DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of documents required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/16/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and was considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
7. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: “a position information acquiring unit", “an acquisition condition generating unit” and “a control unit” in claims 1-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
9. Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
10. Claim limitations ““a position information acquiring unit", “an acquisition condition generating unit” and “a control unit”” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification fails to provide written description for at least a processor/CPU/computer/circuitry performing the claimed functions under the control of particular algorithms. Applicant is welcomed to point out where in the specification the Examiner can find support for these limitations, if Applicant believes otherwise.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
13. Claims 1-4, 8 and 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kukreja et al. (US-PGPUB 2021/0105421).
Regarding claim 1, Kukreja discloses an imaging device (Vision System 100; see fig. 2 and paragraphs 0026-0027) comprising:
a first sensor (Focal plane array (FPA) and read-out integrated circuit (ROIC) 120; see fig. 2 and paragraphs 0028-0029) that acquires object information, the object information being information regarding an object (FPA/ROIC 120 is a frame-based imaging system that captures a relatively large amount of data per frame; see paragraph 0029);
a position information acquiring unit that acquires position information, the position information being information instructing a position of the object at time of acquiring the object information (Generating the template further includes repeating receiving training event data and training intensity images associated with the same target of the respective known targets when the target is positioned in at least one different pose and/or the target is positioned at a different distance from the imaging system; see paragraph 0061);
a second sensor (Dynamic vision system (DVS) and ROIC 130; see fig. 2 and paragraph 0028) that acquires motion information, the motion information being information regarding a motion of the object (DVS/ROIC 130 includes an event-driven sensor having an FPA for enabling neuromorphic vision. The acquired event data is clustered by at least one of motion, magnitude and/or direction; see paragraphs 0030, 0056, 0003, 0080. Event-based vision that detects events and provides the ability to detect and track objects 20 (also referred to as targets) at a high temporal resolution, including rapidly moving object; see paragraph 0026);
an acquisition condition generating unit that generates an acquisition condition of the object information on the basis of the position information that has been acquired and the motion information that has been acquired (Fused algorithms and perform analysis including target detection for object positioning and target tracking for motion detection to determine capturing decision condition for frame rate; see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0027, 0032-0033); and
a control unit that performs control to cause the first sensor to acquire the object information on the basis of the acquisition condition that has been generated (In response to detection of the event, controlling at least one of the focal plane array and the ROIC to increase the framerate at which the intensity images are acquired or read out. In response to a target associated with the event detected is no longer being tracked, decreasing the framerate to a third framerate; see paragraphs 0043-0046. That is controlling the imaging framerate in accordance to the target positioning detection and target tracking; see paragraphs 0061, 0080, 0043-0046).
Regarding claim 2, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kukreja discloses the acquisition condition generating unit generates an acquisition time of the object information as the acquisition condition (Increasing or decreasing capturing framerate in accordance to detected event information; see paragraphs 0061, 0080, 0043-0046).
Regarding claim 3, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kukreja discloses the first sensor is an imaging element that acquires an image of the object as the object information (FPA/ROIC 120 is a frame-based imaging system that captures a relatively large amount of data per frame; see paragraph 0029. Vision system used to detect target objects).
Regarding claim 4, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). In addition, Kukreja discloses the acquisition condition generating unit further generates a second acquisition condition that is the acquisition condition based on a previously acquired image which is an image acquired before acquisition of the image of the object corresponding to the object information by the first sensor (Operation 1008 can include determining similarity of the acquired event data to the correlated trained event data. The determination of similarity can be used to determine whether a new target is detected or a previously detected target has been detected again, which can be used for tracking the target and detecting new targets; see paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 8, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). In addition, Kukreja discloses an imaging lens that forms an image of a subject on the first sensor (Optics module 102 includes lenses and/or optics that focus light reflected or emanating from a dynamic scene on one or more components of the acquisition and readout block 104. The acquisition and readout block 104 includes the focal plane array (FPA) and read-out integrated circuit (ROIC) 120; see fig. 2 and paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 12, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). In addition, Kukreja discloses the first sensor further generates a moving image that is a plurality of images generated in time series, the plurality of images including an image of the object corresponding to the object information (FPA and ROIC 120 is a frame-based imaging system that captures a relatively large amount of data per frame; see paragraph 0029. Vision system used to detect target objects), and the acquisition condition generating unit generates a generation rate of the time-series images in the moving image as the second acquisition condition (Increasing or decreasing frame rate in accordance to detected event information; see paragraphs 0061, 0080, 0043-0046).
Regarding claim 13, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). In addition, Kukreja discloses the position information acquiring unit acquires a position of the object in the image as the position information (Generating the template further includes repeating receiving training event data and training intensity images associated with the same target of the respective known targets when the target is positioned in at least one different pose and/or the target is positioned at a different distance from the imaging system; see paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 14, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 3). In addition, Kukreja discloses a ranging sensor that measures a distance to the object (The use of optics from the infrared camera system (e.g. SWIR, MWIR, LWIR, etc.) is used to bring a view of an object close to the ‘imaging plane’ of the DVS, allowing it to image the object. Repeating receiving training event data and training intensity images associated with the same target of the respective known targets when the target is positioned in at least one different pose and/or the target is positioned at a different distance from the imaging system; see paragraphs 0031, 0061) wherein the acquisition condition generating unit generates an acquisition condition of the object information on the basis of the position information that has been acquired, the motion information that has been acquired, and the distance that has been measured (Fused algorithms and perform analysis including target detection for object positioning and distance and target tracking for motion detection; see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0027, 0032-0033. Increasing or decreasing frame rate in accordance to detected event information; see paragraphs 0061, 0080, 0043-0046).
Regarding claim 15, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kukreja discloses the first sensor is a sensor that acquires information obtained by imaging distance information of the object as the object information (Generating the template further includes repeating receiving training event data and training intensity images associated with the same target of the respective known targets when the target is positioned in at least one different pose and/or the target is positioned at a different distance from the imaging system; see paragraph 0061).
Regarding claim 16, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 1). In addition, Kukreja discloses the second sensor (Dynamic vision system (DVS) and ROIC 130; see fig. 2 and paragraph 0028) comprises a plurality of pixels that detects a change in luminance of incident light and acquires, as the motion information, event data including position information of a pixel that has detected the change in luminance (Neuromorphic vision employs an asynchronous sensor for passive sensing that outputs local pixel-level changes caused by movement of a target at a time of occurrence; see paragraph 0003. The acquired event data is clustered by at least one of motion, magnitude and/or direction; see paragraphs 0030, 0056, 0003, 0080. Event-based vision that detects events and provides the ability to detect and track objects 20 (also referred to as targets) at a high temporal resolution, including rapidly moving object; see paragraph 0026).
Regarding claim 17, Kukreja discloses an imaging method (see figs. 2, 3, 5) comprising:
acquiring position information, the position information being information instructing a position of an object at time of acquiring object information, the object information being information regarding the object (Generating the template further includes repeating receiving training event data and training intensity images associated with the same target of the respective known targets when the target is positioned in at least one different pose and/or the target is positioned at a different distance from the imaging system; see paragraph 0061);
acquiring motion information, the motion information being information regarding a motion of the object (The acquired event data is clustered by at least one of motion, magnitude and/or direction; see paragraphs 0030, 0056, 0003, 0080. Event-based vision that detects events and provides the ability to detect and track objects 20 (also referred to as targets) at a high temporal resolution, including rapidly moving object; see paragraph 0026);
generating an acquisition condition of the object information on the basis of the position information that has been acquired and the motion information that has been acquired (Fused algorithms and perform analysis including target detection for object positioning and target tracking for motion detection to determine capturing decision condition for frame rate; see figs. 2-3 and paragraphs 0027, 0032-0033); and
acquiring the object information on the basis of the acquisition condition that has been generated (In response to detection of the event, controlling at least one of the focal plane array and the ROIC to increase the framerate at which the intensity images are acquired or read out. In response to a target associated with the event detected is no longer being tracked, decreasing the framerate to a third framerate; see paragraphs 0043-0046. That is controlling the imaging framerate in accordance to the target positioning detection and target tracking; see paragraphs 0061, 0080, 0043-0046).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukreja in view of Sheinfeld et al. (US-PGPUB 2023/0087618).
Regarding claim 7, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). However, Kukreja fails to disclose the acquisition condition generating unit generates a size of the image as the second acquisition condition.
On the other hand, Sheinfeld discloses the acquisition condition generating unit generates a size of the image as the second acquisition condition (The system comprising: at least one sensor configured to transmit movement data for at least one object moving in the event, wherein the movement data comprises location data of the at least one object in the area of the live event and wherein size of the plurality of areas dynamically changes based on at least one of: the received movement data and the received statistical information; see claim 7 of Sheinfeld and paragraphs 0062, 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kukreja and Sheinfeld to provide the acquisition condition generating unit generates a size of the image as the second acquisition condition for the purpose of improving the precision of object detection.
17. Claim 5-6 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kukreja in view of Hirose et al. (US-PGPUB 2021/0203856).
Regarding claim 5, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). However, Kukreja fails to disclose the acquisition condition generating unit generates an exposure time related to generation of the image as the second acquisition condition on the basis of the previously acquired image and the motion information.
On the other hand, Hirose discloses the acquisition condition generating unit generates an exposure time related to generation of the image as the second acquisition condition on the basis of the previously acquired image and the motion information (Unit 50 executes auto-exposure (AE) control processing and determines an image capturing condition, which is a part of the operations of the system control unit 50. Depending on the AE mode set thereto, the system control unit 50 determines one or more image capturing conditions from among the shutter speed, the aperture value, and the sensitivity; see paragraph 0046. Main body 100 executes various controls such that the feature area detected by the image processing unit 24 is processed to obtain an appropriate image. Such various controls include an AE control for setting an appropriate exposure value to the feature area. The image capturing system selects one feature area which is used for acquiring the object information; see paragraphs 0062-0064. Unit 50 acquires time-series data about a central position of the feature area, and acquires, as the components of the motion vector, a displacement amount and a displacement direction of the central position between the frames averaged over a predetermined number of frames; see paragraphs 0128-0133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kukreja and Hirose to provide the acquisition condition generating unit generates an exposure time related to generation of the image as the second acquisition condition on the basis of the previously acquired image and the motion information for the purpose of improving the precision of object detection.
Regarding claim 6, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 4). However, Kukreja fails to disclose the acquisition condition generating unit generates sensitivity regarding generation of the image as the second acquisition condition.
Nevertheless, Hirose discloses the acquisition condition generating unit generates sensitivity regarding generation of the image as the second acquisition condition (Unit 50 executes auto-exposure (AE) control processing and determines an image capturing condition, which is a part of the operations of the system control unit 50. Depending on the AE mode set thereto, the system control unit 50 determines one or more image capturing conditions from among the shutter speed, the aperture value, and the sensitivity; see paragraph 0046. Main body 100 executes various controls such that the feature area detected by the image processing unit 24 is processed to obtain an appropriate image. Such various controls include an AE control for setting an appropriate exposure value to the feature area. The image capturing system selects one feature area which is used for acquiring the object information; see paragraphs 0062-0064. Unit 50 acquires time-series data about a central position of the feature area, and acquires, as the components of the motion vector, a displacement amount and a displacement direction of the central position between the frames averaged over a predetermined number of frames; see paragraphs 0128-0133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kukreja and Hirose to provide the acquisition condition generating unit generates sensitivity regarding generation of the image as the second acquisition condition for the purpose of improving the precision of object detection.
Regarding claim 9, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). However, Kukreja fails to disclose the acquisition condition generating unit generates a position of the imaging lens as the second acquisition condition.
On the other hand, Hirose discloses the acquisition condition generating unit generates a position of the imaging lens as the second acquisition condition (Unit 50 drives the focus lens of the lens unit 150 based on the evaluation value to execute autofocus (AF) detection processing of bringing an object within the focus detection area into focus with the lens group 103. FIG. 4B is a schematic diagram illustrating a zone AF area mode in which a relatively large focus detection area 402 is set. In this AF area mode, an object can be easily captured in a frame in bringing a fast-moving object into focus; see paragraphs 0047-0048. Main body 100 executes various controls such that the feature area detected by the image processing unit 24 is processed to obtain an appropriate image. Such various controls include an AF detection for bringing the feature area in focus. The image capturing system selects one feature area which is used for acquiring the object information; see paragraphs 0062-0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kukreja and Hirose to provide the acquisition condition generating unit generates a position of the imaging lens as the second acquisition condition for the purpose of improving the precision of object detection.
Regarding claim 10, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). However, Kukreja fails to disclose the acquisition condition generating unit generates a focal position of the imaging lens as the second acquisition condition.
Nevertheless, Hirose disclose the acquisition condition generating unit generates a focal position of the imaging lens as the second acquisition condition (Unit 50 drives the focus lens of the lens unit 150 based on the evaluation value to execute autofocus (AF) detection processing of bringing an object within the focus detection area into focus with the lens group 103. FIG. 4B is a schematic diagram illustrating a zone AF area mode in which a relatively large focus detection area 402 is set. In this AF area mode, an object can be easily captured in a frame in bringing a fast-moving object into focus; see paragraphs 0047-0048. Main body 100 executes various controls such that the feature area detected by the image processing unit 24 is processed to obtain an appropriate image. Such various controls include an AF detection for bringing the feature area in focus. The image capturing system selects one feature area which is used for acquiring the object information; see paragraphs 0062-0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kukreja and Hirose to provide the acquisition condition generating unit generates a focal position of the imaging lens as the second acquisition condition for the purpose of improving the precision of object detection.
Regarding claim 11, Kukreja discloses everything claimed as applied above (see claim 8). However, Kukreja fails to disclose a diaphragm that adjusts a throttling amount of the imaging lens, wherein the acquisition condition generating unit generates the throttling amount as the second acquisition condition.
On the other hand, Hirose discloses a diaphragm that adjusts a throttling amount of the imaging lens, wherein the acquisition condition generating unit generates the throttling amount as the second acquisition condition (Unit 50 executes auto-exposure (AE) control processing and determines an image capturing condition, which is a part of the operations of the system control unit 50. Depending on the AE mode set thereto, the system control unit 50 determines one or more image capturing conditions from among the shutter speed, the aperture value, and the sensitivity. Unit 50 controls the aperture value (opening amount) of a diaphragm mechanism of the lens unit 150; see paragraph 0046. Main body 100 executes various controls such that the feature area detected by the image processing unit 24 is processed to obtain an appropriate image. Such various controls include an AE control for setting an appropriate exposure value to the feature area. The image capturing system selects one feature area which is used for acquiring the object information; see paragraphs 0062-0064. Unit 50 acquires time-series data about a central position of the feature area, and acquires, as the components of the motion vector, a displacement amount and a displacement direction of the central position between the frames averaged over a predetermined number of frames; see paragraphs 0128-0133).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kukreja and Hirose to provide a diaphragm that adjusts a throttling amount of the imaging lens, wherein the acquisition condition generating unit generates the throttling amount as the second acquisition condition for the purpose of improving the precision of object detection.
Contact Information
/CYNTHIA SEGURA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639 10/08/2025