Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “first stent layer means” and “connecting wire means” in claim 20.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by US 20200268500 to Brandeis.
Regarding claim 1, Brandeis discloses a stent (see Fig. 8A) comprising: an outer stent layer 802 comprising at least one first stent wire braided into a first tubular shape; wherein the at least one first stent wire comprises a DFT wire (para [0415] and 0419 discloses 802 to be a woven mesh material made of shape memory material (SMM); para [0026] discloses SMM can be DFT wires) and, an inner stent layer 801 comprising one or more second stent wires braided into a second tubular shape (para [0412] discloses 801 as an inner mesh) wherein the outer stent layer is connected to the inner stent layer (see Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 2, Brandeis disclose that the second stent wires comprise DFT wires (inner mesh layer 801 can be made of SMM such as DFT wires; [0151], [0026]).
Regarding claim 3. Brandeis discloses that the second stent wire can also be a made of non-DFT wires, such as flexible mesh materials ([0420], flexible mesh materials such as polyurethane, etc [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Brandeis discloses another stent embodiment in Fig. 8B comprising: an outer stent layer 812 comprising at least one first stent wire braided into a first tubular shape; wherein the at least one first stent wire comprises a DFT wire (para [0429] mesh material made of shape memory material (SMM); para [0026] discloses SMM can be DFT wires) and, an inner stent layer 811 comprising one or more second stent wires braided into a second tubular shape (para [0428] discloses 811 as an inner mesh), wherein the outer stent layer is connected to the inner stent layer (see Fig. 8B), and a third layer 813 comprising one or more third stent wires braided into a third tubular shape ([0430] mesh), wherein the outer stent layer 812 is positioned within the third stent layer 813).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200268500 to Brandeis in view of US 20210137715 to Ringwala et al.
Regarding claim 5, Brandeis discloses all the limitations of the claim, as applied to claim 1 above, but is silent with regards to the outer stent layer is braided with only a single DFT wire.
However, Ringwala discloses that it is known for a stent having a stent layer 130 be made of a mesh material that is braided from a single stent wire [0046].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the outer stent layer of Brandeis to be made of a single wire instead of multiple wires since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known means for another known means would yield predictable results. In this instance, it would be substituting the multiple wires layer of Brandeis with the single wire layer of Ringwala.
Regarding claim 6, Brandeis discloses the inner stent layer be made of a plurality of wires that are composed of a non-DFT material ([0422] mesh woven from a combination of metal and polymer materials).
Claims 7-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20200268500 to Brandeis in view of US 20210030570 to Pung et al.
Regarding claim 7, Brandeis discloses all the limitations of the claims, including the inner and outer layer connected to each other as a unit shown in Fig. 8B, but fails to disclose one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer and the second stent layer; wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer and the second stent layer.
However, Pung discloses a stent a stent having an inner stent layer and an outer stent layer, and one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer and the second stent layer (one or more support wires 814 connected to outer layer wires 102 and inner layer wires 204; Fig. 23-26; [0110]); wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer and the second stent layer (support wires 814 comprise nitinol, which is a shape memory material, and are capable of having a shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with inner layer wires 204 and the outer layer wires 102; Fig. 23-26; [0106 and 0110-0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stent of Brandeis to include one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer and the second stent layer; wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer and the second stent layer, as taught by Pung, for the advantages of providing additional radial compression resistance as well as insertion force resistance and locking the two stent layers together to overcome any manufacturing defects and ensure proper deployment.
Regarding claim 13, Brandeis discloses a stent (see Fig. 8A) comprising: a first stent layer 802 comprising at least one first stent wire braided into a first tubular shape; wherein the at least one first stent wire comprises a DFT wire (para [0415] and 0419 discloses 802 to be a woven mesh material made of shape memory material (SMM); para [0026] discloses SMM can be DFT wires).
Brandeis fails to disclose one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer; wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer.
However, Pung discloses a stent a stent having an inner stent layer and an outer stent layer, and one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer and the second stent layer (one or more support wires 814 connected to outer layer wires 102 and inner layer wires 204; Fig. 23-26; [0110]); wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer and the second stent layer (support wires 814 comprise nitinol, which is a shape memory material, and are capable of having a shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with inner layer wires 204 and the outer layer wires 102; Fig. 23-26; [0106 and 0110-0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stent of Brandeis to include one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer; wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer and the second stent layer, as taught by Pung, for the advantages of providing additional radial compression resistance as well as insertion force resistance and locking the two stent layers together to overcome any manufacturing defects and ensure proper deployment.
Regarding claims 8 and 15, Brandeis in view of Pung discloses all the limitations of claims 7 and 13, respectively, and wherein Pung further discloses wherein the secondary shape of the one or more connecting wires 814 has a diameter larger than an expanded diameter of the stent (see Fig. 27, wire 814 has a diameter that is larger than overall diameter of the stent).
Regarding claims 9 and 16, Brandeis in view of Pung discloses all the limitations of claims 7 and 13, respectively, and wherein Pung further discloses wherein the secondary shape of the one or more connecting wires 814 is helically wound.
Regarding claim 10, Brandeis in view of Pung discloses all the limitations of claim 9, and wherein Pung further discloses wherein the connecting wires 814 is substantially similar to a braid pitch of the stent (see Fig. 27, therefore the connecting wire of Pung can be modified to the stent of Brandeis and have the same braid pitch of the stent).
Regarding claims 11 and 17, Brandeis in view of Pung discloses all the limitations of claims 9 and 13, respectively, and wherein Pung further discloses a first coil disposed around a first end portion of one of the one or more connecting wires and around a first portion of the at least one stent wire (windings 816 are formed about support wires 814 and outer layer wires 102 at the proximal end of support wires 814; Fig. 23-26; [0110-0111]), and a second coil disposed around a second end portion of one or the one or more connecting wires and around a second portion of the at least one stent wire (windings 816 are formed about support wires 814 and outer layer wires 102 at the distal end of support wires 814; fig. 23-26; [0110-0111]).
Regarding claims 12 and 18, Brandeis in view of Pung discloses all the limitations of claims 9 and 13, respectively, and wherein Pung further discloses the one or more connecting wires comprise a first connecting wire connected along a first region of the stent and a second connecting wire connected along a second region of the stent (one or more support wires 814 connected to outer layer wires 102 and inner layer wires 204; fig. 23-26; [0110]).
Regarding claim 14, Brandeis in view of Pung discloses all the limitations of claim 13, and wherein the modified device of Brandeis further discloses a second stent layer 801 braided from a plurality of second stent wires. The modified device of Brandeis would also have the connecting wires of Pung be interwoven with the first and second stent layer, as disclosed by Pung (one or more support wires 814 woven between the outer layer wires 102 and inner layer wires 204; fig. 23-26; [0110-0111]).
Regarding claims 19, Brandeis in view of Pung discloses all the limitations of claim 13, and wherein Pung further discloses the connecting wires 814 having a diameter larger than an expanded diameter of the stent (see Fig. 27, wire 814 has a diameter that is larger than overall diameter of the stent).
Regarding claim 20, Brandeis discloses a stent (see Fig. 8A) comprising: a first stent layer means 802 comprising at least one first stent wire braided into a first tubular shape; wherein the at least one first stent wire comprises a DFT wire (para [0415] and 0419 discloses 802 to be a woven mesh material made of shape memory material (SMM); para [0026] discloses SMM can be DFT wires).
Brandeis fails to disclose one or more connecting wires means for connecting to the first stent layer means; wherein the one or more connecting wire means are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer.
However, Pung discloses a stent a stent having an inner stent layer and an outer stent layer, and one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer and the second stent layer (one or more support wires 814 connected to outer layer wires 102 and inner layer wires 204; Fig. 23-26; [0110]); wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer and the second stent layer (support wires 814 comprise nitinol, which is a shape memory material, and are capable of having a shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with inner layer wires 204 and the outer layer wires 102; Fig. 23-26; [0106 and 0110-0112]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the stent of Brandeis to include one or more connecting wires connected to the first stent layer means; wherein the one or more connecting wires are composed of a shape memory material and have been shape set to have a secondary shape prior to connection with the first stent layer and the second stent layer, as taught by Pung, for the advantages of providing additional radial compression resistance as well as insertion force resistance and locking the two stent layers together to overcome any manufacturing defects and ensure proper deployment.
Conclusion
/DARWIN P EREZO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771