DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In view of the amendment filed 02/18/2026:
Claims 8 and 9 are pending.
Claims 1-7 and 10-16 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of the method (Group II) in the reply filed on 02/18/2026 is acknowledged. Newly submitted claims 10-16 are directed towards the non-elected group of the apparatus (Group I) set forth in the restriction requirement mailed 11/21/2025.
Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (US20220118692).
Regarding claim 8, Chen teaches a stereolithography method ([0155] Coating, Curing, Cleaning, and Post-Curing 3D Printing Process (“CP3”)) including the steps of:
supplying a first material which is a photocurable material ([0163] In the first step 901 of the process, a layer of photocurable material is coated onto the platform of the apparatus or onto a previously built layer of the part being 3D printed);
forming a first pre-exposure material layer on a manufacturing surface or a cured composition layer formed on the manufacturing surface ([0163]) by drawing and spreading the first material layer ([0165] When the platform passes through the mesh screen from the above, the permeated liquid resin will be coated on the bottom of the previously printed layers and between the gaps. The layer thickness is controlled precisely by the linear Z stage, not by the amount of liquid resin permeated from the screen mesh. By controlling the pump pressure (by adjusting, for example) the speed of a stepper motor for the pump), about 0.3 mm to 0.5 mm resin is permeated through the mesh screen that is then coated on the previously built layers with a set layer thickness);
forming a first post-exposure material layer including one or a plurality of exposed portions by exposing the first pre-exposure material layer ([0168]; see annotated Figure 9C below);
causing the one or plurality of first exposed portions to remain as one or a plurality of first cured portions by removing one or a plurality of first unexposed portions from the first post- exposure material layer ([0174]; see annotated Figure 9C below);
supplying a second material which is a photocurable material different from the first material ([0183]-[0185]);
forming a second pre-exposure material layer that is in contact with the one or plurality of first cured portions by drawing and spreading the second material after the one or plurality of first unexposed portions are removed ([0184] a second printhead device is moved into position in step 905 to repeat the four steps, adding a second type of material to the same layer);
forming a second post-exposure material layer including one or a plurality of second exposed portions by exposing the second pre-exposure material layer ([0184] a second printhead device is moved into position in step 905 to repeat the four steps, adding a second type of material to the same layer.; see annotated Figure 9C below); and
causing the one or plurality of second exposed portions to remain as one or a plurality of second cured portions by removing one or a plurality of second unexposed portions from the second post-exposure material layer (see remaining second post-exposure material in annotated Figure 9C below),
wherein with the stereolithography method, an object that includes the one or plurality of first cured portions and the one or plurality of second cured portions is manufactured (see printed part including first and second cured portions in Figure 9C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (US20220118692).
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches the stereolithography method according to claim 8, wherein the step of forming a first pre-exposure material layer includes forming the first pre- exposure material layer such that the first pre-exposure material layer has a first thickness, and the step of forming a second pre-exposure material layer includes forming the second pre-exposure material layer such that the second pre-exposure material layer has a second thickness ([0165] By controlling the pump pressure (by adjusting, for example) the speed of a stepper motor for the pump), about 0.3 mm to 0.5 mm resin is permeated through the mesh screen that is then coated on the previously built layers with a set layer thickness (e.g., 50 μm or 100 μm)).
While Chen fails to explicitly teach the second thickness is larger than the first thickness, Chen does teach the layer thickness can be set to either 50 µm or 100 µm ([0165] that is then coated on the previously built layers with a set layer thickness (e.g., 50 μm or 100 μm)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the second thickness of Chen be larger than the first thickness of Chen, since choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success is obvious. It has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007)). In the instant case, Chen teaches layer thicknesses can be set to either 50 µm or 100 µm. The second thickness can then be either smaller, equal to, or larger than the first thickness.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743