DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed 11/16/23 has been considered and placed of record. The initialed copy is attached herewith.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because unlabeled rectangular box 20 shown in all figures should be provided with descriptive text labels. Although the boxes in the figures are numbered which allow a correlation to each box as one reads the specification, the numbers by themselves do not allow one to quickly ascertain the concept of the invention which is desirable during a later search of analogous art. The numbers should be complimented with words spelled out to facilitate future searches. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The limitation “same” at end of paragraph is indefinite. The term does not positively recite what “same” referred.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by document DE102011075421A1 (see machine translation).
Re claim 1, the document discloses A bipolar storage battery system having, inter alia, a first storage battery unit 40 and a second storage battery unit 40, each including at least one storage battery module 70, wherein each storage battery unit having a positive pole 42 and a negative pole 43 and corresponding contacts (para 30; figs 7-8 and 10), wherein the two storage battery units are connected in series by means of the corresponding contacts, and a center tap 73 results from the connection (para 6-7 and 31; fig 10), wherein a shared control unit (mentioned but not shown) for the two storage battery units is comprised by the bipolar storage battery system and intended to ensure electrical and/or functional safety of the bipolar storage battery system (para 33), wherein the contacts remaining after the connection of the two storage battery units to form the center tap, as a positive and a negative pole of the storage battery system, are routed across the control unit to the outside for an external tap as a positive and a negative external terminal (para 35), and wherein the center tap, as a neutral pole of the storage battery system, is routed across the control unit to the outside for an external tap as a neutral external terminal (para 40).
Re claim 3, the document further discloses the storage battery modules are lithium-ion cells (para 6).
Re claim 4, the document discloses the storage battery modules are electrically symmetrical (para 8).
Re claim 5, the document further discloses directly feeding a converter system 80, in particular for directly feeding an inverter, for the purpose of generating an alternating voltage by means of the inverter, based on the electrical energy supplied by the bipolar storage battery system (para 40).
Re claim 6, the document further discloses a function as an uninterruptible voltage supply or as a substitute power supply, and including a bipolar storage battery system (para 1, 2 and10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DE102011075421A1.
The document does not disclose the control unit (mentioned but not shown) switched off the storage battery units and modules in an event of an error. Official notice is taken of the fact that any abnormality occurred in the batteries or circuitry should be an event to trigger to avoid damage to the device. It would have been well within the skill of one versed in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have ensured the control circuit automatically switched off the battery in case of an error to avoid undue catastrophe to the system
Conclusion
The Examiner’s SPE is Drew Dunn and he can be reached at 571.272.2312. The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571.273.8300.
/EDWARD TSO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859 571.272.2087