DETAILED ACTION
Continued Prosecution Application
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-7, 13-16, 18-24, 27-30, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (2) as being anticipated by Sarkis et al. [US 20220361147].
The applied reference has a common applicant/assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
As per claim 1, Sarkis teaches:
An apparatus (i.e. UE; Fig.10; ¶ 135) for wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
a memory; (i.e. memory; ¶ 135) and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (i.e. processor, memory; ¶ 135) and configured to:
configure one or more resources in a set of dedicated resources or in a set of non dedicated resources for a transmission of an inter-UE coordination message, the inter- UE coordination message being associated with at least one of a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) format or a second stage SCI format; (i.e. As shown by reference number 615, some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable resources for inter-UE coordination to be designated (e.g., assigned, reserved, or dedicated). In some aspects, if inter-UE coordination information is a single bit, such as to indicate a resource conflict (e.g., a collision), then that inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted on the PSFCH using a resource dedicated for inter-UE coordination information because PSFCH transmissions occupy a single resource block. However, if the inter-UE coordination information includes multiple bits, such as an indication of preferred or non-preferred resources, then this inter-UE coordination information cannot be transmitted on the PSFCH and could be transmitted on the PSCCH (e.g., in SCI-1) and/or the PSSCH (e.g., in SCI-2, a MAC-CE, and/or a PC5-RRC message); ¶ 79, 62) and
transmit the inter-UE coordination message via the one or more resources in the set of dedicated resources. (i.e. transmit the inter-UE coordination message via designated resources; ¶ 84).
As per claim 2, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in at least one slot. (i.e. sub-channel slot; ¶ 88).
As per claim 5, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:perform a first resource sensing for the set of dedicated resources to determine whether any resources in the set of dedicated resources are available for a transmission, wherein the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted via the one or more resources in the set of dedicated resources based on the set of dedicated resources having resources available for the transmission. (i.e. transmit the inter-UE coordination message via designated resources; ¶ 84).
As per claim 6, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: skip the transmission of the inter-UE coordination message if the set of dedicated resources does not have resources available for the transmission. (i.e. cannot transmit; ¶ 79)
As per claim 7, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:perform a second resource sensing for the aset of non-dedicated resources to determine whether any resources in the set of non-dedicated resources are available for a transmission if the set of dedicated resources does not have resources available for the transmission, wherein the inter- UE coordination message is transmitted via the one or more resources in the set of non-dedicated resources based on the set of non-dedicated resources having resources available for the transmission. (i.e. other resources used for communication; ¶ 85)
As per claim 13, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:indicate, to a second UE, the one or more resources in which the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted via the first stage SCI format or the second stage SCI format. (i.e. SCI-1, SCI-2; ¶ 79)
As per claim 14, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 13, wherein the one or more resources are periodic resources or aperiodic resources. (i.e. aperiodic; ¶ 77)
As per claim 15, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: skip transmitting the inter-UE coordination message in a retransmission. (i.e. cannot transmit; ¶ 79)
As per claim 16, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first stage SCI format or the second stage SCI format does not include a resource reservation information if the inter-UE coordination message is transmitted via the one or more resources in the set of dedicated resources. (i.e. other resources used for communication; ¶ 85)
As per claim 18, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:receive, from a second UE, sidelink communication via athe set of non-dedicated resources. (i.e. inter-UE coordination transmit via non-designated resources; ¶ 109)
As per claim 19, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the inter-UE coordination message is a broadcast message. (i.e. inter-UE coordination transmit or monitor; ¶ 85)
As per claim 20, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the one or more resources correspond to one or more resources that are suitable for sidelink communication from a second UE, or correspond to one or more resources that are not suitable for sidelink communication from the second UE. (i.e. other resources used for communication; ¶ 85)
As per claim 21, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor. (i.e. processor, transceiver; ¶ 135)
As per claim 22, Sarkis teaches:
A method of wireless communication at a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
configuring one or more resources in a set of dedicated resources or in a set of non- dedicated resources for a transmission of an inter-UE coordination message, the inter-UE coordination message being associated with at least one of a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) format or a second stage SCI format; (i.e. As shown by reference number 615, some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable resources for inter-UE coordination to be designated (e.g., assigned, reserved, or dedicated). In some aspects, if inter-UE coordination information is a single bit, such as to indicate a resource conflict (e.g., a collision), then that inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted on the PSFCH using a resource dedicated for inter-UE coordination information because PSFCH transmissions occupy a single resource block. However, if the inter-UE coordination information includes multiple bits, such as an indication of preferred or non-preferred resources, then this inter-UE coordination information cannot be transmitted on the PSFCH and could be transmitted on the PSCCH (e.g., in SCI-1) and/or the PSSCH (e.g., in SCI-2, a MAC-CE, and/or a PC5-RRC message); ¶ 79, 62) and
transmitting the inter-UE coordination message via the one or more resources in the set of dedicated resources (i.e. transmit the inter-UE coordination message via designated resources; ¶ 84)
As per claim 23, Sarkis teaches:
An apparatus for wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE), (i.e. UE; Fig.10; ¶ 135) comprising:
a memory; (i.e. memory; ¶ 135) and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (i.e. processor, memory; ¶ 135) and configured to:
receive, from a first UE, an inter-UE coordination message via one or more resources in a set of dedicated resources, the inter-UE coordination message being associated with at least one of a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) format or a second stage SCI format; (i.e. As shown by reference number 615, some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable resources for inter-UE coordination to be designated (e.g., assigned, reserved, or dedicated). In some aspects, if inter-UE coordination information is a single bit, such as to indicate a resource conflict (e.g., a collision), then that inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted on the PSFCH using a resource dedicated for inter-UE coordination information because PSFCH transmissions occupy a single resource block. However, if the inter-UE coordination information includes multiple bits, such as an indication of preferred or non-preferred resources, then this inter-UE coordination information cannot be transmitted on the PSFCH and could be transmitted on the PSCCH (e.g., in SCI-1) and/or the PSSCH (e.g., in SCI-2, a MAC-CE, and/or a PC5-RRC message); ¶ 79, 62)
configure at least one resource in a set of non-dedicated resources based on the received inter-UE coordination message; (i.e. As shown by reference number 615, some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable resources for inter-UE coordination to be designated (e.g., assigned, reserved, or dedicated). In some aspects, if inter-UE coordination information is a single bit, such as to indicate a resource conflict (e.g., a collision), then that inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted on the PSFCH using a resource dedicated for inter-UE coordination information because PSFCH transmissions occupy a single resource block. However, if the inter-UE coordination information includes multiple bits, such as an indication of preferred or non-preferred resources, then this inter-UE coordination information cannot be transmitted on the PSFCH and could be transmitted on the PSCCH (e.g., in SCI-1) and/or the PSSCH (e.g., in SCI-2, a MAC-CE, and/or a PC5-RRC message); ¶ 79, 62) and
transmit sidelink communication via the at least one resource in the set of non- dedicated resources. (transmit via resources that does not include designated resources for inter-UE coordination information; ¶ 74).
As per claim 24, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in at least one slot. (i.e. sub-channel slot; ¶ 88)
As per claim 27, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to:receive, from the first UE, an indication of the one or more resources in which the inter- UE coordination message is transmitted via the first stage SCI format or the second stage SCI format, and wherein the one or more resources are periodic resources or aperiodic resources. (i.e. aperiodic; ¶ 77)
As per claim 28, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 23, wherein the first stage SCI format or the second stage SCI format does not include a resource reservation information if the inter-UE coordination message is received via the one or more resources in the set of dedicated resources. (i.e. other resources used for communication; ¶ 85)
As per claim 29, Sarkis teaches:
The apparatus of claim 23, further comprising a transceiver coupled to the at least one processor. (i.e. processor, transceiver; ¶ 135)
As per claim 30, Sarkis teaches:
A method of wireless communication at a second user equipment (UE), (i.e. UE; Fig.10; ¶ 135) comprising:
receiving, from a first UE, an inter-UE coordination message via one or more resources in a set of dedicated resources, the inter-UE coordination message being associated with at least one of a first stage sidelink control information (SCI) format or a second stage SCI format; (i.e. As shown by reference number 615, some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable resources for inter-UE coordination to be designated (e.g., assigned, reserved, or dedicated). In some aspects, if inter-UE coordination information is a single bit, such as to indicate a resource conflict (e.g., a collision), then that inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted on the PSFCH using a resource dedicated for inter-UE coordination information because PSFCH transmissions occupy a single resource block. However, if the inter-UE coordination information includes multiple bits, such as an indication of preferred or non-preferred resources, then this inter-UE coordination information cannot be transmitted on the PSFCH and could be transmitted on the PSCCH (e.g., in SCI-1) and/or the PSSCH (e.g., in SCI-2, a MAC-CE, and/or a PC5-RRC message); ¶ 79, 62)
configuring at least one resource in the set of non-dedicated resources based on the received inter-UE coordination message; (i.e. As shown by reference number 615, some techniques and apparatuses described herein enable resources for inter-UE coordination to be designated (e.g., assigned, reserved, or dedicated). In some aspects, if inter-UE coordination information is a single bit, such as to indicate a resource conflict (e.g., a collision), then that inter-UE coordination information may be transmitted on the PSFCH using a resource dedicated for inter-UE coordination information because PSFCH transmissions occupy a single resource block. However, if the inter-UE coordination information includes multiple bits, such as an indication of preferred or non-preferred resources, then this inter-UE coordination information cannot be transmitted on the PSFCH and could be transmitted on the PSCCH (e.g., in SCI-1) and/or the PSSCH (e.g., in SCI-2, a MAC-CE, and/or a PC5-RRC message); ¶ 79, 62) and
transmitting sidelink communication via the at least one resource in the set of non- dedicated resources. (transmit via resources that does not include designated resources for inter-UE coordination information; ¶ 74).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarkis in view of Aktas et al. [US 20220369345].
As per claim 3, Sarkis teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in every X slots, X being an integer greater than or equal to two. However, Aktas teaches in an analogous art, that the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in every X slots, X being an integer greater than or equal to two. (i.e. sub-channel in every X slots; ¶ 87) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to including wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in every X slots, X being an integer greater than or equal to two in order to enhancements for device-to-device sidelink communication based on sharing of resource reservation information.
As per claim 25, Sarkis teaches all the particulars of the claim except wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in every X slots, X being an integer greater than or equal to two. However, Aktas teaches in an analogous art, that the apparatus of claim 23, wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in every X slots, X being an integer greater than or equal to two. (i.e. sub-channel in every X slots; ¶ 87) Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to including wherein the set of dedicated resources corresponds to at least one sub-channel in every X slots, X being an integer greater than or equal to two in order to enhancements for device-to-device sidelink communication based on sharing of resource reservation information.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-12, 17, 31 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached form PTO-892 for cited references and the prior art made of record.
Hui et al. (US 20220330267) discloses:
A method for inter-UE coordination is disclosed. The method includes transmitting, by a first wireless device to a second wireless device, a request message for a set of resources for a sidelink transmission by the first wireless device; and receiving, from the second wireless device, coordination information indicating the set of resources. A priority of the coordination information may equal a priority of the sidelink transmission.
MOHAMMAD et al. (US 20230091763 A1) discloses:
Embodiments provide a transceiver of a wireless communication network, wherein the transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which the transceiver is configured or preconfigured to allocate or schedule resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink autonomously or network controlled, wherein the transceiver is configured to determine, for said sidelink communication, a set of candidate resources out of resources of the sidelink by means of partial sensing said resources of the sidelink prior to a sidelink transmission to another transceiver of the wireless communication network, wherein the transceiver is configured to perform said sidelink transmission using selected resources selected out of the set of candidate resources, wherein at least one parameter of the partial sensing depends on at least one out of a state of the transceiver, a state of the wireless communication network, parameters of the sidelink or the sidelink communication.
/SHARAD RAMPURIA/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2641