DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I: Claims 1-21, drawn to a self-anchoring catheter in combination with Species 1A: Figs. 1A-1C in the reply filed on 07/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that “the groups are not patentably distinct and searching them together presents no undue burden to the examiner”, as well as “a proper search directed to the novel aspects of Group I will inherently encompass the subject matter of” Group II. This is not found persuasive because there would need to be different search queries to find both how a self-anchoring catheter is to look and a process for operating a self-anchoring catheter. Although both groups discuss self-anchoring catheters, there exists different areas of search for operating catheters and details of catheters. In the Requirement for Restriction/Election, the examiner provided a proper distinction of the special technical features between Groups I and II, specifically noting the specific steps of the method of Group II not needed by Group I. Therefore, the arguments are not convincing.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
In Applicant’s Remarks to the Restriction/Election Requirement, the applicant states that “[t]he claims readable on the elected species are claims 1, and 3-21”. The examiner disagrees, as Figs. 1A-1C do not include information or visual representation regarding the anchor portion as a stiffened member, the body having shape memory capability, or the catheter including a transitioning member. Therefore, claims 7-9, 17-19, and 21 have been withdrawn by the examiner for being directed to an unelected species. Thus, claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, and 14-16 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/05/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: At the end of the claim, the claim uses the language “in at least on configuration”. This language leaves the limitation of the claim open to interpretation, and may insinuate multiple embodiments. The examiner suggests removing the language and/or modifying the claim to more clearly state that at some point during device use, the enclosure may at least partially receive the anchor portion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 1, in line 4, positively recites “an anchor portion imparted on the body to secure the body to surrounding tissue”.
Claim 14, in lines 2-3, positively recites “such that the anchor portion creates a traction force within surrounding tissue”.
Therefore, the claims appear to positively recite “tissue” which are directed to a human organism and thus rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101. To overcome the rejection, the applicant could adopt the following language:
For claim 1, “an anchor portion imparted on the body configured to secure the body to surrounding tissue”.
For claim 14, “such that the anchor portion is configured to create within surrounding tissue”.
Due to claim dependency from claims 1 and 14, claims 3-4, 6, 11, and 15-16 are subsequently rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, 11, and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aklong et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0151608 A1; herein, Aklong), and further in view of Piskun (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2016/0374658 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Aklong discloses a self-anchoring catheter (catheter 100) comprising:
a body (catheter section 104) having a proximal end (proximal catheter section 116) and a distal end (distal end 112), and defining a pathway therebetween (pathway 108), the body being axially rigid ([0033], “the catheter section 104 may be constructed to be rigid”);
an anchor portion (jacket 122 at anchoring section 106) imparted on the body (FIG. 1D-1E) to secure the body to surrounding tissue ([0034], “an anchoring section 106 designed to secure the catheter 100 onto a tissue”); and
Aklong includes a hub 102 located adjacent to the proximal end of the body, as seen in FIG. 1A. Yet Aklong does not explicitly disclose an actuator disposed adjacent the proximal end of the body to positionally control movement of the anchor portion and its position relative to the actuator.
However, Piskun teaches an actuator (FIG. 6A-6D, retractor actuator 614) disposed adjacent the proximal end of the body (FIG. 6A-6D) to positionally control movement of the anchor portion and its position relative to the actuator ([0159], [0161], retractor actuator 614 has the ability to reversibly expand the retractor 650). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter disclosed by Aklong to include an actuator to positionally control movement of the anchor portion and its position relative to the actuator as taught by Piskun in order to control distal movement of the anchor portion ([0161]).
Regarding claim 3, in the modified catheter of Aklong, Aklong discloses the anchor portion is a jacket (jacket 122) configured to receive at least a portion of the body (FIG. 1D-1E).
Regarding claim 4, in the modified catheter of Aklong, Aklong discloses the jacket includes a helical portion that forms an anchoring section with at least one turn ([0035], FIG. 1D-1E, “a jacket 122 with a helical shape can be applied to the anchoring portion 106 of the catheter to render the anchoring portion 106 more rigid and also shape the anchoring section 106 into a helical configuration”).
Regarding claim 6, in the modified catheter of Aklong, Aklong discloses the jacket is configured to reshape a section of the body that is disposed therein ([0035], FIG. 1D-1E, jacket 122 shapes the anchoring section 106).
Regarding claim 11, in the modified catheter of Aklong, Aklong does not explicitly disclose the actuator includes a control interface configured to actuate movement of the anchor portion.
However, Piskun teaches the actuator includes a control interface (FIG. 6A-6D, retractor actuator 614) configured to actuate movement of the anchor portion ([0159], [0161], retractor actuator 614 has the ability to reversibly expand the retractor 650 and retractor components). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter disclosed by modified Aklong to include a control interface to actuate movement of the anchor portion as taught by Piskun in order to control distal movement of the anchor portion ([0161]).
Regarding claim 14, in the modified catheter of Aklong, Aklong discloses the anchor portion includes a plurality of turns at a predefined pitch such that the anchor portion creates a traction force within surrounding tissue ([0035], “This helical structure can include a plurality of turns spaced apart at certain pitch designed to create a traction force with surrounding tissue.”).
Regarding claim 15, in the modified catheter of Aklong, Aklong discloses the plurality of turns includes helical turns configured to receive the surrounding tissue ([0035], “The anchoring section 106 as shown in FIG. 1 effectively allows tissues to be lodged between each turns of the helical portion, thereby optimizing the traction force between the catheter 100 with the surrounding tissues.”, When the catheter 100 is inserted into a tissue, the anchoring section 106 pushes against and receives the surrounding tissue in order to secure itself.).
Regarding claim 16, in the modified catheter of Aklong, Aklong does disclose a hub 102 which may be designed to connect to a wide variety of instruments. Yet Aklong does not explicitly disclose the actuator includes an enclosure which at least partially receives the anchor portion in at least one configuration.
However, Piskun teaches the actuator includes an enclosure which at least partially receives the anchor portion in at least one configuration (FIG. 6A-6D, [0161], Retractor actuator 614 is positioned on the handle 680 and is connected to components of the retractor 650, specifically retractor elements 651,652. FIG. 6B shows retractor elements 651,652 enclosed within housing 680 before moving distally in FIG. 6D. The examiner interprets this as the housing partially receiving the retractor 650.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the catheter disclosed by modified Aklong to include an enclosure which at least partially receives the anchor portion as taught by Piskun in order to protect and control expansion of the anchor portion ([0165]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Osbourne (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2001/0053890 A1) is considered relevant prior art with regards to an insertion catheter with a coiled portion.
Sing et al. (United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2011/0230700 A1) is considered relevant prior art with regards to movable helical catheters attached out a control apparatus.
/EVELYN A THOMAN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /THEODORE J STIGELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783