DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgement is made to Applicant’s response filed 01/29/2026.
Claims 1-14 are pending and are currently under consideration.
No claims were amended in the most recent response.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et at (EP 0274369)(IDS Reference) and Traynor et al (US 2008/0317795).
Sato teaches a glyphosate-ammonium sulfate herbicidal composition, wherein the composition comprises 10-50% ammonium sulfate, 2-20% quaternary ammonium salt, and the remainder (78% or less) of water (see entire document, for instance, Title and page 4, lines 1-21). The quaternary ammonium salt is taught as being selected from the group including trialkyl amine oxides, and specifically lauryl dimethyl amine oxide (N,N-dimethyl-N-dodecylamine-N-oxide) (see entire document, for instance, page 2, lines 38-42 and claims 13 and 15). The composition further comprises additional nonionic surfactants (see entire document, for instance, page 3, lines 60-61).
Sato, while teaching the instantly claimed ammonium sulfate and trialkylamine oxides, including N,N-dimethyl-N-dodecylamine-N-oxide, does not expressly teach a blend of trialkylamine oxides, and specifically the presence of N,N-dimethyl-N-decylamine-N-oxide.
Traynor teaches a composition that can comprise herbicides, said composition is taught as comprising nonioinic surfactants, and specifically, amine oxides including dimethyldodecylamine oxide and dimethyldecylamine oxide (see entire document, for instance, [0084] and [0207]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize a combination of dimethyldodecylamine oxide and dimethyldecylamine oxide as the trialkyl amine oxide of Sato. One would have been motivated to do so since Sato is teaching the use of trialkylamine oxides, wherein Traynor teaches that both dimethyldodecylamine oxide and dimethyldecylamine oxide are known as useful surfactants for compositions that can have herbicides. Further, it would have been obvious to optimize the amounts of the trialkylamine oxides, water, and ammonium sulfate to arrive at a composition that has superior properties, including surfactant properties, for the composition. One would have been motivated to do so since Sato teaches ranges that overlap the instantly claimed ranges and Traynor teaches that both amine oxides are useful as surfactants. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” Further, MPEP 2144.05 states: “In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 01/29/2026 that the prior art does not provide motivation for the blending of the C12-C14 fatty amine oxide and the C8-C10 fatty amine oxide. Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive. Specifically, the Example pointed to in Sato at the top of page 4 is taught as being prepared by mixing the ingredients together in a blender (see page 4, lines 26-27). By incorporating components of Traynor into the composition of Sato, one would still utilize the method of Sato, which includes the blending of the composition. As such, the added elements of Traynor would be blended with the components taught by Sato.
Applicant further points to data in the Specification that allegedly establishes unexpected results. It is noted that the data in the Specification is directed to a specific C12-C14 fatty amine oxide and a specific C8-C10 fatty amine oxide wherein the data further includes specific antifreeze agents of either glycerin or propylene glycol. The data is not commensurate in scope with the breadth of the claims as currently pending. For at least these reasons, Applicant’s arguments and the data in the Specification is not found persuasive.
Claim(s) 1-14 (all claims currently under consideration) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et at (EP 0274369)(IDS Reference) and Traynor et al (US 2008/0317795) as applied to claims 1-7 and 11-14 above, and further in view of Townson et al (US 5,888,934).
The teachings of Sato and Traynor are set forth above.
Sato and Traynor, while rendering obvious the instantly claimed composition, does not expressly teach the presence of an antifreeze agent such as propylene glycol.
Townson teaches an herbicidal composition comprising glyphosate ammonium sulfate (see entire document, for instance, column 6, lines 3-8). The composition further comprises anti-freezing agents such as ethylene glycol and propylene glycol (see entire document, for instance, column 8, line 1 and 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention to utilize the ethylene glycol or propylene glycol as anti-freezing agents for the composition of Sato and Traynor. One would have been motivated to do so since Townson teaches that ethylene glycol or propylene glycol can add anti-freezing properties to an herbicidal composition comprising glyphosate ammonium sulphate. There would be a reasonable expectation of success since both Sato and Townson are directed to herbicidal compositions comprising glyphosate ammonium sulfate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues in the Remarks filed 01/29/2026 that Townson does not cure the alleged deficiencies of Sato and Traynor with regard to the independent claim. As articulated above in the response to the previous rejection, Applicant’s argument is not found persuasive.
Further, Applicant argues that Townson does not provide sufficient motivation to arrive at the instantly claimed antifreeze components in their claimed amounts. It is noted that antifreeze agents have a specific function to reduce the freezing potential of a composition, and as such, by their nature are a result effective variable. It is noted that MPEP 2144.05 states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).” It is additionally noted that Applicant has not established the criticality of the amount of the antifreeze component within the breadth of the claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to add sufficient antifreeze components to arrive at a composition with superior antifreeze capabilities.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TREVOR LOVE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1611