DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kachline et al. (US 7,854,615).
With regard to claim 18, Kachline describes a power coupling for a welding gun (FIG. 1), comprising a rotary power connector (20) for rotatably coupling between a supply tube assembly (12) and a cable assembly (14), wherein the rotary power connector permits rotation of the cable assembly with respect to a handle (col. 1, line 15, manual welding guns, for users, inherently have handles) of the welding gun, wherein the cable assembly (14) is configured to supply electrical power and the rotary power connector (20) is configured to transfer electrical power from the cable assembly to the supply tube assembly (col. 3, lines 25-32), and wherein the supply tube assembly fixedly extends from a front of the handle (Fig. 1).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaeger (WO 2008/097703).
With regard to claim 18, Jaeger describes a power coupling for a welding gun, comprising a rotary power connector (26) for rotatably coupling between a supply tube assembly (14) and a cable assembly (18), wherein the rotary power connector (26) permits rotation of the cable assembly (18) with respect to a handle (pg. 2, lines 1-3, manual welding guns, for users, inherently have handles) of the welding gun, wherein the cable assembly is configured to supply electrical power and the rotary power connector is configured to transfer electrical power from the cable assembly to the supply tube assembly (pg. 6, line 29 - pg. 8, line 12), and wherein the supply tube assembly (14) fixedly extends from a front of the handle (Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 7-18, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Basit (WO 2020/093151) in view of Welch (US 2,658,132).
With regard to claims 1 and 18, Basit teaches a welding gun (100; Fig. 1A), comprising a handle (300 forms the forward portion of a handle to which the device is inherently intended to be connected to); a supply tube assembly (600) fixedly extending from a front of the handle; a cable assembly (50) configured to supply electrical power; a rotary power connector (200) rotatably coupled between the supply tube assembly and the cable assembly, the cable assembly (50) rotatable with respect to the handle via the rotary power connector (200), wherein the rotary power connector is configured to transfer electrical power from the cable assembly to the supply tube assembly (“In one embodiment, the RPC 200 comprises an outer housing 202, rotor contacts 204, a rotor bushing 206, a shaft 208, a bushing nut 210, a spring 212, a pressure plate 214, and O- rings 216, 218. In this illustrated embodiment, the rotor contacts 204 has four contacts. A power cable (from the wire cable 50) is connected to the shaft 208. The RPC 200 has a direct interface with the gooseneck 600 and the power cable of the welding cable 50. In one embodiment, the RPC 200 is designed so that power is transferred from the shaft 208 to the outer housing 202 through three major current paths (1), (2) and (3).”, see para. [0037]-[0043]); and an actuator switch assembly electrically coupled to control wires of the cable assembly (inherent in order to operate the gun).
Although it is asserted that the actuator switch is an inherent feature of Basit, and is further well known in the art, notwithstanding the foregoing Welch is cited herein alternatively for teaching the aforementioned limitations: “The power lines IU include protective fuses 15, a main switch 16, V and lead through a motor starter contactor 11 to the drive motor 12. The above units are well known in the art and do not constitute a part of the present invention.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Basit reference, to include the claimed actuator switch, as suggested and taught by Welch, for the purpose of providing electrical power to the gun at predetermined times and/or as desired. Furthermore, with regard to claim 18, Basit teaches the additional limitation of the supply tube assembly (600) fixedly extends from a front of the handle (300 forms the forward portion of a handle to which the device is inherently intended to be connected to).
With regard to claim 2, Basit teaches the rotary power connector (200) is positioned within the handle or at a back of the handle (Fig. 1A).
With regard to claims 7 and 21, Basit teaches the rotary power connector comprises a housing (202) for connecting to the supply tube assembly and a shaft (208) for connecting to the cable assembly, wherein the shaft is positioned within the housing (Fig. 2C), the housing is rotatable with respect to the shaft, and the shaft is configured to transfer electrical power to the housing (“The welding torch assembly device has various features comprising, for example, but not limited to, the following: a revolution power connector (RPC); a tool-less constant pressure tapered gooseneck connection; a slip-on nozzle connection; and RPC and power cable replacement; and infinite rotation.”, para. [0035]; see also para. [0037]-[0043]).
With regard to claims 8 and 22, Basit teaches the shaft comprises at least one taper for transferring the electrical power to the housing (Fig. 2C; para. [0040]-[004 l], [0044]-[0046]).
With regard to claims 9 and 23, Basit teaches the electrical power is transferred from the shaft (208) to the housing via the at least one taper in contact with a rotor contact (204) (“In one embodiment, the RPC 200 comprises an outer housing 202, rotor contacts 204, a rotor bushing 206, a shaft 208, a bushing nut 210, a spring 212, a pressure plate 214, and O- rings 216, 218. In this illustrated embodiment, the rotor contacts 204 has four contacts. A power cable (from the wire cable 50) is connected to the shaft 208. The RPC 200 has a direct interface with the gooseneck 600 and the power cable of the welding cable 50.”, para. [0037]-[0047]).
With regard to claim 10, Basit teaches a heat transfer tube assembly (annotated FIG. 1A) fixed to the cable assembly (50), the heat transfer tube assembly configured to transfer heat from the cable assembly (see annotated FIG. 1A).
With regard to claims 11 and 24, Basit teaches the rotary power connector (200) comprises an opening extending from the front to the back of the rotary power connector (200) (Fig. 2C).
With regard to claims 12 and 14, Basit teaches the cable assembly (50) comprises a hose (808) for shielding gas, and the shielding gas passes through the opening of the rotary power connector (200) to the supply tube assembly (600) (“The welding torch assembly device 100 is detachably coupled to a welding cable 50, which for example, supplies power, gas and a consumable electrode (wire) 80. A welding torch 800 is detachably attached to the gooseneck 600 assembly. The welding torch 800 comprises a removable nozzle 802, a removable contact tip 804 for the wire 80, a diffuser 806, a gas channel 808, and an insert with gas holes 810. The insert is in communication with a channel 620 of the gooseneck 600 assembly. The wire 80 and gas move though the channel 620. In one example, the welding torch assembly device 100 may be used for robotic welding”, para. [0036])
With regard to claim 13, Baset teaches the cable assembly (50) comprises a conduit (620) for welding wire, and the conduit (620) for welding wire passes through the opening of the rotary power connector (200) to the supply tube assembly (600) (para. [0036], [0041]).
With regard to claim 15, Baset teaches the welding gun is used for gas metal arc welding with solid wire or metal-cored wires, gas shielded flux cored arc welding, or shielded flux-cored arc welding (para. [0002]).
With regard to claim 16, with regard to the limitation of the welding gun is adapted to be used for plasma welding or plasma cutting, it is submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the combined teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
With regard to claim 17, with regard to the limitation of the welding gun is a semi-automatic handheld welding gun, Baset teaches the aforementioned limitation: “A welding torch assembly device comprising a revolution power connector (RPC) directly connectable to a power cable and electrically connectable to a neck of a welding torch, and a torch connector assembly for accommodating the RPC is provided. The welding torch assembly device may include an infinite rotation module with a shock sensor for allowing infinite rotation connection with a cable. The welding torch neck may be connected to the torch connector via a handnut”. However, notwithstanding the foregoing, assuming it was determined that Baset does not teach the aforementioned limitation, alternatively it is submitted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. As that a device according to the combined teachings of the cited prior art would be capable of performing the required intended use and no structural differentiation has been identified, it is the examiner’s determination that this feature does not define the present invention over the cited prior art. See MPEP § 2114.
Claims 1-6, 19, 20 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cruz (US 3,529,128) in view of Jaeger (WO 2008/097703).
With regards to claims 1-6, 19, 20, and 25, Cruz teaches a welding gun (10), comprising a handle (12), a supply tube assembly (18) fixedly extending from a front of the handle, a cable assembly (14, 15) configured to supply electrical power, and an actuator switch assembly (17) electrically coupled to control wires of the cable assembly (14, 15), and the actuator switch assembly (17) is disposed at a side of the handle (12) (FIG. 1),. Cruz does not teach a rotary power connector rotatably coupled between the supply tube assembly and the cable assembly, the cable assembly rotatable with respect to the handle via the rotary power connector, wherein the rotary power connector is configured to transfer electrical power from the cable assembly to the supply tube assembly; a rotatable electrical signal connection that is rotatable with respect to the cable assembly and electrically couples the actuator switch assembly to the control wires of the cable assembly, wherein the handle surrounds the rotary power connector and the rotatable electrical signal connection; however, Jaeger which is directed toward the same field of endeavor and/or problem as the citation is directed toward a rotating power connector for electric welding torch unicables teaches the aforementioned limitations, namely a welding gun having a supply tube (14), a cable assembly (18) configured to supply electrical power, a rotary power connector (26) rotatably coupled between the supply tube assembly (14) and the cable assembly (18), the cable assembly (18) rotatable with respect to the handle via the rotary power connector (26), in which the rotatory power connector is configured to transfer electrical power from the cable assembly (18) to the supply tube assembly (14) (pg. 6, ln. 29 – pg. 8, ln. 12; “With reference to FIGS. 1 and 5, the rotating power connector 26 plugs into the main housing 12 of the welding torch 10, thereby connecting the unicable 18 to the welding torch. An 0-ring or similar may seal the connection between the rotating power connector 26 and the welding torch 10. When connected to the welding torch 10, the rotating power connector 26 allows the unicable 18 to rotate relative to the welding torch. The rotatable movement of the unicable 18 provides relief to the otherwise rigid connection of the welding torch 10 and unicable 18, significantly reducing the amount of stress on the copper cables of the unicable and resulting in extended life of the unicable, which would normally fail under cyclical or repetitive torsion movements. The rotating power connector 26 also allows for the efficient passage of shielding gas from the unicable 18 to the welding torch 10, which is a required feature in processes such as a MIG welding process or similar. Electrical current and welding wire may also travel from the unicable 18 through the rotating power connector 26 and into the welding torch 10. Although the invention has been described by reference to a specific embodiment, it should be understood that numerous changes may be made within the spirit and scope of the inventive concepts described. Accordingly, it is intended that the invention not be limited to the described embodiment, but that it have the full scope defined by the language of the following claims.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device in the Cruz reference, to include a rotary power connector rotatably coupled between the supply tube assembly and the cable assembly, the cable assembly rotatable with respect to the handle via the rotary power connector, wherein the rotary power connector is configured to transfer electrical power from the cable assembly to the supply tube assembly; a rotatable electrical signal connection that is rotatable with respect to the cable assembly and electrically couples the actuator switch assembly to the control wires of the cable assembly, wherein the handle surrounds the rotary power connector and the rotatable electrical signal connection, as suggested and taught by Jaeger, for the purpose of providing enhanced movability of the subject device as the rotating power connection allows the unicable to rotate with the axis of rotation of the user/robot, thereby eliminating any torque in the unicable and reducing mechanical wear of the unicable (Jaeger: Summary).
Conclusion
/JOSEPH W ISKRA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761