DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 6/18/2026 is acknowledged.
Groups II-VIII (claims 12-18) are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/18/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tohjima et al (US 20230002547 A1).
Regarding claims 1-4 and 6-7, Tohjima teaches a curable resin composition comprising a compound of formula (1):
Wherein R represents a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms or a halogenated alkyl group; m represents an integer of 0 to 3; n represents a repeating unit and satisfies 1≤n≤20, and p represents a repeating unit and satisfies 0≤p≤20; Y is optional; X can be
S represents a hydrocarbon group having 1 to 3 carbon atoms; and a represents an integer of 0 to 4 [0011-0013].
Thus, the above formula (1) is the same as the claimed formula (2) in claim 2 when the above a=0, p=0, m=0. The claimed formula (2) meets the claimed formula (1) in claim 1.
Tohjima’s Example 2 teaches a compound which is exactly the same as the claimed formula (2) [0121]:
Tohjima teaches that the curable composition can comprise an additive which can be styrene-based thermoplastic elastomers such as hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer [0099], which reads on the claimed styrenic polymer (B) as specified in claims 3-4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer as the additive in Tohjima’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Tohjima teaches an active alkene-containing resin [0069] which can be a maleimide resin [0081] which reads on the claimed compound (C) as specified in claims 6-7.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select a maleimide resin as the active alkene-containing resin in Tohjima’s composition, as it is expressly disclosed as being useful in this capacity. It has been established that selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is prima facie obvious (Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945)). See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 5, Tohjima teaches that the additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer) is more preferably 0-700 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the curable resin composition [0099]. This amount overlaps the claimed content of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A) of 20 to 80 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of a total mass of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A) and the styrenic polymer (B). A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" (MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claims 8-9, Tohjima teaches that the additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer) is more preferably 0-700 parts by mass based on 100 parts by mass of the curable resin composition [0099]. Tohjima further teaches that the active alkene-containing resin (maleimide resin) is preferably 0.5-3 times by mass relative to the usage amount of the compound represented by the formula (1) [0070]. Thus, the amount of additive (hydrogenated styrene-isoprene-styrene copolymer) overlaps the claimed content of the styrenic polymer (B) of 5 to 50 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of a sum of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A), the styrenic polymer (B), and the reactive compound (C); the amount of maleimide resin overlaps the claimed content of the reactive compound (C) of 1 to 40 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of a sum of the hydrocarbon-based compound (A), the styrenic polymer (B), and the reactive compound (C).
Regarding claim 10, Tohjima teaches that inorganic fillers may be added to the curable resin composition [0098].
Regarding claim 11, Tohjima teaches that the curable resin composition may contain a phosphorus-containing compound as a flame retardation-imparting component [0095].
Conclusion
/JIANGTIAN XU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762