Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, 13-16 and 20, in the reply filed on September 18, 2026 is acknowledged.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Accordingly, claims 11 and 12 (apparatus) are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 16, 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 13-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1
Line 19, “said configurations” lack antecedent basis.
Antecedent basis must be laid for each recited element in a claim, typically, by introducing each element with the indefinite article (“a” or “an”). See Slimfold Mfg. Co. v. Kincaid Properties, Inc., 626 F. Supp 493, 495 (N.D. Ga. 1985), aff'd, 810 F.2d 1113 (Fed. Cir. 1987) (citing P. Rosenberg, 2 Patent Law Fundamentals § 14.06 (2d. Ed. 1984)). Subsequent mention of an element is to be modified by the definite article “the”, “said” or “the said,” thereby making the latter mention(s) of the element unequivocally referable to its earlier recitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
rejections set forth in this Office action:
was made.
I. Claim(s) 1-6 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wechsler et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0277870 A1) in view of Arif et al.
(“Different Approaches Used for Modeling and Simulation of Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cells: A Review,” Energy Fuels (2020), Vol. 34, pp. 11897-11915), WO 2017/142411 (‘411) and Gibson et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0119718 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wechsler teaches an electrochemical cell (= system 100) [page 2, [0035]] comprising:
• a first electrode (= a positive terminal 131) [page 3, [0039]];
• a second electrode (= a negative terminal 133) [page 3, [0039]];
• a membrane-electrode assembly, said membrane-electrode assembly comprising an ion-exchange membrane (= fuel cell-like devices (such as those utilizing proton exchange membranes (PEM)) [page 3, [0039]]; and
• a photovoltaic system configured to absorb solar energy (= PV module 110 includes, but is not limited to, one or more solar energy-to-electricity generating devices) [page 2, [0036]] and produce an output voltage between a first output terminal and a second output terminal of the photovoltaic system (= and have a positive terminal 111 and a negative terminal 113) [pages 2-3, [0037]], wherein the first output terminal of the photovoltaic system is selectively couplable to said first electrode (= a first conductor 101) [page 3, [0040]] and said second output terminal of the photovoltaic system is selectively couplable to said second electrode (= a second conductor 103) [page 3, [0040]], and
wherein the photovoltaic system comprises a plurality of photovoltaic cells selectively
couplable between said first output terminal and said second output terminal of the photovoltaic system in a series configuration, a parallel configuration, or one or more mixed
series/parallel configurations (= in general, PV module 110 is formed from a single PV device or from two or more individual PV devices that are connected electrically, in serial, parallel, or in another arrangement, such as a combined serial-parallel arrangement) [pages 2-3, [0037]].
Wechsler does not explicitly teach the following:
a. A first reaction chamber.
b. A second reaction chamber.
c. Wherein the membrane-electrode assembly is arranged between the first reaction chamber and the second reaction chamber.
Wechsler teaches that examples of electrolyzers include, but are not limited to, alkaline electrolyzers (such as electrolyzers using KOH or other alkaline electrolytes) or fuel cell-like devices (such as those utilizing proton exchange membranes (PEM)) [page 3, [0039]].
Like Wechsler, Arif teaches polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) fuel cells (page 11897, abstract; and Fig. 5:
(page 11899)).
The 1D models give the most simplistic representation of the PEM fuel cell by considering the transport mechanism across the cell only. The accuracy of the model is reduced as a result of some assumptions made to simplify the model. Despite having certain limitations, 1D models are still considered as a foundation stone of the modeling of PEM fuel cells (page 11900, left column, lines 8-14).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fuel cell-like devices (such as those utilizing proton exchange membranes (PEM)) as taught by Wechsler with a first reaction chamber, a second reaction chamber and wherein the membrane-electrode assembly is arranged between the first reaction chamber and the second reaction chamber. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because
arranging a membrane-electrode assembly between a first reaction chamber and a second reaction chamber would have constructed a 1D PEM fuel cell which model would have considered the transport mechanism across the cell and is a foundation stone of the modeling of PEM fuel cells as taught by Arif on page 11899, Fig. 5; and page 11900, left column, lines 8-14.
d. Wherein a ratio between a photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system and an active area of said first electrode and second electrode is less than or equal to fifty.
WO ‘411 teaches that:
In further embodiments, a geometrical area of the battery-electrolyzer is the same as a geometrical area of the photovoltaic cell. In yet other embodiments, the ratio of the geometrical areas may vary between about 10:1-1:10, such as 5:1-1:5, like 2:1-1:2. The term “geometrical area” may also refer to a cross-sectional area (parallel to the configuration of the electrodes, which are also especially configured parallel) [page 12, lines 12-16].
As can be seen in Fig. 2b, a geometrical area of the battery-electrolyzer is the same as a
geometrical area of the photovoltaic cell. This may provide an efficient system, though other
ratios are not excluded (page 15, lines 18-20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system and an active area of said first electrode and second electrode as taught by modified Wechsler with a ratio between a photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system and an active area of said first electrode and second electrode is less than or equal to fifty. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because having a geometrical area of the electrolyzer the same as a geometrical area of the photovoltaic cell, and in yet other embodiments, the ratio of the geometrical areas may vary between about 10:1-1:10 would have provided an efficient system as taught by WO ‘411 on page 12, lines 12-16, and page 15, lines 18-20.
e. Wherein the electrochemical cell comprises an electronic control unit configured to couple said photovoltaic cells in a configuration selected from among said configurations as a function of one or more user-settable parameters, and/or one or more signals received from an
external control unit, and/or one or more signals received from one or more sensors included in the electrochemical cell.
Gibson teaches that:
FIG. 9B illustrates a second embodiment in which an Electrolyzer has a predetermined Voper and Ioper for production of hydrogen. The optimum values of Voper and Ioper are predetermined by the mathematical model for optimization of PV-electrolysis (see Table 1). A PV Array is provided to provide direct current power for operation of the electrolyzer. Voltage, Current, and Temperature Sensors are installed to monitor the operation of the array of photovoltaic cells.
The PV array is interconnected with electrical switches to obtain combinations of series and/or parallel electrical connections between the respective modules. The mathematical model for optimization of PV-electrolysis (see Table 1) is based upon data obtained with a number of PV modules, DC-DC converters, and electrolyzer conditions. The performance characteristics of each array of PV modules is, thus, predetermined and stored in the database of a programmed controller (the controller may consist of a computer or other electronic control system with sufficient memory). An initial arrangement of some or all of the modules is arranged by control of the switches to deliver power (loper and Voper) to the electrolyzer with the array of modules operating at their Vmpp. Should the solar irradiance change, or the temperature of the PV array change, or the operating temperature or current of the electrolyzer change, or the like, the controller can command a different switching arrangement for a new array of PV modules, still operating at the Vmpp of the new array. The controller algorithm of the system in FIG. 9B controls the interconnections of PV modules and cells in the PV array so that the Vmpp of the PV array will equal Voper, the electrolyzer operating voltage. This condition gives the maximum efficiency and hydrogen production (page 11, [0139]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell taught by modified Wechsler with wherein the electrochemical cell comprises an electronic control unit configured to couple said photovoltaic cells in a configuration selected from among said
configurations as a function of one or more user-settable parameters, and/or one or more signals received from an external control unit, and/or one or more signals received from one or more sensors included in the electrochemical cell. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the PV-electrolysis would have been optimized based upon data from a database of a programmed controller obtained from voltage, current and temperature sensors with a number of PV modules, DC-DC converters, and electrolyzer conditions as taught by Gibson in [0139] and Fig. 9B.
Regarding claim 2, Gibson teaches wherein said one or more sensors included in the electrochemical cell comprise at least one of: a current sensor configured to sense a current that flows in said first electrode and said second electrode, and a voltage sensor configured to sense a voltage applied between said first electrode and said second electrode (= voltage and current sensors are connected to measure the operating voltage and current, of the photovoltaic-electrolyzer system) [page 2, [0013]].
Regarding claim 3, WO ‘411 teaches wherein the ratio between the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system and the active area of said first electrode and second electrode is less than or equal to ten (= in further embodiments, a geometrical area of the battery-electrolyzer is the same as a geometrical area of the photovoltaic cell. In yet other embodiments, the ratio of the geometrical areas may vary between about 10:1-1:10, such as
5:1-1:5, like 2:1-1:2. The term “geometrical area” may also refer to a cross-sectional area (parallel to the configuration of the electrodes, which are also especially configured parallel)
[page 12, lines 12-16].
Regarding claim 4, Wechsler does not explicitly teach wherein the photosensitive area
of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode range from 25 cm2 to 1 m2.
Gibson teaches that the PV cell area is 26x1.027 m2 = 26.7 m2 (measured area of the PV
cells, usually obtainable from the manufacturer) [page 9, [0117]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode taught by modified Wechsler with wherein the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode range from 25 cm2 to 1 m2. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because one having ordinary skill In the art has the skill to determine the range of the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode by routine experimentation to optimize and operate a solar-powered photovoltaic-electrolyzer to generate hydrogen.
MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)) states that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
Regarding claim 5, Arif teaches wherein said first electrode comprises a first electrically conductive plate (= anode current collector), and said first reaction chamber consists of at least one respective flow channel engraved on a surface of the first electrically conductive plate (=
anode flow channel) that faces said ion-exchange membrane (= membrane), and wherein said second electrode comprises a second electrically conductive plate (= cathode current collector), and said second reaction chamber consists of at least one respective flow channel engraved on a surface of the second electrically conductive plate that faces said ion-exchange membrane in
a position corresponding to said flow channel engraved on the surface of said first electrically conductive plate (= cathode flow channel), whereby a first reaction fluid introduced into said first reaction chamber and a second reaction fluid introduced into said second reaction chamber flow on two opposite sides of the ion-exchange membrane at corresponding positions (=
)
[page 11909, Fig. 8].
Regarding claim 6, Arif teaches a first gas-diffusion layer arranged between said first electrode and said ion-exchange membrane (= anode gas diffusion layer), and a second gas-diffusion layer arranged between said second electrode and said ion-exchange membrane (=
cathode gas diffusion layer) [=
]
(page 11909, Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, WO ‘411 teaches wherein the ratio between the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system and the active area of said first electrode and second electrode is less than or equal to five (= in further embodiments, a geometrical area of the battery-electrolyzer is the same as a geometrical area of the photovoltaic cell. In yet other embodiments, the ratio of the geometrical areas may vary between about 10:1-1:10, such as 5:1-1:5, like 2:1-1:2. The term “geometrical area” may also refer to a cross-sectional area (parallel to the configuration of the electrodes, which are also especially configured parallel) [page 12, lines 12-16].
Regarding claim 14, WO ‘411 teaches wherein the ratio between the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system and the active area of said first electrode and second electrode is equal to one (= in further embodiments, a geometrical area of the battery-electrolyzer is the
same as a geometrical area of the photovoltaic cell. In yet other embodiments, the ratio of the
geometrical areas may vary between about 10:1-1:10, such as 5:1-1:5, like 2:1-1:2. The term “geometrical area” may also refer to a cross-sectional area (parallel to the configuration of the electrodes, which are also especially configured parallel) [page 12, lines 12-16].
Regarding claim 15, Wechsler does not explicitly teach wherein the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode range from 50 cm2 to 25 dm2.
Gibson teaches that the PV cell area is 26x1.027 m2 = 26.7 m2 (measured area of the PV cells, usually obtainable from the manufacturer) [page 9, [0117]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode taught by modified Wechsler with wherein the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode range from 50 cm2 to 25 dm2. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because one having ordinary skill In the art has the skill to determine the range of the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode by routine experimentation to optimize and operate a solar-powered photovoltaic-electrolyzer to generate hydrogen.
MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)) states that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed
in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
Regarding claim 16, Wechsler does not explicitly teach wherein the photosensitive area
of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said
second electrode are equal to 100 cm2.
Gibson teaches that the PV cell area is 26x1.027 m2 = 26.7 m2 (measured area of the PV cells, usually obtainable from the manufacturer) [page 9, [0117]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode taught by modified Wechsler with wherein the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode are equal to 100 cm2. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because one having ordinary skill In the art has the skill to determine the range of the photosensitive area of said photovoltaic system, the active area of said first electrode, and the active area of said second electrode by routine experimentation to optimize and operate a solar-powered photovoltaic-electrolyzer to generate hydrogen.
MPEP § 2144.05(II)(A)) states that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation in In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).”
II. Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Wechsler et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0277870 A1) in view of Arif et al. (“Different Approaches Used for Modeling and Simulation of Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cells: A Review,” Energy Fuels (2020), Vol. 34, pp. 11897-11915), WO 2017/142411 (‘411) and Gibson et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0119718 A1) as applied to claims 1-6 and 13-16 above, and further in view of Esswein et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0030573 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wechsler, Arif, WO ‘411 and Gibson teach the electrochemical cell of
at least claims 1-6 and 13-16 as applied above. The references do not explicitly teach a first pump controlled by said electronic control unit to adjust a flow of a first reaction fluid introduced into said first reaction chamber and a second pump controlled by said electronic control unit to adjust a flow of a second reaction fluid introduced into said second reaction chamber.
Esswein teaches that:
A pump 60 may effect transport of the first active material 30 from the tank 50 to the electrochemical cell. The flow battery also suitably includes a second tank (not labeled) that contains the second active material 40. The second active material 40 may or may not be the same as active material 30. A second pump (not labeled) may effect transport of second redox material 40 to the electrochemical cell. Pumps may also be used to effect transport of the active materials from the electrochemical cell to the tanks of the system. Other methods of effecting fluid transport - e.g., siphons - may be used to transport redox material into and out of the electrochemical cell. Also shown is a power source or load 70, which completes the circuit of the electrochemical cell and allows the user to collect or store electricity during operation of the cell (page 7, [0124]).
In additional embodiments, the cells, cell stacks, or batteries are incorporated into larger energy storage systems, suitably including piping and controls useful for operation of these large units. Piping, control, and other equipment suitable for such systems are known in the art,
and include, for example, piping and pumps in fluid communication with the respective electrochemical reaction chambers for moving electrolytes into and out of the respective chambers and storage tanks for holding charged and discharged electrolytes. The energy storage and generation systems described by the present disclosure may also include electrolyte circulation loops, which loops may comprise one or more valves, one or more pumps, and optionally a pressure equalizing line. The energy storage and generation systems of this disclosure can also include an operation management system. The operation management system may be any suitable controller device, such as a computer or microprocessor, and may contain logic circuitry that sets operation of any of the various valves, pumps, circulation loops, and the like (page 7, [0128]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell taught by modified Wechsler with a first pump controlled by said electronic control unit to adjust a flow of a first reaction fluid introduced into said first reaction chamber and a second pump controlled by said electronic control unit to adjust a flow of a second reaction fluid introduced into said second reaction chamber. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because pumps in fluid communication with the respective electrochemical reaction chambers would have moved electrolytes into and out of the respective chambers and storage tanks for holding charged and discharged electrolytes where a suitable controller device, such as a computer or microprocessor would have contained logic circuitry that sets operation of any of the various valves, pumps, circulation loops, and the like as taught by Esswein in [0124] and [0128].
Regarding claim 9, Wechsler, Arif, WO ‘411 and Gibson teach the electrochemical cell of at least claims 1-6 and 13-16 as applied above. The references do not explicitly teach one or
more pressure sensors and/or one or more flow-rate sensors for detecting one or more parameters indicative of said flows of said first reaction fluid and said second reaction fluid, wherein said
electronic control unit is configured to control said first pump and said second pump to adjust
recirculation and introduction of said first and second reaction fluids as a function of said one or more detected parameters indicative of said flows.
Esswein teaches that:
In additional embodiments, the cells, cell stacks, or batteries are incorporated into larger energy storage systems, suitably including piping and controls useful for operation of these large units. Piping, control, and other equipment suitable for such systems are known in the art, and include, for example, piping and pumps in fluid communication with the respective electrochemical reaction chambers for moving electrolytes into and out of the respective chambers and storage tanks for holding charged and discharged electrolytes. The energy storage and generation systems described by the present disclosure may also include electrolyte circulation loops, which loops may comprise one or more valves, one or more pumps, and optionally a pressure equalizing line. The energy storage and generation systems of this disclosure can also include an operation management system. The operation management system may be any suitable controller device, such as a computer or microprocessor, and may contain logic circuitry that sets operation of any of the various valves, pumps, circulation loops, and the like (page 7, [0128]).
A suitable flow battery system may comprise a flow battery (including a cell or cell stack); storage tanks and piping for containing and transporting the electrolytes; control hardware and software (which may include safety systems); and a power conditioning unit. The flow battery cell stack accomplishes the conversion of charging and discharging cycles and determines the peak power of energy storage system, which power may in some embodiments be in the kW range. The storage tanks contain the positive and negative active materials; the tank volume determines the quantity of energy stored in the system, which may be measured in kWh. The control software, hardware, and optional safety systems suitably include sensors, mitigation equipment and other electronic/hardware controls and safeguards to ensure safe, autonomous, and efficient operation of the flow battery energy storage system. Such systems are known to those of ordinary skill in the art (page 7, [0129]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell taught by modified Wechsler with one or more pressure sensors and/or one or more flow-rate sensors for detecting one or more parameters indicative of said flows of said first reaction fluid and said
second reaction fluid, wherein said electronic control unit is configured to control said first
pump and said second pump to adjust recirculation and introduction of said first and second
reaction fluids as a function of said one or more detected parameters indicative of said flows. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because piping, control, and other equipment suitable for such systems are known in the art, and include electrolyte circulation loops, which loops may comprise one or more valves, one or more pumps, and optionally a pressure equalizing line where a suitable controller device, such as a computer or microprocessor, would have contained logic circuitry that sets operation of any of the various valves, pumps, circulation loops, and the like, and where sensors would have been hardware which controls and safeguards to ensure safe, autonomous, and efficient operation of the system as taught by Esswein in [0128] and [0129].
III. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wechsler et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0277870 A1) in view of Arif et al. (“Different Approaches Used for Modeling and Simulation of Polymer Electrolyte Membrane Fuel Cells: A Review,” Energy Fuels (2020), Vol. 34, pp. 11897-11915), WO 2017/142411 (‘411) and Gibson et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0119718 A1) as applied to claims 1-6 and 13-16 above, and further in view of Schuetzle et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0175320 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Wechsler, Arif, WO ‘411 and Gibson teach the electrochemical cell of at least claims 1-6 and 13-16 as applied above. The references do not explicitly teach a first
split valve arranged in an outlet duct from said first reaction chamber; and a second split valve
arranged in an outlet duct from said second reaction chamber, wherein said first split valve is
configured to split a first gaseous product of reaction from a first reaction fluid introduced into said first reaction chamber, and to convey said first gaseous product of reaction towards a first storage reservoir and re-introduce said first reaction fluid into said first reaction chamber, and wherein said second split valve is configured to split a second gaseous product of reaction from a second reaction fluid introduced into said second reaction chamber, and to convey said second gaseous product of reaction towards a second storage reservoir and re-introduce said
second reaction fluid into said second reaction chamber.
Arif teaches polymer electrolyte membrane (PEM) fuel cells (page 11897, abstract) comprising the first and second reaction chambers (page 11899, Fig. 5).
Gibson teaches that the water is separated from the hydrogen product in Gas/Liquid Separator and pumped back to the PEM Electrolyzer (page 3, [0035]; and Fig. 1:
).
Schuetzle teaches that:
Gases from the gas/liquid separator 38 may be split at valve 44 and a portion is re-compressed up to the operating pressure of the synthesis catalysts by compressor 34, and recycled back to
the catalyst reactor 28 to further convert the reactive species (page 7, [0088]).
(Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical cell taught by modified Wechsler with a first split valve arranged in an outlet duct from said first reaction chamber; and a second split valve arranged in an outlet duct from said second reaction chamber, wherein said first split valve is configured to split a first gaseous product of reaction from a first reaction fluid introduced into said first reaction chamber, and to convey said first gaseous product of reaction towards a first storage reservoir and re-introduce said first reaction fluid into said first reaction chamber, and wherein said second split valve is configured to split a second gaseous product of reaction from a second reaction fluid introduced into said second reaction chamber, and to convey said second gaseous product of reaction towards a second storage reservoir and re-introduce said second reaction fluid into said second reaction
chamber. The person with ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because gases from the gas/liquid separator would have been split at a valve for gas recycle to the PEM electrolyzer and where products can also be directed to product storage tanks from which they can be distributed.
The motivation to combine prior art references can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their commonly known purpose (MPEP § 2144.07).
Furthermore, the selection of old parts to operate in new environments in order to achieve the same results was held to have been obvious. In re Rose 105 USPQ 237. Also, the rearrangement of parts was held to have been obvious (MPEP § 2144.04(C)).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 7 and 20 define over the prior art of record because the prior art does not contain any language that teaches or suggests the electrochemical cell of claim 1, further comprising an accumulator of electrical energy, wherein said electronic control unit is configured to selectively: couple said accumulator of electrical energy to said photovoltaic
system to store electrical energy produced in excess by said photovoltaic system in response to said photovoltaic system supplying an output voltage higher than a first voltage threshold; couple said accumulator of electrical energy to said first electrode and said second electrode to supply thereto the electrical energy stored in said accumulator of electrical energy in response
to said photovoltaic system supplying an output voltage lower than a second voltage threshold;
couple said accumulator of electrical energy to said first electrode and said second electrode to supply thereto a minimum supply voltage during an inactivity phase of said photovoltaic system; and couple said accumulator of electrical energy to said first electrode and said second electrode to supply thereto the electrical energy stored in said accumulator of electrical energy in response to the output voltage of said photovoltaic system undergoing an oscillation, an interruption, and/or a sudden variation. Therefore, a person skilled in the art would not have been motivated to adopt the above conditions, and a prima facie case of obviousness cannot be established.
Claims 7 and 20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citations
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gibson et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. 2006/0065302 A1) is cited to teach:
This system has at least one photovoltaic (“PV”) module supplying power to electrolyze water and at least one electrolyzer receiving the power. The electrolyzer has at least one membrane electrode assembly (“MEA”) for electrolyzing water to form hydrogen (page 1, [0007]).
An optional controller can be added to the PV-electrolyzer system that switches among the first, second and third modes based upon an extent of light incident on the PV module (pages 1-2, [0009]).
JP H07331474 is cited to teach:
Example 1: Figures 1(a), 1(b), and 2 show embodiments corresponding to claims 1 and 2 of the present invention. In the diagram, 1 is a water electrolytic cell, 2 is a solar cell consisting of multiple modules #1 to #4 connected in parallel to a power supply circuit 3 as a power source for the water electrolytic cell 1, 4 is a current detector that measures the output current of the solar cell 2 supplying power to the water electrolytic cell 1 on the power supply circuit, 5 is a control unit that switches a changeover switch 6 connected to the output side of some modules of the solar cell 2, for example module #4, based on the output signal of the current detector 4, and 7 is a storage battery connected to the output side of module #4 of the solar cell 2 via the switch 6 (ρ [0012]).
Bashir et al. (“Sixteen Percent Solar-to-Hydrogen Efficiency Using a Power-Matched Alkaline Electrolyzer and a High Concentrated Solar Cell: Effect of Operating Parameters,” ACS Omega (2020 May 12), Vol. 5, No. 18, pp. 10510-10518) is cited to teach a high concentrated triple-junction (3-J) photovoltaic cell (PV) connected directly to an alkaline membrane electrolyzer (EC) [page 10510, abstract].
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/EDNA WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1795