DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the Applicant filing on 2.3.26. Claims 9-16 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
The Applicant has made amendments to the independent claims 9,15 and dependents 11-14, 16 which will be examined below.
Claim objections related to claims 14-16 are withdrawn in light of amendments.
Specification objection is withdrawn in light amendment to Title.
With respect to 35 U.S.C 102 and 103 rejections, the Applicant provides arguments to which the
Examiner will respond accordingly:
Applicant Argument 1: However, Nakano's partition wall 43 could not correspond to the present claim 9's "first screw point" configuration in relation to "gearbox housing" and "cylindrical stator housing. In other words, if assuming that Nakano describes a first casing 41 for the electric motor 2 as corresponding to the present claim 9 "cylindrical stator housing," and a second casing 42 for accommodating the transmission 5 as corresponding to the present claim 9 "gearbox housing," in Nakano, the partition wall 43 is not part of the second housing 42 for the transmission 5.
Examiner Response 1: Examiner respectfully disagrees. In Office action dated 9.17.25, Examiner has taken Nakano element 42,43 together as gearbox housing and 41 as stator housing. Claim recitation does not prevent Examiner from taking 42 and 43 together for gearbox housing. Examiner understands the structural difference between Nagano and instant application, however they need to be recited in the claims to distinguish over Nagano.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 13 recites in part "an other bolt as an other threaded bolt, which the second screw point is configured with an other non-threaded screw hole formed on the gearbox housing and an other internally threaded bore formed on the cylindrical stator housing" and further down "to screw together the cylindrical stator housing and the gearbox housing". However in specification and drawing Fig 3, the second screw point S2 is between housing cover 29 and intermediate housing 27. Therefore Examiner cannot understand how second screw point is being used to "to screw together the cylindrical stator housing and the gearbox housing". During Examiner interview with Attorney on 3.31.26, it was agreed that stator housing in claim recitation does not look right and both Examiner and Attorney agreed to interpret claim for next action without claim amendment related to stator housing recitation to advance prosecution. Claim 14 is rejected due to its dependency on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-12, 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(2) as being anticipated by Nakano (US20180328480A1).
Regarding Claim 9, Nakano discloses (Figs 1,7) a drive device (Fig 1, 1) for a vehicle axle [0063] of a vehicle [0063] - having an electric machine (2) which outputs to a plurality of output shafts (3A,3B) via a gearbox (5,6), each output shaft of the plurality of output shafts lead to a vehicle wheel [0035], a cylindrical stator housing (41) of the electric machine (2) is elongated and configured to extend in an axial direction (AA) to join a gearbox housing (42,43), the drive device comprising:
at least a first screw point (41b) between the cylindrical stator housing (41) and the gearbox housing (42,43 similar instant application where two elements 27,29 make up gear box housing 25) which in an assembled state of the cylindrical stator housing and the gearbox housing has a bolt threaded as a threaded bolt (47) in the first screw point,
the first screw point is configured with a non-threaded screw hole (Fig 7, TL) formed on the gearbox housing (43 which is part of 42,43) and an internally threaded bore formed [0065] on the cylindrical stator housing (41), so that the bolt is
guided through the non- threaded screw hole (Fig 7, TL) of the gearbox housing (43 which is part of 42,43) and
threaded in threaded engagement with the internally threaded bore [0065 discloses “The partition wall 43 is fastened to a step portion 41b provided on an outer peripheral part of the first casing 41 with a bolt 47” and 47 in Fig 1 discloses thread] of the cylindrical stator housing (41) to screw together the cylindrical stator housing (41) and the gear box housing (43 which is part of 42,43); and
the non-threaded screw hole of the gearbox housing leads into an interior (42i) of the gearbox housing (43 which is part of 42,43), and
in the assembled state, a bolt head (47h) of the threaded bolt (47) is arranged in the interior (42i) of the gearbox housing interior joined with the cylindrical stator housing (41) .
Regarding Claim 10, Nakano discloses the drive device as claimed in claim 9. Nakano further discloses wherein the cylindrical stator housing (41) and the gearbox housing (43 which is part of 42,43) are screwed together at a joining plane (A1) at which a stator-housing side (left of A1) crosses over into a gearbox-housing side (right of A1), so that a bolt head (47h) of the threaded bolt (47) has a tool application point located on the gearbox-housing side (right of A1) so that a tool access to the threaded bolt (47) is located on the gearbox-housing side (Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 11, Nakano discloses the drive device as claimed in claim 9. Nakano further discloses wherein the gearbox housing (42,43) is composed of two housing parts including an intermediate housing (43) and a housing cover (42), which are arranged one behind each other (42 is behind 43 in the right direction of Fig 1 for e.g., A2 is right of A1) in an axial direction (AA), so that the intermediate housing (43) and the housing cover (42) which closes the interior of the gearbox housing are arranged in the axial direction (AA).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakano discloses the drive device as claimed in claim 10. Nakano further discloses wherein the gearbox housing (42,43) is composed of two housing parts including an intermediate housing (43) and a housing cover (42), which are arranged one behind each other (42 is behind 43 in the right direction of Fig 1 for e.g., A2 is right of A1) in an axial direction (AA), so that the intermediate housing (43) and the housing cover (42) which closes the interior of the gearbox housing are arranged in the axial direction (AA).
Regarding Claim 15, Nakano discloses a method (method is in structure) of assembling a drive device (Fig 1, 1) for a vehicle axle [0063] of a vehicle [0063] having an electric machine (2) which outputs to a plurality of output shafts (3A,3B) via a gearbox (5,6), each output shaft of the plurality of output shafts lead to a vehicle wheel [0035], a cylindrical stator housing (41) of the electric machine (2) is elongated and configured to extend in an axial direction (AA) to join a gearbox housing (42,43), the method comprising:
providing (this is inherent to structure and the housing supports all the electric machine related components such as 2,21 inside before bolt 47 is screwed in) the cylindrical stator housing (41) to be equipped with components of the electric machine (2,21),
aligning (this is inherent to structure where a bolt 47 is used to fasten) a stator-housing axis (AA) of the cylindrical stator housing (41) in a vertical direction (AA) so that a stator housing joining face of the cylindrical stator housing (Fig 7) for connection to an intermediate housing (43) of the gearbox housing (42,43) are positioned on an upper side (47 is screwed from right to left which can be taken as upper side) of the cylindrical stator housing,
a first feed process (this is inherent to structure where a bolt 47 is used to fasten where 41 and 43 are positioned before being bolted together), in which the intermediate housing (43) of the gearbox housing is placed on the stator housing joining face in the vertical direction (AA) as a vertical feed direction from above (right) the cylindrical stator housing, and
a first screw process (47 is screwed, so inherent), in which a bolt (47) is screwed as a threaded bolt into a first screw point (41b) between cylindrical the stator housing (41) and the intermediate housing (43) of the gearbox housing (42,43), in the vertical direction as a vertical joining direction (AA) from above (right) of the cylindrical stator housing to form an assembled state of the cylindrical stator housing and the gearbox housing,
the first screw point is configured with a non-threaded screw hole (Fig 7, TL)formed on the gearbox housing (43 which is part of 42,43)and an internally threaded bore [0065]formed on the cylindrical stator housing (41), so that the bolt is
guided through the non-threaded screw hole (Fig 7, TL) of the gearbox housing (43 which is part of 42,43), and threaded in threaded engagement with the internally threaded bore [0065 discloses “The partition wall 43 is fastened to a step portion 41b provided on an outer peripheral part of the first casing 41 with a bolt 47” and 47 in Fig 1 discloses thread] of the cylindrical stator housing (41) to screw together the cylindrical stator housing and the gearbox housing; and
the non-threaded screw hole of the gearbox housing leads into an interior (42i) of the gearbox housing (43 which is part of 42,43), and
in the assembled state, a bolt head (47h) of the threaded bolt (47) is arranged in the interior (42i) of the gearbox housing joined with the cylindrical stator housing(41).
Regarding Claim 16, Nakano discloses the method as claimed in claim 15. Nakano further discloses comprising a second feed process (inherent to structure of bolting 57), in which a housing cover (54)is placed on intermediate joining face (Fig 3 discloses 54b) of the intermediate housing (43) in the vertical feed direction (AA) from above (right) of the intermediate housing, and a second screw process (bolting of 57) , in which another threaded bolt (57) is screwed into a second screw point (54b) between the housing cover (54) and the intermediate housing (43) in the vertical joining direction (AA) from above (right) of the intermediate housing (43).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakano in view of Asai (US20240240709A1 PCT Filed 3.26.21), and Instant Application Background.
Regarding Claim 13, Nakano discloses the drive device as claimed in claim 11. Nakano further discloses wherein the intermediate housing (43) and the housing cover (42) but does not explicitly disclose they are screwed together at at least a second screw point and in that the second screw point has another bolt as another threaded bolt , the second screw point is configured with another non-threaded screw hole formed on the housing cover and another internally threaded bore formed on the intermediate housing so that the bolt is guided through the non-threaded screw hole of the housing cover and threaded in threaded engagement with another internally threaded bore of the intermediate housing to screw together the intermediate housing and the housing cover, so that an opening edge region of the other non threaded screw hole is braced between a bolt head of the other bolt and the intermediate housing (See 112(a) section and Interview summary for interpretation).
Asai discloses (Fig 1) the intermediate housing (12) and the housing cover (11) are screwed together at at least a second screw point (B1 location) and in that the second screw point has a threaded bolt (B1) ,which is guided through a hole (B1 corresponding hole) of the housing cover and is in threaded engagement with an internally threaded bore (B1 corresponding bore in 12) formed on the intermediate housing (12), so that an opening edge region (11oe) of a gearbox-housing screw hole (B1 corresponding hole) is braced between a bolt head (B1 head) of the threaded bolt (B1) and the intermediate housing (12) but does not explicitly disclose a non-threaded screw hole(however usage of a bolt with non-threaded screw hole is well known in the art).
Instant Application background discloses threaded bolt guided through a non-threaded screw hole [0005].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed drive device of Nakano with bolting arrangement between housing cover and intermediate housing as taught by Asai in order to detachably attach the cover from the intermediate housing and threaded bolt through a non-threaded screw hole configuration as taught by Instant Background in order to not have unnecessary internal threads and comply with well known usage of bolts for fastening.
Regarding Claim 14, Nakano in view of Asai discloses the drive device as claimed in claim 9. Nakano in view of Asai further discloses wherein an internally threaded bore (Nakano,Fig 1, 41b) is formed as a blind hole with a closed bore base (41b is closed), and/or in that a screw axis of the first screw point and/or a screw axis of a second screw point are aligned axially parallel to a stator- housing axis (A), and/or in that a joining direction of the threaded bolt at the first screw point and the threaded bolt at the second screw point are identical.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VISWANATHAN SUBRAMANIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/CHRISTOPHER M KOEHLER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834