DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/16/2023, 06/04/2025, 06/04/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411947 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Saito discloses a vehicle window glass (Saito Fig.15 & Saito Par.0005 discloses: “According to the present disclosure, a backdoor includes an outer panel made of resin and having an opening formed; an inner panel made of resin; a reinforcement made of metal and arranged between the outer panel and the inner panel; and a rear glass covering the opening. The rear glass includes a defogger, and a first antenna conductor capable of receiving a radio wave in a frequency band of AM broadcast waves.”) comprising:
a glass plate (rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15);
a light shielding layer (light shielding film 17, Saito Fig.15) laminated on a peripheral edge portion of the glass plate (rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) (Saito Par.0045 discloses: “a light shielding film 17 to shield visible light may be formed at the outer periphery of the rear glass 15.”);
a defogger (defogger 20, Saito Fig.15) at least partially disposed in a light-transmissive region surrounded by the light shielding layer (light shielding film 17, Saito Fig.15) in the glass plate (rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) (Saito Fig.15 shows that the defogger 20 at least partially disposed in a light-transmissive region surrounded by the light shielding film 17 in the rear glass 15); and
a first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) disposed below the defogger (defogger 20, Saito Fig.15) in the glass plate (rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) (Saito Fig.15 shows that antenna 70C disposed below the defogger 20 in the rear glass 15),
wherein, in the light shielding layer (light shielding film 17, Saito Fig.15), a width in a vertical direction of a portion laminated on an upper end portion of the glass plate (rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) is 25 to 200 mm (Saito Par.0045 discloses: “a light shielding film 17 to shield visible light may be formed at the outer periphery of the rear glass 15. As a specifics example of the light shielding film 17, ceramics such as a black ceramic film may be listed. Providing the light shielding film 17 makes it difficult to see a part of the rear glass 15 that is hidden in the light shielding film 17 in plan view from the exterior side of the vehicle; therefore, the design of the rear glass 15 and the vehicle is improved. For example, the rear glass 15 includes the light shielding film 17 that hides part of the reinforcement 14 and the window frame 16 in plan view of the rear glass 15 from the exterior side of the vehicle. In plan view of the rear glass 15 from the exterior side of the vehicle, part or all of antenna conductors such as the first antenna conductor 30 may be hidden by overlapping with the light shielding film 17, or part of the defogger may be hidden by overlapping with the light shielding film 17.”, and Saito Fig.10A shows that the antenna 55 overlapping with the light shielding film 17, and Saito Par.0102 discloses that D2 denotes the spacing between the antenna 55 and the upper end of the defogger 20; it is noted that the claim requires the portion laminated on an upper end portion of the glass plate, not the upper end of the glass plate; therefore, in this case, D2 also represents the width in a vertical direction of a portion laminated on an upper end portion of the glass plate. Saito Par.0102 discloses that D2 is 1 mm to 40 mm. The courts have held that in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). In this case, since the claimed range of 25 mm to 200 mm overlaps with the prior art range of 1 mm to 40 mm and therefore prior art is an evidence of prima facie obviousness.), and
a1 + b1 > 0.5λ is satisfied, where among lengths of the light-transmissive region, a1 is a horizontal length at a center portion of the glass plate (rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) in a vertical direction, b1 is a vertical length at a center portion of the glass plate (rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) in a horizontal direction, and λ is a wavelength of a center frequency of a radio wave received by the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) (Saito Par.0128 discloses: “In FIG. 15, the fourth antenna conductor 70C is a conductor that is capable of receiving radio waves of at least one of FM broadcast waves, Band III of the DAB, and the terrestrial digital television broadcast. In the example illustrated in FIG. 15, the shape and dimensions of the fourth antenna conductor 70C are designed to be capable of receiving radio waves in a frequency band of the terrestrial digital television broadcast.”, and Saito Par.0122 discloses: “Radio waves in the UHF band include radio waves of the digital terrestrial television broadcast ranging 470 MHz to 720 MHz, and the like.”; therefore, the center frequency of a radio wave received by the first antenna is 595 MHz, and the wavelength thereof is λ (approximately 504 mm). Saito Par.0100 discloses: “the vertical width of the defogger 20: approximately 300 mm; the lateral width of the defogger 20: approximately 1040 mm”, thus, 1040 mm + 300 mm > (0.5)(504 mm), and since Saito discloses the defogger 20 is provided on the surface of rear glass 15 and lies inside boundary of the rear glass 15, see Saito all figures and Par.0042. Therefore, a1 + b1 > 0.5λ is satisfied, where among lengths of the light-transmissive region, a1 is a horizontal length at a center portion of the glass plate in a vertical direction, b1 is a vertical length at a center portion of the glass plate in a horizontal direction, and λ is a wavelength of a center frequency of a radio wave received by the first antenna.).
Regarding claim 7, Saito discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, Saito also discloses further comprising
a second antenna (antenna 70B, Saito Fig.15),
wherein the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) and the second antenna (antenna 70B, Saito Fig.15) are disposed so as to sandwich a center of the glass plate (center of the rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) in the horizontal direction (Saito Fig.15 shows that the antenna 70C and the antenna 70B are disposed so as to sandwich a center of the rear glass 15 in the horizontal direction), and
the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) and the second antenna (antenna 70B, Saito Fig.15) have an asymmetric shape with the center (center of the rear glass 15, Saito Fig.15) interposed between the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) and the second antenna (antenna 70B, Saito Fig.15) (Saito Fig.15 shows that the antenna 70C and the antenna 70B have an asymmetric shape with the center interposed between the antenna 70C and the antenna 70B).
Regarding claim 8, Saito discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 7, Saito also discloses
wherein the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) and the second antenna (antenna 70B, Saito Fig.15) are configured to receive a broadcast wave in a UHF band (Saito Par.0128 discloses: “In FIG. 15, the fourth antenna conductor 70C is a conductor that is capable of receiving radio waves of at least one of FM broadcast waves, Band III of the DAB, and the terrestrial digital television broadcast. In the example illustrated in FIG. 15, the shape and dimensions of the fourth antenna conductor 70C are designed to be capable of receiving radio waves in a frequency band of the terrestrial digital television broadcast. The fourth antenna conductor 70C and the fifth antenna conductor 70B enable to realize a diversity antenna that receives radio waves of the terrestrial digital television broadcast.”, and Saito Par.0122 discloses: “Radio waves in the UHF band include radio waves of the digital terrestrial television broadcast ranging 470 MHz to 720 MHz, and the like.”. Therefore, the antenna 70C and the antenna 70B are configured to receive a broadcast wave in a UHF band.).
Regarding claim 9, Saito discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 7, Saito also discloses
wherein the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) and the second antenna (antenna 70B, Saito Fig.15) are configured to receive a horizontally polarized wave (The antenna 70C and the antenna 70B are configured to receive a horizontally polarized wave because Saito Fig.15 shows that the antenna 70C and the antenna 70B formed of horizontal wire elements.).
Claims 2-5, 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411947 A1) in view of Oshima (JP 2010010962 A, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 2, Saito discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 1, and also discloses wherein the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) includes:
a first connection point (first connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below);
a second connection point (second connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below);
a first element (first element, Saito annotated Fig.15 below) extending from the first connection point (first connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below); and
a second element (second connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below) extending from the second connection point (second connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below)
Saito does not disclose:
the first element includes:
a first portion extending downward from the first connection point;
a second portion extending in the horizontal direction from a lower end portion of the first portion;
a third portion extending upward from an end portion of the second portion; and
a fourth portion extending to a side of the first connection point from an upper end of the third portion.
Oshima teaches glass antenna for vehicles (Oshima Abstract and Fig.4):
wherein the first antenna (antenna 400, Oshima Fig.4) includes:
a first connection point (28, Oshima Fig.4);
a second connection point (27, Oshima Fig.4);
a first element (first element includes the first to fifth portions, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) extending from the first connection point (28, Oshima Fig.4); and
a second element (29, Oshima Fig.4) extending from the second connection point (27, Oshima Fig.4), and
the first element (first element includes the first to fifth portions, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) includes:
a first portion (first portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) extending downward from the first connection point (28, Oshima Fig.4);
a second portion (second portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) extending in the horizontal direction from a lower end portion of the first portion (first portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below);
a third portion (third portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) extending upward from an end portion of the second portion (second portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below); and
a fourth portion (fourth portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) extending to a side (lower side of the first connection point 28, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) of the first connection point (28, Oshima Fig.4) from an upper end of the third portion (third portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Saito first antenna (see Saito antenna 70C in Saito Fig.15) with the Oshima antenna (see the Oshima antenna 400 in Oshima Fig.4), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing antenna for the glass plate of the vehicle. MPEP 2143 I (B). Furthermore, the modification would improve reception performance by providing an antenna geometry having an increased effective conductive path length while efficiently utilizing the limited available mounting area of the vehicle window glass.
Regarding claim 3, Saito in view of Oshima teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, and also teaches:
wherein the first element (first element includes the first to fifth portions, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2 above) further includes a fifth portion (fifth portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) connected to an upper end portion of the third portion (third portion, Oshima annotated Fig.4 below) (Oshima annotated Fig.4 below shows that the fifth portion connected to the upper end portion of the third portion via the fourth portion) and extending in the horizontal direction in a direction away from the first connection point (28, Oshima Fig.4) (Oshima annotated Fig.4 below shows that the fifth portion extending in the horizontal direction in a direction away from the first connection point 28).
Regarding claim 4, Saito in view of Oshima teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, and also teaches:
wherein the first antenna (antenna 400, Oshima Fig.4; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2 above) includes a digital television antenna (Oshima Translated Document on page 8 – paragraph 2 teaches: “The glass antenna shown in FIGS. 4, 5 and 6 has an antenna configuration suitable for reception in the terrestrial digital television broadcasting band (470 to 770 MHz)”),
a total length of the first portion to the fourth portion (total length of first portion to fourth portion is x23 – x33 + x21 + x32 + x21 = 75 mm – 15 mm + 90 mm + 20 mm + 90 mm = 260 mm, see Oshima Fig.4 & Translated Document on page 8 – paragraphs 3-18) is in a range of 0.75κ.λ to 1.30κ.λ, where κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass (Oshima Translated Document on page 12 – third paragraph from the bottom teaches κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass and κ = 0.64. For terrestrial digital television broadcasting band (470 to 770 MHz), the central frequency is 620 MHz, thus the wavelength λ is 483.9 mm. Accordingly, the total length of the first portion to the fourth portion is 0.84κ.λ, which is inside the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 5, Saito in view of Oshima teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, and also teaches:
wherein the first antenna (antenna 400, Oshima Fig.4; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2 above) includes a digital television antenna (Oshima Translated Document on page 8 – paragraph 2 teaches: “The glass antenna shown in FIGS. 4, 5 and 6 has an antenna configuration suitable for reception in the terrestrial digital television broadcasting band (470 to 770 MHz)”),
a total length of the first portion to the fifth portion (total length of first portion to fifth portion is x23 – x33 + x21 + x32 + x21 + x31 = 75 mm – 15 mm + 90 mm + 20 mm + 90 mm + 50 mm = 310 mm, see Oshima Fig.4 & Translated Document on page 8 – paragraphs 3-18) is in a range of 0.95κ.λ to 1.33κ.λ, where κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass (Oshima Translated Document on page 12 – third paragraph from the bottom teaches κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass and κ = 0.64. For terrestrial digital television broadcasting band (470 to 770 MHz), the central frequency is 620 MHz, thus the wavelength λ is 483.9 mm. Accordingly, the total length of the first portion to the fifth portion is 1.001κ.λ, which is inside the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 11, Saito discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 7, Saito also discloses wherein the second antenna (antenna 70B, Saito Fig.15) includes:
a third connection point (third connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below);
a fourth connection point (fourth connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below);
a third element (third element, Saito annotated Fig.15 below) extending from the third connection point (third connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below); and
a fourth element (fourth connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below) extending from the fourth connection point (fourth connection point, Saito annotated Fig.15 below)
Saito does not explicitly disclose:
the third element includes a sixth portion extending upward from the third connection point, and a seventh portion extending in the horizontal direction from an upper end of the sixth portion.
Oshima teaches glass antenna for vehicles (Oshima Abstract and Fig.7):
wherein the second antenna (bottom right antenna 600, Oshima Fig.7) includes:
a third connection point (third connection point, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below);
a fourth connection point (fourth connection point, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below);
a third element (third element includes the sixth and seventh portions, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below) extending from the third connection point (third connection point, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below); and
a fourth element (fourth element, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below) extending from the fourth connection point (fourth connection point, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below), and
the third element (third element includes the sixth and seventh portions, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below) includes a sixth portion (sixth portion, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below) extending upward from the third connection point (third connection point, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below), and a seventh portion (seventh portion, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below) extending in the horizontal direction from an upper end of the sixth portion (sixth portion, Oshima annotated Fig.7 below).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the Saito second antenna (see Saito antenna 70B in Saito Fig.15) with the Oshima antenna (see the Oshima bottom right antenna 600 in Oshima Fig.7), because the substitution of one known element for another with no change in their respective functions, and the modification would yield a predictable result of providing antenna for the glass plate of the vehicle. MPEP 2143 I (B). Furthermore, the modification would improve reception performance by providing an antenna geometry having an increased effective conductive path length while efficiently utilizing the limited available mounting area of the vehicle window glass.
Regarding claim 12, Saito in view of Oshima teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, and also teaches:
wherein the first antenna includes a DAB antenna (Saito discloses the first antenna includes a DAB antenna because Saito Par.0128 discloses: “In FIG. 15, the fourth antenna conductor 70C is a conductor that is capable of receiving radio waves of at least one of FM broadcast waves, Band III of the DAB, and the terrestrial digital television broadcast. In the example illustrated in FIG. 15, the shape and dimensions of the fourth antenna conductor 70C are designed to be capable of receiving radio waves in a frequency band of the terrestrial digital television broadcast.”, and Saito Par.0121 discloses: “radio waves in Band III of the DAB standard (174 MHz to 240 MHz)”),
a total length of the first portion to the fourth portion (total length of first portion to fourth portion is x23 – x33 + x21 + x32 + x21 = 75 mm – 15 mm + 90 mm + 20 mm + 90 mm = 260 mm, see Oshima Fig.4 & Translated Document on page 8 – paragraphs 3-18; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2 above) is in a range of 0.22κ.λ to 0.32κ.λ, where κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass (Oshima Translated Document on page 12 – third paragraph from the bottom teaches κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass and κ = 0.64. For DAB (174 MHz to 240 MHz) [as disclosed by Saito], the central frequency is 207 MHz, thus the wavelength λ is 1449.3 mm. Accordingly, the total length of the first portion to the fourth portion is 0.280κ.λ, which is inside the claimed range.).
Regarding claim 13, Saito in view of Oshima teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 3, and also teaches:
wherein the first antenna includes a DAB antenna (Saito discloses the first antenna includes a DAB antenna because Saito Par.0128 discloses: “In FIG. 15, the fourth antenna conductor 70C is a conductor that is capable of receiving radio waves of at least one of FM broadcast waves, Band III of the DAB, and the terrestrial digital television broadcast. In the example illustrated in FIG. 15, the shape and dimensions of the fourth antenna conductor 70C are designed to be capable of receiving radio waves in a frequency band of the terrestrial digital television broadcast.”, and Saito Par.0121 discloses: “radio waves in Band III of the DAB standard (174 MHz to 240 MHz)”),
a total length of the first portion to the fifth portion (total length of first portion to fifth portion is x23 – x33 + x21 + x32 + x21 + x31 = 75 mm – 15 mm + 90 mm + 20 mm + 90 mm + 50 mm = 310 mm, see Oshima Fig.4 & Translated Document on page 8 – paragraphs 3-18; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 2 above) is in a range of 0.32κ.λ to 0.43κ.λ, where κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass (Oshima Translated Document on page 12 – third paragraph from the bottom teaches κ is a wavelength shortening rate in glass and κ = 0.64. For DAB (174 MHz to 240 MHz) [as disclosed by Saito], the central frequency is 207 MHz, thus the wavelength λ is 1449.3 mm. Accordingly, the total length of the first portion to the fifth portion is 0.334κ.λ, which is inside the claimed range.).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411947 A1) in view of Oshima (JP 2010010962 A, Translation is attached), and further in view of Kaihatsu et al. (WO 2015111300 A1, Translation is attached).
Regarding claim 6, Saito in view of Oshima teaches the apparatus set forth in claim 2, but does not teach further comprising
at least one parasitic element extending in the horizontal direction above the fourth portion of the first element.
Kaihatsu teaches glass antenna for vehicle (Kaihatsu Fig.6):
at least one parasitic element (parasitic element 40, Kaihatsu Fig.6) (Kaihatsu Translated Document on page 10 – paragraph 6 teaches: “The glass antenna of the sixth embodiment is different from the fifth embodiment in that it has the first antenna 10 and the parasitic element 40”) extending in the horizontal direction above the fourth portion of the first element (Kaihatsu Fig.6 shows that the parasitic element 40 extending in the horizontal direction above all portions of the antenna 10 having the connection point 15. Therefore, by adding the teaching of the parasitic element extending in the horizontal direction above all portions of the first element of the antenna, as taught by Kaihatsu, in combination, Saito in view of Oshima and Kaihatsu teaches parasitic element extending in the horizontal direction above the fourth portion of the first element).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito in view of Oshima, by adding the parasitic element extending in the horizontal direction above all portions of the first element, as taught by Kaihatsu, in order to electromagnetically couple the parasitic element with the antenna, thereby improving the reception sensitivity of the antenna and facilitating tuning of the antenna’s frequency characteristics.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0411947 A1) in view of Hayashi et al. (EP 3425722 A1, Reference is attached).
Regarding claim 10, Saito discloses the apparatus set forth in claim 7, Saito also discloses:
wherein the defogger (defogger 20, Saito Fig.15) includes a pair of bus bars (Saito Par.0046 discloses: “The defogger 20 has upper, lower, left, and right outer edges (upper edge 21, lower edge 22, left edge 23, and right edge 24), and a pair of wide bus bars present at the left edge 23 and at the right edge 24.”) and a plurality of heating wires (“heating wires”, Saito Par.0042 & annotated Fig.15 below) extending between the pair of bus bars (“pair of wide bus bars”, Saito Par.0042) and arranged in parallel in the vertical direction (as shown in Saito annotated Fig.15 below and Saito Par.0042 discloses: “The defogger 20 has multiple electric heating wires extending in the lateral direction (horizontal direction) of the rear glass 15, and multiple bus bars for feeding power to the multiple electric heating wires. In the example illustrated in FIG. 1, the multiple heating wires that are parallel to each other and extend in the lateral direction (horizontal direction) of the rear glass 15, and a pair of wide bus bars that are connected to both ends of the multiple heating wires, are provided in the rear glass 15.”),
the first antenna (antenna 70C, Saito Fig.15) is disposed below a lowermost heating wire (lowermost heating wire, Saito annotated Fig.15 below) of the heating wires (heating wires, Saito annotated Fig.15 below)
Saito does not disclose:
the second antenna is disposed between the lowermost heating wire and a second heating wire from a bottom of the heating wires.
Hayashi teaches a window glass for vehicles comprising antennas (antennas 10 & 20, Hayashi Fig.1):
the second antenna (antenna 20 includes the feeding portion 43 is connected to three elements 21 to 23, Hayashi Fig.1 & Par.0042) is disposed between two heating wires (Hayashi Fig.1 shows that the antenna 20 includes the feeding portion 43 is connected to three elements 21 to 23 disposed between heating wires 33a & 33b).
Hayashi Par.0062 also teaches: “Note that the area, in which the elements 21 to 23 and the feeding portion 43 are arranged, is not limited to the uppermost antifogging area in the defogger 30, as long as a desired antenna gain can be obtained; the area may be a region below the uppermost antifogging area. For example, the elements 21 to 23 and the feeding portion 43 may be arranged between the heater wire 33c and the heater wire 33d.”.
Therefore, Hayashi teaches that the antenna 20 including the feeding portion 43 connected to three elements 21 to 23, is not limited to be between the heating wires 33a and 33b. The antenna 20 including the feeding portion 43 connected to three elements 21 to 23 can be disposed in between the heating wires 33c and 33d, as taught by Hayashi Par.0062.
It is noted that a claim would have been obvious where one skilled in the art is choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success (in this case, the antenna 20 including the feeding portion 43 connected to three elements 21 to 23 can be disposed between two heating wires (1) 33a and 33b, (2) 33b and 33c, (3) 33c and 33d, (4) 33d and 33e, (5) 33e and 33f, (6) 33f and 33g, (7) 33g and 33h, (8) 33h and 33i, (9) 33i and 33j, (10) 33j and 33k).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 538, 421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). (MPEP 2143E)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Saito, by making the second antenna is disposed between two heating wires, as taught by Hayashi, in order to capacitively couple the antenna to at least one of the heating wires such that the defogger may be utilized as a radiation conductor, thereby increasing antenna gain while maintain antifogging performance in the region in which the antenna is disposed.
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Araki et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2016/0359219 A1) discloses a glass antenna for a vehicle that receives vertically polarized waves, and a rear window glass with a glass antenna for a vehicle. The glass antenna includes a feeding point; and a first antenna element extending from the feeding point approximately in a horizontal direction, wherein, if a wavelength at a center frequency of a received frequency band in air is λ, a glass wavelength shortening coefficient is k, and a wavelength on the rear window glass is λg=λ·k, a conductor length of the first antenna element is less than or equal to (⅙)·λg, and wherein a distance between the first antenna element and a first heater line that is disposed at an outer-most position and that is closest to the first antenna element among a plurality of heater lines is less than or equal to ( 1/40)·λg.
Oka (U.S. Patent No. 6,906,671 B2) discloses a window glass including a defogging heater having a plurality of conductive lines arranged on the window glass; a first antenna element and a second antenna element arranged at an upper side relative to the heater on the window glass; and a first feeding point for the first antenna element arranged at a left side of the window glass, and a second feeding point for the second antenna element arranged at a right side of the window glass. The first antenna element and the second antenna element each are capacitively coupled with the heater.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 08/11/2026