DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2 are pending and currently under review.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omura et al. (US 2020/0087746) in view of Madi et al. (US 2010/0122712) and Suzuki et al. (JPH08143971, machine translation referred to herein).
Regarding claim 1, Omura et al. discloses a method of manufacturing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet [abstract]; wherein said method includes steps of hot rolling [0080], cold rolling once or twice or more with intermediate annealing therein [0081], subjecting the cold rolled steel to pickling with an HCl acid solution [0138, 0143], performing decarburization annealing [0082], followed by application of an MgO annealing separator and final annealing [0083-0084].
Omura et al. does not expressly teach that pickling is performed with a solution as claimed. Madi et al. discloses a pickling solution for electrical steels having cost-saving benefits [0002-0004]; wherein said solution includes 6 to 15 percent of an acid of HCl and 2 to 8 percent of ferric ions [0017-0018, 0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of Omura et al. by utilizing the pickling solution of Madi et al. to save costs as expressly taught by Madi et al. The examiner notes that the aforementioned ranges of Madi et al. fall within the claimed ranges.
The aforementioned prior art does not expressly teach controlling a concentration of CO during decarburization annealing as claimed. Suzuki et al. discloses that it is known to control an atmosphere of decarburization annealing for grain-oriented steels sheets to include less than 6 percent of CO inevitably mixed therein such that C content can be reduced and annealing time can be shortened [0001, 0018-0019, 0027]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to modify the method of the aforementioned prior art by controlling a concentration of CO for the aforementioned benefit. The examiner notes that the CO range of Suzuki et al. falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, the aforementioned prior art discloses the method of claim 1 (see previous). As stated above, Omura et al. and Madi et al. both teach that the pickling solution includes HCl.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734