DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2025, 11/16/2023 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3. The drawings received on 11/16/2023 have been made of record.
Election/Restrictions
4. Applicant's election with traverse of the Applicant elected 1-11, 13-14, and newly added claim 32 in the reply filed on 02/09/2026 is acknowledged. This application is a 371 U.S. national phase of a PCT application. Accordingly, it is subject to the "unity of invention analysis." See MPEP Chapter 1800, in particular MPEP § 1850, § 1875, and § 1893.03(d), for a detailed discussion of unity of invention under the Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT). Under MPEP §1850."Where a group of inventions is claimed in an application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features" (citing 37 CFR 1.475(a)). Therefore, the restriction has been overcome.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-16, 18-21, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berggren et al (US 2023/0379823), hereinafter “Berggren“, in view of Krishnaswamy et al (US 2015/0099555), hereinafter “Krishnaswamy“.
Regarding claim 1, Berggren teaches a method for saving power (par [0013] teaches the power consumption due to false wake-ups), performed by a radio access network device (par [0008] teaches performed by a radio access network device), the method comprising: determining a mapping relationship between paging group information and a paging group resource (pars [0141-0142] [0152-0159] teach the paging that associated or corresponding between paging group information and group resource reads on mapping relationship); and
Berggren does not explicitly teach sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the mapping relationship.
Krishnaswamy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches sending indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the mapping relationship (par [0057] teaches the RAN sends a wakeup indication to user devices such indication may be through a group ID included in a paging message sent to the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Berggren to Krishnaswamy, in order to provide improving spectral efficiency, lower costs, improve services, in the various telecommunication services such as telephony, video, data, messaging, and broadcasts, typical wireless communication systems (as suggested by Krishnaswamy in paragraphs [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises: determining a paging group resource set (pars [0141-0142], and [0152-0159]); and determining in the paging group resource set, based on the paging group information, the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information (pars [0141-0142], and [0152-0159]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises at least one of: determining at least one of an idle paging group resource set or an inactive paging group resource set (pars [0050] [0081]); determining in the idle paging group resource set a paging group resource corresponding to a piece of idle paging information in the paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]): or determining in the inactive paging group resource set a paging group resource corresponding to a piece of inactive paging information in the paging group information.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises: determining an idle paging group resource set and a plurality of pieces of idle paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]); and determining, in the idle paging group resource set (pars [0152-0159]), an idle paging group resource corresponding to a piece of idle paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim I, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises: determining an inactive paging group resource set and a plurality of pieces of inactive paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]); and determining in the inactive paging group resource set an inactive paging group resource corresponding to a piece of inactive paging group information (pars [0050] [0081], and [0152-0159]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises at least one of: determining a paging group resource set (pars [0050] [0081]), wherein the paging group resource set comprises at least one of a plurality of idle paging group resources (pars [0050] [0081]) or a plurality of inactive paging group resources; determining an idle paging group resource, among the plurality of idle paging group resources, corresponding to a piece of idle paging group information; or determining an inactive paging group resource, among the plurality of inactive paging group resources, corresponding to a piece of inactive paging group information.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises: determining a paging group resource set (pars [0043-0046]), and in response to the paging group information being idle paging group information, determining in the paging group resource set a paging group resource corresponding to the idle paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]); or, determining the paging group resource set, and in response to the paging group information being inactive paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]), determining in the paging group resource set a paging group resource corresponding to the inactive paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises: determining a paging group resource set and at least one of a plurality of pieces of idle paging group information or a plurality of pieces of inactive state paging group information (pars [0050] [0081], and [0152-0159])); and determining in the paging group resource set a same paging group resource for at least one of the idle paging group information (pars [0050] [0081]) or the inactive paging group information.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the method further comprises: in response to the paging group resource not corresponding to the paging group information (pars [0006-0008]), determining that the paging group resource is a public paging group resource or a default paging group resource (par [0194]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the method further comprises: sending group resource density request information to a core network device (pars [0007-0008]), wherein the group resource density request information is configured to request a paging resource density of the paging group resource from the core network device (pars [0007-0008]); receiving group resource density response information sent by the core network device (pars [0070-0073]), wherein the group resource density response information is configured to indicate the paging resource density of the paging group resource (pars [0070-0073]); and determining the paging resource density of the paging group resource based on the group resource density response information (pars [0070-0073]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the sending the indication information to the terminal comprises: sending the indication information to the terminal based on a broadcast signaling (pars [0008] [0042]) or a dedicated signaling.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 1, Berggren further teaches wherein the sending the indication information to the terminal comprises: in response to the terminal being an inactive terminal (pars [0081] [0095]), sending the indication information based on a Radio Resource Control (RRC) release message (pars [0081] [0095]).
Regarding claim 15, Berggren teaches a method for saving power (par [0013] teaches the power consumption due to false wake-ups), performed by a terminal, the method comprising:
receiving an indication information sent by a radio access network device, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate a mapping relationship (pars [0085] [0152-0159]), and the mapping relationship is a mapping relationship between paging group information and a paging group resource (pars [0085] [0152-0159]); and
Berggren does not explicitly teach determining, based on the indication information, a paging group resource corresponding to paging group information where the terminal is located.
Krishnaswamy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determining, based on the indication information, a paging group resource corresponding to paging group information where the terminal is located (par [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Berggren to Krishnaswamy, in order to provide improving spectral efficiency, lower costs, improve services, in the various telecommunication services such as telephony, video, data, messaging, and broadcasts, typical wireless communication systems (as suggested by Krishnaswamy in paragraphs [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 15, Berggren does not clearly teach wherein the determining, based on the indication information, the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located comprises: in response to the terminal being comprised in the paging group information, determining, based on the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource, the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located.
Krishnaswamy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the determining, based on the indication information (par [0046] [0057]), the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located comprises: in response to the terminal being comprised in the paging group information (par [0046] [0057]), determining, based on the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource (par [0046] [0057]), the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located (par [0046] [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Berggren to Krishnaswamy, in order to provide improving spectral efficiency, lower costs, improve services, in the various telecommunication services such as telephony, video, data, messaging, and broadcasts, typical wireless communication systems (as suggested by Krishnaswamy in paragraphs [0005-0006]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 15, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining, based on the indication information, the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located comprises: in response to the terminal being in an idle state (pars [0050] [0081]), determining in an idle paging group resource set the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located (pars [0085] [0152-0159]); or in response to the terminal being in an inactive state, determining in an inactive paging group resource set the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 15, Berggren further teaches wherein a paging group resource set comprises a plurality of idle paging group resources and a plurality of inactive paging group resources; and the determined, based on the indication information (pars [0081] [0090]), the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located comprises: in response to the terminal being in an idle state (pars [0081] [0095]), determining the paging group resource, among the plurality of idle paging group resources comprised in the paging group resource set (pars [0081] [0095]), corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located (pars [0079-0081], and [0095]); or in response to the terminal being in an inactive state, determining the paging group resource, among the plurality of inactive paging group resources comprised in the paging group resource set, corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 15, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining, based on the indication information, the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located comprises: in response to the terminal being in an idle state (pars [0079-0081] [0095]), determining in a paging group resource set the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located (pars [0079-0081], and [0095]); or, in response to the terminal being in an inactive state, determining in the paging group resource set the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Berggren and Krishnaswamy teach the method for saving the power according to claim 15, Berggren further teaches wherein the determining, based on the indication information, the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located comprises: in response to the terminal being in an idle state or an inactive state (pars [0079-0081], and [0095]), determining a paging group resource corresponding to the idle state or the inactive state (pars [0079-0081], and [0095]), wherein the paging group resource corresponding to the idle state is the same as the paging group resource corresponding to the inactive state (pars [0079-0081], and [0095]).
Regarding claim 32, Berggren teaches a communication system, comprising:
a radio access network device (par [0008] teaches performed by a radio access network device), configure to:
determine a mapping relationship between paging group information and a paging group resource (pars [0141-0142] [0152-0159] teach the paging that associated or corresponding between paging group information and group resource reads on mapping relationship); and
send indication information to a terminal, wherein the indication information is configured to indicate the mapping relationship (pars [0070-0071] [0152-0159] teach the paging that associated or corresponding between paging group information and group resource reads on mapping relationship); and
a terminal, configure to:
receive an indication information sent by a radio access network device (pars [070-0071]), wherein the indication information is configured to indicate a mapping relationship (pars [0152-0159]), and the mapping relationship is a mapping relationship between paging group information and a paging group resource (pars [0141-0142], and [0152-0159]); and
Berggren does not explicitly teach determine, based on the indication information, a paging group resource corresponding to paging group information where the terminal is located.
Krishnaswamy, in the same field of endeavor, teaches determine, based on the indication information, a paging group resource corresponding to paging group information where the terminal is located (par [0057] teaches the RAN sends a wakeup indication to user devices such indication may be through a group ID included in a paging message sent to the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the above teaching of Berggren to Krishnaswamy, in order to provide improving spectral efficiency, lower costs, improve services, in the various telecommunication services such as telephony, video, data, messaging, and broadcasts, typical wireless communication systems (as suggested by Krishnaswamy in paragraphs [0005-0006]).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 3, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 3, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein the determining the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource comprises: determining a plurality of paging group information sets comprising one or more paging group information; determining a paging group resource set corresponding to a paging group information set, wherein the paging group resource set comprises one or more paging group resources; and determining, based on the paging group resource set corresponding to the paging group information set, a mapping relationship between each paging group information and a paging group resource as specified in the claim.
As to claim 17, the prior art of record fails to disclose wherein a paging group information set comprises one or more paging group information; and the determining, based on the indication information, the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located comprises: in response to the paging group information where the terminal is located being comprised in the paging group information set, determining a paging group resource set corresponding to the paging group information set; and based on the mapping relationship between the paging group information and the paging group resource, determining in the paging group resource set the paging group resource corresponding to the paging group information where the terminal is located as specified in the claim.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL T VU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641