DETAILED ACTION
Receipt is acknowledged of Amendments and Remarks filed on 03/23/26. Claims 1, 22-23, 26, 29 and 36 were amended, new claim 51 was added and claim 2 has been canceled. Accordingly, claims 1, 4-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are pending and under examination on the merits.
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from the previous Office Action are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Applicant’s claims,
Claim 1, is the broadest claim and is drawn to: A powdery pharmaceutical composition, comprising: i) particles of a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient; and ii) a plurality of spray dried particles, each particle of the plurality of spray dried particles comprising: an epinephrine or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof substantially encapsulated in a coating material, wherein: within the plurality of spray dried particles at least a portion of the spray dried particles comprising the epinephrine or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof substantially encapsulated in the coating material, individually have a particle diameter of about 30 micrometer, as measured by a particle analyzer using laser diffraction and, the coating material comprises a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), a povidone, a copovidone or any combination thereof.
Claim 35 is drawn to a method of treating an allergic reaction.
Claim interpretation:
Specification defines “substantially encapsuled” as a qualitative condition that exhibits an entire or nearly total range or degree of a feature or characteristic of interest. In some cases, substantially may refer to at least about: 70%, ….. 99%, or 100% of the total range or degree of a feature or characteristic of interest.
The term “spray-dried particles” is a product-by process limitation.
Limitations such as “contained in a capsule”, “capsule is about one quarter to about one half, by volume, filled…” or “contained in an inhaler unit” are relevant to the storage of the claimed powder formulation (after it has been produced) and do not materially affect the scope of the composition or claim 1.
Similarly, the storage limitations of claim 26 do not materially affect the scope of claimed composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fleming (US 20170368000) in view of Wilkhu et al (11,160,757) and/or Appel et al (US 20090142404).
Fleming teaches intranasal formulation of epinephrine for the treatment of anaphylaxis (See Title and abstract).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 22-23 and 27, Fleming teaches a dry powder preparation, comprising epinephrine in amount less than 100 mg, preferably from 10 to 20 mg for intranasal administration, and more preferably in amounts ranging from 0.05 mg to 10 mg (See [0017], [0018], [0020]-[0021] and claim 13).
The said intranasal epinephrine composition further comprise one or more additional agents selected from the group of epinephrine potentiator, a mucosal permeation enhancer, an agent that reduces mucosal transit time, an agent that increases mucosal absorption or adhesion or transport, surfactants, chelators, excipients, stabilizers, preservatives, thickening agents, humectants, antihistamines, solubilizing agents, taste and smell masking agents, colorants, or any combination thereof. Examples of such excipient include lactose, sorbitol, glycerol, etc, (See [0019], [0021]-[0022], [0051], [0058] and [0118]).
Fleming also teaches that the said composition is a dry powder formulation, including powder microspheres, coated powder microspheres (See [0066]). It is disclosed that for nasal administration, the median particle diameter can be up 100 μm, preferably between 20 μm and 50 μm (See [0068]). The average particle diameter of each of the ingredient is within 30 μm (See [0118]).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Fleming discloses that the epinephrine also contains a vasodilation agent and can be blended as a co-mixture; and can also be envisioned to be further blended with lactose particles in order to provide a particle size suitable for nasal administration (See [0129]).
Regarding claims 4-5, 8-9, 20-21, Fleming teaches that the said composition may be administered using a nasal metered dose spray, metered dose inhaler or measured dose inhaler (See [0024]). The powder compositions, in preferred embodiments, may be presented in a sterile unit dosage form, for example, in capsules, cartridges, or blister packs, from which the powder may be administered with the aid of a dry powder dispenser or by numerous other nasal delivery methods well known to those skilled in the art (See [0071]).
Regarding claim 28, Fleming teaches that the anti-anaphylactic agent, epinephrine, may be epinephrine hydrochloride, epinephrine free base, epinephrine maleate, epinephrine bitartrate, etc, (See [0034]).
Regarding claim 29, Fleming teaches that, epinephrine represented in the dry powder formulation is between 0.25% and 50% (See [0069]).
Regarding a kit comprising the said composition in a package of claim 34, Fleming teaches that the said formulation can then be packaged into vials or nasal spray devices for delivery into nasal mucosa of test subjects (See [0118]).
Regarding claims 35-37, Fleming clearly teaches that the said formulations are for treating anaphylaxis (an allergic reaction). The dosage may be adjusted according to the weight of the patient and repeated a number of times (See [0017]-[0018], [0026]-[0027] and [0030]).
Fleming teaches that the particles may be coated particles, but is silent with regard to the coating material of claim 1. Fleming also discloses spray drying but is silent with regard to the spray dried particles. These modifications would have been obvious in view of the teachings and suggestions provided by the references Wilkhu et al and/or Appel et al.
Wilkhu et al teach pH dependent release coated microparticle cannabionoid formulation.
Regarding the coating material of claims 1 and 51, Wilkhu et al teach that the pH dependent release polymer is selected from the group consisting of: hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose phthalate (HPMCP), polyvinyl acetate phthalate (PVAP), shellac, gellan gum, zein, etc (See Col. 2, lines 53-67 and claim 4).
The said microparticulates may be formulated in any suitable formulation, including a powder, a solid powder filled capsule, an extrudate, a nasal spray, etc, (See paragraph bridging columns 22-23 and Col. 32, lines 42-50).
Wilkhu et al teach a method of preparing the said microparticulate cannabinoid containing formulation comprising spray drying the formulation (See Col. 3, lines 64-67 and Example 3).
Appel et al teach a dosage form comprising a low-solubility drug, and a precipitation-inhibiting polymer. The drug is in a solubility-improved form and in the form of particles at least partially coated with the precipitation-inhibiting polymer including HPMCAS (See abstract), reading on claims 1 and 35 partially.
Regarding the coating material of claims 1 and 51, Appel et al teach that exemplary coating polymers include hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose phthalate (HPMCP), hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose acetate, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, hydroxypropyl cellulose, methyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl methyl cellulose, hydroxyethyl cellulose acetate, and hydroxyethyl ethyl cellulose (See [0058], [0061], [0065]-[0066]).
Appel et al teach that one method to reduce particle size is by melting or spray drying to form a powder (See [0033], [0078]-[0079] and claim 12).
Appel et al further disclose that the said formulations may comprise additives including fillers, or diluents include lactose, mannitol, xylitol, dextrose, sucrose, sorbitol, microcrystalline cellulose, powdered cellulose, starch, hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose, crospovidone (polyvinylpolypyrrolidone), sodium alginate, etc, (See [0089]-[0091]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Wilkhu et al and/or Appel et al with that of Fleming to arrive at the instant invention. It would have been obvious to do so because Fleming teaches a dry powder formulation comprising epinephrine and one or more suitable excipients and teaches that the said particles may be in the form of coated microparticles. Fleming does not however disclose a suitable material for coating such particles. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art wishing to follow Fleming’s teachings to make coated particles would need to look in the art for suggestions on suitable coating materials. The person of ordinary skill in the art would find such suggestion in the teachings of Wilkhu et al and/or Appel et al as they teach the suitable material for coating a particle and the advantage of doing so. For example, Wilkhu et al teach that the coating material provides for a pH dependent release of the active agent and Appel teach that the coating material is a precipitation-inhibiting polymer.
That is, the claims would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Claims 1, 4-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Temtsin-Krayz (WO 2019038756 or US 20200368156) (citations from the US document) in view of Batycky et al (US 20170119699), Wilkhu et al (11,160,757) and/or Appel et al (US 20090142404).
Temtsin-Krayz teaches a pharmaceutical composition in a form of dry powder for intranasal administration, comprising solid particles of at least one active agent and solid particles of a diluent, said pharmaceutical composition being substantially free of excipients other than the solid diluent, wherein said pharmaceutical composition having at least 90% of the particles of said at least one active agent with a mean particle size of 10-30 microns and the particles of said diluent have a mean particle size of 30-200 microns. The said formulation prepared by spray drying method to prepare the said dry powder (See abstract).
Further, regarding claims 1, 4-9, it is disclosed that the active agent may be epinephrine, (See [0018], [0093] and claim 4), the particles are spray dried and that the powders may be powder microspheres, coated powder microspheres, liposomal dispersions and combinations thereof (See [0034] and [0100]).
Regarding claims 1 and 22-23, Temtsin-Krayz teaches that the said solid diluent is selected from lactose monohydrate or a lactose monohydrate functional analogue, such as lactose, cellulose and derivatives, starch and derivatives, sorbitol, mannitol, maltitol, xylitol or mixtures thereof, preferred solid diluent being lactose monohydrate (See [0035] and [0095]).
Temtsin-Krayz teach that the formulations are administered vi a nasal spray or inhaler device (See [0102]-[0103]).
Regarding the dosing frequency in claim 36, a method of treatment is disclosed wherein the therapeutically effective dose of at least one active agent is administered once daily (See [0106]).
The examined claims differ from the teachings of Temtsin-Krayz in that the coated microparticles is disclosed but the coating material is not. Temtsin-Krayz also does not expressly teach a method of treating an allergic reaction including anaphylaxis. These are well known in the art as taught by Batycky et al, Wilkhu et al and/or Appel et al.
Batycky et al teach particles for delivery of epinephrine to the respiratory system and methods for treating a patient in need of epinephrine. The particles and respirable compositions comprising the said particles comprise the bioactive agent epinephrine, or a salt thereof, as a therapeutic agent. The particles are preferably formed by spray drying. Preferably, the particles and the respirable compositions are substantially dry (See abstract).
Regarding claim 1, Batycky et al teach spray-dried particles of epinephrine or a salt thereof and at least one excipient (See [0008]-[0009]).
Regarding claims 1 and 22-23, it is disclosed that the particles can also include other materials such as, for example, buffer salts, sugars, cholesterol, dextran, polysaccharides, lactose, mannitol, maltodextrin, cyclodextrins, proteins, fatty acids, fatty acid esters, inorganic compounds, phosphates, lipids, etc (See [0087]).
Regarding claims 35-37, Batycky et al disclose a method for treating a patient in need of epinephrine, the method comprising administering an effective amount of substantially dry particles to the respiratory system of the patient, the particles comprising epinephrine, or a salt thereof, wherein the patient needs treatment for anaphylaxis or allergic conditions (See [0010], [0012]-[0013] and [0162]-[0163]).
Regarding claims 5, 8-9, 20-21 and 26, it is disclosed that epinephrine containing dry powder particles will allow patients to carry a convenient, compact inhaler, a dry powder inhaler and reliably self-administer epinephrine non-invasively. The inhalers contain receptacles such as capsules which contain the powdery formulation (See [0038], [0187], [0191], [0193]). It is further disclosed that generally, filling the receptacle with powder can be carried out by methods known in the art. The particles, powder or respirable composition which is enclosed or stored in a receptacle has a mass of at least about 1.0 mg, preferably, at least about 5.0 milligrams or, alternatively, up to about 10, 20, 25, 30, or 50 milligrams. Generally, the receptacle and the inhalers are used in a temperature range of about 5 to about 35° C. and at about 15 to about 85% relative humidity (See [0194]).
Further, regarding the stability/storage conditions in claim 26, it is disclosed that the said particles include epinephrine that is generally stable over a period of at least about 1 year. In one embodiment, at least about 90%, e.g., about 95%, of epinephrine contained in the particles is not degraded as measured by HPLC over a period of at least about 1 year (See [0137]).
Regarding claim 28, Batycky et al teach that the said particles can comprise salts of epinephrine, including, epinephrine hydrochloride, epinephrine bitartrate or epinephrine free base (See [0044]).
Regarding claim 29, Batycky et al disclose that the said epinephrine or salt thereof is present in the formulation in an amount of 1% to about 95%, about 1% to about 45% or about 1% to about 30% by weight (See [0046] and claims 2-4).
The teachings of Wilkhu et al and Appel et al are delineated above and incorporated herein.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to have combined the teachings of Batycky et al, Wilkhu et al and/or Appel et al with that of Temtsin-Krayz to arrive at the instant invention. It would have been obvious to do so because Temtsin-Krayz teaches a dry powder formulation comprising epinephrine and one or more suitable excipients and teaches that the said particles may be in the form of coated microparticles. Temtsin-Krayz does not however disclose a suitable material for coating such particles. Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art wishing to follow Fleming’s teachings to make coated particles would need to look in the art for suggestions on suitable coating materials. The person of ordinary skill in the art would find such suggestion in the teachings of Wilkhu et al and/or Appel et al as they teach the suitable material for coating a particle and the advantage of doing so. For example, Wilkhu et al teach that the coating material provides for a pH dependent release of the active agent and Appel teach that the coating material is a precipitation-inhibiting polymer.
That is, the claims would have been obvious because a person of ordinary skill has good reasons to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.
Additionally, Batycky et al teach powdery formulation comprising epinephrine wherein the said powder may be delivered via an inhaler containing a unit dose including a capsule for holding and delivering the powder to the subject in need of a treatment including anaphylaxis.
Therefore, the combination of references would have led one of ordinary skill in the art to the same formulation and method as claimed with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6, 14-15, 18, 20-21, 23, 25, 28-29, 31, 35-38 of copending Application No. 18/031,898 (US 20240050450) in view of Tamtsin-Krayz (WO 2019038756 or US 20200368156).
The Obviousness Double Patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims and would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
The examined claims are delineated above.
The reference claims are also directed to a powdery pharmaceutical composition, comprising: i) particles of a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient; and ii) a plurality of spray dried particles, each particle of the plurality of spray dried particles comprising a cannabinoid or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, substantially encapsulated in a coating material, wherein within the plurality of spray dried particles, the plurality of spray dried particles individually have a particle diameter ranging from about 1 micrometer to about 10 micrometers, as measured by a particle analyzer using laser diffraction and, wherein the coating material comprises a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), a cyclodextrin, a maltodextrin, a povidone, a copovidone or any combination thereof.
The differences between the recited claims of the instant application and the recited claims of copending Application are 1) the active agent and 2) the particle diameter. That is, the instant application claims are directed to a composition comprising epinephrine while the reference claims recite a cannabinoid. Also, the particle diameter of the instant claimed composition is about 30 micrometers while the reference claims recite a diameter of from 1 to 10 micrometer.
However, the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art, especially Tamtsin-Krayz. Tamtsin-Krayz teach a powdery formulation comprising an active agent and suitable excipients wherein the active agent may be epinephrine, a cannabinoid (cannabis active compounds), etc. It is further recited that the particle diameter may be from 10-30 micrometer and that for nasal administration they should not be smaller than 10 micrometers. Thus, the combination of references fully advises one of oriental skill in the art as to the suitable particle size range for pulmonary and nasal administration.
Thus, it is haled that the recited claims of the instant application are not mutually exclusive of the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art and especially in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 4-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 6, 24-25, 27-28, 31-34, 36-37, 41 and 45 of copending Application No. 18/027,655 (US 20230372345) in view of Tamtsin-Krayz (WO 2019038756 or US 20200368156).
The Obviousness Double Patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims and would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
The examined claims are delineated above.
The reference claims are also directed to an inhalable powdery pharmaceutical composition, comprising: i) particles of a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient comprising a lactose or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, which have an average particle diameter ranging from about 60 micrometers to about 80 micrometers, as measured by a particle analyzer using laser diffraction; and ii) a plurality of spray dried particles, each particle of the plurality of spray dried particles comprising sildenafil, an ester thereof, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, substantially encapsulated in a coating material, wherein within the plurality of spray dried particles at least a portion of the spray dried particles comprising the sildenafil, the ester thereof, or the pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, substantially encapsulated in the coating material, individually have a particle diameter ranging from about 1 micrometer to about 10 micrometers, as measured by a particle analyzer using laser diffraction and, the coating material comprises a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS),
The differences between the recited claims of the instant application and the recited claims of copending Application are 1) the active agent and 2) the particle diameter. That is, the instant application claims are directed to a composition comprising epinephrine while the reference claims recite sildenafil. Also, the particle diameter of the instant claimed composition is about 30 micrometers while the reference claims recite a diameter of from 1 to 10 micrometer.
However, the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art, especially Tamtsin-Krayz. Tamtsin-Krayz teach a powdery formulation comprising an active agent and suitable excipients wherein the active agent may be epinephrine, sildenafil, etc. It is further recited that the particle diameter may be from 10-30 micrometer and that for nasal administration they should not be smaller than 10 micrometers. Thus, the combination of references fully advises one of oriental skill in the art as to the suitable particle size range for pulmonary and nasal administration.
Thus, it is haled that the recited claims of the instant application are not mutually exclusive of the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art and especially in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 4-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8, 10-14, 16, 29-30, 32, 36, 44, 48-49 of copending Application No. 18/265,464 (US 20240041782) in view of Tamtsin-Krayz (WO 2019038756 or US 20200368156).
The Obviousness Double Patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims and would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
The examined claims are delineated above.
The reference claims are also directed to a pharmaceutical or dietary supplement composition, in unit dose form, comprising: a first active ingredient or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof comprising a plurality of spray dried particles, each particle of the plurality of spray dried particles comprising a cannabinoid or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, substantially encapsulated in a coating material; wherein within the plurality of spray dried particles the plurality of spray dried particles individually have a particle diameter ranging from about 50 micrometers to about 150 micrometers, as measured by a particle analyzer using laser diffraction; wherein the coating material comprises a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), a hydroxypropyl, methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), a maltodextrin, a povidone, a copovidone or any combination thereof; and wherein the plurality of spray dried particles are at least partially surrounded by a first capsule and a second capsule, and wherein the first capsule is surrounded by the second capsule.
The differences between the recited claims of the instant application and the recited claims of copending Application are 1) the active agent and 2) the capsules. That is, the instant application claims are directed to a composition comprising epinephrine while the reference claims recite a cannabinoid. Also, the reference claims recite that the particles are at least partially surrounded by a first capsule and a second capsule, a limitation not expressly recited in the examined claims.
However, the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art, especially Tamtsin-Krayz. Tamtsin-Krayz teach a powdery formulation comprising an active agent and suitable excipients wherein the active agent may be epinephrine, a cannabinoid (cannabis active compounds), etc. Thus, it would be obvious to select a different active agent for the same formulations as taught by the references. Regarding the first and second capsule, it is noted that while the examined claims do not expressly recite this limitation, they do encompass it. It is further noted that both examined claims and reference claims recite that the coating material may be a combination of components and since the claims are drawn to an encapsulated particle, the capsule can be interpreted as referring to the encapsulation.
Thus, it is haled that the recited claims of the instant application are not mutually exclusive of the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art and especially in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 4-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 19/252,506 (No PG publication number assigned yet) in view of Tamtsin-Krayz (WO 2019038756 or US 20200368156).
The Obviousness Double Patenting rejection is appropriate because while the conflicting claims are not identical, the examined claims are not patentably distinct from the reference claims and would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
The examined claims are delineated above.
The reference claims are also directed to a powdery composition, comprising: a) a plurality of encapsulated spray dried particles, wherein each particle of the plurality of spray dried particles is substantially encapsulated by a first coating, wherein the first coating is substantially encapsulated by one or more additional coatings; and b) wherein the plurality of encapsulated spray dried particles comprise a cannabinoid or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein within the plurality of encapsulated spray dried particles, the plurality of encapsulated spray dried particles individually have a particle diameter ranging from about 20 micrometers to about 200 micrometers, or have a mean or median particle diameter of about 20 micrometers to about 200 micrometers, as measured by a particle analyzer using laser diffraction, i) wherein the first coating comprises a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose (HPMC), a hydroxypropyl methylcellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), a cyclodextrin, a maltodextrin, a povidone, a copovidone or any combination thereof; and ii) wherein the one or more additional coatings comprise an enteric coating.
The differences between the recited claims of the instant application and the recited claims of copending Application are 1) the number of coatings. That is, the instant application claims are directed to a composition comprising epinephrine while the reference claims recite a cannabinoid. Also, the reference claims recite that the particles are encapsulated by a first coating and a second coition.
However, the examined claims would have been obvious over the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art, especially Tamtsin-Krayz. Tamtsin-Krayz teach a powdery formulation comprising an active agent and suitable excipients wherein the active agent may be epinephrine, a cannabinoid (cannabis active compounds), etc. Thus, it would be obvious to select a different active agent for the same formulations as taught by the references. Regarding the first and second coatings, it is noted that while the examined claims do not expressly recite this limitation, they do encompass it. It is further noted that both examined claims and reference claims recite that the coating material may be a combination of components.
Thus, it is haled that the recited claims of the instant application are not mutually exclusive of the reference claims in view of the knowledge available to one of ordinary skill in the art and especially in view of Tamtsin-Krayz.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims over the combination of Fleming, Wikhu and/or Appel, Applicant argues that Fleming fails to disclose important aspects of the claim including 1- the particles of epinephrine being encapsulated by in a coating material and 2- particles individually having a particle diameter of about 30 microns (See remarks, pages 6-7).
The above argument is not persuasive because applicant's arguments are against one of the references. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
In this case, 1- Fleming teaches particles comprising epinephrine and wherein they may be coated particles. Wikhu et al and Appel et al teach a particle wherein the active ingredient/drug is coated with a coating material including celluloses, as claimed. Tus the combination of references meet this limitation. 2- Fleming teaches, in paragraph 0118 as pointed by the Applicant, that epinephrine particles are mixed with other ingredients, and that “The average particle diameter of each of the ingredient is within 30 μm”. Thus, regardless of other ingredients, the particle size of epinephrine is about 30 microns. Additionally, Fleming teaches that for nasal administration, the median particle diameter can be up 100 μm, preferably between 20 μm and 50 μm (See [0068]). Therefore, Fleming fully teaches the required and claimed diameter range.
Regarding the rejection of claims over the combination of Temtsin-Krayz, Batycky, Wikhu and/or Appel, Applicant argues that “Temtsin-Krayz discloses pharmaceutical compositions in the form of dry powder for intranasal administration, comprising solid particles of at least one active agent and solid particles of a diluent (Abstract). Epinephrine is listed in paragraph [0018] and, as in Fleming, the term "coated powder microspheres" appears in two places in Temtsin-Krayz. Nowhere does Temtsin-Krayz disclose particles of an active ingredient that are substantially encapsulated in any type of coating material. Batycky discloses particles for the delivery of epinephrine to the respiratory system and methods for treating a patient in need of epinephrine ([0008]). Coated particles are not disclosed” (See remarks, page 8).
The above arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons as stated above. Temtsin-Krayz teaches particles comprising epinephrine for nasal administration and wherein, -the pharmaceutical composition may be prepared in a form of a powder, simple powder mixtures, powder microspheres, coated powder microspheres, liposomal dispersions and combinations thereof-. Additionally, Wikhu et al and Appel et al teach a particle wherein the active ingredient/drug is coated with a coating material including celluloses, as claimed. Thus, the combination of references meets this limitation. 2-Batycky was relied upon for its disclosure on particles comprising epinephrine, or a salt thereof, for treating anaphylaxis or allergic conditions.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding the rejection of claims, under obviousness type double patenting, over co-pending Applications, Applicant argues that 1-the substantial differences in the claims … are in no way made up for by the disclosure of Tamtsin-Krayz in any type of coating material, and 2- the claims are still unde4rgoing prosecution (See remarks, page 9).
The above arguments are not sufficient to overcome the rejections. As shown in each of the rejections, the differences would have been obvious in view of the teachings in the art such as Tamtsin-Krayz. For example, the differences between the examined claims and claims of co-pending Application No. 18/031,898 is 1- the particle size range and 2- the active agent. However, as disclosed by Tamtsin-Krayz, the same coated microparticles can include epinephrine or cannabinoids, and the particle size range is decided based on the route of administration. Thus, the differences are obvious over each other. 2- the rejections are maintained until a decision is made on their disposal.
Claims 1, 4-9, 20-23, 26-29, 34-37 and 51 are rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Mina Haghighatian/
Mina Haghighatian
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1616