DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of Claims
The examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1 and the cancellation of claims 2-10. Claim 1 is pending.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 is interpreted as a product-by-process claim based upon the language of “a glass formed by curing a glass component…obtained by reacting” which is directed towards the cured product and not the components prior to curing. As such, only the product can be used to determine the patentability. See MPEP 2113.I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyanaga (EP 1489128).
Miyanaga teaches a silicon containing compound that can be used as a glazing, sealant, or protective material for optical fibers (Paragraph 93) where these uses would imply a curing step is conducted. Miyanaga teaches that the composition contains a polyglycerol derivative which contains 2 to 100 glycerol units (Paragraph 22), which overlaps with the range of the instant claim. It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Miyanaga further teaches that the composition contains linking groups (Paragraph 24) comprised of alkyleneoxy units of 1 to 4 carbons (Paragraph 24) and where the number of repeat units is up to 30 (Paragraph 24). Miyanaga also teaches that the alkylene oxide groups should be present in a ratio of 0.5 mole per mole of glycerol or less (Paragraph 50), meeting the requirement of less than 130 repeat units. Miyanaga teaches that the composition contains a silicone of the following structure from page 7:
where the R groups can be the alkyleneoxy linking groups which attach the polyglycerol component (Paragraph 41) as well as alkoxy groups (Paragraph 42), alkenyl groups such as vinyl (Paragraph 42), and groups with the following structure on page 9:
which meets the requirement of a reactive functional group. While Miyanaga does not teach the components specified in the instant claim, because the claim is structured as a product-by-process claim, because Miyanaga teaches a compound that would result in a cured product meeting the requirements of the instant claims, the product reads upon the claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Stanjek teaches a silane-crosslinkable coating composition which is comprised of glycerol or derivatives in combination with polyether polyols and isocyanatosilanes that is curable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765