DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to application filed on 11/16/2023.
Claims 1-5 have been examined and are pending with this action.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges that the Applicant claims a priority benefit of JAPAN 2021-085269 0filed on 5/20/2021.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 11/16/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/16/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
The oath or declaration filed on 11/16/2023 has been acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claim 1-3 limitation “a transmission unit that transmits…..,” and “a control unit that determines a content…..,” has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because they use means for coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Because the claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Specification cites in [0098, Fig. 2 and Fig. 9] that, the above-mentioned gNB100 and UE200 (the device) may function as a computer for processing the radio communication method of the present disclosure. FIG. 9 is a diagram showing an example of the hardware configuration of the device. As shown in FIG. 9, the device may be configured as a computer device including a processor 1001, a memory 1002”. Examiner would encourage Applicant to include that mentioned structure in the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Common Feedback Techniques in the Radio Frequency Spectrum (TH 2101007032) referenced as hereinafter Feedback in view of Adaptive Modulation in Hybrid Vehicle Communication Systems et al (JP # 2016537886 ) referenced as hereinafter Adaptive in further view of Shao et al (US Pub # 2020/0343995).
INDEPENDENT CLAIMS:
As per claim 1, FEEDBACK discloses a terminal [(FEEDBACK): “ UEs 115 This may also be referred to as a mobile device, wireless device, remote device, handheld device, or subscriber device.”] comprising:
a transmission unit that transmits a feedback [(FEEDBACK ): “New Data Identifier (NDI) associated with the downlink transmission for which feedback is provided.”] to be used in selecting a modulation method used on a downlink channel [(FEEDBACK ): “The number of bits carried by each resource element may depend on the modulation scheme (for example, the rank of the modulation scheme). The more resource elements the UE 115 receives, and the higher the rank of the modulation scheme, the higher the data rate may be for the UE 115.”] ; and
FEEDBACK does not explicitly teach content of feedback, multiple modulation scheme and index.
Adaptive however discloses control unit that determines a content of the feedback [(Adaptive ): “ first content to be transmitted to said device using a wireless network contained within said vehicle; Causing a hybrid transmission information collector to transmit feedback information from the vehicle.”] ;
wherein the content of the feedback includes at least one of an information element that explicitly or implicitly indicates a desired modulation scheme [(Adaptive ): “ The appropriate or desired subsequently used modulation scheme may be determined from a plurality of predetermined modulation scheme & , the onboard node 120 may receive one or more appropriate or desired subsequently used modulation schemes and / or other feedback information content based on the current geographic spatial location of the vehicle 102x”] ,
an information element that explicitly or implicitly indicates a difference between a current modulation scheme and a desired modulation scheme [(Adaptive ): “ The system includes: a hybrid transmission information distributor that is communicatively connected to a vehicle in flight via a forward link included in the first wireless communication link (here) And the forward link supports multiple modulation schemes, and each modulation scheme is included in the multiple modulation schemes corresponding to each performance level).”] .
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of FEEDBACK in view of Adaptive to figure out feedback content and multiple modulation schemes. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances the system of hybrid vehicle communication systems. (Adaptive : [ABs]).
Modified FEEDBACK does not explicitly teach index of modulation scheme.
Shao however discloses an information element that indicates an index that is explicitly or implicitly associated with a difference between a current modulation scheme and a desired modulation scheme [Shao): [0163 -0169]: where the modulation and coding scheme table is at least one of a plurality of modulation and coding scheme tables; a modulation and coding scheme index offset value indicated by the DCI & terminal device determines the MCS index, and determines, based on the modulation and coding scheme table indicated by the DCI, the MCS information corresponding to the MCS index”] .
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified FEEDBACK in view of Shao to figure out index of modulation scheme. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances determination of modulation and coding scheme index. (Shao: [ABs]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected based on rationale provided from claim 1 rejection.
DEPENDENT CLAIMS:
As per claim 2, FEEDBACK /Adaptive /Shao discloses the terminal of claim 1, wherein the index of the desired modulation scheme is selected from a table defined for the feedback ((Shao): [0010]: “the first information is determined based on the received DCI (the index), and the first information includes at least one of the following: a modulation and coding scheme table indicated by the DCI; a modulation and coding scheme index offset value indicated by the DCI; a feedback time interval indicated by the DCI; and A-CSI indicated by the DCI.”] .
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified FEEDBACK in view of Shao to figure out index of modulation scheme. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances determination of modulation and coding scheme index. (Shao: [ABs]).
As per claim 3, FEEDBACK /Adaptive /Shao discloses the terminal of claim 1, wherein the index associated with the difference between the current modulation scheme and the desired modulation scheme is selected from a table defined for the feedback [Shao): [0010]: “includes at least one of the following: a modulation and coding scheme table (desired modulation and scheme), where the modulation and coding scheme table is at least one of a plurality of modulation and coding scheme tables; a modulation and coding scheme index offset value; a search space in which the DCI is located; a feedback time interval,.”] .
Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of modified FEEDBACK in view of Shao to figure out index of modulation scheme. One would be motivated to do so because this enhances determination of modulation and coding scheme index. (Shao: [ABs]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
/SIBTE H BUKHARI/Examiner, Art Unit 2449