CTNF 18/561,724 CTNF 82867 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Amendment Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed May 13, 2026. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Gardas et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0293043 A1) . For claim 1, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a base plate (i.e. one of the rotor laminations 20 that is adjacent to the spacer block 23, see figures 1, 4, and also see paragraph [0025]) arranged between core laminations of the rotor (reference numeral 8) and comprising ventilation holes (reference numeral 38) axially aligned with inlet channels of the rotor respectively (see figures 1-4); and a plurality of airflow guides (reference numerals 84, 88) axially protruding from a radial outer portion of an end surface of the base plate (reference numeral 20) relative to the ventilation hole (reference numeral 38, see figure 4), the plurality of airflow guides comprising: a plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) formed on the base plate (reference numeral 20, see figure 4), axially protruding from the end surface of the base plate (i.e. first guiding members 88 on lamination 20 in figure 4 would be axially protruding from lamination 20), and extending radially (see figure 4); and a plurality of second guiding members (reference numeral 84) formed on the base plate (reference numeral 20, see figure 4), axially protruding from the end surface of the base plate (i.e. second guiding members 84 when the spacer block 23 is placed on the lamination 20 as shown in figure 4 would have the second guiding members 84 axially protruding from the lamination 20), and arranged between the first guiding member (reference numeral 88) and the ventilation holes (reference numeral 38) and radially spaced apart from the first guiding member (reference numeral 88) by a predetermined distance (see figure 4). For claim 4, Gardas et al. disclose a number of the second guiding members (reference numeral 84) being less than a number of the first guiding members (reference numeral 88, see figure 4). For claim 6, Gardas et al. disclose the base plate further comprising: a plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45, see figure 2) aligned to fins of the core laminations (see figure 2), and wherein the plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) are arranged on the plurality of fins respectively (see figure 4), and the plurality of second guiding members (reference numeral 84) are arranged between the plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45) and the ventilation hole (reference numeral 38, see figure 4). For claim 10, Gardas et al. disclose a rotor (reference numeral 8) comprising at least one air duct assembly of claim 1 (see figures 1-4). For claim 14, Gardas et al. disclose a number of the second guiding members (reference numeral 84) being less than a number of the first guiding members (reference numeral 88, see figure 4). For claim 17, Gardas et al. disclose the base plate further comprising: a plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45, see figure 2) aligned to fins of the core laminations (see figure 2), and wherein the plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) are arranged on the plurality of fins respectively (see figure 4), and the plurality of second guiding members (reference numeral 84) are arranged between the plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45) and the ventilation hole (reference numeral 38, see figure 4) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 2, 3, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardas et al . as applied to claim s 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Robinson (US Patent No.: 3260874) . For claims 2 and 12, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of second guiding members being tilted, with respect to the corresponding first guiding members, at a predetermined angle in a rotating direction of the rotor radially outside to inside. Having the guiding members tilted is a known skill as exhibited by Robinson (reference numerals 37, 38, see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tilted members as disclosed by Robinson for the second guiding members of Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device. For claims 3 and 13, Gardas et al. in view of Robinson disclose the claimed invention except for the predetermined angle being in a range of 25°-60°. The angle of the tilted members of Robinson (reference numerals 37, 38) can be considered to be 25°-60° (see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tilted members at a particular angle as disclosed by Robinson for the second guiding members of Gardas et al. in view of Robinson for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 5, 7, 8, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardas et al . as applied to claim s 1, 4, 6, 10, and 14 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0169076 A1) . For claims 5 and 15, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the number of the second guiding members being half of the number of the first guiding members. Having a particular number of second guiding members relative to the first guiding members would merely involve adjusting the number of first guiding members, as exhibited by Li et al. which disclose a number of first guiding members (reference numeral 1220, figure 12) which is different from the number of first guiding members disclosed by Gardas et al. (reference numeral 88 in figure 4 of Gardas et al.), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a different number of first guiding members as disclosed by Li et al. for the first guiding members of Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device. For claims 7 and 16, Gardas et al. disclose the plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) radially extending a predetermined length on the plurality of fins (see figure 4), and the predetermined length is above a half of a radial length of a respective fin (see figure 4). For claims 8 and 18, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of airflow guides being formed on the base plate by welding. Li et al. disclose the airflow guides (reference numeral 1220, figure 12) being welded onto the plate (see paragraph [0062]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the welding as disclosed by Li et al. for the airflow guides of Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for securing the components in the device . 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 9, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardas et al . as applied to claim s 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Lynn (US Patent No.: 2381297) . For claims 9 and 19, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a plurality of secondary airflow guides arranged between the ventilation holes and each extending radially. Gardas et al. already disclose airflow guides arranged between the ventilation holes (i.e. portion 86 being in between the ventilation holes 38, see figure 4), and having them separated from the first and second guiding members would merely involve having the guiding members radially spaced away from the ventilation holes which is a known skill as exhibited by Lynn (i.e. guiding members 48, 54 being radially outward from the ventilation holes 20, see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second guiding members radially separated from the ventilation holes as disclosed by Lynn for providing separation from the airflow guides in between the ventilation holes of Gardas et al. for providing a plurality of secondary airflow guides for Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device. For claim 11, Gardas et al. disclose an electric machine (reference numeral 2) with the rotor (reference numeral 8, see figure 1), i.e. an electric machine comprising the rotor of claim 9 . Response to Arguments 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed 5/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant's assertion that the rotor lamination member 20 and spacer block 23 are separate components as disclosed by Gardas and therefore cannot teach applicant's claim 1 recitation of “a plurality of first guiding members formed on the base plate” and “a plurality of second guiding members formed on the base plate,” with both sets of guiding members “axially protruding from the end surface of the base plate”; this was not found persuasive since the arrangement of the spacer block 23 being disposed on the rotor lamination member 20 in Gardas et al. would still teach the first guiding members being formed on the base plate as well as the second guiding members being formed on the base plate. Applicant's claim reciting the first guiding members and the second guiding members being formed on the base plate does not prevent a person of ordinary skill from having the first and second guiding members be separate from the base plate before having the first and second guiding members be disposed on the base plate (by having the spacer block 23 placed on the rotor lamination member 20 in Gardas et al.) in order to have the first and second guiding members be “formed on the base plate”, and once the spacer block 23 is placed on the rotor lamination member 20 in Gardas et al. (figure 4 of Gardas et al.) this would then teach both sets of guiding members to be “axially protruding from the end surface of the base plate” . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ALEX W MOK whose telephone number is (571)272-9084. The examiner can normally be reached 8am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Seye Iwarere can be reached at (571) 270-5112. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 2 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 3 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 4 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 5 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 6 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 7 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 8 Art Unit: 2834 Application/Control Number: 18/561,724 Page 9 Art Unit: 2834