DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/10/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “optical element” in claim 5 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 9, and 19 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 states “wherein the converter is directly attached to the surface-emitting semiconductor laser elements”. It should read “wherein the converter is directly attached to the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element”.
Claim 9 states “a housing to which the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element is attached”. It should read “a housing to which the surface-emitting semiconductor laser elements is attached”
Claim 19 states “selected from a micro-display apparatus, an illumination apparatus, and a motor vehicle headlight”; it should read “selected from a micro-display apparatus, an illumination apparatus, or a motor vehicle headlight”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 5 states “an optical element”. However, the optical element that is represented in the figures (e.g. Fig. 1 optical element 113) and the Specification is being already claimed in claim 1. Therefore, there is not additional optical element; consequently raise doubt as to possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Claim 5 and 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 states “an optical element”. It is not clear what optical element the Applicant is referring to since the optical elements shown in the figures and the Spec are “the carrier 125” and “optical element 113” are been defined in claims 1 and 2. For examination purposes, the Examiner will consider “an optical element” as “the optical element” referring to the optical element in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 12-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (Foreign Patent JP-2012169189-A) in the view of Takeda (US Patent US-20080013329-A1 cited in the IDS), hereinafter Takeda.
Regarding claim 1, Tsutsumi teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 23f) comprising:
a surface-emitting semiconductor element (Fig. 23f comprises an LED chip 188 which is a surface semiconductor element, see page 4 and 11 from translated patent); and
a converter (Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180) adapted to convert a wavelength of the laser radiation emitted by the surface-emitting semiconductor element (Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180 functions as a light wavelength conversion member that converts the wavelength of the light emitted by the semiconductor light emitting elements; see page 4 from translated patent document),
wherein the converter is directly attached to the surface-emitting semiconductor elements (Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180 is directly attached to LED 188).
Tsutsumi fails to teach a surface-emitting device to be laser, comprising a GaN-containing compound semiconductor layer; a housing comprising a bottom portion and side portions, wherein the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element is disposed over the bottom portion, and the side portions are disposed laterally adjacent to the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element, and further comprising an optical element forming a closure of the housing.
However, Takeda teaches a laser (Fig. 3 surface-emitting laser element 102), comprising a GaN-containing compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 3 laser 102 comprises a GaN substrate 111); a housing (Fig. 3 light module LM) comprising a bottom portion (Fig. 3 circuit substrate 106) and side portions (Fig. 3 hook pieces 203), wherein the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element is disposed over the bottom portion (Fig. 3 surface-emitting laser element 102 is disposed on substrate 106), and the side portions are disposed laterally adjacent to the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element (Fig. 3 hook pieces 203 are disposed laterally adjacent to laser 102), and further comprising an optical element forming a closure of the housing (Fig. 3 optical member 2 forms a closure of the light module LM).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsumi’s device with a surface-emitting laser comprising a GaN-containing compound semiconductor layer (e.g. having device 188 from Tsutsumi to be a laser comprising a GaN substrate) and a housing comprising an optical element (e.g. having a light module LM with the optical member 2 from Takeda as a housing to enclose the semiconductor device 23f from Tsutsumi) as taught by Takeda because having a laser would allow to produce a concentrated beam light at specific wavelengths increasing the power of the device, having a GaN semiconductor layer would allow to increase the efficiency of the device, having a housing would protect the device of being damaged, and having an optical element for distributing light emitted from the light source part (from Takeda abstract states “an optical element for distributing light emitted from the light source part”).
Regarding claim 2, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser according to claim 1, further comprising a carrier (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23f light diffusion phase 182 ), wherein the converter is disposed on the carrier (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180 is disposed on light diffusion phase 182 ), and the laser radiation (Tsutsumi’s modified device in the view of Takeda would have device 188 from Tsutsumi to be a laser) is radiated through the carrier and the converter (from Tsutsumi light is radiated through 180 & 182).
Regarding claim 3, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser according to claim 2, wherein the carrier is an optical element (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23f light diffusion phase 182).
Regarding claim 4, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser according to claim 1, further comprising an optical element on a side of the converter facing away from the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23d light diffusion phase 182 on a side of phosphor layer 180 facing away the semiconductor element 188; Tsutsumi’s modified device would have 188 as a surface-emitting semiconductor laser).
Regarding claim 5, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser according to claim 2, further comprising an optical element (from Takeda Fig. 3 optical member 2) on a side of the converter facing away from the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element (Tsutsumi’s modified device would have the optical member 2 on a side of phosphor layer 180 facing away the device 188), wherein the optical element is connected to the carrier (it is inherent that the optical member 2 would be connected to light diffusion phase 182 to allow laser light to exit).
Regarding claim 9, Tsutsumi teaches a semiconductor device (Fig. 23f) comprising:
an array of a plurality of surface-emitting semiconductor element (Fig. 23f comprises an array of a plurality of LED chips 188 which is a surface semiconductor element, see page 4 and 11 from translated patent); and
a converter (Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180) adapted to convert a wavelength of the laser radiation emitted by the surface-emitting semiconductor elements (Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180 functions as a light wavelength conversion member that converts the wavelength of the light emitted by the semiconductor light emitting elements; see page 4 from translated patent document),
wherein the converter is directly attached to the surface-emitting semiconductor elements (Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180 is directly attached to LED 188).
Tsutsumi fails to teach array of a plurality of laser elements comprising a GaN-containing compound semiconductor layer; a bottom portion of a housing to which the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element is attached, and an optical element which together with the bottom portion forms the housing of the semiconductor laser device.
However, Takeda teaches a laser (Fig. 3 surface-emitting laser element 102), comprising a GaN-containing compound semiconductor layer (Fig. 3 laser 102 comprises a GaN substrate 111); a housing (Fig. 3 light module LM) comprising a bottom portion (Fig. 3 circuit substrate 106) and side portions (Fig. 3 hook pieces 203), wherein the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element is disposed over the bottom portion (Fig. 3 surface-emitting laser element 102 is disposed on substrate 106), and the side portions are disposed laterally adjacent to the surface-emitting semiconductor laser element (Fig. 3 hook pieces 203 are disposed laterally adjacent to laser 102), and further comprising an optical element forming a closure of the housing (Fig. 3 optical member 2 forms a closure of the light module LM).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsumi’s device with a surface-emitting laser comprising a GaN-containing compound semiconductor layer (e.g. having device 188 from Tsutsumi to be a laser comprising a GaN substrate) and a housing comprising an optical element (e.g. having a light module LM with the optical member 2 from Takeda as a housing to enclose the semiconductor device 23f from Tsutsumi) as taught by Takeda because having a laser would allow to produce a concentrated beam light at specific wavelengths increasing the power of the device, having a GaN semiconductor layer would allow to increase the efficiency of the device, having a housing would protect the device of being damaged, and having an optical element for distributing light emitted from the light source part (from Takeda abstract states “an optical element for distributing light emitted from the light source part”).
Regarding claim 10, Tsutsumi’ modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 9.
Tsutsumi’ modified device fail to teach a single converter is associated with the plurality of surface-emitting semiconductor elements.
However, Tsutsumi further teaches a single converter( Fig. 5 phosphor layer 58 ) is associated with the plurality of surface-emitting semiconductor elements (Fig. 5 phosphor layer 58 is a single converter associated to a plurality of surface-emitting semiconductor elements).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsumi’s device in the view of Takeda with a single converter as further taught by Tsutsumi because having a single converter would reduce the fabrication steps (see Tsutsumi different embodiment in Fig. 23 and 24 where special border between LED’s needs to be created to accommodate the plurality of phosphor layers).
Regarding claim 12, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 9, wherein the converter comprises a plurality of converter regions (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23f phosphor layer 180 have regions left and right) and each of the plurality of surface-emitting semiconductor laser elements has a dedicated converter region associated therewith (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23f device 188 left and right has a corresponding phosphor layer 180; modified Tsutsumi’s device in the view of Takeda would have device 180 to be a surface-emitting semiconductor laser element).
Regarding claim 13, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 9.
Tsutsumi’s modified device fails to teach driver electronics adapted to individually drive each of the plurality of surface-emitting semiconductor laser elements.
However, Takeda teaches driver electronics adapted to individually drive each of the plurality of surface-emitting semiconductor laser elements (Fig. 3 array of lasers 102; [0028] states “the lighting control circuit receives a beam switching signal by operation of a driver and controls light emission of each of the light emission parts 102 ”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Tsutsumi’s device with a driver electronics as taught by Takeda because it would control the light emission of each laser (from Takeda [0028]).
Regarding claim 15, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 9, further comprising an optical apparatus on a side of the converter facing away from the array of semiconductor laser elements (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23f light diffusion phase 182 is on a side of phosphor layer 180 facing away array of semiconductor elements 188; Tsutsumi’s modified device would have element 188 to lasers).
Regarding claim 18, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches an optoelectronic component comprising a semiconductor laser device according to claim 1 (from Tsunami Fig. 23f is an optoelectronic component since it has an arranged of LED chips; Tsutsumi’s modified device in the view of Takeda comprises a semiconductor laser device according to claim 1).
Regarding claim 19, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the optoelectronic component according to claim 18; selected from a micro-display apparatus, an illumination apparatus (from Tsutsumi Fig. 23f is used for a vehicular lamp in Fig. 1), and a motor vehicle headlight.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (Foreign Patent JP-2012169189-A) in the view of Takeda (US Patent US-20080013329-A1 cited in the IDS), as per claim 10, in further view of Raring (US Patent US-20210215319-A1), hereinafter Raring.
Regarding claim 11, Tsutsumi’s modified device teaches the semiconductor laser device according to claim 10.
Tsutsumi’s modified device fails to teach wherein the converter varies locally.
However, Raring teaches a converter varies locally ([0432] states “the wavelength converting element consists of a plurality of regions comprised of varying composition or color conversion properties”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Raring’s device with a converter varies locally because it will allow to produce different colors and/or wavelengths (from Rarings [0432]).
Conclusion
/FERNANDA ADRIANA CAMACHO ALANIS/Examiner, Art Unit 2828 /MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828