DETAILED ACTION
RESPONSE TO AMENDMENT
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are pending in the application. Claims 7 and 8 have been cancelled.
Amendments to the claims 1, 6, 15, and 29, filed on 11 May 2026, have been entered in the above-identified application.
Answers to Applicant's Arguments
Applicant's arguments in the response filed 11 May 2026, regarding the objections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The objections have been withdrawn in view of the applicant's arguments and amendments to the claims.
Applicant's arguments in the response filed 11 May 2026, regarding the 35 U.S.C. §112 and §103 rejections made of record, have been fully considered and are deemed persuasive. The rejections have been withdrawn in view of the applicant's arguments and amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9-11, 14, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligtenberg et al. (US 10,871,828 B2) in view of Mitsubishi (JP 6548670 B2), Hansen et al. (US 2019/0285878 A1), and Fujitsu (JP 4516244 B2).
Regarding Claim 1: Ligtenberg discloses a display portion (ref. #600B) comprising a cover (ref. #604B) coupled to a display housing (ref. #602B), the cover being attached to the display housing via a joining member (ref. #606B), a display (ref. #607B) within the display housing and connected to the cover, wherein the cover extends substantially to an edge of the display housing, and an edge trim (ref. #608B) is disposed on and/or attached to an edge (ref. #612) of the cover, the edge trim covering the edge of the cover, and wherein the cover can be glass (figure 6B and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 34] of Ligtenberg). Specifically, Ligtenberg provides for --a display device comprising: a housing forming an opening to an interior; a display module positioned in the interior of the housing; a cover glass that covers the opening to the interior of the housing, the cover glass at least partially bounded by an exposed glass edge, wherein an outermost region of the cover glass extends beyond an edge of the substrate; and a protective film positioned along at least part of the exposed glass edge, the protective film attached to an inside of the cover glass at the outermost region, and wherein the protective film is positioned entirely outside the display module--. (In the instant case, the edge trim (ref. #608B) and the joining member (ref. #606B) together are considered equivalent to the claimed "protective film".)
Ligtenberg fails to disclose --the cover glass attached to the substrate by an optically clear adhesive--.
Mitsubishi discloses a display device (ref. #1H) comprising a housing formed by combining a front panel (ref. #2A) and a rear panel (ref. #3), the front panel comprising an opening in which a cover glass (ref. #4) is placed, the front panel has a flanged portion extending inwards from the inner periphery of the opening onto which the cover glass is affixed (figure 10 and [0070] of Mitsubishi). Mitsubishi also discloses a sensor glass (ref. #6A) and a display panel (ref. #7) of the same dimensions affixed to one another by an adhesive film (ref. #5B), and that the sensor glass is affixed to the back side of the cover glass at a portion corresponding to the display surface via an adhesive film (ref. #5A), wherein the adhesive films (ref. #5A and #5B) can be made of light transmitting doubled-sided adhesive sheets of optically clear/transparent adhesive (OCA) (figure 10 and [0071]-[0072] of Mitsubishi). It is also disclosed by Mitsubishi that that cover glass has a dimension larger than that of the sensor glass, and that the adhesive film (ref. #5A) is applied to the entire back side of the cover glass (figure 10 and [0071] of Mitsubishi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the display device of Mitsubishi and display module of the display device of Ligtenberg in order to have --the cover glass attached to the substrate by an optically clear adhesive--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the display device of Mitsubishi and display module of the display device of Ligtenberg, from the stand-point of having an adhesive that transmits light and prevents fragments from scattering when the cover glass is broken ([0015] of Mitsubishi). (In the instant case, the adhesive film (ref. #5B) of Mitsubishi is separate from the joining member (ref. #606B) of Ligtenberg.)
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi fails to disclose --a vehicle display device--.
Hansen discloses a display assembly for a vehicle, wherein the display module (ref. #100) comprises a cover (ref. #1), an interface layer (ref. #2), an adhesive/bond layer (ref. #3) (e.g., liquid optically clear adhesive), a filler/insert (ref. #4), an adhesive/bond layer (ref. #5), and a display panel (ref. #6) of a selectively illuminated sheet, and wherein the display assembly has illuminated pixels (figure 1C, [0050], [0051], and [0053] of Hansen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the vehicle display assembly of Hansen with the display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi in order to have --a vehicle display device--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the vehicle display assembly of Hansen with the display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, from the stand-point of integrating a display with a vehicle interior aesthetic for functional/visual purposes ([0050] of Hansen).
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi and Hansen fails to disclose --the display module including a substrate that defines an active pixel area for the display module, and wherein the protective film is positioned entirely outside the active pixel area--.
Fujitsu discloses a liquid crystal display device comprising a liquid crystal display panel (ref. #30) having a structure between two insulating glass substrates, namely an active matrix liquid crystal display substrate (ref. #2) and an opposing substrate (ref. #4), wherein the substrate (ref. #4) comprising pixel regions (figures 1 to 2, [Pg. 6 to Pg. 8] of Fujitsu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the liquid crystal display device of Fujitsu as the substrate of the display module of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi and Hansen in order to have --the display module including a substrate that defines an active pixel area for the display module, and wherein the protective film is positioned entirely outside the active pixel area--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the liquid crystal display device of Fujitsu as the substrate of the display module of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi and Hansen, from the stand-point of having a liquid crystal display device having a switching element for each pixel ([Pg. 1] of Fujitsu).
Regarding Claim 2: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses that the protective film extends around an entirety of the exposed glass edge ([Col. 18: li. 41-49], [Col. 20: li. 39-53], and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 15] of Ligtenberg).
Regarding Claim 3: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses that the exposed glass edge extends around an entire perimeter of the cover glass ([Col. 18: li. 41-49], [Col. 20: li. 39-53], and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 15] of Ligtenberg).
Regarding Claim 4: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses that the protective film is transparent ([Col. 18: li. 41-49], [Col. 20: li. 39-53], and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 15] of Ligtenberg; [0015] of Mitsubishi). (In the instant case, Mitsubishi discloses a transparent adhesive, which can be used as the material of the protective film of Ligtenberg.)
Regarding Claim 5: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses that the protective film comprises a polymer resin ([Col. 18: li. 41-49], [Col. 20: li. 39-53], and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 15] of Ligtenberg).
Regarding Claim 9: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses the display module further includes a frame (ref. #8B; "intermediate frame") positioned adjacent at least one edge of the display module (figure 10 and [0073] of Mitsubishi).
Regarding Claim 10: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses an adhesive (ref. #5B; "adhesive film") applied between the protective film and the frame (figure 10 and [0015] of Mitsubishi).
Regarding Claim 11: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses that the adhesive is included in a double-sided tape positioned between the protective film and the frame ([0015] of Mitsubishi).
Regarding Claim 14: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses that the frame is positioned adjacent an entire perimeter of the display module ([0042] of Mitsubishi).
Regarding Claim 18: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses that the vehicle display device comprises an instrument cluster device for a vehicle (figures 1D to 1E, and [0050]-[0051] of Hansen).
Regarding Claim 19: Ligtenberg discloses a display portion (ref. #600B) comprising a cover (ref. #604B) coupled to a display housing (ref. #602B), the cover being attached to the display housing via a joining member (ref. #606B), a display (ref. #607B) within the display housing and connected to the cover, wherein the cover extends substantially to an edge of the display housing, and an edge trim (ref. #608B) is disposed on and/or attached to an edge (ref. #612) of the cover, the edge trim covering the edge of the cover, and wherein the cover can be glass (figure 6B and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 34] of Ligtenberg). Specifically, Ligtenberg provides for --a display device comprising: a housing forming an opening to an interior; a display module positioned in the interior of the housing; a cover glass that covers the opening to the interior of the housing, the cover glass at least partially bounded by an exposed glass edge, wherein an outermost region of the cover glass extends beyond an edge of the substrate--.
Ligtenberg fails to disclose --the cover glass attached to the substrate by an optically clear adhesive, and means for containing glass fragments of the cover glass, the means positioned along at least part of the exposed glass edge, the means attached to an inside of the cover glass at the outermost region--.
Mitsubishi discloses a display device (ref. #1H) comprising a housing formed by combining a front panel (ref. #2A) and a rear panel (ref. #3), the front panel comprising an opening in which a cover glass (ref. #4) is placed, the front panel has a flanged portion extending inwards from the inner periphery of the opening onto which the cover glass is affixed (figure 10 and [0070] of Mitsubishi). Mitsubishi also discloses a sensor glass (ref. #6A) and a display panel (ref. #7) of the same dimensions affixed to one another by an adhesive film (ref. #5B), and that the sensor glass is affixed to the back side of the cover glass at a portion corresponding to the display surface via an adhesive film (ref. #5A), wherein the adhesive films (ref. #5A and #5B) can be made of light transmitting doubled-sided adhesive sheets of optically clear/transparent adhesive (OCA) (figure 10 and [0071]-[0072] of Mitsubishi). It is also disclosed by Mitsubishi that that cover glass has a dimension larger than that of the sensor glass, and that the adhesive film (ref. #5A) is applied to the entire back side of the cover glass (figure 10 and [0071] of Mitsubishi). (In the instant case, the adhesive film (ref. #5B) of Mitsubishi is separate from the joining member (ref. #606B) of Ligtenberg.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the OCA of Mitsubishi between the cover glass and display module of the display device of Ligtenberg in order to have --the cover glass attached to the substrate by an optically clear adhesive, and means for containing glass fragments of the cover glass, the means positioned along at least part of the exposed glass edge, the means attached to an inside of the cover glass at the outermost region--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the OCA of Mitsubishi between the cover glass and display module of the display device of Ligtenberg, from the stand-point of having an adhesive that transmits light and prevents fragments from scattering when the cover glass is broken ([0015] of Mitsubishi). (In the instant case, the adhesive film (ref. #5B) of Mitsubishi is separate from the joining member (ref. #606B) of Ligtenberg, and wherein the adhesive film (ref. #5B) of Mitsubishi would be disposed between the cover and the joining member of Ligtenberg. Furthermore, Ligtenberg does not explicitly recite that said "means" (i.e., the joining member and the edge trim) function to contain glass fragments of the cover glass. However, it has been further evidenced by Mitsubishi that applying a film to a class cover can prevent scattering of glass fragments. Mitsubishi discloses an adhesive film on the rear side of the cover glass in such an area that it prevents fragments from scattering when the cover glass is broken ([0015] of Mitsubishi). Therefore, as further evidenced by Mitsubishi, the joining member and edge trim of Ligtenberg can also provide a means for preventing fragments from scattering is a specified area.)
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi fails to disclose --a vehicle display device--.
Hansen discloses a display assembly for a vehicle, wherein the display module (ref. #100) comprises a cover (ref. #1), an interface layer (ref. #2), an adhesive/bond layer (ref. #3) (e.g., liquid optically clear adhesive), a filler/insert (ref. #4), an adhesive/bond layer (ref. #5), and a display panel (ref. #6) of a selectively illuminated sheet, and wherein the display assembly has illuminated pixels (figure 1C, [0050], [0051], and [0053] of Hansen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the vehicle display assembly of Hansen with the display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi in order to have --a vehicle display device--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the vehicle display assembly of Hansen with the display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, from the stand-point of integrating a display with a vehicle interior aesthetic for functional/visual purposes ([0050] of Hansen).
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi and Hansen fails to disclose --the display module including a substrate that defines an active pixel area for the display module, and wherein the means is positioned entirely outside the active pixel area--.
Fujitsu discloses a liquid crystal display device comprising a liquid crystal display panel (ref. #30) having a structure between two insulating glass substrates, namely an active matrix liquid crystal display substrate (ref. #2) and an opposing substrate (ref. #4), wherein the substrate (ref. #4) comprising pixel regions (figures 1 to 2, [Pg. 6 to Pg. 8] of Fujitsu).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the liquid crystal display device of Fujitsu as the substrate of the display module of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi and Hansen in order to have --the display module including a substrate that defines an active pixel area for the display module, and wherein the means is positioned entirely outside the active pixel area--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the liquid crystal display device of Fujitsu as the substrate of the display module of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi and Hansen, from the stand-point of having a liquid crystal display device having a switching element for each pixel ([Pg. 1] of Fujitsu).
Claims 6 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligtenberg et al. (US 10,871,828 B2) in view of Mitsubishi (JP 6548670 B2), Hansen et al. (US 2019/0285878 A1), and Fujitsu (JP 4516244 B2) as applied to claims 1 and 19 above, and further in view of Sakakibara et al. (US 2017/0022343 A1).
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu is relied upon as stated above.
Regarding Claims 6 and 20: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu discloses the -vehicle display device-- {instant claim 1 and 19}, and that --the means extends around an entirety of the exposed glass edge, wherein the means is transparent-- {instant claim 20} ([Col. 18: li. 41-49], [Col. 20: li. 39-53], and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 15] of Ligtenberg; [0015] of Mitsubishi).
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu failed to disclose --the protective film comprises a polyethylene terephthalate film-- {instant claim 6} or --the means comprises a polyethylene terephthalate film-- {instant claim 20}.
Sakakibara discloses an anti-shatter film comprising, in order, a pressure sensitive adhesive (e.g., an optically clear adhesive (OCA)) for attaching the anti-shatter film to a cover glass, a transparent resin layer (e.g., polyethylene terephthalate (PET) film), and a clear hard coat (CHC) layer for protecting the transparent resin layer ([0003], [0004], and [0080] of Sakakibara).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the anti-shatter film of Sakakibara with the means/protective film of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu in order to have --the protective film comprises a polyethylene terephthalate film-- {instant claim 6} and --the means comprises a polyethylene terephthalate film-- {instant claim 20}. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the anti-shatter film of Sakakibara with the means/protective film of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu, from the stand-point of improving cracking resistance that is higher than the glass (i.e., cover glass) ([0080] of Sakakibara). (In the instant case, by combining the anti-shatter film of Sakakibara with the means/protective film at the edge and/or outermost region of the cover glass, a person having ordinary skill in the art would increase the crack resistance at the edge of the exposed cover glass.)
Claims 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligtenberg et al. (US 10,871,828 B2) in view of Mitsubishi (JP 6548670 B2), Hansen et al. (US 2019/0285878 A1), and Fujitsu (JP 4516244 B2) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Trummer (EP 3396930 B1).
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu is relied upon as stated above.
Regarding Claim 15: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu failed to disclose --a foam positioned between the outermost region and an edge of the housing--.
Trummer discloses a display device comprising a foam pad (ref. #702) arranged to seal against the housing shell, and a display bezel (ref. #703) that serves to hold the display (ref. #704), the display is additionally surrounded by a foam (ref. #702A) to prevent the glass from breaking (figure 7 and [0030] of Trummer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have combined the foam of Trummer and the vehicle display device of Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu in order to have --a foam positioned between the outermost region and an edge of the housing--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have combined the foam of Trummer and the vehicle display device of Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, and Fujitsu, from the stand-point of compensating for any forces to prevent the glass of the display from breaking ([0030] of Trummer). (In the instant case, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have inserted the foam or foam padding of Trummer into any spaces or gaps to prevent the glass from breaking, such as the gaps (ref. "D1") between the intermediate frame (ref. #8B) and the display module as disclosed by Mitsubishi (figure 10 of Mitsubishi).)
Regarding Claim 17: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, Fujitsu, and Trummer discloses that the foam abuts the protective film (figure 10 of Mitsubishi; [0030] of Trummer). (In the instant case, the gap (ref. "D1") of Mitsubishi would be entirely filled with the foam of Trummer, and would subsequently come into abutment with the protective film disclosed by Sakakibara.)
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ligtenberg et al. (US 10,871,828 B2) in view of Mitsubishi (JP 6548670 B2), Hansen et al. (US 2019/0285878 A1), Fujitsu (JP 4516244 B2), and Trummer (EP 3396930 B1) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Bayne et al. (US 2011/0019351 A1).
Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, Fujitsu, and Trummer is relied upon as stated above.
Regarding Claim 16: Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, Fujitsu, and Trummer discloses that the display module further includes a frame (ref. #8B; "intermediate frame") positioned adjacent at least one edge of the substrate (figure 10 of Mitsubishi), but failed to disclose --the vehicle display device further comprising adhesive positioned between the foam and the frame--. (In the instant case, as recited above, Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, Fujitsu, and Trummer discloses the foam between the frame and the substrate, but does not disclose --adhesive positioned between the foam and the frame--.)
Bayne discloses a bezel packaging for sealed glass assemblies, wherein a layer of adhesive (e.g., double sided adhesive foam tape) is included between the frame or bezel (ref. #10) and the glass assembly ([0048] of Bayne). (Note: Double sided adhesive foam tape are well-known tapes comprising a foam intermediate layer between two opposing adhesive layers.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have incorporated the double sided adhesive foam tape of Bayne as the foam of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, Fujitsu, and Trummer in order to have --the vehicle display device further comprising adhesive positioned between the foam and the frame--. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have incorporated the double sided adhesive foam tape of Bayne as the foam of the vehicle display device disclosed by Ligtenberg in view of Mitsubishi, Hansen, Fujitsu, and Trummer, from the stand-point of securing the glass assembly in place ([0048] of Bayne).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
With regards to the closest prior art of record Ligtenberg et al. (US 10,871,828 B2): Ligtenberg teaches --a display device--, wherein Ligtenberg's display device further comprises the structure --a display portion (ref. #600B) comprising a cover (ref. #604B) coupled to a display housing (ref. #602B), the cover being attached to the display housing via a joining member (ref. #606B), a display (ref. #607B) within the display housing and connected to the cover, wherein the cover extends substantially to an edge of the display housing, and an edge trim (ref. #608B) is disposed on and/or attached to an edge (ref. #612) of the cover, the edge trim covering the edge of the cover, and wherein the cover can be glass-- (figure 6B and [Col. 24: li. 64 to Col. 26: li. 34] of Ligtenberg). However, Ligtenberg does not teach that --the adhesive attaches the protective film and the frame to each other and is not applied elsewhere at the inside of the cover glass-- {instant claim 12} or --the frame comprises a first frame and a second frame, wherein the adhesive is applied only between the protective film and the first frame, wherein the first frame is attached to the second frame, and wherein the second frame is attached to the display module-- {instant claim 13}. Therefore, the claims as written overcome the prior art of record. Furthermore, no combination of Ligtenberg with any other prior art of record would have provided sufficient motivation for a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have modified Ligtenberg in such a way as to meet the claimed invention. It is these teachings that makes the claim(s) allowable over the prior art of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONALD M FLORES JR/
Donald M. Flores, Jr.Examiner, Art Unit 1781