DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - and 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balchunas US 4101729
Regarding claim 24, Balchunas discloses a connection system comprising:
a connection plug (implicit on the free end of cord 12) with a power line; and
a socket apparatus with at least one socket element (labeled SKE below) having a plug-in connection for the power line,
the socket apparatus containing a first strain-reliever (figure 3) in order to counteract a tensile load, exerted on the power line, when the power line is plugged into the socket element.
To the extent that Balchunas does not disclose the connection plug on the free end of cord 12, the examiner takes official notice that such plugs for connecting to AC power sockets were well known in the art. It would have been obvious to provide a standard power connection plug on the free end of Balchunas cord 12 to supply power to the device as was known in the art.
Per claim 25 the plug-in connection includes two separate plug-in connectors (labeled Blade 1 and Blade 2 below) for a first and a second line of the power line.
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Balchunas US 4101729 in view of Ruzic US 4224465 .
Regarding claim 10, Balchunas discloses a charger or power tool (col. 2, lines 30-35) comprising:
a housing (labeled HO in annotated figure 1 above); and
a connection system having comprising
a connection plug (implicit on the free end of cord 12) with a power line; and
at least one socket element (labeled SKE above) having a releasable connection for the power line (see well known screw labeled SCR above releasably holding a well known slotted blade terminal labeled BT to terminals 18),
the housing socket apparatus containing a strain-reliever (figure 3, corresponding the second strain reliever as set out in the dependent claims below) to counteract a tensile load, exerted on the power line, when the connection plug and the socket element are in a connected state.
Balchunas does not disclose a strain-reliever in the shape of an open arcuate groove.
Ruzic discloses a strain-reliever including support surface F having ribs R which form open arcuate grooves (passages D formed by various ribs R1-4, see e.g. arcuate grooves labeled GR1 and GR2 below) where the power lines are pressed into the open arcuate grooves.
It would have been obvious to provide the Balchunas floor (labeled FL above) of the chamber 20 with ribs (such as Ruzic ribs R1-4) to form open arcuate grooves as taught in Ruzic. The reason would have been to hold and guide the Balchunas conductive wires (labeled CDW below) in place through chamber 20 and provide additional strain relief as taught in Ruzic. Note that the Ruzic ribs provide strain relief and further the additional function of guiding and holding the wires in place within the chamber. “It is the object of the invention to provide a simple arrangement for simultaneously guiding and holding several cables in position, safeguarding at the same time a strain relief of the cable as is the case . . . .). Ruzic col. 1, lines 20-30. Note that the Balchunas strain relief does not provide guiding and holding of the conductor wires in position in the chamber 20. The provided Ruzic ribs will provide the “first” strain reliever as claimed. Note that the (first) strain reliever comprising ribs as taught in Ruzic will function to counteract a tensile load, exerted on the power line, when the connection plug and the socket element are in a connected state if/when the tensile load overcomes the clamping force of the second strain reliever shown in figure 3.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and each element would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ.2d 1385 (2007).
To the extent that Balchunas does not disclose the connection plug on the free end of cord 12, the examiner takes official notice that such plugs for connecting to AC power sockets were well known in the art. It would have been obvious to provide a standard power connection plug on the free end of Balchunas cord 12 to supply power to the device as was known in the art.
Per claim 11, the Balchunas socket apparatus contains a second strain-reliever (figure 3) to counteract a tensile load exerted on the power line.
Per claim 13, the Balchunas second strain-reliever is or includes a grommet 14 with a central cutout for the power line to pass through.
Per claim 14, the second strain-reliever is or includes configured as a screw 48 device with a clamp 30 for releasably clamping the power line.
Per claim 15, there is a cover 44, the cover containing the second strain-reliever 30 and is configured to at least partially cover the socket apparatus.
Regarding claim 16, Balchunas does not disclose a charger. The Balchunas device is usable with any cord connected appliance (col. 2, lines 30-35). The examiner takes Official notice that chargers were known in the art. It would have been obvious to use the Balchunas device with a known charger. The reason would be to provide strain relief for the power cord as taught in Balchunas.
Per claim 17, Balchunas discloses a power tool (a flatiron, col. 2, lines 30-35) comprising the connection system as recited in claim 10.
Per claim 19 the open arcuate groove (as taught in Ruzic) is C-shaped. See annotated figure 1 below.
Per claim 20 the open arcuate groove as taught in Ruzic is S-shaped (see annotated figure below).
Per claim 22 the Balchunas releasable connection includes two connectors (labeled Blade 1 and Blade 2 below) for a first and a second line of the power line.
Per claim 23 the Balchunas releasable connection includes two separate plug-in connectors (labeled Blade 1 and Blade 2 above) for a first and a second line of the power line.
Regarding claim 26, Balchunas does not disclose a strain-reliever in the shape of an open arcuate groove.
Ruzic discloses a strain-reliever including support surface F having ribs R which form open arcuate grooves (passages D formed by various ribs R1-4, see e.g. arcuate grooves labeled GR1 and GR2 in ) where the power lines are pressed into the open arcuate grooves.
It would have been obvious to provide the Balchunas floor (labeled FL above) of the chamber 20 with ribs (such as Ruzic ribs R1-4) to form open arcuate grooves as taught in Ruzic. The reason would have been to hold and guide the Balchunas conductive wires (labeled CDW above) in place through chamber 20 and provide additional strain relief as taught in Ruzic. Note that the Ruzic ribs provide strain relief and further the additional function of guiding and holding the wires in place within the chamber. “It is the object of the invention to provide a simple arrangement for simultaneously guiding and holding several cables in position, safeguarding at the same time a strain relief of the cable as is the case . . . .). Ruzic col. 1, lines 20-30. Note that the Balchunas strain relief does not provide guiding and holding of the conductor wires in position in the chamber 20. The provided Ruzic ribs will provide the “first” strain reliever as claimed. Note that the (first) strain reliever comprising ribs as taught in Ruzic will function to counteract a tensile load, exerted on the power line, when the connection plug and the socket element are in a connected state if/when the tensile load overcomes the clamping force of the second strain reliever shown in figure 3.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and each element would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ.2d 1385 (2007).
Balchunas does not disclose a charger. The Balchunas device is usable with any cord connected appliance (col. 2, lines 30-35). The examiner takes Official notice that chargers were known in the art. It would have been obvious to use the Balchunas device with a known charger. The reason would be to provide strain relief for the power cord as taught in Balchunas.
Regarding claim 27, Balchunas does not disclose a strain-reliever in the shape of an open arcuate groove.
Ruzic discloses a strain-reliever including support surface F having ribs R which form open arcuate grooves (passages D formed by various ribs R1-4, see e.g. arcuate grooves labeled GR1 and GR2 above) where the power lines are pressed into the open arcuate grooves.
It would have been obvious to provide the Balchunas floor (labeled FL below) of the chamber 20 with ribs (such as Ruzic ribs R1-4) to form open arcuate grooves as taught in Ruzic. The reason would have been to hold and guide the Balchunas conductive wires (labeled CDW below) in place through chamber 20 and provide additional strain relief as taught in Ruzic. Note that the Ruzic ribs provide strain relief and further the additional function of guiding and holding the wires in place within the chamber. “It is the object of the invention to provide a simple arrangement for simultaneously guiding and holding several cables in position, safeguarding at the same time a strain relief of the cable as is the case . . . .). Ruzic col. 1, lines 20-30. Note that the Balchunas strain relief does not provide guiding and holding of the conductor wires in position in the chamber 20. The provided Ruzic ribs will provide the “first” strain reliever as claimed. Note that the (first) strain reliever comprising ribs as taught in Ruzic will function to counteract a tensile load, exerted on the power line, when the connection plug and the socket element are in a connected state if/when the tensile load overcomes the clamping force of the second strain reliever shown in figure 3.
One of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements by known methods and each element would have performed the same function as it did separately. One of ordinary skill would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ.2d 1385 (2007).
Balchunas discloses a power tool (a flatiron, col. 2, lines 30-35).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROSS N GUSHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834