DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The rejections from the Office Action of 2/5/2026 are hereby withdrawn. New grounds for rejection are presented below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 12 – In the last claim element, please delete the comma in “in response to determining that the HVDC line is faulty, determining a line fault polarity” or put the deleted word “and” back where it was deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “storage apparatus” in claims 12 and 16-21. Corresponding structure disclosed at least on Page 17 of the instant Specification in the form of “a magnetic tape and a hard disk.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) the abstract idea of a mathematical and/or mental activity algorithm for determining whether to perform line protection and determining fault polarity in an HVDC line while line protection is being performed (See the equations recited through the instant claims. The recited “compensating” is a mathematical operation on parameters, see instant Claim 7.). A combination of abstract ideas is an abstract idea [See MPEP 2106.05(I) – "Adding one abstract idea (math) to another abstract idea (encoding and decoding) does not render the claim non-abstract"].
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no improvement to the underlying HVDC line results through performance of the algorithm.
The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the recited computer components amount to the recitation of a general-purpose computer for the performance of the algorithm and do not serve to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself (see Alice Corp. v. CLS Bank International, 573 U.S. 208 (2014)). The recited “line protection” necessarily must be performed as part of performing the analysis while line protection is being performed and amounts to the recitation of extra-solution activity. The recited “line protection operation on the HVDC line” is non-specific and could amount to the recitation of performing further and/or more detailed analysis when the recited condition is present (i.e., an extension of the abstract idea itself).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al., A Novel Traveling Wave Protection Method for DC Transmission Lines Using Current Fitting, IEEE, 2020 [hereinafter “Zhang”] and Altuve et al., Advances in Series-Compensated Line Protection, IEEE, 2009 [hereinafter “Altuve”].
Regarding Claims 1, 12, and 13, Zhang discloses a method (and corresponding processor, storage apparatus, storage medium, and computer program [One having ordinary skill in the art would have understood the analysis is performed through use of a general-purpose computer.]) for protecting a high-voltage direct current (HVDC) line [Abstract – “Hybrid AC/DC transmission grids require high-speed operation and high reliability for relay protection. … In this paper, the fault traveling wave is analyzed considering the attenuation, distortion, and boundary effect of the DC transmission line as well as three converter types. The simulation results show that 1) the proposed protection method can complete fault identification within 1 ms, even with high fault impedance; 2) the proposed protection method has high robustness to the influence of the noise.”], the method comprising:
acquiring a DC line parameter and a DC system operation parameter [Page 2981-2982 – “In Fig. 3,Req = 2(Rarm + Ron)/3, Leq = 2Larm/3,Ceq = 6Csm/N, where Ron is the on-state resistance of all inserted sub-modules in each arm, Rarm is the arm resistance, Larm is the arm inductance, Csm is the capacitance of the sub-module; Lcl is the current limit inductor; N is the number of the inserted sub-modules in each phase unit.” Rarm and Larm being line parameters and Ron, Csm, Lcl, and N being operation parameters.], and sampling a DC line protection installation position operation parameter [Page 2981, second column – “In Fig. 1, M and N are DC buses; R1 and R2 are the measuring points at the end of the DC transmission lines”];
calculating, based on the DC line protection installation position operation parameter [Page 2981, first column – “When a fault occurs at the DC side of the hybrid AC/DC grid, the short-circuit current will rise rapidly in milliseconds (especially for VSC-HVDC system). The protection of the DC transmission line and the DC CB should quickly identify and isolate the faulty line to prevent the blocking of the converter station and guarantee the normal operation of the healthy line and other parts of the system. The purpose of this paper is to analyze the characteristics of the fault traveling wave in the fault initial stage and to provide a basis for the fast primary protection method in hybrid AC/DC grid. Therefore, the analysis of the fault traveling wave in DC transmission lines in hybrid AC/DC transmission grid can be simplified to the analysis in the structure of Fig. 1.”], a line-mode fault voltage of a sampling point, a zero-mode fault voltage of the sampling point, a line-mode fault current of the sampling point, and a continuous rate of change of the line-mode fault current [Page 2982, second column – “uf0 is the amplitude of the zero-mode voltage initial traveling wave at the fault point”Page 2984, first column – “the zero-mode and line-mode fault component currents i0 and Δi1 can be used to discriminate between the forward and reverse faults,” both line-mode and zero-mode faults are sampled for. Δi1 being a continuous rate of change of fault current.]; and
determining, according to the line-mode fault current and the continuous rate of change of the line-mode fault current, whether to start line protection [Page 2985, first column – “Based on the previous analysis, using the index b can effectively discriminate between the internal and forward external faults. The protection criterion can be expressed as follows,
b ≥ bthre = krelbse (23)
where bthre is the threshold value of the protection, which is set to the value that can discriminate between the internal and external faults; krel is the reliable coefficient of the protection; bse is themaximumvalue of the index coefficients for all possible external faults.”].
Zhang fails to disclose in response to starting the line protection, compensating the line-mode fault voltage based on the DC line parameter, the DC system operation parameter, and a first peak value of the line-mode fault voltage; and determining whether the HVDC line is faulty according to the compensated line-mode fault voltage.
However, Altuve discloses the determination and use of such a voltage compensation factor for evaluating transmission line faults [See Section III(C), particularly – “Fig. 16 shows a series-compensated line to illustrate the logic. The relay calculates a voltage VCALC, assuming that the fault is beyond the series capacitor. Then the relay determines the ratio of the measured voltage magnitude VMEAS to the calculated voltage magnitude VCALC and compares this ratio with a threshold value.”].
It would have been obvious to determine and use such a factor because doing so would have allowed for more effectively evaluating transmission line faults.
Zhang, as modified, would further disclose determining a line fault polarity based on the zero-mode fault voltage [See Table I of Zhang, per the use of the determined voltage ratio in identifying fault location of Altuve]; and, in response to determining that the HVDC line is faulty, performing, according to the line fault polarity, a line protection operation on the HVDC line [Abstract – “Hybrid AC/DC transmission grids require high-speed operation and high reliability for relay protection.”See Sections IV. Protection scheme based on current fitting (D) Non-unit travelling wave protection scheme; V(C) Setting of protection; and V(D) Results of protection].
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues:
…
Examiner’s Response:
The referred-to features amount to the recitation of the mere field-of-endeavor for implementation of the algorithm. The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no improvement to the underlying HVDC line results through performance of the algorithm.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The recited “acquiring” amounts to the generic recitation of necessary data-gathering for performing the algorithm using a general-purpose computer.
The “calculating” and “compensating” are the recitation of the abstract idea itself (See the equations recited through the instant claims. The recited “compensating” is a mathematical operation on parameters, see instant Claim 7.).
The recited “line protection operation on the HVDC line” is non-specific and could amount to the recitation of performing further and/or more detailed analysis when the recited condition is present (i.e., an extension of the abstract idea itself).
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because no improvement to the underlying HVDC line results through performance of the algorithm.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The recited “compensating” is a mathematical operation on parameters, see instant Claim 7, and thus part of the recited abstract idea itself.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang discloses calculating line-mode fault current and a continuous rate of change of the line-mode fault current [Page 2984, first column – “the zero-mode and line-mode fault component currents i0 and Δi1 can be used to discriminate between the forward and reverse faults,” both line-mode and zero-mode faults are sampled for. Δi1 being a continuous rate of change of fault current.] and using them in determining whether to perform line protection [Page 2985, first column – “Based on the previous analysis, using the index b can effectively discriminate between the internal and forward external faults.].
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “dual starting criterion”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
Zhang is not cited as disclosing the referred-to limitation.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Use of the compensation factor of Altuve, in the context of Zhang, would read on the referred-to limitation.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
Zhang is not cited as disclosing the referred-to limitation.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
New grounds for rejection are presented above.
Applicant argues:
Examiner’s Response:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang discloses a method for performing transmission line protection, while Altuve discloses the use of a voltage compensation factor. In other words, the combination of Zhang and Altuve would disclose the referred-to features of Claim 1.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Song et al., Novel Distance Protection Based on Distributed Parameter Model for Long-Distance Transmission Lines, IEEE, 2013
Xiang et al., A Transient Voltage-Based DC Fault Line Protection Scheme for MMC-Based DC Grid Embedding DC Breakers, IEEE, 2019
Yu et al., A New PMU-Based Fault Location Algorithm for Series Compensated Lines, IEEE, 2002
US 20130317768 A1 – VOLTAGE BASED METHOD FOR FAULT IDENTIFICATION IN A TRANSMISSION LINE AND APPARATUS THEREOF
US 20170227595 A1 – Systems And Methods For Determining A Fault Location In A Three-Phase Series-Compensated Power Transmission Line
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KYLE R QUIGLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857