DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 17-19, 23-25, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2016/0009030 to Mark et al. (hereinafter, "Mark").
Regarding Claim 1, Mark discloses a method of printing a feature comprising an ink (print heads...that are employed with the three dimensional printer in some embodiments...print head... may be used to deposit inks, [0145]), the method comprising pivoting a first print head during deposition an aerosol jet or an ink jet comprising the ink, thereby printing a first feature on a first substrate (print head...may be used to deposit inks, or other appropriate optional coatings, on the surface of a three dimensional printed part...print head is similar to an existing inkjet printer, [0145]; printer head...could be pivoted about the XT and/or YT, [0230]; printer head...is capable of articulating in the traditional XYZ directions, as well as pivoting in the XT yT and zT directions, Fig. 28A-B. The additional degrees of freedom to pivot the printer head...allow the printer to create shells, and other contiguous core reinforced out of plane layers, as well as two dimensional layers, [0231]; if there are two layers, the entering angle of the first layer may be at 0 degrees while the entering angle for the second layer may be at 180 degrees, [0272]).
Regarding Claim 2, Mark discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first feature is in a plane defined by the first print head as it pivots (Fig. 28A-B, print head...may be used to deposit inks, or other appropriate optional coatings, on the surface of a three dimensional printed part...print head is similar to an existing inkjet printer, [0145]; printer head...could be pivoted about the XT and/or YT, [0230]; printer head 1310 is capable of articulating in the traditional XYZ directions, as well as pivoting in the XT yT and 2T directions. The additional degrees of freedom to pivot the printer head 1310 allow the printer to create shells, and other contiguous core reinforced out of plane layers, as well as two dimensional layers, [0231]; if there are two layers, the entering angle of the first layer may be at 0 degrees while the entering angle for the second layer may be at 180 degrees, [0272]).
Regarding Claim 3, Mark discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first print head can be pivoted up to 180° in either pivot direction (if there are two layers, the entering angle of the first layer may be at 0 degrees while the entering angle for the second layer may be at 180 degrees, [0272]).
Regarding Claim 4, Mark discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising: moving the first substrate and the first print head relative to one another (movement mechanism may be used to control either the conduit or the build platen...system may also include any appropriate position and displacement sensors to monitor the position and movement of the...nozzle relative to the build platen and/or a part...sensors may then communicate the sensed position and movement information to the controller...controller...may use the sensed X, Y, and/or Z positions and movement information to control subsequent movements of the...head or platen, [0143]; and printing a second feature on the first substrate, strands 1100 are deposited onto a part or build platen...such that-they form turns 1102 as well as other features, see [0222]).
Regarding Claim 5, Mark discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the first feature is a first straight line and the second feature is a second straight line parallel to the first straight line. (Fig. 25 depicts parallel lines of strands 1100, movement mechanism may be used to control either the conduit or the build platen...system may also include any appropriate position and displacement sensors to monitor the position and movement of the...nozzle relative to the build platen and/or a part...sensors may then communicate the sensed position and movement information to the controller...controller...may use the sensed X, Y, and/or Z positions and movement information to control subsequent movements of the...head or platen, [0143]).
Regarding Claim 6, Mark discloses the method of claim 4 wherein moving the first substrate and the first print head relative to one another is performed when the jet is not aimed at the first substrate (the system may deposit the material onto a...area located at a back of the printing system away from the normal build platform [not aimed] or on any other appropriate surface...the print bed and nozzle are moved relative to each other... the print bed might be moved down in the z direction...a printer head including the nozzle might be moved in a vertical z direction away from the print bed, [0200]).
Regarding Claim 7, Mark discloses the method of claim 6 comprising printing each feature in two passes (strands 1100 are deposited onto a part or build platen...such that they form turns 1102 as well as other features (Fig. 25 parallel lines of strands 1100 are shown) so that the jet is not-aimed at the first substrate at an end of the second pass (strands 1100 are deposited such that they form turns 1102 as well as other features until the print head makes it final pass [could be 2 or more passes to deposit multiple features} and severs the material at 1104 [and moves the nozzle off of the substrate so the jet is no longer aimed at the fist substrate, [0222]; Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 8, Mark discloses the method of claim 4 comprising shuttering the jet (mechanism may also interrupt the printer feed by blocking the conduit nozzle or preventing the feeding mechanism from applying force or pressure, [0133]) prior to or while moving the first substrate arid the first print head relative to one another (movement mechanism may be used to control either the conduit or the build platen...system may also include any appropriate position and displacement sensors to monitor the position and movement of the...nozzle relative to the build platen and/or a part...sensors may then communicate the sensed position and movement information to the controller...controller...may use the sensed X, Y, and/or Z positions and movement information to control subsequent movements of the...head or platen, [0143]).
Regarding Claim 9, Mark discloses the method of claim 8 wherein the first feature and the second feature are each printed in one pass (strands 1100 are deposited onto a part or build platen [multiple features (lines and curved shapes) that are formed in one pass]...such that they form turns 1102 as well as other features (parallel lines of strands 1100 are shown; Applicant's p. 3, Ln. 25 notes - feature" means feature, line, figure, shape, and the like." Fig. 25).
Regarding Claim 17, Mark discloses the method of claim 1 wherein printing the first feature does not require moving the first substrate and the first print head relative to one another other than pivoting the first print head (print head...may be used to deposit inks, or other appropriate optional coatings, on the surface of a three dimensional printed part...print head is similar to an existing inkjet printer, [0145]; the part may be moved and rotated, the printer head may be moved and rotated, or a combination of both may be used to print, ~ [0230)).
Regarding Claim 18, Mark discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising pivoting the first print head about a second axis of rotation (print head...may be used to deposit inks, or other appropriate optional coatings, on the surface of a three dimensional printed part...print head is similar to an existing inkjet printer, [0145]; printer head...could be pivoted about the XT and/or YT, [0230]; printer head...is capable of articulating in the traditional XYZ directions, as well as pivoting in the XT yT and zT directions. The additional degrees of freedom to pivot the printer head...allow the printer to create shells, and other contiguous core reinforced out of plane layers, as well as two dimensional layers, [0231]; if there are two layers, the entering angle of the first layer may be at 0 degrees while the entering angle for the second layer may be at 180 degrees, [0272]).
Regarding Claim 19, Mark discloses the method of claim 18 wherein the second axis of rotation is perpendicular to the first axis of rotation (ZT, X T, YT- , Fig. 29, The additional degrees of freedom to pivot the printer head 1310 allow the printer to create shells, and other contiguous core reinforced out of plane layers, as well as two dimensional layers, see [0233]).
Regarding Claim 23, Mark discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising pivoting two or more print heads (separate selectable print heads might be provided. For example, the print heads may be mounted to a turret, with one print head in the “active” position and the others rotated out of position awaiting for the appropriate time when they may be rotated into the print position, [0244]).
Regarding Claim 24, Mark discloses the method of claim 23 comprising independently pivoting the first print head and a second print head (any number of separate selectable print heads might be provided, [0244], Fig. 29, The additional degrees of freedom to pivot the printer head 1310 allow the printer to create shells, and other contiguous core reinforced out of plane layers, as well as two dimensional layers, see [0233]).
Regarding Claim 25, Mark discloses the method of claim 24 wherein independently pivoting the first print head and the second print head comprises pivoting the first print head and the second print head about different axes of rotation (any number of separate selectable print heads might be provided, [0244], Fig. 29, The additional degrees of freedom to pivot the printer head 1310 allow the printer to create shells, and other contiguous core reinforced out of plane layers, as well as two dimensional layers, see [0233]).
Regarding Claim 27, Mark discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the first substrate is curved (Fig. 28A-B, printing along curves...the printing system...pushes the deposited onto a part or surface [substrate]...a printer head when printing a curve, [0169]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim 10-14 and 31 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2016/0009030 to Mark et al. (hereinafter, "Mark") in view of US 5,528,154 to Leichner et al. (hereinafter, "Leichner").
Regarding Claim 10, Mark discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first feature extends from a top surface of the first substrate to an edge surface of the first substrate.
Leichner is in the field of printed conductive inks (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the first feature extends from a top surface of the first substrate to an edge surface of the first substrate (ensure good electrical connections among the surface conductive traces, the edge conductive traces and the board conductive patches. The conductive trace on each sheet of paper is coupled to an edge by short traces Col. 3, Lns. 45-50; surface conductive traces on two sheets of paper share the same two board conductive patches...both sheets of paper in the stack, conductivity measured at the two patches...is the parallel conductivity of the two traces...trace 304 is on the top sheet of paper, the trace 306 is on the bottom sheet of paper, and the two traces are of equal conductivity, Col. 4, Lns. 15-30; a conductive trace...connecting a number of conductive patches...the trace and patches may be made by printing conductive inks, Col. 4, Lns. 65-67 through Col. 5, Lns. 1-7; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein the first feature extends from a top surface of the first substrate to an edge surface of the first substrate as taught by Leichner. The motivation being to provide an improved system with continuous continuity to more accurately measure electrical characteristics on the top, bottom, and edge of the substrate. (Col. 2, Lns, 55-67; Leichner).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Mark discloses the method of claim 10, but lacks the teaching wherein the first feature comprises an electrically conductive material and the line maintains electrically continuity around a corner of the first substrate between the top surface and the edge surface.
Leichner is in the field of printed conductive inks (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the first feature comprises an electrically conductive material and the line maintains electrically continuity around a corner of the first substrate between the top surface and the edge surface (ensure good electrical connections among the surface conductive traces, the edge conductive traces and the board conductive patches. The conductive trace on each sheet of paper is coupled to an edge by short traces-Col. 3, Lns. 45-50; surface conductive traces on two sheets of paper share the same two board conductive patches...both sheets of paper in the stack, conductivity measured at the two patches...is the parallel conductivity of the two traces...trace 304 is on the top sheet of paper, the trace 306 is on the bottom sheet of paper, and the two traces are of equal conductivity, Col. 4, Lns. 15-30; a conductive trace...connecting a number of conductive patches...the trace and patches may be made by printing conductive inks, Col. 4, Lns. 65-67 through Col. 5, Lns. 1-7; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein the first feature comprises an electrically conductive material and the tine maintains electrically continuity around a corner of the first substrate between the top surface and the edge surface as taught by Leichner. The motivation being to provide an improved system with continuous continuity to more accurately measure electrical characteristics on the top, bottom, and edge of the substrate. (Col. 2, Lns. 55-67; Leichner).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Mark discloses the method of claim 10, but lacks the teaching wherein the first feature further extends to a bottom surface of the first substrate.
Leichner is in the field of printed conductive inks (title; abstract) and-teaches wherein the first feature further extends to a bottom surface of the first substrate (ensure good electrical connections among the surface conductive traces, the edge conductive traces and the board conductive patches. The conductive trace on each sheet of paper is coupled to an edge by short traces, Col. 3, Lns. 45-50; surface conductive traces on two sheets of paper share the same two board conductive patches...both sheets of paper in the stack, conductivity measured at the two patches...is the parallel conductivity of the two traces...trace 304 is on the top sheet of paper, the trace 306 is on the bottom sheet of paper, and the two traces are of equal conductivity, Col. 4, Lns. 15-30; a conductive trace...connecting a number of conductive patches...the trace and patches may be made by printing conductive inks, Col. 4, Lns. 65-67 through Col. 5, Lns. 1-7; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein the first feature further extends to a bottom surface of the first substrate as taught by Leichner. The motivation being to provide an improved system with continuous continuity to more accurately measure electrical characteristics on the top, bottom, and edge of the substrate. (Col. 2, Lns. 55-67; Leichner).
Regarding Claim 13, modified Mark discloses the method of claim 12, but lacks the teaching wherein the first feature comprises an electrically conductive material and the first feature maintains electrically continuity around a corner of the first substrate between the edge surface and the bottom surface. Leichner is in the field of printed conductive inks (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the first feature comprises an electrically conductive material and the first feature maintains electrically continuity around a corner of the first substrate between the edge surface and the bottom surface (ensure good electrical connections among the surface conductive traces, the edge conductive traces and the board conductive patches. The conductive trace on each sheet of paper is coupled to an edge by short traces Col. 3, Lns. 45-50; surface conductive traces on two sheets of paper share the same two board conductive patches...both sheets of paper in the stack, conductivity measured at the two patches...is the parallel conductivity of the two traces...trace 304 is on the top sheet of paper, the trace 306 is on the bottom sheet of paper, and the two traces are of equal conductivity, Col. 4, Lns. 15-30; a conductive trace...connecting a number of — conductive patches...the trace and patches may be made by printing conductive inks, Col. 4, Lns. 65-67 through Col. 5, Lns. 1-7; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein the first feature comprises an electrically conductive material and the first feature maintains electrically continuity around a corner of the first substrate between the edge surface and the bottom surface as taught by Leichner. The motivation being to provide an improved system with continuous continuity to more accurately measure electrical characteristics on the top, bottom, and edge of the substrate. (Col. 2, Lns. 55-67; Leichner).
Regarding Claim 14, Mark discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first feature extends from a top surface of the first substrate to an edge surface of a second substrate disposed on the first substrate.
Leichner is in the field of printed conductive inks (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the first feature extends from a top surface of the first substrate to an edge surface of a second substrate disposed on the first substrate (a stack of paper, such as 202 and 204, bound together by a wrap-around 208 and positioned on a cardboard 206, as in a note-pad. Each sheet of paper has two surfaces, a front surface and a back surface. The front surface of each piece of paper has a surface conductive trace on it, similar to the one shown in FIG. 1. The back surface of each piece of paper is adjacent to the front surface of another piece of paper in forming the stack. On the bottom surface 210 of the cardboard 206, there are a number of board conductive patches, such as 212. The patches are not totally covered by the wrap-around 208, and are at least partially, if not fully, exposed. They can be made again by printing the ink as described above. Each patch is connected to an edge conductive trace, such as the patch 212 is connected to the edge trace 214, Col. 3, Lns. 10-28; ensure good electrical connections among the surface conductive traces, the edge conductive traces and the board conductive patches. The conductive trace on each sheet of paper is coupled to an edge by short traces(Col. 3, Lns. 45-50; surface conductive traces on two sheets of paper share the same two board conductive patches...both sheets of paper in the stack, conductivity measured at the two patches...is the parallel conductivity of the two traces...trace 304 is on the top sheet of paper, the trace 306 is on the bottom sheet of paper, and the two traces are of equal conductivity, Col. 4, Lns. 15-30; a conductive trace...connecting a number of conductive patches...the trace and patches may be made by printing conductive inks, Col. 4, Lns. 65-67 through Col. 5, Lns. 1-7; Fig. 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein the first feature extends from a top surface of the first substrate to an edge surface of a second substrate disposed on the first substrate as taught by Leichner. The motivation being to provide an improved system with continuous continuity to more accurately measure electrical characteristics between multiple substrates. (Col. 4, Lns, 50-62; Leichner).
Regarding Claim 15, Mark discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first feature further extends to a top surface of the second substrate.
Leichner is in the field of printed conductive inks (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the first feature further extends to a top surface of the second substrate. (a stack of paper, such as 202 and 204, bound together by a wrap-around 208 and positioned on a cardboard 206, as in a note-pad. Each sheet of paper has two surfaces, a front surface and a back surface. The front surface of each piece of paper has a surface conductive trace on it, similar to the one shown in FIG. 1. The back surface of each piece of paper is adjacent to the front surface of another piece of paper in forming the stack. On the bottom surface 210 of the cardboard 206, there are a number of board conductive patches, such as 212. The patches are not totally covered by the wrap-around 208, and are at least partially, if not fully, exposed. They can be made again by printing the ink as described above. Each patch is connected to an edge conductive trace, such as the patch 212 is connected to the edge trace 214, Col. 3, Lns. 10-28; ensure good electrical connections among the surface conductive traces, the edge conductive traces and the board conductive patches. The conductive trace on each sheet of paper is coupled to an edge by short traces(Col. 3, Lns. 45-50; surface conductive traces on two sheets of paper share the same two board conductive patches...both sheets of paper in the stack, conductivity measured at the two patches...is the parallel conductivity of the two traces...trace 304 is on the top sheet of paper, the trace 306 is on the bottom sheet of paper, and the two traces are of equal conductivity, Col. 4, Lns. 15-30; a conductive trace...connecting a number of conductive patches...the trace and patches may be made by printing conductive inks, Col. 4, Lns. 65-67 through Col. 5, Lns. 1-7; Fig. 2.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein the first feature further extends to a top surface of the second substrate as taught by Leichner. The motivation being to provide an improved system with continuous continuity to more accurately measure electrical characteristics between multiple substrates. (Col. 4, Lns, 50-62; Leichner).
Regarding Claim 31, Mark discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the feature comprises an electrically conductive material and comprises an electrical edge connection, an electrical wrap-around connection, or an electrical three dimensional (3D) interconnect.
Leichner is in the field of printed conductive inks (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the feature comprises an electrically conductive material and comprises an electrical edge connection, an electrical wrap-around connection, or an electrical three dimensional (3D) interconnect (a stack of paper, such as 202 and 204, bound together by a wrap-around 208 and positioned on a cardboard 206, as in a note-pad. Each sheet of paper has two surfaces, a front surface and a back surface. The front surface of each piece of: paper has a surface conductive trace on it, similar to the one shown in FIG. 1. The back surface of each piece of paper is adjacent to the front surface of another piece of paper in forming the stack. On the bottom surface 210 of the cardboard 206, there are a number of board conductive patches, such as 212. The patches are not totally covered by the wrap-around 208, and are at least partially, if not fully, exposed. They can be made again by printing the ink as described above. Each patch is connected to an edge conductive trace, such as the patch 212 is connected to the edge trace 214, Col. 3, Lns. 10-28; ensure good electrical connections among the surface conductive traces, the edge conductive traces and the board conductive patches. The conductive trace on each sheet of paper is coupled to an edge by short traces Col. 3, Lns. 45-50; surface conductive traces on two sheets of paper share the same two board conductive patches...both sheets of paper in the stack, conductivity measured at the two patches...is the parallel conductivity of the two traces...trace 304 is on the top sheet of paper, the trace 306 is on the bottom sheet of paper, and the two traces are of equal conductivity, Col. 4, Lns. 15-30; a conductive trace...connecting a number of conductive patches...the trace and patches may be made by printing conductive inks, Col. 4, Lns. 65-67 through Col. 5, Lns. 1-7; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein the feature comprises an electrically conductive material and comprises an electrical edge connection as taught by Leichner. The motivation being to provide an improved system with continuous continuity between the top, bottom, and edge of the substrate to more accurately measure electrical characteristics and transport electrical energy to different locations along the substrate. (Col. 3, Lns. 30-52; Leichner).
Regarding claim 32, Mark as modified teaches wherein the feature comprises a 3D interconnect between two objects, (see rejection of claim 31 above) each such object selected from the group consisting of a chip, a printed circuit board (PCB), (Mark teaches, FIGS. 37-39 depict the printing and formation process for a multilayer printed circuit board (PCB) using additive manufacturing [0265]) a component, and a microLED tile.
Claim 16 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2016/0009030 to Mark et al. (hereinafter, "Mark").
Regarding claim 16, Mark teaches wherein the first substrate comprises a printed circuit board (PCB) (FIGS. 37-39 depict the printing and formation process for a multilayer printed circuit board (PCB) using additive manufacturing, [0265])
Mark does not teach a single embodiment where the second substrate comprises an integrated circuit (IC) die mounted on the PCB.
Mark teaches three dimensional printing processes and apparatuses may be used to manufacture printed circuit boards integrally formed in a structure; integrally formed wiring and sensors in a car chassis or plane fuselage; as well as motor cores with integrally formed windings to name a few, see [0139].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify multilayer printed circuit board (PCB) of Mark Fig. 37-39 to include an integrated circuit (IC) die mounted on the PCB because Mark teaches to manufacture printed circuit boards integrally formed in a structure to be used as integrally formed wiring and sensors in a car chassis or plane fuselage; as well as motor cores with integrally formed windings to name a few, see [0139].
Claim 20 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2016/0009030 to Mark et al. (hereinafter, "Mark") in view of US 2015/0022874 to Raytheon Company (hereinafter, “Raytheon").
Regarding Claim 20, Mark discloses the method of claim 18, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first axis of rotation and the second axis of rotation are provided by a dual gimbal. . Raytheon is in the field of two axis rotation of objects (title; abstract) and teaches wherein the first axis of rotation and the second axis of rotation are provided by a dual gimbal (An offset aperture two-axis gimbaled...system comprises a two-axis gimbal and an...assembly that is mounted on the inner gimbal and offset radially from the rotation axis of the outer gimbal, Abstract; the first and second rotation axes lie . in the same plane (i.e. are perpendicular to each other), the first and second optics assemblies are offset radially along the second axis on opposite sides of and may be equidistant to the first axis, [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the rotation of Mark to include wherein the first axis of rotation and the second axis of rotation are provided by a dual gimbal as taught by Raytheon. The motivation being to provide an improved system with improved utilization of the available volume to accommodate increased range of motion for the assembly while using less overall space. ([0013]; Raytheon).
Claim 21-22 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2016/0009030 to Mark et al. (hereinafter, "Mark") in view of US 2014/0035995 to Chou et al. (hereinafter, "Chou").
Regarding Claim 21, Mark discloses the method of claim 1, but fails to explicitly disclose performed with a deposition rate of the jet greater than approximately 25 mm/s.
Chou is in the field of jet printing conductive inks (title; abstract) and teaches performed with a deposition rate of the jet greater than approximately 25 mm/s (Aerosol jet printing, such as Optomec M3D printing, can print 5 times smaller features than inkjet printing, with much higher yield per nozzle, higher deposition rate and metal loading [0113]; inventive aerosol jet ink composition as a narrow particle size distribution produces good print line uniformity, deposition rate, [0155]; aerosol jet printer equipped with a 150 um tip...printing parameters were set at...60 mm/s, [0371]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include a deposition rate of the jet greater than approximately 25 mm/s as taught by Chou. The motivation being to provide an improved system with an aerosol jet ink composition controlling the narrow particle size distribution to provide accurate print line uniformity and increased overall print quality using an increased deposition rate. ([0354], Chou).
Regarding Claim 22, modified Mark discloses the method of claim 21 performed with a deposition rate of the jet greater than approximately 50 mm/s. (Chou teaches a rate of 60 mm/s, [0371]).
Claim 26 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2016/0009030 to Mark et al. (hereinafter, "Mark") in view of US 2010/0192847 to Renn et al. (hereinafter, "Renn”).
Regarding Claim 26, Mark discloses the method of claim 23, but fails to explicitly disclose further comprising independently shuttering the first print head and the second print head.
Renn is in the field of jet arrays (title; abstract) and teaches further comprising independently shuttering the first print head and the second print head (operation of arrays of aerosol jets capable of independent...deposition, Abstract; Shuttering of the miniature jet or miniature jet arrays can be accomplished by using a pinch valve positioned on the aerosol gas input tubing. When actuated, the pinch valve constricts the tubing, and stops the flow of aerosol to the deposition head. When the valve is opened, the aerosol flow to the head is resumed. The pinch valve shuttering scheme allows the nozzle to be lowered into recessed features and enables deposition into such features, while maintaining a shuttering capability, [0045]; operation of a multinozzle array, balancing of the aerosol output from individual nozzles may be necessary. Aerosol output balancing may be accomplished by constricting the aerosol input tubes leading to the individual nozzles, so that corrections to the relative aerosol output of the nozzles can be made, resulting in a uniform mass flux from each nozzle, [0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include further comprising independently shuttering the first print head and the second print head as taught by Renn. The motivation being to provide an improved system with individual printer head control for shuttering multiple heads, which can provide more control over the distribution and balancing of the overall ink deposition. ([0046]; Renn).
Claim 28 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US 2016/0009030 to Mark et al. (hereinafter, "Mark") in view of US 2012/0165969 to Elsey.
Regarding Claim 28, Mark discloses the method of claim 27, but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a curvature of the first substrate is concave.
Elsey is in the field of printing on curvatures (title; abstract) and teaches wherein a curvature of the first substrate is concave. (the surface may be an inward facing surface of the cylinder [0022]; curved surface may maintain a constant distance between the applicator and the surface while the surface is rotating, which may simplify the control and optimization of the application process, [0023]; applicator may comprise a drop-on-demand print-head, [0033]; deposited onto the cylindrical...at a resolution that may exceed the native resolution of nozzle spacing on the print-head, [0114)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the-art at the time of the invention to modify the printing of Mark to include wherein a curvature of the first substrate is concave as taught by Elsey. The motivation being to provide an improved system with a circular curvature of the first substrate is circular to simplify the control and optimization of the application process and the required material at a resolution that may exceed the native resolution of nozzle spacing on the print-head ([0114]; Elsey).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 29 and 33-34 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 29, the prior art of record, individually or in combination, does not teach or suggest the method of claim 28 wherein when an axis of rotation of the first print head is parallel to and coaxial with an axis of curvature of the circular surface a standoff distance between the first print head and the circular surface is constant during pivoting of the first print head. (i) Regarding Claim 29, Elsey discloses an axis of curvature of the circular surface (cylinder may be a circular cylinder, [0022]; curved surface may maintain a constant distance between the applicator and the surface while the surface is rotating, which may simplify the control and optimization of the application process, [0023]; applicator may comprise a drop-on-demand print-head, [0033]; deposited onto the cylindrical...at a resolution that may exceed the native resolution of nozzle spacing on the print-head, [0114]), but fails to fairly teach or suggest wherein when an axis of rotation of the first print head is parallel to and coaxial with an axis of curvature of the circular surface a standoff distance between the first print head and the circular surface is constant during pivoting of the first print head.
Regarding claim 33, the prior art of record, individually or in combination, does not teach or fairly suggest the method of claim 31 the method of claim 31 wherein the feature comprises a 180° wraparound interconnect for a display substrate.
Regarding claim 34, the claim is allowable due to its dependence on claim allowable claim 33.
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karel et al. (US 20060189113 A1) [0011] The present invention is directed to metal nanoparticle compositions that can be deposited onto a substrate using, for example, direct-write methods such as ink-jet deposition. The metal nanoparticle compositions preferably exhibit a low processing (curing) temperature, thereby permitting the formation of electrically conductive features on a variety of substrates, including organic substrates. The metal nanoparticle compositions can be deposited onto a substrate and processed by heating and/or irradiation to form features with good electrical and/or mechanical properties.
Kodas et al. (US 20050097987 A1) [0086] In one aspect, the present invention provides a method for preparing a particulate product. A feed of liquid-containing, flowable medium, including at least one precursor for the desired particulate product, is converted to aerosol form, with droplets of the medium being dispersed in and suspended by a carrier gas. Liquid from the droplets in the aerosol is then removed to permit formation in a dispersed state of the desired particles. Typically, the feed precursor is pyrolyzed in a furnace to make the particles.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL M. ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744