CTNF 18/561,522 CTNF 85343 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 1. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-16 and 18-23 are pending. Claims 3, 12 and 17 are canceled. Response to Arguments 2. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks and amendments to the claims, filed 03/17/2026, with respect to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1-2, 9-11 and 16 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1-2, 9-11 and 16 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis et al, US 2021/0321258 in view of Wang US 2023/0102655. 3. In light of the amendments to the claims, the previous claim objections of claims 3-8, 12-15 and 17-20 are withdrawn. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 4. Claim (s) 1, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis et al, US 2021/0321258 hereafter Salkintzis in view of Wang US 2023/0102655 hereafter Wang . As for claim 1 , Salkintzis discloses: A recovery method for data traffic interruption, comprising detecting data traffic interruption in a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], the processor receives an indication that the remote unit is disconnected from the first access network or is not reachable in the first access network associated with a PDU session) ; determining whether the PDU session currently meets a session switching condition (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], determining whether the existing/delegated PDU session meets the condition (being disconnected or received signal deteriorates considerably) for switching/transferring/substitution) ; and in response to a determination that the PDU session currently meets the session switching condition, switching the PDU session (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], In response to determining the PDU session mees the condition (being disconnected or received signal deteriorates considerably), switch/transfer/substitute the existing/delegated PDU session with the new PDU session) . Salkintzis does not explicitly disclose comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session. However, Wang discloses detecting data traffic interruption in a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (Wang, Fig. 5, [0114], At 502, the WTRU 102 may establish a MA-PDU session 220 (e.g., a normal MA-PDU session) in the 5GC 115 with a 3GGP access leg and a non-3GPP access leg in the 5GC 115. At 503, the WTRU 102 may detect that it has lost the 3GGP access leg (e.g., NR) and may report the unavailability of the 3GGP access to a network.) comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session. (Wang, Fig. 5, [0114]-[0116], The WTRU 102 may provide the PDU session ID of the MA-PDU session 220 to the EPC 306. At 504b (e.g., if the WTRU 102 has already established a suitable PDN connection 304 in the EPC 306), the WTRU 102 may identify such a suitable existing PDN connection 304. The Examiner interprets the PDU session ID of the MA-PDU session to correspond to determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session), in response to a determination that the PDU session currently meets the session switching condition, switching the PDU session. (Wang, Fig. 5, [0115]-[0116], At 505 (e.g., after a suitable PDN connection is established or identified), the WTRU 102 may initiate a PDU session modification procedure with the 5GC 115. The WTRU 102 may indicate in a request that the 3GGP access leg of the MA-PDU session 220 may be replaced by the PDN connection 304 in the EPC 306. The Examiner interprets suitable PDN connection is established or identified to correspond to the session switching condition) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salkintzis with comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session as taught by Wang to provide improved access to more than one wireless network. (Wang, [0004]). As for claim 9 , Salkintzis discloses: A terminal device (Fig. 1, Fig. 3, [0037], [0063], the user equipment apparatus 300 may include a processor 305, a memory 310, an input device 315, an output device 320, a first transceiver 325, and a second transceiver 330. ) , comprising a memory, a processor, and a communication bus connecting the memory with the processor; wherein the memory stores at least one computer program which, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform a recovery method for a recovery method for data traffic interruption comprising: detecting data traffic interruption in a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], the processor receives an indication that the remote unit is disconnected from the first access network or is not reachable in the first access network associated with a PDU session) ; determining whether the PDU session currently meets a session switching condition (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], determining whether the existing/delegated PDU session meets the condition (being disconnected or received signal deteriorates considerably) for switching/transferring/substitution) ; and in response to a determination that the PDU session currently meets the session switching condition, switching the PDU session (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], In response to determining the PDU session mees the condition (being disconnected or received signal deteriorates considerably), switch/transfer/substitute the existing/delegated PDU session with the new PDU session) . Salkintzis does not explicitly disclose comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session. However, Wang discloses detecting data traffic interruption in a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (Wang, Fig. 5, [0114], At 502, the WTRU 102 may establish a MA-PDU session 220 (e.g., a normal MA-PDU session) in the 5GC 115 with a 3GGP access leg and a non-3GPP access leg in the 5GC 115. At 503, the WTRU 102 may detect that it has lost the 3GGP access leg (e.g., NR) and may report the unavailability of the 3GGP access to a network.) comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session. (Wang, Fig. 5, [0114]-[0116], The WTRU 102 may provide the PDU session ID of the MA-PDU session 220 to the EPC 306. At 504b (e.g., if the WTRU 102 has already established a suitable PDN connection 304 in the EPC 306), the WTRU 102 may identify such a suitable existing PDN connection 304. The Examiner interprets the PDU session ID of the MA-PDU session to correspond to determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session), in response to a determination that the PDU session currently meets the session switching condition, switching the PDU session. (Wang, Fig. 5, [0115]-[0116], At 505 (e.g., after a suitable PDN connection is established or identified), the WTRU 102 may initiate a PDU session modification procedure with the 5GC 115. The WTRU 102 may indicate in a request that the 3GGP access leg of the MA-PDU session 220 may be replaced by the PDN connection 304 in the EPC 306. The Examiner interprets suitable PDN connection is established or identified to correspond to the session switching condition) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salkintzis with comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session as taught by Wang to provide improved access to more than one wireless network. (Wang, [0004]). As for claim 10 , Salkintzis discloses: A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing at least one computer program which, when executed by at least one processor, causes the at least one processor to perform a recovery method for data traffic interruption comprising: detecting data traffic interruption in a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], the processor receives an indication that the remote unit is disconnected from the first access network or is not reachable in the first access network associated with a PDU session) ; determining whether the PDU session currently meets a session switching condition (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], determining whether the existing/delegated PDU session meets the condition (being disconnected or received signal deteriorates considerably) for switching/transferring/substitution) ; and in response to a determination that the PDU session currently meets the session switching condition, switching the PDU session (Salkintzis, [0155], [0204], In response to determining the PDU session mees the condition (being disconnected or received signal deteriorates considerably), switch/transfer/substitute the existing/delegated PDU session with the new PDU session) . Salkintzis does not explicitly disclose comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session. However, Wang discloses detecting data traffic interruption in a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session (Wang, Fig. 5, [0114], At 502, the WTRU 102 may establish a MA-PDU session 220 (e.g., a normal MA-PDU session) in the 5GC 115 with a 3GGP access leg and a non-3GPP access leg in the 5GC 115. At 503, the WTRU 102 may detect that it has lost the 3GGP access leg (e.g., NR) and may report the unavailability of the 3GGP access to a network.) comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session. (Wang, Fig. 5, [0114]-[0116], The WTRU 102 may provide the PDU session ID of the MA-PDU session 220 to the EPC 306. At 504b (e.g., if the WTRU 102 has already established a suitable PDN connection 304 in the EPC 306), the WTRU 102 may identify such a suitable existing PDN connection 304. The Examiner interprets the PDU session ID of the MA-PDU session to correspond to determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session), in response to a determination that the PDU session currently meets the session switching condition, switching the PDU session. (Wang, Fig. 5, [0115]-[0116], At 505 (e.g., after a suitable PDN connection is established or identified), the WTRU 102 may initiate a PDU session modification procedure with the 5GC 115. The WTRU 102 may indicate in a request that the 3GGP access leg of the MA-PDU session 220 may be replaced by the PDN connection 304 in the EPC 306. The Examiner interprets suitable PDN connection is established or identified to correspond to the session switching condition) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Salkintzis with comprising: determining whether the PDU session is a Multi-Access (MA) PDU session supporting the access of a plurality of network channels; and in response to a determination that the PDU session is an MA PDU session, determining whether an available network channel currently presents in the plurality of network channels supported by the PDU session as taught by Wang to provide improved access to more than one wireless network. (Wang, [0004]) . 07-21-aia AIA 5. Claim (s) 2, 11, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Salkintzis et al, US 2021/0321258 in view of Wang US 2023/0102655 and further in view of Zhao, US 2015/0215903 hereafter Zhao . As for claims 2, 11 and 16 , the combination of Salkintzis and Wang does not explicitly disclose detecting data traffic interruption in a PDU session comprises one of: detecting that no response has been received from a network side within a first preset period of time after N data messages are consecutively sent to the network side in the PDU session, wherein N is greater than or equal to 1. However, Zhao discloses detecting data traffic interruption in a PDU session comprises one of: detecting that no response has been received from a network side within a first preset period of time after N data messages are consecutively sent to the network side in the PDU session, wherein N is greater than or equal to 1 (Zhao, [0135], Detecting by the WTRU that a PDU or a plurality of PDUs within a time period were not delivered, for example, due to lack of acknowledgment for those PDUs, A WTRU considers a transmission unsuccessful if a PDU exceeds its retransmission attempts without receiving an ACK.) It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of the teachings of Salkintzis and Wang with detecting data traffic interruption in a PDU session comprises one of: detecting that no response has been received from a network side within a first preset period of time after N data messages are consecutively sent to the network side in the PDU session, wherein N is greater than or equal to 1 as taught by Zhao to provide improved network resource usage (Zhao, [0180],) . 13-03 Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.” Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 6. Claim s 4-8, 13-15 and 18-23 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion 07-96 AIA 7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : US 2020/0221527 discloses [0219] The SMF 160 may send, via an N4 interface to a UPF, a session modification request (e.g., session update request, N4 session modification request, etc.) The UPF may serve a PDU session via a first-access network. The session modification request may comprise at least one traffic rule for supporting a multi-access PDU session. The SMF 160 may send, via an N4 interface to a UPF, a session establishment request. The UPF may be the same as or different from a UPF serving a PDU session via a first-access network for supporting a multi-access PDU session using/via a second access network. The SMF 160 may provide, to the UPD, at least one traffic rule in the session modification request. The UPD may support a multi-access PDU session to the UPF. The SMF 160 may receive, from the UPF a response of the session modification request indicating a result of a request. [0220] The SMF 160 may initiate a release of a PDU session with a wireless device established using/via a first access network (e.g., an access network to switch from). This release of a PDU session may result in to modifying a multi-access PDU session to a single-PDU session using/via second access network (e.g., an access network to switch to) . 8. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JENEE HOLLAND whose telephone number is (571)270-7196. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, IAN MOORE can be reached at (571)272-3085. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JENEE HOLLAND Examiner Art Unit 2469 /JENEE HOLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 2 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 3 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 4 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 5 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 6 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 7 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 8 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 9 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 10 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 11 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 12 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 13 Art Unit: 2469 Application/Control Number: 18/561,522 Page 14 Art Unit: 2469