DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figure 1 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
After Paragraph [0013], the examiner suggests the applicant to change the section heading "DISCLOSURE" to “BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION”.
After Paragraph [0064], the examiner suggests the applicant to change the section heading "BEST MODE" to “DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION”.
Paragraph [0055], the examiner suggests "a conventional electronic cigarette” should be “a conventional electronic cigarette as shown, according to the prior art”
Paragraph [0078], the examiner suggests "The control part 13” described in line 1 should be “As shown in FIG. 5, the control part 13”.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 7-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the control part comprises a sterilization control portion” which redefines the control part of claim 4 upon which it depends. Examiner suggests the claim should be amended to read “the control part further comprises a sterilization portion.”
Claim 8 recites the limitation “sends a signal to supply electrical energy to the sterilization part to the sterilization part power supply module”. It appears that “to the sterilization part” is in error and the limitation should read “sends a signal to supply electrical energy
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the sterilization control portion comprises a sterilization signal confirmation module” which redefines the sterilization control portion of claim 8 upon which it depends. Examiner suggests the claim should be amended to read “the sterilization control portion further comprises a sterilization signal confirmation module”.
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the body part comprises a housing part” which redefines the body part of claim 1 upon which it depends. Examiner suggests the claim should be amended to read “the body part further comprises a housing part”.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “the housing part comprises a seating portion” which redefines the housing part of claim 10 upon which it depends. Examiner suggest the claim should be amended to read “the housing part further comprises a seating portion”.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the body part comprises a first terminal portion” which redefines the body part of claim 1 upon which it depends. Examiner suggests the claim should be amended to read “the body part further comprises a first terminal portion”.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “the body part comprises a third terminal portion” which redefines the body part of claim 1 upon which it depends. Examiner suggests the claim should be amended to read “the body part further comprises a third terminal portion”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10-11, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (KR 20200126610, cited on IDS of 11/16/2023, machine translation relied upon).
-Lee discloses an aerosol generating device (5) comprising:
a main body (10) (anticipates a body part); a cartridge (20) replaceably combined (anticipates detachable coupled) with the main body (10) while containing an aerosol generating substance inside (anticipates produces an aerosol), (Fig. 2, [0066-0068]); a mouthpiece (22) is coupled to one end of the liquid storage portion (21) of the cartridge (20), (Fig. 2, [0083]);
and a cover (100) coupled to the main body (10) including a slider (30), (anticipates a cover part) (Fig. 8, [0112-0113]); the cover (100) covers the exterior including the slider (30) and the mouthpiece (22) (anticipates covers the cartridge part), (Fig. 9, [0118]); or the mouthpiece (22) can be exposed to the outside of the cover (100) (anticipates exposes the cartridge part to the outside), (Fig. 10, [0120]),
In an embodiment, the aerosol generating device (10000) the body includes a battery (11000) (anticipates a batter part); the battery (11000) supplies power (anticipates electrical energy) used to operate the aerosol generating device, ([0041]-[0042], [0045]); and
a control unit (16000) (anticipates a control part) is hardware that controls the overall operation of the aerosol generating device (10000) and includes at least one processor, ([0060]). The control unit (16000) analyzes the results by a least one sensor (13000) and controls the processes to be performed subsequently. Additionally, the control unit (16000) can control the power supplied to the heater (12000) so that the operation of the heater (12000) is started or ended based on the result of at least one sensor (13000) (anticipates the movement path of electrical energy supplied from the battery part), ([0062]).
Regarding claims 2-4, Lee discloses when the aerosol generating device (10000) is composed of a main body and a cartridge, the heater (12000) may be located in the cartridge and the heater (12000) can be powered by a battery (11000) located in at least one of the body and the cartridge, ([0047]). Lee further discloses Fig. 5 shows the slider (30) positioned in the first position and Fig. 6 shows the slider (30) positioned in the second position, ([0104]). The control unit can control to activate or deactivate the aerosol generating device (5) (e.g., activate or deactivate the cartridge) according to a change in the position of the slide (30) detected by the position change detection sensor (3), ([0110]). Therefore, control unit anticipates the cartridge control portion of claim 5.
When the slider (30) is detected in the first position, the control unit can deactivate the aerosol generating device (5) (anticipates blocks the supply of energy from the battery part of claim 2 and claim 5), ([0111]). Fig. 9 shows the cover (100) with the slider (30) in the first position, ([0119]). Therefore, as the cover with slider is in the first position (anticipates over the cover part is coupled with the body part), this anticipates claim 2 and 5.
Accordingly, the move of the slider (30) from the first position to the second position can be detected by the position change detection sensor (3), and when the movement of the slider (30) from the first position to the second position is detected by the position change detection sensor (3), the control unit can activate the aerosol generating device (5) (anticipates allows the supply of energy from the battery part to the cartridge part of claim 3 and claim 5), ([0111]). Fig. 10 shows the cover (100) with the slider (30) in the second position, ([0119]). Therefore, as the cover with slide is in the second position (reads over the cover part is separated from the body part), this anticipates claims 3 and 5.
The position change detection sensor (3) detecting the change in position of the cover (100) with slider (7) in conjunction with Figs 9 and 10 as discussed above, anticipates a cover open/close confirmation portion of the claim 4.
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the aerosol generating device (5) main body (10) includes a housing part that forms an outer surface (see partial annotated Fig. 5 below; and the cover (100) including the slider (30) comprises a protrusion (31) (anticipates the cover part comprises a protrusion) that comes into contact with the first step (23) of the cartridge (20) and the other side of the protrusion (31) comes into contact with the first step (15a) of the guide groove (12), (anticipates a receiving portion formed to be recessed in a shape complimentary to the protrusion shape limitation), (Fig. 5; [0105]). This anticipates claim 10.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the cartridge (20) can be mounted on the main body (10) by inserting a portion of the cartridge (20) into the receiving space (19) (anticipates a seating portion) of the main body (10), (Fig. 2; [0068]). This anticipates claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses the main body (10) includes a connection terminal (10t) (anticipates a third terminal portion) arranged on the inside of the receiving space (19) (anticipates the third terminal portion). When the liquid storage portion (21) of the cartridge (20) is inserted into the receiving space (19) of the main body (10), the main body (10) can provide power to the cartridge (20) through the connection terminal (10t) or supply a signal related to the operation of the cartridge (20) to the cartridge (20), ([0082]). Lee does not explicitly disclose the cartridge part comprises a fourth terminal portion that is contact-connected to the third terminal portion. However, upon review of Fig. 2 depicting the connection terminal (10t) on a lower surface of cartridge receiving space (19), one of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably suggested a corresponding electrical connection terminal on a lower surface of cartridge (20) must be present in order for cartridge (20) to receive power from the main body (10) as discussed in [0082]. Conversely, connection terminal (10t) would not be in physical contact with the cartridge electrical connection terminal when cartridge (20) is not inserted into the main body (10) cartridge receiving space (19). This anticipates claim 13.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses the slider (30) includes a magnetic body (anticipates a second magnet portion) for maintaining the position of the slider (30) with respect to the main body (10) and the cartridge (20); wherein the magnetic body includes two first magnetic bodies (8a) facing each other with the internal space of the slider (30) interposed therebetween, and two second magnetic bodies (8b) facing each other with the internal space of the slider (30) interposed therebetween, (Fig. 2; [0086]-[0087]).
The main body (10) includes a fixed magnetic body (9) (anticipates a first magnet portion) arranged on a path along which the first magnetic body (8a) and second magnetic body (8b) of the slider (30) move while the slider moves with respect with the main body (10).two magnetic bodies (9). Two fixed magnetic bodies (9) of the main body (10) can be installed facing each other with a receiving space (19) between them, (Fig. 2; [0088]).
Depending on the position of the slider (30), the slider (30) can be stably maintained in a position that covers or exposes the end of the mouthpiece (22) by the magnetic force (anticipates magnetic attraction) acting between the fixed magnet (9) and the first magnet (8a) or the fixed magnet (9) and the second magnet (8b), (Figs. 5 and 6; [0089]). This anticipates claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20200126610, cited on IDS of 11/16/2023, machine translation relied upon) as applied to claims 1, 4, and 5 above, in view of Shin (US 2015/0201676).
Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses when the slider (30) is detected in the first position by the position change detection sensor (3), the control unit can deactivate the aerosol generating device (5) (anticipates blocks the supply of energy), ([0111]). Fig. 9 shows the cover (100) with the slider (30) in the first position, ([0119]). Therefore, as the cover with slider is in the first position (reads over the cover part is coupled with the body part), this reads over the cover is confirmed to be coupled to the body part by the cover open/close confirmation portion.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the cartridge power cut-off module claimed configuration. However, Lee does disclose the control unit (16000) is hardware that controls the overall operation of the aerosol generating device (10000) and includes at least one processor and the processor may be implemented as array of logic gates, or as a combination of a general-purpose microprocessor and a memory storing program that can be executed by the microprocessor (reads over a control module). Lee additionally discloses it will be understood by those skilled in the art that the present embodiment may be implemented in other forms of hardware, ([0060]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have reasonably been suggested to include in Lee a control processor that deactivates the aerosol generating device (i.e., that stops the flow of power to the cartridge) in order to deactivate the aerosol generating device and hence deactivate the device cartridge of Lee.
Lee discloses the cartridge (20) can receive an electric signal from the main body (10) to heat the aerosol generating material, ([0074]). When the movement of the slider (30) from the first position to the second position is detected by the position change detection sensor (3), the control unit can activate the aerosol generating device (5), ([0111]).
Regarding the heating signal confirmation module claimed configuration, it necessarily follows that the processor of Lee includes such logic within its programming since such programming steps, specifically confirmation of sent signals, are inherent to processors, unless shown otherwise. In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, to have programmed the processor to check that a heating signal (an activation signal) sent is received by the cartridge following detection by the position change detection sensor of movement of the cover with slider from the first position to the second position by the position change detection sensor.
Lee does not explicitly disclose the claimed cartridge power supply module configuration.
Shin, in the same field of endeavor, electronic cigarettes, teaches a portable charging device (1) for an electronic cigarette includes a main body (11) that receives an electronic cigarette (2), a cap (12) that is detachably attached to the main body (11) and sterilizes the electronic cigarette (2) placed therein; and an operation unit (13) that is installed in the main body (11) and controls the charging of the electronic cigarette (2), generation of smoke, and sterilization of the electronic cigarette (2), ([0037]). Shin additionally teaches the smoke generating module (1342) (reads over a cartridge power supply module) receives a signal indicative of starting the operation (reads over heating signal) of the smoke generating part (21) (reads over a cartridge) from the input unit (132), and controls a smoke generating operation of the smoke generating part (21), ([0056]). To inhale smoke generated from the smoke generating part (21) of the electronic cigarette (2) using the charging device (1), a user inserts the smoke generating part (21) into the second receiving chamber (1121) such that power receiving terminal (212) of the smoke generating part (21) come in contact with the second power supplying terminal (1122) and is electrically connected to the operation unit (13), ([0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the control unit of Lee by adding a smoke generating module as that receives a signal indicative of starting the operation of the smoke generating part to generate smoke to be inhaled by a user as taught by Shin. This reads over claim 6.
Regarding claim 7, Lee does not explicitly disclose the cover part configuration as claimed.
Shin teaches the cap (12) (reads over a cover part) is detachably attached to the main body (11) and receives the electronic cigarette (2) therein, and sterilizes the electronic cigarette (2). The cap (12) includes the power receiving terminal (121), a sterilization lamp (122), and a reflective layer (not shown). When the cap (12) is fitted over the upper part (114) of the main body (11), the cap (12) is attached (reads over coupled) to the main body (11) in which the lower edge of the cap (12) comes into contact with the upper end surface of the lower part (113) of the main body (11). When the cap (12) is attached to the main body (11) as described above, a receiving space (P) (reads over an inner space) is defined inside the cap (12), so that the inhaling bit (211) protruding from the main body (11) can be received in the receiving space (P), ([0046]). The sterilization lamp (122) is electrically connected to the power receiving terminal (121), and radiates ultraviolet rays (i.e., light) (reads over sterilization part that emits light into an inner space of the cover part) under the control of the operation unit (13) (reads over supplies or blocks electrical energy to the sterilization part), so that the sterilization lamp (122) can sterilize the electronic cigarette (2) placed in the receiving space (P), ([0048]). Shin further teaches the operation unit (13) includes a power source (131), an input unit (132), a display unit (133), a controller (134), etc., (Fig. 7; [0050]). The controller (134) controls the sterilization lamp (122) (reads over a sterilization control portion) and may include a sterilization module (1343), etc., (Fig. 7; [0054]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include a sterilizing lamp inside the cover, wherein the sterilizing lamp performs a sterilizing action by emitting ultraviolet rays, additionally include a sterilization module with the control unit of Lee in order to control the operation of the sterilization lamp, as taught by Shin, and further, configure the position change detection sensor of Lee such that the sterilizing lamp is configured to turn under the control of the sterilization module when the cover of Lee is in the first position and to turn off the sterilizing lamp when the cover of Lee in in the second position. This reads over claim 7.
Regarding claim 12, Lee does not explicitly disclose a first terminal and the second terminal configurations as claimed.
Shin further teaches the main body (11) includes a power source terminal (1141) (reads over a first terminal portion) is electrically connected to the operation unit (13) and received electricity from the operation unit (13) is provided on a side surface of the upper part (114) (reads over provided on a surface), (Fig. 4; [0039]). The power receiving terminal (121) (reads over a second power terminal) is formed on a lower part of the inner surface of the cap (12), so that, when the cap (12) is attached to the main body (11), the power receiving terminal (121) is electrically connected to the power source terminal (1141) (reads over in contact with each other) and receives electricity from the power source terminal (1141), (Fig. 5; [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Lee to include a power source terminal provided on a surface of the main body and a power receiving terminal formed on a surface of the cap (slider (30) of the cover (100) of Lee) such that when the cap is in the first position, the power receiving terminal and the power source terminal are electrically connected to each other and are spaced apart (i.e., separated) when the cap is in the second position as taught by Shin, since use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.). This reads over claim 12.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20200126610, cited on IDS of 11/16/2023, machine translation relied upon), in view Shin (US 2015/0201676) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Xiang (US 2014/0291179).
Regarding claim 8, Shin additionally teaches the sterilization module (1343) (reads over a sterilization part power supply module) operates sterilization lamp (122) for a predetermined lengthy period of time in response to a signal output from the input unit (132) or to a signal indicative of a combination of the cap (12) with the main body (11), ([0057]). The combination does not explicitly disclose a time check module nor a sterilization part power cut-off module connected to the time check module.
However, in the same field of endeavor, electronic cigarettes, Xiang teaches a sterilization module is received inside an electronic cigarette case that can be timely actuated by a microcontroller to sterilize the electronic cigarette case and cigarette holders and battery poles stored inside the case to ensure the safety of the users of the electronic cigarette case, ([0033]). In the embodiment of present invention, a sterilization module (107) is built into the electronic cigarette case, ([0034]).
The working principle of electronic cigarette case with sterilization function is: when a preset sterilization time comes or a user starts the sterilization function through the input module (105), the microcontroller (106) starts working and outputs control signals to the sterilization module (107), then the sterilization module (107) starts working. When the sterilization module (107) starts working, the microcontroller (106) starts timing (reads over a time check module). After a preset working time (reads over a preset time is exceeded), the microcontroller (106) outputs control signals (reads over sterilization part cut-off module) to control the sterilization module (107) to stop working (reads over blocks the supply of electrical energy to the sterilization part ), (Fig. 1; [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to practice the invention of modified Lee by modifying the sterilization module to measure the time the power is supplied to the sterilization lamp and to output control signals to the power control circuit to stop the supply of power from the sterilization module to the sterilization lamp upon completion of the measured period of time as taught by Xiang. In this instance, one looking to measure the time a sterilization lamp is working would look to Xiang for a means to incorporate timing in sterilization of an electronic cigarette. This reads over claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, as applied to the combination above, Xiang teaches when a preset sterilization time comes or a user starts the sterilization function through the input module (105), the microcontroller (106) starts working and outputs control signals (reads over a sterilization signal confirmation module) to the sterilization module (107) , then the sterilization module (107) starts working, (Fig. 1; [0044]).
The combination does not specify that the sterilization module configured to check that the output control signal to stop the supply of power to the sterilization lamp has been sent in order to control the sending of an output signal to start the supply of power to the sterilization lamp. However, one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have been motivated to further modify the sterilization lamp power circuit of modified Lee to include verification of an output signal to stop the supply of power to the sterilization lamp had been sent before sending a control signal to start the sterilization lamp working. This modification involves optimizing, by routine experimentation, the start of the sterilization lamp working, (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223). Further, because modified Lee teaches a power circuit for supplying power to the sterilization lamp, a skilled artisan would have been motivated to make said modification in order to ensure the sterilization lamp is operable to start working following a previous sterilization action This reads over claim 9.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20200126610, cited on IDS of 11/16/2023, machine translation relied upon) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Vora et al. (US 2020/0288788).
Lee discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above.
Regarding claim 15, Lee does not explicitly disclose the body part and the cartridge part separably magnetic coupling configuration as claimed.
Vora, in the same field of endeavor, electronic vaping devices, teaches systems and methods utilizing a first housing magnet of a vaporizing device cartridge port substantially oriented in a first polar configuration and a second housing magnet of the cartridge port substantially oriented in a second polar configuration, wherein the second polar configuration is substantially opposite the first polar configuration, to properly orient and seat a cartridge in a vaporizing device, (Abstract). Vaporizing system (100) generally includes the device, which may house electronics that control the vaporizing process. The device may include a recess, bracket or other housing for receipt of a removable cartridge (reads over a cartridge part), ([0036]). The vaporizing device components are contained within housing (110) (reads over a body part) which includes a solid portion and a cutout portion (111) and a hollow portion of housing (110) defining cartridge port (109) in which cartridge (130) nests or mounts for use with the vaporizing device, (Fig. 11; [0039]).
Vora further teaches connector (158) also includes cartridge magnet recesses (159) to receive cartridge magnets (160, 161) (read over a fourth magnet portion). First cartridge magnet (160) is configured to attract to first housing magnet (120) (reads over separably coupled by magnet attraction) and repel second housing magnet (121) when coupling cartridge (130) with the vaporizing device. Second cartridge magnet (161) is configured to attract second housing magnet (121) and repel the first housing magnet (120) when coupling cartridge (130) and the vaporizing device. (Fig. 11; [0047]). Housing magnets (120, 121) read over a third magnet portion. Put another way, cartridge magnets are substantially oriented in a polar configuration such that cartridge (130) will attract to, seat in, and resist decoupling when inserted in a first manner, and cartridge (130) will repel and avoid coupling when inserted in a second matter substantially 180 degrees from the alternative configuration (as measured in the plane defined by the second and third axis). The cartridge magnets (160, 161) are arranged in a position opposite to housing magnets (120, 121) as shown in Fig. 11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include magnets arranged on a lower cartridge surface and corresponding housing magnets arranged in the hollow housing portion (Lee’s main body receiving space), a polar configuration as taught by Vora such that the cartridge will attract to, seat in, and resist decoupling when inserted in a first manner and the cartridge will repel and avoid coupling when inserted in a second manner that is 180 degrees opposite the alternate configuration. This reads over claim 15.
Conclusion
/RONNIE KIRBY JORDAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/Michael H. Wilson/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1747