0352] discloses Dedicated signaling may refer to but is not limited to RRC message(s). For example, the RRC message may include an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message, … RRC Connection Release message... EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or a registration update message”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 13, Shih in view of Gao discloses:
The method of claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the wireless device is in communication with at least one of (Shih, [0125] discloses In some examples, the UE may receive the system information e.g., SIB1, other SI, slice-specific SIB or dedicated signaling e.g., RRC message, RRC Release message with/without suspend configuration including the information of frequency priority from the serving cell. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a user equipment” and “or an autonomous vehicle other than the wireless device”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645