DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The grayscale drawings are objected to. The described structures of the device are indiscernible and the endings of the lead lines are indiscernible. Black and white drawings using solid black lines must be used per 37 CFR 1.84, MPEP section 608.2.V
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description.
In species of figures 3-5, no first strain relief is identified as described in ¶ 0053.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the following as described in the specification:
The “second strain relief device 12” as described as in ¶ 0054 is indiscernible.
Correction is required in response to this Office action and corrections may not be held in abeyance. Applicant is required to submit acceptable corrected drawings within the time period set in the Office action. See 37 CFR 1.185(a). Failure to take corrective action within the set (or extended) period will result in ABANDONMENT of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation of “a connection plug with a power line; and
a socket apparatus with at least one socket element for releasable connection to the connection plug” is indefinite. As disclosed, the connection plug 4 and the power line 6 are identified as separate elements. As disclosed, it is always the power lines 7 that are releasably connected to the socket 8. As disclosed, the power plug 4 does not engage the socket 8. The claim appears to contradict what is disclosed. Therefore it is ambiguous what elements should or should not be considered to be part of the claimed “connection plug” with regards to the limitation of “one socket element for releasable connection to the connection plug.” The limitation is treated as requiring a socket element connectable to a power line.
Regarding claim 13, the term “self-sealing grommet” is indefinite. It is unknown what differentiates a “self-sealing” grommet from a grommet that would not be considered to be “self-sealing.” What defines a “self-sealing” grommet as opposed to some other grommet? The limitation of being “self-sealing” is given little weight.
Claim Rejections - and 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Balchunas US 4101729. Regarding claim 10, Balchunas discloses a connection system comprising:
Implicitly, a connection plug (not shown) with a power line 12; and
a socket apparatus (10, 20) with at least one socket element (labeled SK below, including the terminals 18, well known screws labeled SC for securing the conductors 19, and housing labeled HS below) for releasable connection to the connection plug,
the socket apparatus containing a first strain-reliever (either 14 or 22 or 28 or 30 or 44) in order to counteract a tensile load, exerted on the power line, when the connection plug and the socket element are in a connected state.
Balchunas does not explicitly disclose the connection plug of the power line 12. The examiner takes Official notice that it was well known for electrical machines/appliances such disclosed in Balchunas (col. 1, lines 5-60) to include a plug at the free end of the power line 12. It would have been obvious to provide such a plug as was known in the art to connect the appliance to power sockets as was known in the art.
Per claim 11, the socket apparatus contains a second strain-reliever (one other of elements 14 or 22 or 30 or 44).
Per claim 12, the second strain - reliever is configured as an arcuate groove 28 for receiving at least a partial section of the power line.
Per claim 13, the second strain-reliever is a grommet 14 with a central cutout for the power line to pass through.
Per claim 14, the second strain-reliever is configured as a screw 48 device with a clamp 30 for releasably clamping the power line.
Per claim 15, there is a cover 44, the cover containing the second strain-reliever 30 and is configured to at least partially cover the socket apparatus.
Regarding claim 16, Balchunas does not disclose a charger. The Balchunas device is usable with any cord connected appliance (col. 2, lines 30-35). The examiner takes Official notice that chargers were known in the art. It would have been obvious to use the Balchunas device with a known charger. The reason would be to provide strain relief for the power cord as taught in Balchunas.
Per claim 17, Balchunas discloses a power tool (a flatiron, col. 2, lines 30-35) comprising the connection system as recited in claim 10.
Per claim 18, Balchunas discloses (see discussion regarding claim 1 for identification of claimed elements) a socket apparatus comprising at least one socket element for releasable connection to a connection plug for a connection system, the socket apparatus containing a first strain-reliever in order to counteract a tensile load, exerted on the power line, when the connection plug and the socket element are in a connected state.
Conclusion
/ROSS N GUSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834