DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cui et al. (CN103646777 – machine translation) as evidenced by Liu et al. (US 2003/0201035). Considering claim 1 , Cui teaches a permanent magnet (abstract) comprising a sintered NdFeB magnet (Paragraph 7) formed by spark plasma sintering (Paragraph 16) a rapidly quenched powder (Paragraphs 12-13). Liu evidences where rapidly quenched powder is inherently isotropic (Paragraph 32) . The iron alloy comprises 11-16 at.% Nd (Paragraph 17) (e.g. a rare earth element) . Examples of the sintered body ha ve flexural strengths of 314, 322, 352 MPa (Tables 1-3) (e.g. radial crushing strength) . The shape of the sintered body (e.g. a ring) is considered a matter of design choice and falls within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). While not expressly teaching a singular example of the claimed ring magnet this would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date in view of the teachings of Cui as this is considered a sintered body having an overlapping rare earth content as that which is claimed and the courts have held that where claimed ranges overlap or lie inside of those disclosed in the prior art a prima facie exists. See MPEP 2144.05. Cui does not disclosed where the sintered body has the claimed coercive force or demagnetization rate. However, as outlined above, Cui teaches a sintered body of substantially identical composition of a rapidly quenched powder sintered by spark plasma sintering substantially identical to that which is claimed and therefore the sintered body of Cui is expected to possess the claimed coercive force and demagnetization rate as a material and its properties are inseparable, absent an objective showing. See MPEP 2112. Considering claim 3 , Cui teaches where the iron alloy contains Nd (Paragraph 17). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 4-8 are allowed. Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The closest prior art to claim 3 is that of Cui as outlined above . Cui teaches the inclusion of graphene within the sintered body at a concentration of 1-10 wt.% (Paragraphs 19-20) which is significantly outside the claimed carbon content . Cui is also silent regarding the claimed degreasing with the current density and pressure combined with the sintering conditions set forth in claim 4. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kume et al. (US 2014/0145808), Horikita et al. (US 2016/0284452), and Ebe et al. (US 2019/0221339) teach sintered magnets demonstrating the level of ordinary skill in the art. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT SETH DUMBRIS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-5105 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 6:00 AM - 3:30 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Humera Sheikh can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-0604 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT SETH DUMBRIS Primary Examiner Art Unit 1784 /SETH DUMBRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784