DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed on 4/28/2026
Claims 1 and 5-9 are pending
Claims 2-4 are canceled
Examiner decided to withdraw the double patenting rejection because applicant’s amendment to the claims overcome the rejection
Examiner decided to maintain 103 rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments on pages 4-5, applicant argues for claim 1, Kiyota fails to teach “the image display unit further displays a driving axis information image … and wherein the image display unit changes a display mode of the driving axis information image based on the driving mode determined by the determination unit” as recited in Applicant’s amended, independent claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees because the rejections are based on the combined teachings of the references, and the references need not individually teach every limitation of the claim. The combination of Kiyota and Ward teaches the amended limitations of independent claim 1.
Kiyota teaches a detection unit configured to detect a touch operation on the display screen (Par. [0029] “when the operator touches the touch panel, a position signal is input from the input unit of the touch panel and this signal is received by the input signal processing unit.” – detection unit is interpreted to correspond to detecting that when the screen is touched, it triggers the displaying of the operation image.),
wherein, when the detection unit detects the touch operation, the image display unit displays the operation image on the display screen (Par. [0030] “in a case where the received position signal is a signal that requires the display screen to be changed, the input signal processing unit transmits a display screen changing signal to the display control unit and the display control unit displays a display screen corresponding to the received signal on the display unit of the touch panel”),
wherein, when the detection unit detects the touch operation on the driving axis information image, the image display unit displays the operation image on the display screen (Par. [0030] “in a case where the received position signal is a signal that requires the display screen to be changed, the input signal processing unit transmits a display screen changing signal to the display control unit and the display control unit displays a display screen corresponding to the received signal on the display unit of the touch panel”), and
wherein the image display unit changes a display mode of the driving axis information image based on the driving mode determined by the determination unit (Fig. 6-11, Par. [0062] – [0065] “display screen storage unit 15 is a functional unit for storing data relating to display screens to be displayed on the display unit 22 of the touch panel 21, and based on the display screen data stored in the display screen data storage unit 15, the display screens are displayed on the display unit 22 under control by the display control unit 12.” … “display area 26 is an area for displaying a mode switching screen in which mode keys for selecting one from a plurality of operation modes are arranged” … “display areas 27 and 28 are each an area for displaying an operation screen in which operation keys which are set corresponding to each of the operation modes are arranged, and a plurality of operation screens (pages) are prepared for each of the operation modes.”).
Kiyota teaches displaying and accepting driving axis settings through a touch screen display, but does not explicitly teach displaying driving axis information.
However, Ward teaches displaying driving axis information (Fig. 4, Par. [0014] “touch screen operator control panel for industrial machines, in particular for the control of manoeuvring of the axes of injection presses for plastic materials, comprises an operator interface on which icons are displayed, indicating the various axes of a press, individually selectable in order to be dragged into a manoeuvring area, where they are translatable in the two ways of a certain direction to impart corresponding movements to the selected axis, wherein the possibility is provided of simultaneously displaying in said manoeuvring area (2) icons of several press axes correlated one to the other and of actuating sequentially/selectively the movements of these press axes by dragging a central zone (1) of said manoeuvring area (2) in the corresponding different directions wherein the respective icons of the press axes are displayed”).
Thus, incorporating Ward’s driving axis information into Kiyota’s touch screen display teaches the amended limitations.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 5-7, applicant further argues, for claims 5-9, Ward, Hotelling, Sekine, and Muscarella do not individually teach “the image display unit further displays a driving axis information image … and wherein the image display unit changes a display mode of the driving axis information image based on the driving mode determined by the determination unit” as recited in Applicant’s amended, independent claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees because Hotelling, Skine, and Muscarella are not relied upon to teach the disputed amended limitation of independent claim 1. As explained above, the amended limitation of claim 1 is taught by the combination of Kiyota and Ward.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyota et al. USPGPUB 2015/0082223 A1 (hereinafter Kiyota) in view of Ward et al. USPGPUB 2018/0107374 A1 (hereinafter Ward).
Regarding claim 1, Kiyoto teaches a controller (Fig. 1, Par. [0058] “controller 5”) comprising:
an image display unit (Fig. 1, Par. [0061] “The touch panel 21 includes a display unit 22 on which a screen is displayed”) configured to display an operation image for changing a driving mode of a driving axis on a display screen (Fig. 4-11, Par. [0064] “display area 26 is an area for displaying a mode switching screen in which mode keys for selecting one from a plurality of operation modes are arranged”; Par. [0009].” manual operation mode is also subdivided into a plurality of modes, such as a jog feed mode, a zero return mode, and the like.” – jog feed mode and zero return mode are types of driving axis modes);
a determination unit (Fig. 1, Par. [0061] “an input unit 23 which is disposed in a state of being overlapped on the display unit 22 for inputting data relating to a position touched by an operator's finger or the like” – interpreted to correspond to determining which axis motion mode is commanded based on the user’s interaction with what is touched on the operation image.) configured to determine the driving mode based on an operation on the operation image (Par. [0028] “screen in which mode keys corresponding to the operation modes are arranged can be given as an example, and as for the operation screen, a screen in which operation keys corresponding to operations such as forward rotation and reverse rotation of a spindle, override of rotational speed, jog feed for a plurality of feed axes, override of feed rate, and the like are arranged can be given as an example.”);
a control unit (Par. [0059] “operation control unit 6 controlling operations of the machining mechanism 2, etc. as other components thereof.” - interpreted to correspond to controlling the driving axis based on the driving mode command that was determined from the operation image.) configured to control the driving axis based on the driving mode determined by the determination unit (Fig. 1, Par. [0059] “a feed mechanism moving the tool rest in a predetermined axis direction, etc., … feed mechanism moving the table and the spindle relative to each other in predetermined axis directions”), Par. [0087] “in the case where the input signal is a signal corresponding to an operation key, the input signal processing unit 13 recognizes this signal as an operation signal, and generates an operation signal corresponding to the operation key and transmits the generated signal to the operation control unit 6”); and
a detection unit configured to detect a touch operation on the display screen (Par. [0029] “when the operator touches the touch panel, a position signal is input from the input unit of the touch panel and this signal is received by the input signal processing unit.” – detection unit is interpreted to correspond to detecting that when the screen is touched, it triggers the displaying of the operation image.),
wherein, when the detection unit detects the touch operation, the image display unit displays the operation image on the display screen (Par. [0030] “in a case where the received position signal is a signal that requires the display screen to be changed, the input signal processing unit transmits a display screen changing signal to the display control unit and the display control unit displays a display screen corresponding to the received signal on the display unit of the touch panel”),
wherein, when the detection unit detects the touch operation on the driving axis information image, the image display unit displays the operation image on the display screen (Par. [0030] “in a case where the received position signal is a signal that requires the display screen to be changed, the input signal processing unit transmits a display screen changing signal to the display control unit and the display control unit displays a display screen corresponding to the received signal on the display unit of the touch panel”), and
wherein the image display unit changes a display mode of the driving axis information image based on the driving mode determined by the determination unit (Fig. 6-11, Par. [0062] – [0065] “display screen storage unit 15 is a functional unit for storing data relating to display screens to be displayed on the display unit 22 of the touch panel 21, and based on the display screen data stored in the display screen data storage unit 15, the display screens are displayed on the display unit 22 under control by the display control unit 12.” … “display area 26 is an area for displaying a mode switching screen in which mode keys for selecting one from a plurality of operation modes are arranged” … “display areas 27 and 28 are each an area for displaying an operation screen in which operation keys which are set corresponding to each of the operation modes are arranged, and a plurality of operation screens (pages) are prepared for each of the operation modes.”).
Kiyota teaches displaying and accepting driving axis settings through a touch screen display, but does not explicitly teach displaying driving axis information.
However, Ward teaches displaying driving axis information (Fig. 4, Par. [0014] “touch screen operator control panel for industrial machines, in particular for the control of manoeuvring of the axes of injection presses for plastic materials, comprises an operator interface on which icons are displayed, indicating the various axes of a press, individually selectable in order to be dragged into a manoeuvring area, where they are translatable in the two ways of a certain direction to impart corresponding movements to the selected axis, wherein the possibility is provided of simultaneously displaying in said manoeuvring area (2) icons of several press axes correlated one to the other and of actuating sequentially/selectively the movements of these press axes by dragging a central zone (1) of said manoeuvring area (2) in the corresponding different directions wherein the respective icons of the press axes are displayed”).
Kiyota and Ward are analogous art because they contain functional similarities. They both relate to touch screen displays for driving axis settings.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above touch screen display, as taught by Kiyota, and incorporate displaying driving axis information, as taught by Ward.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve ease of controlling driving axis settings as suggested by Ward (Par. [0007]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Kiyota and Ward teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kiyota further teaches wherein the image display unit displays the operation image adjacent to the driving axis information image (Fig. 6-11, Par. [0065] “display areas 27 and 28 are each an area for displaying an operation screen in which operation keys which are set corresponding to each of the operation modes are arranged, and a plurality of operation screens (pages) are prepared for each of the operation modes.” – In figures 6-11, an image of a display screen shows an axis settings section adjacent to a machine operation section).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyota et al. USPGPUB 2015/0082223 A1 (hereinafter Kiyota) in view of Ward et al. USPGPUB 2018/0107374 A1 (hereinafter Ward), and further in view of Hotelling et al. USPGPUB 2006/0026535 A1 (hereinafter Hotelling).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Kiyota and Ward teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kiyota does not explicitly teach wherein, when an operation of eliminating the operation image is performed, or when there is no operation on the operation image for a predetermined time, the determination unit determines to hide the operation image.
However, Hotelling teaches wherein, when an operation of eliminating the operation image is performed, or when there is no operation on the operation image for a predetermined time, the determination unit determines to hide the operation image (Par. [0157] – [0158] “At some point after enabling and displaying the GUI element, a determination 812 is made as to whether or not to deactivate the GUI element. The determination 812 can be made in a variety of ways including, for example: 1) the touch is no longer detected, 2) a touch has not been detected for a preset amount of time, 3) a time out occurs (a preset amount of time has gone by since the GUI element was first displayed/enabled), or 4) a user selection (e.g., a user selects a button that closes the GUI element). If the determination indicates deactivation, then the method proceeds to block 814 where the GUI element is disabled and removed from display.”).
Kiyota, Ward, and Hotelling are analogous art because they all contain functional similarities. They all relate to display elements.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above touch screen controller, as taught by Kiyota and Ward, and incorporate determining whether to deactivate or remove a displayed GUI element depending on how long it has been since a touch input has been detected, as taught by Hotelling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve operation of touch screen interface by removing an unused or closed operation image from the display, thereby preventing unnecessary continued display of the GUI element and freeing the display area for other touch screen controls, as suggested by Hotelling (Par. [0157]-[0158]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyota et al. USPGPUB 2015/0082223 A1 (hereinafter Kiyota) in view of Ward et al. USPGPUB 2018/0107374 A1 (hereinafter Ward), and further in view of Sekine USPGPUB 2015/0168944 A1 (hereinafter Sekine).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Kiyota and Ward teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kiyota teaches a determination unit determining a driving mode based on an operation on the operation image, but does not explicitly teach the driving mode to be at least one of a normal mode, a machine lock mode, a mirror image mode, an axis detach mode, an interlock mode, and a servo off mode.
However, Sekine teaches a driving mode to be a servo off mode (Fig. 17, Par. [0006] “servo driving apparatus 40 is connected to a numerical controller 20”; Par. [0084] “Although the control signal 17 is set to "torque limit signal" in either axis of this control table 10, it may be set to "servo off signal". The servo off signal has the function of passing no current through the servo motor when turned on and performing no control and this signal is used not to move an axis.”).
Kiyota, Ward, and Sekine are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to controllers for controlling axes.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above display screen, as taught by Kiyota and Ward, and incorporate the option to select a servo off mode, as taught by Sekine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve axis control when you have multiple servo motors as suggested by Sekine (Par. [0091]).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kiyota et al. USPGPUB 2015/0082223 A1 (hereinafter Kiyota) in view of Ward et al. USPGPUB 2018/0107374 A1 (hereinafter Ward), and further in view of Muscarella et al. US 7,290,316 B2 (hereinafter Muscarella).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Kiyota and Ward teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kiyota teaches an image indicating a candidate for the driving mode (Par. [0064] “mode keys corresponding to a memory operation mode (MEMORY), an MDI operation mode (MDI), a DNC operation mode (DNC), an edit mode (EDIT), a JOG feed mode (JOG) and a zero return mode (ZRN) are displayed.”), but does not explicitly teach wherein the operation image includes an axis specification image for specifying the driving axis.
However, Muscarella teaches wherein the operation image includes an axis specification image for specifying the driving axis (Col. 11, “selection of the continuous jog mode is accomplished via "button" 724 on the main menu. One selected, screen 810 is displayed for the continuous jog mode. To select an axis for jogging, the appropriate HMI JOG (AXIS NAME) push "button" 830-836 is selected.”).
Kiyota, Ward, and Muscarella are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain functional similarities. They all relate to axis control devices.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above touch screen display, as taught by Kiyota and Ward, and incorporate the ability to specify an axis, as taught by Muscarella.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve machine efficiency as suggested by Muscarella (Col. 3).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Kiyota, Ward, and Muscarella teaches all the limitations of the base claims as outlined above.
Kiyota further teaches wherein the determination unit determines the driving mode of the driving axis based on an operation on the image indicating the candidate (Fig. 4-11, Par. [0064] “the display areas 26 to 34 are areas for displaying operation keys used by the operator to input operation signals. The display area 26 is an area for displaying a mode switching screen in which mode keys for selecting one from a plurality of operation modes are arranged, and in the following description this area is referred to as "mode switching screen display area".”).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Maki USPGPUB 2015/0105900 A1 teaches a numerical controller for controlling a machine tool is provided with a screen for operation check.
Etou et al. [USPGPUB 2016/0026170 A1] teaches a numerical controller, in which positional deviation is obtained by a positional deviation counter based on a commanded position according to a commanded movement amount output from a position command section and a detected actual position in each movement-command output cycle, and position loop control is carried out based on the determined positional deviation to drive and control a control axis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER XU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/ZIAUL KARIM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119