DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Applicants' arguments/remarks filed 05/12/2026 are acknowledged. Claim 15-20 are newly added. Claims 1-12, 14 and 15-20 are examined on the merits within and are currently pending.
Specification Objections
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: C9-C15alkyl, C1-C4alkyl; C4-C8alkyl, C9alkyl, which should have a space before alkyl.
For example, C9-C15 alkyl.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: C9-C15alkyl, C1-C4alkyl; C4-C8alkyl, C9alkyl, which should have a space before alkyl.
For example, C9-C15 alkyl Appropriate correction is required.
Modified Claim Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) because it is duplicated exactly from claim 3.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) because it is substantially duplicated exactly from claim 4.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) because it is substantially duplicated exactly from claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mertoglu et al. (US 20160021877Al).
Claims 1 and 2,
Mertoglu et al. teach an emulsifiable concentrate comprising a water-insoluble pesticide, an alkyl benzoate, and an amide of the formula (I). (Abs). The object was achieved by an emulsifiable concentrate comprising a water-insoluble pesticide, an alkyl benzoate, and an amide of the formula (I) R1-C(O)N(R2)2 (I), where R1 is C5 -C19-alkyl and R2 is C1-C4 -alkyl. (0004). Suitable alkyl benzoates are alkyl benzoates where the phenyl group is optionally substituted with at least one alkyl group. Preferably, the alkyl benzoate is a linear or branched C1-12 alkyl benzoate, more preferably a linear or branched C1-6 alkyl benzoate, and in particular a linear or branched Cm alkyl benzoate. (0007).
The emulsifiable concentrate can furthermore comprise auxiliaries conventionally used for crop protection products. Suitable auxiliaries are solvents, liquid carriers, surfactants, dispersants, emulsifiers, wetters, adjuvants, solubilizers, penetrants, protective colloids, stickers, thickeners, bactericides, antifreeze agents, antifoam agents, colorants, adhesives and binders. (0088). An alkyl is not specified straight, branch, or cyclic then an alkyl group can be a straight, branch or cyclic alkyl, unless otherwise specified.
With regard to claim 6,
Butyl benzoate. (0111).
With regard to claim 7,
The concentrate may comprise from 0.1 to 60% by weight, of pesticide, the basis being the total of all the pesticides present in the concentrate. (0087). The concentrate can comprise not more than 80% by weight of the alkyl benzoate. (0010). The concentrate preferably comprises at least one anionic surfactant. The concentrate usually comprises not less than 0.5% by weight of anionic surfactants. The composition can comprise not more than 30% by weight of anionic surfactants. (0096).
With regard to claim 8,
Mertoglu et al. teach Pesticides refer to at least one active substance selected from the group of the fungicides, insecticides, nematicides, herbicides, safeners and/or growth regulators. (0021).
With regard to claim 9,
Mertoglu et al. teach dinitroanilines: benfluralin, ethalfluralin, oryzalin, pendimethalin, prodiamine, trifluralin; (0055).
With regard to claim 10,
Mertoglu et al. teach an emulsifiable concentrate comprising a water-insoluble pesticide, an alkyl benzoate, and an amide of the formula (I). (Abs). formula (I) R1-C(O)N(R2)2 (I), where R1 is C5 -C19-alkyl and R2 is C1-C4 -alkyl. (0004). Growth Regulators include naphthaleneacetic acid (NAA), (0048), picloram, Clopyralid (0061), which are synthetic auxins.
With regard to claim 11,
Mertoglu et al. teach Suitable surfactants are surface-active compounds, such as anionic, cationic, nonionic and amphoteric surfactants. (0090). The concentrate preferably comprises at least one anionic surfactant. The concentrate usually comprises not less than 0.5% by weight of anionic surfactants, preferably not less than 2% by weight not more than 30% by weight of anionic surfactants, preferably not more than 15% by weight and in particular not more than 10% by weight. (0096).
The concentrate preferably comprises at least one nonionic surfactant (such as alkoxylates). The concentrate usually comprises not less than 1 % by weight of nonionic surfactants, preferably not less than 5% by weight and in particular not less than 10% by weight. The composition can comprise not more than 65% by weight of nonionic surfactants, preferably not more than 45% by weight and in particular not more than 35% by weight. (0097).
In a preferred form, the concentrate preferably comprises at least one alkoxylate, in particular an alkoxylated CcC22-alcohol. The concentrate usually comprises not less than 2% by weight of alkoxylates (in particular an alkoxylated C6-C22-alcohol), preferably not less than 7% by weight and in particular not less than 10% by weight. (0098).
Preferably, the concentrate comprises a nonionic surfactant (such as alkoxylates) and an anionic surfactant ( such as sulfates or sulfonates). [0099]
With regard to claims 12 and 14,
Mertoglu et al. teach The present invention is an emulsifiable concentrate comprising a water-insoluble pesticide, an alkyl benzoate, and an amide of the formula (I). The preparation of said concentrate; an emulsion obtainable by mixing water, a water-insoluble pesticide, the alkyl benzoate, and the amide; and to a method for controlling phytopathogenic fungi and/or undesired vegetation and/or undesired attack by insects or mites and/or for regulating the growth of plants, where the concentrate or the emulsion is allowed to act on the respective pests, their environment or on the crop plants to be protected from the respective pests, on the soil and/or on undesired plants and/or on the crop plants and/or their environment. (Abs).
With regard to claim 20,
Mertoglu et al. teach Composition E, R or G, has total percentages of all active ingredient, the one or more solvents, and the one of more surfactants together 12+2.5+15 (or 10) + 14 + 49 (or 54) = 92.5% (Table 4, 0133)
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yin et al. (US 8653121B2).
Yin et al. teach: An agrochemical composition comprises an azole active ingredient and an N,N-dialkyl long chain alkylamide. Preferred N,N-Dialkyl long chain alkylamide(s) comprised in the composition is/are selected from the group consisting of compounds of the formula (I) below: in which
(a) R1 and R2 are independently normal alkyl radicals having 2 carbon atoms, and R represents an alkyl group having from 10 to 30 carbon atoms; or
(b) R1 and R2 are independently normal alkyl radicals having 3 carbon atoms, and R represents an alkyl group having from 9 to 30 carbon atoms; or 20
(c) R1 and R2 are independently normal alkyl radicals having from 4 to 20 carbon atoms and R represents an alkyl group having from 6 to 30 carbon atoms. (Abs)
And an emulsifier (surfactant). (Tables 1-11 and 13-15 and Claim 14, Col. 30).
An alkyl is not specified straight, branch, or cyclic then an alkyl group can be a straight, branch or cyclic alkyl, unless otherwise specified.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horstmann et al. (US 5206225 A).
Horstmann et al. teach: the new use of certain alkyl carboxylic acid dimethyl amides for prevention of crystallization during the application of aqueous spray liquors based on specific pesticidally active compounds. (Col. 1, lines 5-9). An alkyl carboxylic acid dimethyl amide of the formula (I) below, in which R represent alkyl having 5-19 carbon atoms (Abs). The composition comprises emulsifier (Col. 10, line 46, Col. 11, lines 16, 67, Col 12, lines 48, 60, Col. 13, lines 1, 31, 66). surface-active substances in this case are non-ionic and anionic emulsifiers. The emulsifiers can be employed individually or, alternatively, in a mixture. (Col. 7, lines 28-68-Col. 8, lines 1-50). An alkyl is not specified straight, branch, or cyclic then a straight, branch or cyclic alkyl belong to alkyl group.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett et al. (US 11160281 B2).
Bennett et al. teach a safener containing herbicidal oil dispersion. An oil dispersion is described containing a base oil, an herbicide composition including a comprising flucarbazone sodium and/or fenoxaprop-p-ethyl, an herbicidal safener comprising cloquintocet-mexyl, and a carrier comprising an alkyl benzoate. The dispersion demonstrates enhanced dilution, and high and low temperature stability. (Abs). An alkyl benzoate having an alkyl containing up to 10 carbon atoms. (Col. 2, lines 12-13). Butyl benzoate, other benzoates can be used as well, for example C1 , C2 , C3 , C5 , C6 , etc. as well as the C4 ( butyl ) form. (Col. 5, lines 56-58).
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zen (US 20040063583A1).
Zen teaches a low-irritant pesticidal emulsifiable concentrate comprising (a) 1 to 60% by weight of at least one pesticidal active ingredient compound; (b) 2 to 15% by weight of at least one surfactant and (c) 15 to 90% by weight of at least one aromatic ester Solvent represented by the formula: Ar-X-COOR (1), which teaches applicant claim 1c limitations or the formula:
RCOO-X-Ar (2), which teaches applicant claim 1b limitations wherein R represents non-aromatic group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, Ar represents an aromatic group; and X represents a single bond or an alkylene group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms. The pesticidal emulsifiable concentrate of the present invention can be used as an emulsion which is superior in emulsion stability when using after diluting with water, and has low irritation. (Abs).
In the aromatic ester solvent used in the present invention, Ar of formula 1 and formula 2) is preferably a phenyl group which may be substituted with at least one methyl group, etc., X is preferably a single bond, a methylene group or an ethylene group; R is preferably an alkyl
group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms. (0015).
An alkyl is not specified straight, branch, or cyclic then a straight, branch or cyclic alkyl belong to alkyl group.
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 102,
Rejection 1:
Applicant argues that Mertoglu fails to disclose "(a) an amide of formula R1-C(O)-NR2R3, wherein R1 is a branched C9-C1salkyl and R2 and R3 are independently C1-C4alkyl," as set forth in independent claim 1. In contrast, Mertoglu describes that formula (I) of Mertoglu is "R1-C(O)N(R2)2 where R1 is Cs-C19-alkyl and R2 is C1-C4-alkyl". However, Mertoglu is silent with respect to R1 of formula (I) being branched. Indeed, to the extent Mertoglu mentions any functional group being branched, Mertoglu describes an alkyl benzoate that is "a linear or branched C1-12 alkyl benzoate." See Mertoglu, para. 7. However, Mertoglu does not mention an amide including a branched hydrocarbon. Accordingly, Mertoglu does not disclose the amide (a) set forth in independent claim 1.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, since Mertoglu teaches R1 is C5 -C19-alkyl, without specifying branched or not, which means it inherently embraces both straight-chain (unbranched) and branched-chain saturated hydrocarbon radicals.
Applicant argues that Mertoglu appears to disclose a general alkyl benzoate where the carbonyl group is attached to the benzyl group. The alkyl benzoate is not analogous to the esters (b) and (c). Accordingly, Mertoglu fails to disclose the ester (b) and the ester (c). Mertoglu fails to disclose at least these features.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, since Claim 1 recites clearly “one or more solvents selected from the list consisting of:” means prior art only needs to teach a, b or c and does not need to teach all a, b and c.
Rejection 2
Applicant argues that Yin appears to be silent with respect to R being a branched C9-C1salkyl and R2 and R3 independently being C1-C4alkyl. Accordingly, Yin fails to disclose "wherein R1 is a branched C9-C1salkyl and R2 and R3 are independently C1-C4alkyl" as recited by independent claim 1. (Emphasis added.) For at least these reasons, Yin fails to disclose the foregoing aspects of independent claim 1, and thus Yin cannot support a prima facie case of anticipation of independent claim I and its dependent claims.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, since similarly to the response above that without specifying branched or not, which means it inherently embraces both straight-chain (unbranched) and branched-chain saturated hydrocarbon radicals.
Rejection 3
Applicant argues that Horstmann is silent with respect to an ester analogous to the esters (b) and ( c) set forth in independent claim 1. While Horstmann generally mentions that R may be branched, Horstmann is silent with respect to "wherein R1 is a branched C9-C1salkyl and R2 and R3 are independently C1-C4alkyl." Accordingly, Horstmann fails to disclose "wherein R1 is a branched C9-C1salkyl and R2 and R3 are independently C1-C4alkyl" as recited by independent claim 1. (Emphasis added.)
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, since similarly to the response above that without specifying branched or not, which means it inherently embraces both straight-chain (unbranched) and branched-chain saturated hydrocarbon radicals and Claim 1 recites clearly “one or more solvents selected from the list consisting of:” means prior art only needs to teach a, b or c and does not need to teach all a, b and c.
Rejection 4
Applicant argues that Bennett fails to disclose the esters (b) and (c) set forth in independent claim 1. In contrast, Bennett appears to disclose a general alkyl benzoate where the carbonyl group is attached to the benzyl group. See Bennett, col. 5 lines 56-58. Applicant respectfully submits that an alkyl benzoate is not analogous to the esters (b) and (c). Instead, an alkyl benzoate would have the general formula benzyl-C(O)-O-Ra where Ra is an alkyl group. Accordingly, the benzyl group is attached to the carbonyl (C=O), rather than the oxygen (O) of the benzoate. With respect to the ester (b), independent claim I recites "an ester of formula R4-C(0)-0Rs, wherein R4 is a branched C4-Csalkyl or isopropyl, and Rs is a methyl or ethyl group substituted with an aromatic substituent selected from phenyl or naphthalenyl". (Emphasis added). Thus, an aromatic group of independent claim 1 is limited to being attached to the O of the ester, rather than the carbonyl carbon (C=O). Accordingly, Bennett fails to disclose the ester (b). With respect to the ester (c), independent claim 1 recites "an ester of formula R6-C(O)-OXR7, wherein R6 is phenyl, benzyl, or naphthalenyl, optionally substituted with up to two methyl groups, X represents a single bond or a C1-C4alkylene group, and R7 is secondary butyl or cyclohexyl." Thus, the claims recite a secondary butyl or cyclohexyl is attached to the O of the ester via X.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered and they are persuasive that Bennett does not teach option b, but they are not persuasive since Bennett teaches option c. Bennett teaches "alkyl", which includes secondary butyl (sec-butyl), tert-butyl, and isobutyl. The mention of butyl benzoate as an example serves to illustrate the carbon chain size, not to restrict the patent scope exclusively to the linear n-butyl chain.
Rejection 5
Applicant argues that the formula Ar-X-COOR (1) of Zen is not analogous to the esters (c). Additionally, the Applicant submits that formula RCOO-X-Ar (2) of Zen is not analogous to the esters (b). Zen appears to disclose formula Ar-X-COOR (1) and formula RCOO-X-Ar (2) where the Ar is preferably a phenyl group which may be substituted with at least a one methyl group; X is preferably a single bond, a methylene group or an ethylene group; and R is preferably an alkyl group having I to 6 carbon atoms. See id. Applicant respectfully submits that formula RCOO-X-Ar (2) is not analogous to the esters (b).
With respect to formula Ar-X-COOR (1), the Applicant respectfully submit that formula
Ar-X-COOR (1) of Zen is missing "wherein R6 is phenyl, benzyl, or naphthalenyl, optionally
substituted with up to two methyl groups, X represents a single bond or a C1-C4alkylene group,
and R7 is secondary butyl or cyclohexyl, wherein the cyclohexyl is optionally substituted with up to two methyl groups."
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered and they are persuasive that Zen does not teach option b, but they are not persuasive since Zen teaches option c. Zen teaches "alkyl", which includes secondary butyl (sec-butyl), tert-butyl, and isobutyl. The mention of butyl benzoate as an example serves to illustrate the carbon chain size, not to restrict the patent scope exclusively to the linear n-butyl chain.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/NGOC-ANH THI NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615