DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/04/2025 has been entered. Claims 5, 8, 10 and 19-21 have been amended. Claims 1-4, 7, 9 and 11-12 have been cancelled. Claims 8-10 are new additions. Claims 5-6, 8, 10 and 13-40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Figures: The examiner provides illustrations from the prior art with additional annotations as needed to facilitate discussion of the claim elements. Moreover, it is held that guidance as provided by the figures is sufficient to enable public possession of an inventive concept. That is, an enabling picture may be used to reject claims directed to an article to include: anticipating claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed. In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972). And when the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979), see MPEP 2125.The examiner provides marked-up reproductions of applicable drawings (as needed) to facilitate discussion of the prior art.
Claims 5-6, 13-18, 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP 2014180868 A), in view of Fujiwara (US 2020/0331308 A1 – of record as JP 2019104424A), in view of at least one of Sato (US 2014/0326386 A1 – of record), or Munezawa (US 2015/0217605 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 5, Nakamura discloses a tire to include a pair of bead cores 1a embedded in a pair of bead portions 1; a carcass 7 having a carcass body portion 71 toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass winding portion 72 – (construed as a folded-up portion) extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core; a bead filler disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rim strip rubber 4 – (construed as a rubber chafer) disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bead filler)]
The tire further includes a conductive member 10; and a part of a tread portion in the tire width direction is a conductive portion 14 – (construed as an antenna rubber having conductivity), the antenna rubber is free of direct contact with the conductive member, see depiction above and page 18 paragraph 6).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the claimed conductive member orientation or overlapping width. However, Nakamura explicitly discloses the shape of the conductive pathway is not limited, see page 18 paragraphs 6-7. This would prompt one to look to exemplary configurations.
Fujiwara discloses a tire in which the electrical resistance of the whole tire can be lowered, see [0008]. The tire is configured to have a radial inner end of a conductive member 6 is located at a tire radial outer end of a chafer 3 and/or in a tire radial region that is farther inward in a tire radial direction than the tire radial outer end of the chafer.
And the conductive member is further configured to be disposed such that in a region radially inward than an outer end of the carcass folded-up portion in the tire radial direction, the conductive member is located between the carcass folded-up portion and the chafer in the tire width direction, see the depiction above.
Sato discloses a tire to include a clinch 9 – (construed as a rubber chafer), bead filler 5 and conductive rubber layer 10, see [0024], Fig. 3. And as depicted in FIG. 3 the conductive rubber layer 10 extends substantially the length of the bead filler 5 and clinch 9. It being considered, that both the bead filler and clinch as well-known in the art to have heights or lengths which are magnitudes greater than 1 mm or more. Subsequently, the conductive rubber layer which substantially overlaps the clinch would do so having the claimed overlap width of 1 mm or more.
Likewise, Munezawa discloses a tire where it is typical to have a bead apex 36 – (corresponds to a bead filler) have a length of at least 5 mm to 40 mm. And where doing so effectively contributes to the lateral rigidity of the tire which ensures steering stability, see [0065]. It being seen that for the substantial overlap of the conductive member with the bead filler and chafer, one would form an overlap width, between the conductive member and the chafer, where in an extending direction of the conductive member is 1 mm or more.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s conductive pathway as claimed and reasonably suggested by Fujiwara, and Sato, or Munezawa to form a conventionally known conductive pathway suitable for establishing an electrically conductive pathway from the rim to the tread portion.
Regarding claim 6, modified Nakamura discloses a belt layer 2 – (construed as a reinforcement member) formed by one or more reinforcement layers and disposed on a tire radial outer side of a crown portion of the carcass, wherein the conductive member extends outward in the tire radial direction from the tire radial inner end to a position of a reinforcement layer, among the one or more reinforcement layers, that is conductive, see Fujiwara Fig. 1, [0026], [0027].
Regarding claim 13, modified Nakamura discloses the tire includes an upper right half of a cross-sectional view of a pneumatic tire – (construed as a first tire widthwise half and a second tire widthwise half (it being understood that the not depicted upper left half is symmetric with respect to depicted components of the right half). Each half includes the chafer, and the conductive member 6 extending continuously from a first tire radial outer end of the rubber chafer in the first tire widthwise half or a region farther inward in the tire radial direction than the first tire radial outer end to a second tire radial outer end of the rubber chafer in the second tire widthwise half or a region farther inward in the tire radial direction than the second tire radial outer end, see at least Fujiwara Fig 1.
Regarding claim 14, modified Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the carcass is conductive, then under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner Fujiwara’s carcass is considered non-conductive.
Regarding claim 15, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member 10 is disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of both the carcass main body and the carcass folded-up portion, see at least Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 16, modified Fujiwara discloses the conductive member is disposed on a tire widthwise inner side of the chafer, and the chafer and the conductive member 6 are in electrical contact, see at least the abstract, Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 17, modified Nakamura discloses the use of a chafer 22, see Munezawa Fig. 1 – (construed as a canvas chafer) disposed to cover a tire radial inner side and both tire widthwise sides of the bead core, wherein one of tire radial outer ends of the chafer is located axially outside the carcass folded-up portion. And Sato discloses a conductive member which extends radially inward substantially to the bead core, see Fig. 3. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Fujiwara to have the claimed canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion orientation since: This is easily envisioned at least by Munezawa’s disclosed canvas chafer benefit of protecting the bead portion by its use, see at least [0036]. Thus, forming the canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion in the claimed orientation would do no more than what is reasonably suggested by the prior art structure and benefits therefrom.
Regarding claim 18, modified Nakamura discloses the tire radial inner end of the conductive member 6 is located outward in the tire radial direction than the bead core, see at least Fujiwara Fig. 1.
Regarding claims 22-23, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member 6 is formed of conductive fibers alone, see [0028] – (construed as the conductive member is free of rubber compound); and the conductive member fibers are formable of a combination of cotton and stainless steel – (construed as SUS), see [0037], whereby the filament material is twisted, see [0044] – (construed as the conductive member is formed by blending and twisting cotton fibers and pieces of SUS).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP 2014180868 A), in view of Fujiwara (US 2020/0331308 A1 – of record as JP 2019104424A), in view of at least one of Sato (US 2014/0326386 A1 – of record), or Munezawa (US 2015/0217605 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 8, Nakamura discloses a method of manufacturing a tire. And further where such a conventional method includes forming the tire to include: a pair of bead cores 1a embedded in a pair of bead portions 1; a carcass 7 having a carcass body portion 71 toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass winding portion 72 – (construed as a folded-up portion) extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core; a bead filler disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rim strip rubber 4 – (construed as a rubber chafer) disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bead filler)]
The tire further includes a conductive member 10; and a part of a tread portion in the tire width direction is a conductive portion 14 – (construed as an antenna rubber having conductivity), the antenna rubber is free of direct contact with the conductive member, see depiction above and page 18 paragraph 6).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the claimed conductive member orientation or overlapping width. However, Nakamura explicitly discloses the shape of the conductive pathway is not limited, see page 18 paragraphs 6-7. This would prompt one to look to exemplary configurations. In any event, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s method as claimed since:
Fujiwara discloses a tire in which the electrical resistance of the whole tire can be lowered, see [0008]. The tire is configured to have a radial inner end of a conductive member 6 is located at a tire radial outer end of a chafer 3 and/or in a tire radial region that is farther inward in a tire radial direction than the tire radial outer end of the chafer.
And the conductive member is further configured to be disposed such that in a region radially inward than an outer end of the carcass folded-up portion in the tire radial direction, the conductive member is located between the carcass folded-up portion and the chafer in the tire width direction, see the depiction above.
Sato discloses a tire as depicted in FIG. 3, a conductive rubber layer 10 extends substantially the length of a bead filler 5 and clinch 9 – (construed as a chafer). It being considered, that both the bead filler and clinch are well-known in the art to have heights or lengths which are magnitudes greater than 1 mm or more. Subsequently, the conductive rubber layer which substantially overlaps the clinch would do so having the claimed overlap width of 1 mm or more. Likewise, Munezawa discloses a tire where it is typical to have the bead apex 36 – (corresponds to a bead filler) have a length of at least 5 mm to 40 mm. And where doing so effectively contributes to the lateral rigidity of the tire which ensures steering stability, see [0065]. It being seen that for the substantial overlap of the conductive member with the bead filler and clinch, one would form an overlap width, between the conductive rubber layer and the clinch, where in an extending direction of the conductive rubber layer is 1 mm or more.
It being considered, that for Nakamura’s vulcanizing step, Sato’s substantially overlapping bead filler, conductive layer and chafer arrangement and Munezawa’s bead filler length that one of ordinary skill would as a matter of routine experimentation form the method to have a step of: vulcanizing a raw tire in a state such that an overlap width, between the conductive member and the rubber chafer before vulcanization, in an extending direction of the conductive member is 10 mm or more. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s method of manufacturing a tire to include a conductive pathway as claimed and reasonably suggested by Fujiwara, and Sato, or Munezawa to form a conventionally known method for providing a tire with a conductive pathway suitable for establishing an electrically conductive pathway from the rim to the tread portion.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP 2014180868 A), in view of Fujiwara (US 2020/0331308 A1 – of record as JP 2019104424A), in view of at least one of Sato (US 2014/0326386 A1 – of record), or Munezawa (US 2015/0217605 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 10, Nakamura discloses a method of manufacturing a tire to include the use of raw rubber – (construed as a raw tire for manufacturing a tire). And further where such a conventional method includes forming the tire to include: a pair of bead cores 1a embedded in a pair of bead portions 1; a carcass 7 having a carcass body portion 71 toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass winding portion 72 – (construed as a folded-up portion) extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core; a bead filler disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rim strip rubber 4 – (construed as a rubber chafer) disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bead filler)]
The tire further includes a conductive member 10; and a part of a tread portion in the tire width direction is a conductive portion 14 – (construed as an antenna rubber having conductivity), the antenna rubber is free of direct contact with the conductive member, see depiction above and page 18 paragraph 6).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the claimed conductive member orientation or overlapping width. However, Nakamura explicitly discloses the shape of the conductive pathway is not limited, see page 18 paragraphs 6-7. This would prompt one to look to exemplary configurations. In any event, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s method as claimed since:
Fujiwara discloses a tire in which the electrical resistance of the whole tire can be lowered, see [0008]. The tire is configured to have a radial inner end of a conductive member 6 is located at a tire radial outer end of a chafer 3 and/or in a tire radial region that is farther inward in a tire radial direction than the tire radial outer end of the chafer.
And the conductive member is further configured to be disposed such that in a region radially inward than an outer end of the carcass folded-up portion in the tire radial direction, the conductive member is located between the carcass folded-up portion and the chafer in the tire width direction, see the depiction above.
Sato discloses a tire as depicted in FIG. 3, a conductive rubber layer 10 extends substantially the length of a bead filler 5 and clinch 9 – (construed as a chafer). It being considered, that both the bead filler and clinch are well-known in the art to have heights or lengths which are magnitudes greater than 1 mm or more. Subsequently, the conductive rubber layer which substantially overlaps the clinch would do so having the claimed overlap width of 1 mm or more. Likewise, Munezawa discloses a tire where it is typical to have the bead apex 36 – (corresponds to a bead filler) have a length of at least 5 mm to 40 mm. And where doing so effectively contributes to the lateral rigidity of the tire which ensures steering stability, see [0065]. It being seen that for the substantial overlap of the conductive member with the bead filler and clinch, one would form an overlap width, between the conductive rubber layer and the clinch, where in an extending direction of the conductive rubber layer is 1 mm or more. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s raw tire for manufacturing a tire to include a conductive pathway as claimed and reasonably suggested by Fujiwara, and Sato, or Munezawa to form a conventionally known method for providing a tire with a conductive pathway suitable for establishing an electrically conductive pathway from the rim to the tread portion.
Claims 19, 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP 2014180868 A), in view of Fujiwara (US 2020/0331308 A1 – of record as JP 2019104424A), in view of at least one of Sato (US 2014/0326386 A1 – of record), or Munezawa (US 2015/0217605 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 19, Nakamura discloses a tire to include a pair of bead cores 1a embedded in a pair of bead portions 1; a carcass 7 having a carcass body portion 71 toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass winding portion 72 – (construed as a folded-up portion) extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core; a bead filler disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rim strip rubber 4 – (construed as a rubber chafer) disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bead filler)]
The tire further includes a belt 6 – (construed as a reinforcement member) formed by one or more reinforcement layers and disposed on a tire radial outer side of a crown portion of the carcass, and the one or more belt member are conductive, see page 18 paragraph 6; a conductive member 10; and a part of a tread portion in the tire width direction is a conductive portion 14 – (construed as an antenna rubber having conductivity), the antenna rubber is free of direct contact with the conductive member, see depiction above and page 18 paragraph 6).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the claimed conductive member orientation or overlapping width. However, Nakamura explicitly discloses the shape of the conductive pathway is not limited, see page 18 paragraphs 6-7. This would prompt one to look to exemplary configurations. In any event, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s conductive member, and chafer to be overlapped as claimed since:
Fujiwara discloses a tire to include a pair of bead cores 9 embedded in a pair of bead portions; a carcass 1 having a carcass body portion toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass folded-up portion extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core.
A bead filler 10 disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rubber chafer 3 disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler, wherein the tire further includes a conductive member 6 having conductive fibers 7 and is thus considered a conductive fiber member, see abstract. A tire radial inner end of conductive member 6 is located at a tire radial outer end of the chafer 3 and/or in a tire radial region that is farther inward in a tire radial direction than the tire radial outer end of the chafer.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Carcass folded-up outer end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Chafer outer end )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Conductive member inner end )]
And the conductive member is further configured to be disposed such that in a region radially inward than an outer end of the carcass folded-up portion in the tire radial direction, the conductive member is located between the carcass folded-up portion and the chafer in the tire width direction, see the depictions above.
Sato discloses a tire to include a clinch 9 – (construed as a rubber chafer), bead filler 5 and conductive rubber layer 10, see [0024], Fig. 3. And as depicted in FIG. 3 the conductive rubber layer 10 extends substantially the length of the bead filler 5 and clinch 9. It being considered, that both the bead filler and clinch as well-known in the art to have heights or lengths which are magnitudes greater than 1 mm or more. Subsequently, the conductive rubber layer which substantially overlaps the clinch would do so having the claimed overlap width of 1 mm or more. Likewise, Munezawa discloses a tire where it is typical to have the bead apex 36 – (corresponds to a bead filler) have a length of at least 5 mm to 40 mm. And where doing so effectively contributes to the lateral rigidity of the tire which ensures steering stability, see [0065]. It being seen that for the substantial overlap of the conductive member with the bead filler and chafer, one would form an overlap width, between the conductive member and the chafer, where in an extending direction of the conductive member is 1 mm or more.
Regarding claim 24, modified Nakamura discloses the tire includes an upper right half of a cross-sectional view of a pneumatic tire – (construed as a first tire widthwise half and a second tire widthwise half (it being understood that the not depicted upper left half is symmetric with respect to depicted components of the right half). Each half includes the chafer, and the conductive member 6 extending continuously from a first tire radial outer end of the rubber chafer in the first tire widthwise half or a region farther inward in the tire radial direction than the first tire radial outer end to a second tire radial outer end of the rubber chafer in the second tire widthwise half or a region farther inward in the tire radial direction than the second tire radial outer end, see at least Fujiwara Fig 1.
Regarding claim 25, modified Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the carcass is conductive, then under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner Fujiwara’s carcass is considered non-conductive.
Regarding claim 26, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member 10 is disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of both the carcass main body and the carcass folded-up portion, see at least Fujiwara Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 27, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member is disposed on a tire widthwise inner side of the chafer, and the chafer and the conductive member 6 are in electrical contact, see at least Fujiwara abstract, Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 28, modified Nakamura discloses the use of a chafer 22, see Munezawa Fig. 1 – (construed as a canvas chafer) disposed to cover a tire radial inner side and both tire widthwise sides of the bead core, wherein one of tire radial outer ends of the chafer is located axially outside the carcass folded-up portion. And Sato discloses a conductive member which extends radially inward substantially to the bead core, see Fig. 3. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Fujiwara to have the claimed canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion orientation since: This is easily envisioned at least by Munezawa’s disclosed canvas chafer benefit of protecting the bead portion by its use, see at least [0036]. Thus, forming the canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion in the claimed orientation would do no more than what is reasonably suggested by the prior art structure and benefits therefrom.
Regarding claim 29, modified Nakamura discloses the tire radial inner end of the conductive member 6 is located outward in the tire radial direction than the bead core, see at least Fujiwara Fig. 1.
Claims 20, 30-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP 2014180868 A), in view of Fujiwara (US 2020/0331308 A1 – of record as JP 2019104424A), in view of at least one of Sato (US 2014/0326386 A1 – of record), or Munezawa (US 2015/0217605 A1 – of record).
Regarding claims 20, 34, Nakamura discloses a tire to include a pair of bead cores 1a embedded in a pair of bead portions 1; a carcass 7 having a carcass body portion 71 toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass winding portion 72 – (construed as a folded-up portion) extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core; a bead filler disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rim strip rubber 4 – (construed as a rubber chafer) disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bead filler)]
The tire further includes a conductive member 10; and a part of a tread portion in the tire width direction is a conductive portion 14 – (construed as an antenna rubber having conductivity), the antenna rubber is free of direct contact with the conductive member, see depiction above and page 18 paragraph 6).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the use of a canvas chafer. In any event, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s tire to have a canvas chafer and overlapping conductive member as claimed since:
Fujiwara discloses a tire to include a pair of bead cores 9 embedded in a pair of bead portions; a carcass 1 having a carcass body portion toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass folded-up portion extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Folded-up portion)]
A bead filler 10 disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rubber chafer 3 disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler, wherein the tire further includes a conductive member 6 having conductive fibers 7 and is thus considered a conductive fiber member, see abstract. A tire radial inner end of conductive member 6 is located at a tire radial outer end of the chafer 3 and/or in a tire radial region that is farther inward in a tire radial direction than the tire radial outer end of the chafer.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Carcass folded-up outer end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Chafer outer end )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Conductive member inner end )]
And the conductive member is further configured to be disposed such that in a region radially inward than an outer end of the carcass folded-up portion in the tire radial direction, the conductive member is located between the carcass folded-up portion and the chafer in the tire width direction, see the depictions above.
Sato discloses a tire to include a clinch 9 – (construed as a rubber chafer), bead filler 5 and conductive rubber layer 10, see [0024], Fig. 3. And as depicted in FIG. 3 the conductive rubber layer 10 extends substantially the length of the bead filler 5 and clinch 9. It being considered, that both the bead filler and clinch as well-known in the art to have heights or lengths which are magnitudes greater than 1 mm or more. Subsequently, the conductive rubber layer which substantially overlaps the clinch would do so having the claimed overlap width of 1 mm or more. Likewise, Munezawa discloses a tire where it is typical to have the bead apex 36 – (corresponds to a bead filler) have a length of at least 5 mm to 40 mm. And where doing so effectively contributes to the lateral rigidity of the tire which ensures steering stability, see [0065]. It being seen that for the substantial overlap of the conductive member with the bead filler and chafer, one would form an overlap width, between the conductive member and the chafer, where in an extending direction of the conductive member is 1 mm or more. Additionally, Munezawa discloses the use of a chafer 22 – (construed as a canvas chafer). The chafer providing a benefit of protecting the bead portion, see [0036], is disposed to cover a tire radial inner side and both tire widthwise sides of the bead core, wherein one of tire radial outer ends of the chafer is located axially outside the carcass folded-up portion. And as previously discussed, Sato discloses a conductive member which extends radially inward substantially the length of the bead filler, see Fig. 3. Then, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Nakamura’s bead portion to have Munezawa’s canvas chafer and carcass folded-up portion orientation, along with Sato’s conductive member radially inward extension scheme since: This is easily envisioned at least by Munezawa’s disclosed canvas chafer benefit of protecting the bead portion by its use, see at least [0036]. Thus, forming the canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion in the claimed orientation would do no more than what is reasonably suggested by the prior art structure and benefits therefrom.
Regarding claim 30, modified Nakamura discloses the tire includes an upper right half of a cross-sectional view of a pneumatic tire – (construed as a first tire widthwise half and a second tire widthwise half (it being understood that the not depicted upper left half is symmetric with respect to depicted components of the right half). Each half includes the chafer, and the conductive member 6 extending continuously from a first tire radial outer end of the rubber chafer in the first tire widthwise half or a region farther inward in the tire radial direction than the first tire radial outer end to a second tire radial outer end of the rubber chafer in the second tire widthwise half or a region farther inward in the tire radial direction than the second tire radial outer end, see at least Fujiwara Fig 1.
Regarding claim 31, modified Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the carcass is conductive, then under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner Fujiwara’s carcass is considered non-conductive.
Regarding claim 32, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member 10 is disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of both the carcass main body and the carcass folded-up portion, see at least Fujiwara Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 33, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member is disposed on a tire widthwise inner side of the chafer, and the chafer and the conductive member 6 are in electrical contact, see at least Fujiwara abstract, Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 34, modified Nakamura discloses the use of a chafer 22, see Munezawa Fig. 1 – (construed as a canvas chafer) disposed to cover a tire radial inner side and both tire widthwise sides of the bead core, wherein one of tire radial outer ends of the chafer is located axially outside the carcass folded-up portion. And Sato discloses a conductive member which extends radially inward substantially to the bead core, see Fig. 3. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Fujiwara to have the claimed canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion orientation since: This is easily envisioned at least by Munezawa’s disclosed canvas chafer benefit of protecting the bead portion by its use, see at least [0036]. Thus, forming the canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion in the claimed orientation would do no more than what is reasonably suggested by the prior art structure and benefits therefrom.
Regarding claim 35, modified Nakamura discloses the tire radial inner end of the conductive member 6 is located outward in the tire radial direction than the bead core, see at least Fujiwara Fig. 1.
Claims 21, 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (JP 2014180868 A), in view of Fujiwara (US 2020/0331308 A1 – of record as JP 2019104424A), in view of at least one of Sato (US 2014/0326386 A1 – of record), or Munezawa (US 2015/0217605 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 21, Nakamura discloses a tire to include a pair of bead cores 1a embedded in a pair of bead portions 1; a carcass 7 having a carcass body portion 71 toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass winding portion 72 – (construed as a folded-up portion) extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core; a bead filler disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rim strip rubber 4 – (construed as a rubber chafer) disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Bead filler)]
The tire further includes a conductive member 10; and a part of a tread portion in the tire width direction is a conductive portion 14 – (construed as an antenna rubber having conductivity), the antenna rubber is free of direct contact with the conductive member, see depiction above and page 18 paragraph 6).
Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the claimed overlapping scheme. In any event, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Nakamura’s tire to have an overlapping conductive member/chafer as claimed since:
Fujiwara discloses a tire to include a pair of bead cores 9 embedded in a pair of bead portions; a carcass 1 having a carcass body portion toroidally spanning the pair of bead cores and a carcass folded-up portion extending from the carcass body portion and folding up around the bead core.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Folded-up portion)]
A bead filler 10 disposed on a tire radial outer side of the bead cores; and a rubber chafer 3 disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of the bead filler, wherein the tire further includes a conductive member 6 having conductive fibers 7 and is thus considered a conductive fiber member, see abstract. A tire radial inner end of conductive member 6 is located at a tire radial outer end of the chafer 3 and/or in a tire radial region that is farther inward in a tire radial direction than the tire radial outer end of the chafer.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Carcass folded-up outer end)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Chafer outer end )][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Conductive member inner end )]
And the conductive member is further configured to be disposed such that in a region radially inward than an outer end of the carcass folded-up portion in the tire radial direction, the conductive member is located between the carcass folded-up portion and the chafer in the tire width direction, see the depictions above. Moreover, Fujiwara discloses the tire includes an upper right half of a cross-sectional view of a pneumatic tire. It being understood that the not depicted upper left half is symmetric with respect to depicted components of the right half. And thus, the depicted conductive member 6 would also exist in the non-depicted left half which would thusly form a pair of conductive members.
Sato discloses a tire to include a clinch 9 – (construed as a rubber chafer), bead filler 5 and conductive rubber layer 10, see [0024], Fig. 3. And as depicted in FIG. 3 the conductive rubber layer 10 extends substantially the length of the bead filler 5 and clinch 9. It being considered, that both the bead filler and clinch as well-known in the art to have heights or lengths which are magnitudes greater than 1 mm or more. Subsequently, the conductive rubber layer which substantially overlaps the clinch would do so having the claimed overlap width of 1 mm or more. Likewise, Munezawa discloses a tire where it is typical to have the bead apex 36 – (corresponds to a bead filler) have a length of at least 5 mm to 40 mm. And where doing so effectively contributes to the lateral rigidity of the tire which ensures steering stability, see [0065]. It being seen that for the substantial overlap of the conductive member with the bead filler and chafer, one would form an overlap width, between the conductive member and the chafer, where in an extending direction of the conductive member is 1 mm or more.
Regarding claim 36, modified Nakamura does not explicitly disclose the carcass is conductive, then under the broadest reasonable interpretation afforded the examiner Fujiwara’s carcass is considered non-conductive.
Regarding claim 37, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member 10 is disposed on a tire widthwise outer side of both the carcass main body and the carcass folded-up portion, see at least Fujiwara Fig. 1
Regarding claim 38, modified Nakamura discloses the conductive member is disposed on a tire widthwise inner side of the chafer, and the chafer and the conductive member 6 are in electrical contact, see at least Fujiwara abstract, Fig. 1.
Regarding claim 39, modified Nakamura discloses the use of a chafer 22, see Munezawa Fig. 1 – (construed as a canvas chafer) disposed to cover a tire radial inner side and both tire widthwise sides of the bead core, wherein one of tire radial outer ends of the chafer is located axially outside the carcass folded-up portion. And Sato discloses a conductive member which extends radially inward substantially to the bead core, see Fig. 3. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust modified Fujiwara to have the claimed canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion orientation since: This is easily envisioned at least by Munezawa’s disclosed canvas chafer benefit of protecting the bead portion by its use, see at least [0036]. Thus, forming the canvas chafer, conductive member and carcass folded-up portion in the claimed orientation would do no more than what is reasonably suggested by the prior art structure and benefits therefrom.
Regarding claim 40, modified Nakamura discloses the tire radial inner end of the conductive member 6 is located outward in the tire radial direction than the bead core, see at least Fujiwara Fig. 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 5-6, 8, 10 and 13-40 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749