DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 22-41 are pending. Claims 22-41 are currently amended. Claims 1-21 were previously canceled. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 22-41 as indicated in the previous office action are withdrawn. A response to applicant’s remarks filed 27 August 2026 can be found at the end of this Office Action. This Office Action is Non-Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 34 recites the limitations "the direction of travel" and “the travel” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 35 recites the limitations "the traffic direction" and “the travel” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-30 and 32-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carnelli (EP 1700954 A2).
In regards to claim 22, Carnelli teaches a group of at least a first assembly (as seen in Fig. 8, the top track 1) and a second assembly (as seen in Fig. 8, the bottom track 1) each comprising a support (2) (Fig. 7), at least one rail (7) and a plurality of devices (10) (Fig. 9) for fixing said rail to said support, said support comprising geometries (as seen in Fig. 8), wherein at least one block of said first assembly is identical to at least one block of said second assembly (as seen in annotated Fig. 8 below, the highlighted portions of the concrete blocks are identical even if the optional components such as housing 14 affixed to the blocks are not), or one of the two assemblies comprises at least two identical blocks
Carnelli does not explicitly teach the support being comprised of a plurality of concrete blocks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the support being comprised of a plurality of concrete blocks with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of making it easier to manufacture, manipulate, and assembly the support, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(C). Furthermore, it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(B).
In regards to claim 23, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 22, wherein said at least two grooves are rectilinear (as seen in Fig. 4, groove 11 is rectilinear).
In regards to claim 24, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 22, wherein at least one of said at least two grooves does not open onto an end of said block (as seen in Fig. 8, the grooves 11 do not extend to the end of the block 2).
In regards to claim 25, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 22, wherein said grooves of a block are all parallel and spaced at a same spacing (as seen in Fig. 8)
While Carnelli does not explicitly teach the grooves of a block spaced between 450 and 750mm, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the spacing between grooves being 450-750mm with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ease of assembly, since such a modification of the dimensions involves only routine skill in the art. A change in dimensions that does not significantly affect performance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In Gardner v.TEC Syst., 469 U.S. 830, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A). Furthermore, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). See MPEP § 2144.04(VI)(C).
In regards to claim 26, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 22, wherein at least one of the first and second assemblies comprises a railway turnout (as seen in Fig. 8), wherein said support is a turnout support (as seen in Fig. 8) and said turnout comprises said rail.
In regards to claim 27, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, in which at least one block comprises a recess configured to allow the installation of at least part of a maneuvering mechanism (14) (Fig. 8) (para. [0065]).
In regards to claim 28, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, in which said turnout comprises a switch zone (para. [0045], “special rails for switches”), and said two identical blocks are configured to support at least part of said switch zone (as seen in Fig. 8).
In regards to claim 29, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, wherein said turnout comprises a frog, and said blocks are configured to support said frog (as seen in Fig. 8).
In regards to claim 30, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, in which said fixing devices comprise a baseplate (para. [0055]).
In regards to claim 32, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, wherein said turnout comprises a frog (as seen in Fig. 8), said assembly comprising a frog support (see annotated Fig. 8 below) disposed between said frog and at least one block.
In regards to claim 33, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, wherein said turnout comprises a direct track (see annotated Fig. 8 above) and the grooves are perpendicular to said direct track (as seen in Fig. 8).
In regards to claim 34, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, wherein said turnout comprises a switch zone (see annotated Fig. 8 above), and at least one block (2) located at the switch zone has a larger dimension in the direction of travel than its dimension in the direction perpendicular to the travel (as seen in Fig. 8, the length of the block 2 at the switch zone is larger than the width of the block 2).
In regards to claim 35, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, wherein said track unit comprises a crossing zone (see annotated Fig. 8 above) and
Carnelli does not explicitly teach the crossing zone having a smaller dimension in the traffic direction than its dimension in the direction perpendicular to the travel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the crossing zone having a smaller dimension in the traffic direction than its dimension in the direction perpendicular to the travel with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of reducing the time spent travelling in the crossing zone and increasing efficiency, since such a modification of the dimensions involves only routine skill in the art. A change in dimensions that does not significantly affect performance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In Gardner v.TEC Syst., 469 U.S. 830, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
In regards to claim 36, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 22, in which the first and second assemblies each comprise a plain track section (see annotated Fig. 8 above).
In regards to claim 37, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 26, wherein the first and second assemblies each comprise a railway turnout (as seen in Fig. 8, each assembly has a turnout section in the switch zone depicted in Annotated Fig. 8), wherein said support is a turnout support (as seen in Fig. 8) and said turnout comprises said rail.
In regards to claim 38, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 37, wherein each track unit comprises at least one switch rail (para. [0045], “special rails for switches”) and a maneuvering mechanism (14) (Fig. 8) comprising at least one means of applying a maneuvering force to a point of application of said switch rail in order to move it between an open position and a closed position (para. [0065]),
Carnelli does not explicitly teach wherein the distance between the point of application closest to the free end of said switch rail and at least one edge of the block above which said point of application is disposed, is the same for both the first and second assemblies.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the distance between the point of application of the switch rail and the top edge of the block be the same for both the first and second assemblies with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ease of assembly, since such a modification of the dimensions involves only routine skill in the art. A change in dimensions that does not significantly affect performance is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In Gardner v.TEC Syst., 469 U.S. 830, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984). See MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(A).
In regards to claim 39, Carnelli teaches a method of installing a group according to claim 22, comprising the following steps:
- manufacture of a plurality of concrete blocks (para. [0072]), each block being cast (para. [0070], “cast”)
- transport of said blocks (the prefabricated blocks described in para. [0072] must be transported to the assembly location),
- laying the blocks (para. [0072]) on a substructure (para. [0070]),
- fixing said at least one rail to said blocks [para. [0078]),
wherein at least two blocks are identical (as seen in Fig. 8).
Carnelli does not explicitly teach each block being cast in one piece.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cast each block in one piece with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of increasing the ease of assembly and transport, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965). See MPEP § 2144.04(V)(B).
In regards to claim 40, Carnelli teaches the method according to claim 39, comprising after the fixing step a step of height (para. [0073]) and/or lateral adjustment (para. [0078]) of a fixing device with respect to a block by modifying the position of at least one of said fixing devices with respect to said support (para. [0078]).
In regards to claim 41, Carnelli teaches the method according to claim 39, comprising the following steps:
- installation of a first assembly comprising at least one of said at least two identical blocks (as seen in Fig. 8, the blocks of each assembly are identical),
- installation of a second assembly comprising at least one other of said at least two identical blocks (as seen in Fig. 8, the blocks of each assembly are identical).
Claim(s) 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carnelli (EP 1700954 A2) in view of Pohl (EP 1830002 A1).
In regards to claim 31, Carnelli teaches the group according to claim 30, wherein said baseplate is provided with two holes (as seen in Fig. 9) each having a long length, the holes being arranged on either side of said rail (as seen in Fig. 9), said long length being in the longitudinal direction of said rail, and of sufficient length to allow intersection of the vertical projection of each of said holes with a same groove (as seen in Fig. 9, the holes interact with the same groove), on the upper face of a block (2) (as seen in Fig. 7).
Carnelli does not teach each hole having a long length wherein said long length is in the longitudinal direction of said rail.
Pohl teaches each hole (17) (Fig. 2) having a long length (as seen in Fig. 2, the holes are elongated) wherein said long length is in the longitudinal direction of said rail (as seen in Fig. 2, the holes 17 are elongated in both a longitudinal and lateral direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the holes of Carnelli to include being elongated in the longitudinal direction as taught by Pohl with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of enabling the assembly to be precisely adjusted as needed (see machine translation, Pohl, para. [0025], lines 12-13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s Remarks, filed 27 August 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 22-41 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) over Carnelli have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. 103 in view of Carnelli.
Applicant argues that support 2 of Carnelli is not a support comprising a plurality of concrete blocks, instead, support 2 of Carnelli is one concrete platform. The Examiner agrees, however as discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to make such a modification for the purpose of making it easier to manufacture, manipulate, and assembly the support.
Applicant argues that Carnelli does not teach two identical concrete platforms amongst any of the support sections. The Examiner disagrees. As indicated in the rejection above, and as seen in annotated Fig. 8 above, the concrete blocks of the first portions of the first and second assemblies are identical. While they have different housings fixed to the blocks, the claim language requires that the blocks are identical not their fixtures. Furthermore, the housings are optional as indicated in para. [0065] of Carnelli. Finally, the present invention’s Fig. 1 indicates three sets of blocks named the same reference number which is being interpreted as what is “identical” in the present invention. The two blocks 6g and 6h have clearly different fixtures attached to the blocks in a similar fashion to Carnelli’s housing 14 being different on separate blocks.
Applicant argues that the indicated portion of the crossing zone is made of various platforms and thus no individual platform has a length shorter than its width. The Examiner agrees, however as discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to make such a modification for the purpose of reducing the time spent travelling in the crossing zone and increasing efficiency.
Applicant argues that there is no teaching of the method of manufacturing the concrete platform, and thus does not teach each block being cast in one piece. The Examiner agrees, however as discussed above, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would be able to make such a modification for the purpose of the ease of assembly and transport.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Romero (US 20160002863 A1) discloses concrete crossties cast in one piece.
Lin (CN 109208392 A) discloses a railway turnout plate.
/JAMES WILLIAM JONES/ Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615