Claims filed 3/31/2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 13, 15, 16, 19 are pending with claims 22-24, 31, 32, 38, 40, 43, and 45 being withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the invention of claims 1-5, 7, 10, 13, 15, 16, 19 in the reply filed on 3/31/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22-24, 31, 32, 38, 40, 43, and 45 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/31/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 7, 10, 13, 15, 16, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, in light of the specification “wherein the NO donor molecule is released upon illumination” is confusing and indefinite. The invention appears to work by the donor molecule releasing NO upon the illumination of the polymer containing the donor molecule. This contradiction renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 3 also explicitly includes the same confusion again.
Dependent claims are rejected for the same reasons as the claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 13, 15, 16, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Frost (US 2015/0247005).
With regards to claim 1, Frost teaches a disinfection system capable of the intended use of disinfecting medical tubing (fig 7; NO is a known disinfectant and the coated light guide can be inserted into tubing of appropriate size to release NO there), comprising: a disinfection insert capable of the intended sue of extending within a lumen of medical tubing (the polymer coated light guide can be so inserted) comprising a fiber optic (para [0039], [0154], fig 7) and a polymer surrounding at least a portion of the fiber optic (coated) comprising a NO donor molecule (such as S-Nitrosothiols (RSNOs); para [0049], [0154]) where the NO donor molecules releases NO upon illumination of the polymer by the fiber optic (the polymer can be polysiloxane, PVC, or polyurethane; para [0105]; [00154]).
Additionally, since the taught polymer and the taught incorporated donor are the same (both teach RSNOs with polysiloxane or polyurethanes) their behavior when exposed to light would be similar.
With regards to claim 2, the NO donor molecule can be s-nitrosothiol (para [0049]).
With regards to claim 3, Frost teaches NO released at fluxes within the claimed range (table 1 in para [0157]; fig 11 and 12).
With regards to claim 4, the fiber optic is taken to be a side glow fiber optic (it is taught that the light illuminates the coating along the side of the fiber optic to release NO (fig 7, para [0154]; abstract; see whole document).
With regards to claim 5, the polymer is coated directly onto the fiber optic (it is a polymer coated fiber optic; para [0154] and fig 7).
With regards to claim 7, the polymer can be silicone rubber (polysiloxane) (para [0105]).
With regards to claim 13, the system further includes a light source (LED) in optical communication with the fiber optic and configured to selectively illuminate the fiber optic (off/on) (para [0141], [0157]; fig 7).
With regards to claim 15, the light source is capable of being removed from the insert (can be removed with at least enough effort).
With regards to claim 16, the light source delivers wavelengths within the claimed range (para [0034], fig 2).
With regards to claim 19, a microcontroller controls a light source by varying the current supplied (para [0149]). Varying the current affects the intensity of light (direct relationship) as well as the wavelength (para [0150]). Further, fig 7 shows the light profile being set via a controller which then wirelessly configures the LED. The NO generation is dependent on intensity and wavelength (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frost (US 2015/0247005) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lin et al. (WO 2015066238).
With regards to claim 10, Frost does not teach a fastener as acclaimed. Lin et al. teaches a sterilization device using a fiber optic (abstract). The fiber optic is insertable into the desired place to be sterilized and is held in place using a connector (70). Hub adapter (72) of the connector (70) fastens to a hub (5) of a catheter to sterilize the lumen (abstract; para [0061]). A person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have used a fastener (connector 70 with hub adapter 72) in order to hold the fiber optic-based sterilizer device of fig 7 in place to treat a target area/device/lumen including the lumen of medical tubing (a catheter).
Conclusion
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799