Response to Amendment
This action is in response to applicant’s amendments and arguments filed on 7/1/2026. Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-15 are pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seong (KR 2019-0051787 – of Record) in view of Lee (KR 2021-0155689 – of Record) and Liu et al. (US 2020/0214349 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Seong teaches a vaporizer (Fig. 6) comprising a storage area (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 210) configured to store an aerosol generating material, a generator (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 270) configured to generate an aerosol from the aerosol generating material, and an accommodating unit (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 340). The accommodating unit comprises a chamber (Fig. 6, chamber where generator, 270, is located) configured to accommodate the generator and an inlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 342) configured to introduce air into the chamber. The accommodating unit comprises a plurality of walls (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 250, 260), where the plurality of walls comprise a floor wall (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 260, bottom of chamber) and that the height of the center of the inlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 342) is higher than the center of the outlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 336). That means the height of the inlet is more than 1 times greater than the height of the outlet, which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.75 to 1.5 times which is a prima facie case of obviousness. However, Seong does not teach) that at least one of those walls comprise an inclined surface.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches a vaporizer that has curved guides surfaces (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 122) to direct the air flow through the generator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Seong with Lee to add a curved guide surface to the bottom of the chamber on both ends. This modification will reduce the flow distance for the air and the aerosol (Lee; Para. [0034]). Modified Seong teaches an outlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 336) configured to discharge the aerosol generated by the chamber; however, does not teach the diameter of the outlet compared to the inlet.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches a vaporizer where the diameter of the air tube at the inlet is greater than that at the outlet.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the modified Seong with Liu to have the diameter of the air inlet be larger than the diameter of the air outlet. This modification will increase the velocity of the air which will increase the speed of the liquid atomization (Liu; Para. [0011]).
Regarding claim 2, modified Seong teaches a first sidewall (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 260, right vertical wall) which includes the inlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 342) and the inclined surface which is curved (Lee; Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 122).
Regarding claim 3, modified Seong teaches a floor wall (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 260, bottom of chamber) which includes the inclined surface which is curved (Lee; Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 122).
Regarding claim 4, modified Seong teaches first sidewall (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 260, right vertical wall) which includes the inlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 342) and the inclined surface which is arranged where the floor wall and first sidewall meet (Lee; Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 122).
Regarding claim 5, modified Seong teaches that the inclined surface (Lee; Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 122) starts closer to the inlet (Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 121) than the middle point of the chamber (Fig. 2, middle of coil, 23)).
Regarding claim 7, modified Seong teaches a second sidewall (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 260, left vertical wall) which includes the outlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 336) and the inclined surface which is curved (Lee; Fig. 2, Ref. Num. 122).
Regarding claim 9, Seong teaches that the accommodating unit further comprises a flow path (Fig. 6, air flows from inlet, 342, through chamber to outlet, 336) connected to the inlet (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 342) and configured to receive air and deliver air to the chamber.
Regarding claim 10, Seong teaches the flow path comprises a first flow path (See Recreated Fig. 6 below) extending in a direction in which the inlet is opened to the chamber and a second flow path (See Recreated Fig. 6 below) extending in a direction crossing a direction in which the first flow path extends and opened in a direction in which a top surface of the accommodating unit faces
Regarding claim 11, Seong teaches the flow path further comprises a connecting flow path (See Recreated Fig. 6 above) connecting the first flow path and the second flow path to each other, and the connecting flow path comprises a flow path surface inclined in a straight line or in a curve with respect to a direction in which the inlet is opened to the chamber.
Regarding claim 12, Seong claims that the accommodating unit further comprises an accommodating groove (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 220) configured to support the generator (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 270) and receive the aerosol generating material from the storage (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 210).
Regarding claim 13, Seong claims that the storage comprises an inflow path (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 342) configured to deliver air from outside of the vaporizer to the accommodating unit.
Regarding claim 14, Seong teaches a sealing unit (Fig. 6, Ref. Num. 250) arranged between the storage and the accommodating unit where the sealing unit comprises a guide surface (rightmost side of sealing unit adjacent to inlet path) configured to guide movement of air introduced into the chamber.
Regarding claim 15, Seong teaches an aerosol generating device (Fig. 1) comprising the vaporizer of claim 1 (See claim 1 rejection). The aerosol generating device also comprises a main body (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 100) comprising an accommodating space (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 122) configured to accommodate an aerosol generating article and connected to the vaporizer, a heater configured to heat the aerosol generating article accommodated in the main body (Para. [0033]), a battery configured to supply power to the generator and the heater (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 112), and a controller configured to control power supplied to the generator and the heater (Fig. 1, Ref. Num. 114, 115).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 6 and 7, filed 7/1/2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC 103 in view of Seong, Lee, and Zuber have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Seong, Lee, and Liu.
Conclusion
/N.J.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1749
/KATELYN W SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1749