DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Groups II-VIII (claims 12-18) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/18/2026.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 9/15/2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1, 5 and 9 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 2, 6 and 8 has/have been cancelled. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7 and 9-18 is/are pending with claim(s) 12-18 withdrawn from consideration. Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7 and 9-11 is/are under examination in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument filed on 9/15/2026, with respect to 103 rejection has been fully considered but is not persuasive.
Applicant argued that the range disclosed in Tohjima represents the amount of the additive relative to the compound represented by Formula (1) of the curable resin composition as a reference, but does not define the proportion of component B based on 100 parts by mass of the total amount of components A, B, and C, as required by the present claims.
In response, contrary to the applicant’s assessment, the range disclosed in Tohjima does not represent the amount of the additive relative to the compound represented by Formula (1) of the curable resin composition. Instead, the range of 0-700 parts by mass is “based on 100 parts by mass of the curable resin composition” [0099]. The “curable resin composition” includes the compound represented by Formula (1) [0014 [7]], the additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer), and an active alkene-containing resin [0069] which can be a maleimide resin [0081]. Thus, Tohjima’s “curable resin composition” includes all of the claimed components (A), (B) and (C), not just the components (A). The amount of 0-700 parts of additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer) based on 100 parts by mass of the curable resin composition overlaps the claimed content of the styrenic polymer (B) of 5 to 50 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of a sum of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A), the styrenic polymer (B), and the reactive compound (C).
Applicant argued that as a demonstration of criticality of the claimed invention, the present specification describes that combining component A with component B, which is solid at 25 °C makes it possible to suppress surface tackiness while maintaining low dielectric properties, heat resistance, and low thermal expansion, and that the incorporation of component C can impart properties such as adhesion. The Examples of the present application also demonstrate the performance advantages obtained by combining these components in the critically specified proportions (see, e.g., paragraphs [0015] and [0069] and the Examples of the present application).
In response, to establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA 1960), MPEP 716.02(d). Applicant failed to do so. Paragraphs [0015] and [0069] cited by the applicant do not contain any concrete data. Applicant did not show which experimental data supports the criticality.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohjima et al (US 20230002547 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 3-4 and 7-8, Tohjima teaches a curable resin composition comprising a compound of formula (1):
Wherein R represents a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms or a halogenated alkyl group; m represents an integer of 0 to 3; n represents a repeating unit and satisfies 1≤n≤20, and p represents a repeating unit and satisfies 0≤p≤20; Y is optional; X can be
S represents a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms; and a represents an integer of 0 to 4 [0011-0013].
Thus, the above formula (1) is the same as the claimed formula (2) when the above a=0, p=0, m=0. The claimed formula (2) meets the claimed formula (1) in claim 1.
Tohjima’s Example 2 teaches a compound which is exactly the same as the claimed formula (2) [0121]:
Tohjima teaches that the curable composition can comprise an additive which can be styrene-based thermoplastic elastomers such as hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer [0099], which reads on the claimed styrenic polymer (B) as specified in claims 3-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer as the additive in Tohjima’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Tohjima teaches an active alkene-containing resin [0069] which can be a maleimide resin [0081] which reads on the claimed compound (C) as specified in claim 7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select a maleimide resin as the active alkene-containing resin in Tohjima’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Tohjima teaches that the additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer) is more preferably 0-700 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the curable resin composition [0099]. Thus, the amount of additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer) overlaps the claimed content of the styrenic polymer (B) of 5 to 50 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of a sum of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A), the styrenic polymer (B), and the reactive compound (C).
Regarding claim 5, Tohjima teaches that the additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer) is more preferably 0-700 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the curable resin composition [0099]. This amount overlaps the claimed content of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A1) of 20 to 80 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of a total mass of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A1) and the styrenic polymer (B). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 9, Tohjima teaches that the active alkene-containing resin (maleimide resin) is preferably 0.5-3 times by mass relative to the usage amount of the compound represented by the formula (1) [0070]. Thus, the amount of maleimide resin overlaps the claimed content of the reactive compound (C) of 1 to 40 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of a sum of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A1), the styrenic polymer (B), and the reactive compound (C).
Regarding claim 10, Tohjima teaches that inorganic fillers may be added to the curable resin composition [0098].
Regarding claim 11, Tohjima teaches that the curable resin composition may contain a phosphorus-containing compound as a flame retardation-imparting component [0095].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762