Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rao et. al.'535 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290535 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Rao et. al.’535 discloses an analyte detection device (Paragraph [0119] - allowing continuous monitoring of the sensed analyte) comprising:
a transmitter provided with an electrical connection area (printed circuit board assembly) (Paragraph [0028] - The sensing device may further include a transmitter electrically coupled to the printed circuit board assembly and inside the case, wherein the transmitter is adapted to transmit analyte readings sensed by the sensor);
a bottom case provided with a sensor base (Paragraph [0084] - A printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 320 fits inside the lower housing 130);
a sensor comprising a signal output end (Paragraph [0083] - The sensor electrodes 15 generate electrical signals representative of patient condition, wherein these signals are transmitted via the contact pads 18 and connector);
a detection end (Paragraph [0083] - An opposite or distal segment of the sensor 12 includes the corresponding plurality of exposed sensor electrodes 15 for contacting patient body fluid when the sensor distal segment is placed into the body of the patient) wherein
the signal output end is provided with pins (conductive contact pads) (Paragraph [0083] - The sensor electrodes 15 generate electrical signals representative of patient condition, wherein these signals are transmitted via the contact pads 18 and connector);
the detection end is provided with electrodes (Paragraph [0083] - An opposite or distal segment of the sensor 12 includes the corresponding plurality of exposed sensor electrodes 15 for contacting patient body fluid when the sensor distal segment is placed into the body of the patient);
the pins (conductive contact pads) are connected with the electrodes through wires, the pins, the wires and the electrodes are arranged on an insulated substrate and located on a same side of the substrate (Paragraph [0083] - include elongated conductive elements 24 embedded or encased between layers of a selected insulative sheet material…The proximal end or head 16 of the sensor 12 is relatively enlarged and defines electrical contacts, the conductive contact pads 18, which are exposed through the insulative sheet material for electrical connection; Figure 3); and
the pins (conductive contact pads) face towards the sensor base (Paragraph [0083] - the conductive contact pads 18, which are exposed through the insulative sheet material for electrical connection to the printed circuit board assembly); and
an elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) comprising at least one conductive area and an insulating area arranged alternately (Paragraph [0086] - The sensors 12A, 12B may be held in place by sensor elastomeric connector/elastomeric pad 350; Paragraph [0098] - The sensor elastomeric connector/pad 1350, also shown in FIG. 31 as reference number 350, includes alternating conductive layers 357 and non-conductive layers 358 (see FIG. 31) along its length, such that the elastomeric connector is conductive along its width and height but not along its length); wherein
the at least one conductive areas are electrically connected with the electrical connection area (printed circuit board assembly) (Paragraph [0025] - the elastomeric pad contains conductive strips positioned to connect electrically the contact pads of the printed circuit board assembly to respective electrical contacts of the sensor to maintain the electrical connection); and
at least one of the pins (conductive contact pads) and the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) are electrically connected through an external circuit (printed circuit board assembly) (Paragraph [0086] - the elastomeric connector is biased by the upper housing and upper, opposing wall to urge the proximal end of the sensor into contact with the PCBA and maintain an electrical connection between the electrical contacts and the PCBA; Paragraph [0088] - The sensor elastomeric connector 350 electrically connects the upper sensor contact pads to the PCBA sensor pads).
Regarding Claim 2, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the elastic conductor is a cuboid structure (see element 350 from Figure 5).
Figure 5
Regarding Claim 8, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the at least one conductive area and the insulating area pass through the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) in a longitudinal direction (Paragraph [0098] - The sensor elastomeric connector/pad 1350, also shown in FIG. 31 as reference number 350, includes alternating conductive layers 357 and non-conductive layers 358 (see FIG. 31) along its length, such that the elastomeric connector is conductive along its width and height but not along its length).
Regarding Claim 9, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the at least one conductive area and the insulating area surround a surface of the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) (Paragraph [0098] - The sensor elastomeric connector/pad 1350, also shown in FIG. 31 as reference number 350, includes alternating conductive layers 357 and non-conductive layers 358 (see FIG. 31) along its length, such that the elastomeric connector is conductive along its width and height but not along its length).
Regarding Claim 12, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the signal output end is bent relative to the detection end, and the signal output end is laid flat on the sensor base (Paragraph [0096] - Locating posts 1326 are connected to the lower housing 1130 or the PCBA 1320 and are placed to locate the sensors in the correct position with respect to the sensor pads; see element 1012B in Figure 13).
Figure 13
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et. al.'535 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290535 – previously cited) as applied to Claim 2 above, and in view of Antonio et. al.'532 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290532 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 3, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the system outlined in Claim 2 above, as well as a first surface of the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) is in contact with the signal output end (Paragraph [0086] - The sensors 12A, 12B may be held in place by sensor elastomeric connector/elastomeric pad 350 and sealed using sensor gaskets 340);
a second surface of the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) is in contact with the external circuit (printed circuit board assembly) (Paragraph [0088] - The sensor elastomeric connector 350 electrically connects the upper sensor contact pads to the PCBA sensor pads; Paragraph [0092] - Battery tabs 1706 lead from the batteries 1300 to the PCBA 1320; Figure 12).
Rao et. al.’535 fails to disclose a third surface of the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) is in contact with the electrical connection area. Antonio et. al.’532 teaches a transmitter (electrical connection area) in contact with an elastomeric connection (elastic conductor) (Paragraph [0331] -elastomeric connector 1332 and contact 1328 of transmitter assembly 1306 line up with elastomeric connector 1302 of sensor assembly 1312, thus competing the connection; Paragraph [0332] - When a transmitter assembly is connected to the sensor assembly, at least one contact of the transmitter assembly makes a connection with the elastomeric connection 1432. In this embodiment, six contacts 1428 of a transmitter assembly connect with elastomeric connector 1432). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Rao et. al.’535 to connect the transmitter and elastic conductor in order to create a cohesive device that completes electrical connections/paths between the sensors and the housing as seen in Antonio et. al.’532.
Regarding Claim 4, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the system outlined in Claim 2 above, as well as a first surface of the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) is in contact with the signal output end and the external circuit (printed circuit board assembly) (Paragraph [0088] - The sensor elastomeric connector 350 electrically connects the upper sensor contact pads to the PCBA sensor pads).
Rao et. al.’535 fails to disclose a third surface of the elastic conductor is in contact with the electrical connection area. Antonio et. al.’532 teaches a transmitter (electrical connection area) in contact with an elastomeric connection (elastic conductor) (Paragraph [0331] -elastomeric connector 1332 and contact 1328 of transmitter assembly 1306 line up with elastomeric connector 1302 of sensor assembly 1312, thus competing the connection; Paragraph [0332] - When a transmitter assembly is connected to the sensor assembly, at least one contact of the transmitter assembly makes a connection with the elastomeric connection 1432. In this embodiment, six contacts 1428 of a transmitter assembly connect with elastomeric connector 1432; Paragraph [0344] - a signal path to transmitter contacts 2017 is created through active contact pads WE-D and WE-B of first sensor 2040a). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Rao et. al.’535 to connect the transmitter and elastic conductor in order to create a cohesive device that completes electrical connections/paths between the sensors and the housing as seen in Antonio et. al.’532.
Regarding Claim 5, Rao et. al.’535 in view of Antonio et. al.’532 discloses the system outlined in Claim 3 above, as well as the external circuit (printed circuit board assembly) is a stereoscopic circuit laid on the sensor base (Paragraph [0084] - A printed circuit board assembly (PCBA) 320 fits inside the lower housing 130).
Regarding Claim 7, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the system outlined in Claim 3 above, as well as the first surface of the elastic conductor (elastomeric pad) is opposite to the third surface (refer to element 350 in Figure 5 that shows multiple surfaces).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et. al.'535 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290535 – previously cited) in view of Antonio et. al.'532 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290532 – previously cited) as applied to Claim 4 above, and further in view of Rodthongkum et. al.'577 (U.S. Publication Number 20230157577 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 6, Rao et. al.’535 in view of Antonio et. al.’532 discloses the system outlined in Claim 4 above, but fails to disclose the external circuit is one of conductive gel, conductive adhesive, conductive coating, conductive tape or conductive glue applied to the sensor base. Rodthongkum et. al.’577 teaches a conductive coating on base material (Paragraph [0017] - modifying the base material using the liquid absorber before coating it with a conductive material and optionally a mediator on the electrochemical sensor can enhance the electrochemical conductivity of the sensor). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Rao et. al.’535 in view of Antonio et. al.’532 to use a conductive coating on a base sensor in order to enhance the electrochemical conductivity of the sensor as seen in Rodthongkum et. al.’577.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et. al.'535 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290535 – previously cited) as applied to Claim 1 above, and in view of Ackermann et. al.'814 (CN Patent Application 110430814 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 10, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above, as well as a number of the at least one conductive area is plural (Paragraph [0098] - The sensor elastomeric connector/pad 1350, also shown in FIG. 31 as reference number 350, includes alternating conductive layers 357 and non-conductive layers 358 (see FIG. 31) along its length, such that the elastomeric connector is conductive along its width and height but not along its length).
Rao et. al.’535 fails to disclose the insulating area is an air area between the conductive areas. Ackermann et. al.’814 teaches a space – air – in between insulating and conductive layers (Page 10 Paragraph 5 - Specifically, the insulating layer may be configured to be used as a spacer between the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer. Therefore, the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer can be arranged at a distance to each other). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Rao et. al.’535 to include a spacer such as air between insulating and conductive layers in order to control the distance and arrangements of layers as seen in Ackermann et. al.’814.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et. al.'535 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290535 – previously cited) as applied to Claim 8 above, and in view of Barry et. al.'036 (U.S. Publication Number 20200330036 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 11, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the system outlined in Claim 8 above, but fails to disclose the elastic conductor is one of conductive adhesive strips, conductive foam or conductive bubble. Barry et. al.’036 teaches an elastic conductor as conductive foam (Paragraph [0226] - a compliant component 740 (e.g., a soft, foam or rubber material, see FIG. 7B)…Accordingly, compliant component 740 datums sensor 138 to the surface of lower housing 622 within cavity 750 in a compliant manner and seals first portion 752 of cavity 750 from second portion 754 of cavity 750). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Rao et. al.’535 to use a material such as conductive foam as an elastic conductor in order to datum the elastic conductor to the surface of the lower housing when the housing is sealed as seen in Barry et. al.’036.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rao et. al.'535 (U.S. Publication Number 20170290535 – previously cited) as applied to Claim 1 above, and in view of Choy et. al.'205 (U.S. Publication Number 20220031205 – previously cited).
Regarding Claim 13, Rao et. al.’535 discloses the system outlined in Claim 1 above, as well as the electrical connection area (printed circuit board assembly) comprising conductive contact (Paragraph [0028] - The sensing device may further include a transmitter electrically coupled to the printed circuit board assembly and inside the case, wherein the transmitter is adapted to transmit analyte readings sensed by the sensor).
Rao et. al.’535 fails to disclose the electrical connection area (printed circuit board assembly) comprises at least one metal conductive contact. Choy et. al.’205 teaches metal conductive contacts within an electrical connection area (Paragraph [0060] - contacts 105 (e.g., conductive surfaces, metal layers or regions, metallization, or contact pads comprising metal) electrically connected to the one or more electrodes via conductive tracks through the sensor portion 102. In this way, the contacts 105 (CE, WE1, WE2, RE) comprise the electrical connections 110 between the sensor portion 102 and a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA), electrically connecting the one or more electrodes 103 (CE, WE1, WE2, RE) to the PCBA). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Rao et. al.’535 to connect the transmitter to electrical sensors via metal contacts in order to provide electrical paths from the sensors to the PCBA as seen in Choy et. al.’205.
Regarding Claim 14, Rao et. al.’535 in view of Choy et. al.’205 discloses the system outlined in Claim 13 above, but fails to disclose a number of at the at least one metal conductive contact is consistent with a number of the pins. Choy et. al.’205 teaches a number of metal contacts consistent with a number of electrical sensors (Paragraph [0060] - In this way, the contacts 105 (CE, WE1, WE2, RE) comprise the electrical connections 110 between the sensor portion 102 and a printed circuit board assembly (PCBA), electrically connecting the one or more electrodes 103 (CE, WE1, WE2, RE) to the PCBA). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Rao et. al.’535 to include the same number of metal contacts as the number of electrical sensors in order to electrically connect each of the sensors to the PCBA as seen in Choy et. al.’205.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 April 2026 have been fully considered and they are not entirely persuasive.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the prior claim objections.
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the prior 35 U.S.C. 112b rejections.
Claims 1-2, 8-9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as necessitated by amendments, as discussed in Paragraph 3 above.
Claims 3-7, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as necessitated by amendments, as discussed in Paragraphs 4-8 above.
The examiner has considered the applicant's arguments regarding Rao et. al.’535 disclosing “elastomeric pad contains conductive strips connects between the electrical contacts of the sensor and the contact pads of the printed circuit board assembly instead of connecting to the transmitter” as recited in Page 10 of the “Remarks” submitted on 17 April 2026, but these arguments were found to not be persuasive. It is noted by the examiner that the current recitation of the claims do not positively recite that the elastomeric pad’s conductive strips must connect to the transmitter directly. Instead, the claims currently recite that a transmitter is provided with an electrical connection area and wherein the electrical connection area, not the transmitter directly, is electrically connected with a conductive area of the elastic conductor. As recited in Paragraph 3 above, Rao et. al.’535 discloses a transmitter electrically coupled to a printed circuit board assembly (which requires an electrical connection area on the transmitter) (Paragraph [0028] - The sensing device may further include a transmitter electrically coupled to the printed circuit board assembly), and also discloses the printed circuit board assembly (electrical connection area) is electrically connected to a conductive area of the elastomeric pad (elastic conductor) (Paragraph [0025] - the elastomeric pad contains conductive strips positioned to connect electrically the contact pads of the printed circuit board assembly). Therefore, since the transmitter is coupled to the printed circuit board assembly via an electrical connection area, and the elastomeric pad (elastic conductor) is coupled to the printed circuit board assembly, these three components are electrically coupled to one another.
The examiner has also considered the applicant's arguments regarding the “the pins and the elastic conductor are connected through an external circuit” as recited in Page 12 of the “Remarks” submitted on 17 April 2026, but these reasonings were found to not be persuasive. As recited in Paragraph 3 above, Rao et. al.’535 discloses contact pads (pins) and an elastomeric connector (elastic conductor) being connected by being pressed against a printed circuit board (external circuit) (Paragraph [0088] - The sensor elastomeric connector 350 electrically connects the upper sensor contact pads to the PCBA sensor pads) in order to maintain contact and connection with contact pads (pins) (Paragraph [0026] - the elastomeric pad further containing conductive strips positioned to connect electrically the second contact pads of the printed circuit board assembly to respective electrical contacts of the sensor facing away from the printed circuit board assembly; Paragraph [0086] - the elastomeric connector is biased by the upper housing and upper, opposing wall to urge the proximal end of the sensor into contact with the PCBA and maintain an electrical connection between the electrical contacts and the PCBA). It is through using the printed circuit board assembly (external circuit) that the elastomeric connector (elastic conductor) remains in contact with the contact pads (pins). Furthermore, the examiner makes note of prior art of record Barry et. al.'036 (U.S. Publication Number 20200330036 – previously cited and cited above) that discloses an analyte sensor comprising an electrical connection such as a conductive adhesive between sensor contacts (pins) and conductive contacts. It is noted that these conductive contacts could be similar to those as seen on the elastomeric connector of Rao et. al.’535.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Brugger et. al.’230 (U.S. Patent Publication 20200171230) discloses an external circuit – metallic tape or conductive traces - attached to the external portion of an elastomeric block to maintain electrical continuity between the electrodes and contacts of the device (Paragraph [0070]).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH ANN WESTFALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/ETSUB D BERHANU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791