DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 7, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on July 7, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Narong et al (WO 2012/065292 A).
Regarding Claims 1, 9, and 11-12: Narong teaches a composition containing 5-70wt% of a branched polycarbonate (para. 0046), up to 95wt% of a linear polycarbonate (para. 0048), 0.02-1wt% of an alkali metal or alkaline earth metal salt of a sulfonic acid (para. 0060-62), and a cyclic siloxane such as octaphenyl cyclotetrasiloxane (para. 0055), which reads on the formula (R12SiO)y of instant claim 1. Narong further teaching an embodiment having 22wt% linear PC, 78wt% branched PC, and 0.08wt% of the sulfonic acid salt/potassium perfluorobutane sulfonate (Table 3, Batch 1-11). The linear and branched polycarbonates may be end-capped with compounds other than a cyano-substituted phenol (para. 0042). Narong further teaches that the branched PC has a degree of branching from 0.05-4.2% (para. 0044). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a branched PC with an overlapping degree of branching and would have been motivated to do so since Narong teaches the branching level may be adjusted within the disclosed range to tune the amount of terminating agent and the molecular weight of branched PC (para. 0038).
Regarding Claims 2-4: Narong does not teach PTFE, halogenated FR, or polysiloxane-polycarbonate copolymers as necessary components.
Regarding Claim 5: Narong teaches 0-80 parts by weight of reinforcing fibers, based on 100 parts by weight of the polymer component (para. 0085). Based on calculations, the fibers are present at up to approximately 44wt% of the total weight of the composition. This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an overlapping amount of reinforcing fibers to the composition of Narong and they would have been motivated to do so to add strength while maintaining the transparency and flame retardancy of the polycarbonate (para. 0083).
Regarding Claim 6: Narong teaches 0.1-0.8wt% of the cyclic siloxane (para. 0057). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP 2144.05 (I). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an overlapping amount of the cyclic siloxane and would have been motivated to do so since Narong teaches that this amount achieves the desired flame retardancy of the composition, as well as increasing transparency (para. 0073).
Regarding Claim 7: Narong teaches antioxidants (para. 0086), heat stabilizers (para. 0087), UV absorbers (para. 0088), mold release agents (para. 0090), colorants (para. 0092), and impact modifiers (para. 0097).
Regarding Claim 8: Narong teaches an embodiment consisting of linear PC, branched PC, heat stabilizer, potassium perfluorobutane sulfonate, and cyclic siloxane (Table 3, Batch 1-9).
Regarding Claim 10: Narong teaches phenol and alkyl-substituted phenol end-caps (para. 0042), reading on formulae (2a) and (2b).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-12 of copending Application No. 18/561420 in view of Narong et al (WO 2012/065292 A).
Reference Claim 1 teaches a composition having 3-82wt% of a linear polycarbonate, 15-96wt% of a polycarbonate having a degree of branching of 0.8-1.5mol% and not having end groups reading on instant formula (I), 0.040-0.095wt% of an alkali metal, alkaline earth metal, or ammonium salt of an aliphatic or aromatic sulfonic acid, sulfonamide, or sulfonamide derivative, and 1-40wt% of a reinforcing fiber. Reference claim 1 does not teach the siloxane (E) of the instant application. However, Narong teaches a composition having a cyclic siloxane reading on component (E) (para. 0054) that improves flame performance and increases transparency of polycarbonate compositions when used in conjunction with the alkali metal, alkaline earth metal, or ammonium salt of an aliphatic or aromatic sulfonic acid, sulfonamide, or sulfonamide derivative. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add said cyclic siloxane in order to obtain a composition with improved flame performance and transparency.
Reference claims 2-12 further limit the invention in such a manner that they read on instant claims 2-12.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 15 of copending Application No. 18/561339 in view of Narong et al (WO 2012/065292 A).
Reference claim 15 teaches 4-85wt% of a linear polycarbonate, 14-95wt% of a polycarbonate having a degree of branching of 0.-1.5mol%, 0.040-0.095wt% of an alkali metal, alkaline earth metal, or ammonium salt of an aliphatic or aromatic sulfonic acid, sulfonamide, or sulfonamide derivative, and 0-40wt% of a reinforcing fiber. Reference claim 15 does not teach the siloxane (E) of the instant application. However, Narong teaches a composition having a cyclic siloxane reading on component (E) (para. 0054) that improves flame performance and increases transparency of polycarbonate compositions when used in conjunction with the alkali metal, alkaline earth metal, or ammonium salt of an aliphatic or aromatic sulfonic acid, sulfonamide, or sulfonamide derivative. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add said cyclic siloxane in order to obtain a composition with improved flame performance and transparency.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767