DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of Amendment filed December 8, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gardas et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0293043 A1).
For claim 1, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention comprising: a base plate (i.e. one of the rotor laminations 20 that is adjacent to the spacer block 23, see figures 1, 4, and also see paragraph [0025]) arranged between core laminations of the rotor (reference numeral 8) and comprising ventilation holes (reference numeral 38) axially aligned with inlet channels of the rotor respectively (see figures 1-4); and a plurality of airflow guides (reference numerals 84, 88) axially protruding from a radial outer portion of an end surface of the base plate (reference numeral 20) relative to the ventilation hole (reference numeral 38, see figure 4), the plurality of airflow guides comprising: a plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) extending radially (see figure 4); and a plurality of second guiding members (reference numeral 84) arranged between the first guiding member (reference numeral 88) and the ventilation holes (reference numeral 38) and radially spaced apart from the first guiding member (reference numeral 88) by a predetermined distance (see figure 4).
For claim 4, Gardas et al. disclose a number of the second guiding members (reference numeral 84) being less than a number of the first guiding members (reference numeral 88, see figure 4).
For claim 6, Gardas et al. disclose the base plate further comprising: a plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45, see figure 2) aligned to fins of the core laminations (see figure 2), and wherein the plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) are arranged on the plurality of fins respectively (see figure 4), and the plurality of second guiding members (reference numeral 84) are arranged between the plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45) and the ventilation hole (reference numeral 38, see figure 4).
For claim 10, Gardas et al. disclose a rotor (reference numeral 8) comprising at least one air duct assembly of claim 1 (see figures 1-4).
For claim 14, Gardas et al. disclose a number of the second guiding members (reference numeral 84) being less than a number of the first guiding members (reference numeral 88, see figure 4).
For claim 17, Gardas et al. disclose the base plate further comprising: a plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45, see figure 2) aligned to fins of the core laminations (see figure 2), and wherein the plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) are arranged on the plurality of fins respectively (see figure 4), and the plurality of second guiding members (reference numeral 84) are arranged between the plurality of fins (i.e. fins in between members 45) and the ventilation hole (reference numeral 38, see figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 3, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardas et al. as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Robinson (US Patent No.: 3260874).
For claims 2 and 12, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of second guiding members being tilted, with respect to the corresponding first guiding members, at a predetermined angle in a rotating direction of the rotor radially outside to inside. Having the guiding members tilted is a known skill as exhibited by Robinson (reference numerals 37, 38, see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tilted members as disclosed by Robinson for the second guiding members of Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device.
For claims 3 and 13, Gardas et al. in view of Robinson disclose the claimed invention except for the predetermined angle being in a range of 25°-60°. The angle of the tilted members of Robinson (reference numerals 37, 38) can be considered to be 25°-60° (see figure 2), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the tilted members at a particular angle as disclosed by Robinson for the second guiding members of Gardas et al. in view of Robinson for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device.
Claim(s) 5, 7, 8, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardas et al. as applied to claims 1, 4, 6, 10, and 14 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US Patent Application Pub. No.: US 2013/0169076 A1).
For claims 5 and 15, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the number of the second guiding members being half of the number of the first guiding members. Having a particular number of second guiding members relative to the first guiding members would merely involve adjusting the number of first guiding members, as exhibited by Li et al. which disclose a number of first guiding members (reference numeral 1220, figure 12) which is different from the number of first guiding members disclosed by Gardas et al. (reference numeral 88 in figure 4 of Gardas et al.), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a different number of first guiding members as disclosed by Li et al. for the first guiding members of Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device.
For claims 7 and 16, Gardas et al. disclose the plurality of first guiding members (reference numeral 88) radially extending a predetermined length on the plurality of fins (see figure 4), and the predetermined length is above a half of a radial length of a respective fin (see figure 4).
For claims 8 and 18, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the plurality of airflow guides being formed on the base plate by welding. Li et al. disclose the airflow guides (reference numeral 1220, figure 12) being welded onto the plate (see paragraph [0062]), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the welding as disclosed by Li et al. for the airflow guides of Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for securing the components in the device.
Claim(s) 9, 11, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardas et al. as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Lynn (US Patent No.: 2381297).
For claims 9 and 19, Gardas et al. disclose the claimed invention except for a plurality of secondary airflow guides arranged between the ventilation holes and each extending radially. Gardas et al. already disclose airflow guides arranged between the ventilation holes (i.e. portion 86 being in between the ventilation holes 38, see figure 4), and having them separated from the first and second guiding members would merely involve having the guiding members radially spaced away from the ventilation holes which is a known skill as exhibited by Lynn (i.e. guiding members 48, 54 being radially outward from the ventilation holes 20, see figure 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first and second guiding members radially separated from the ventilation holes as disclosed by Lynn for providing separation from the airflow guides in between the ventilation holes of Gardas et al. for providing a plurality of secondary airflow guides for Gardas et al. for predictably providing desirable configuration for facilitating the cooling of the device.
For claim 11, Gardas et al. disclose an electric machine (reference numeral 2) with the rotor (reference numeral 8, see figure 1), i.e. an electric machine comprising the rotor of claim 9.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/8/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s assertion that the reference of Gardas et al. does not disclose the claimed “base plate” as the reference of Gardas et al. disclose “a plurality of rotor lamination members 20” and therefore does not disclose the claimed feature of a “base plate arranged between core laminations of the rotor” and also that Gardas et al. do not disclose the first and second guiding members “protruding from a radial outer portion of an end surface of the base plate” since Gardas et al. disclose “spacer finger members 80” being on the “spacer block 23” while the “spacers 88” are on the rotor lamination members 20, this was not found persuasive because one of the lamination members 20 in Gardas et al. can still be considered the base plate. Gardas et al. in paragraph [0025] discloses that "Select ones of rotor lamination members 20 are spaced one from another by rotor spacer blocks 23 to form cooling fluid passageways", therefore one of the rotor lamination members 20 that is adjacent to the rotor spacer block 23 can be considered the base plate, and figure 4 of Gardas et al. can be considered to illustrate the claimed “base plate”, where the end portion 84 of the finger member 80 on spacer block 23 can be considered the claimed “second guiding member” (see figure 4 of Gardas et al.), and the spacer 88 on lamination 20 can be considered the claimed “first guiding member” (see figure 4 of Gardas et al.).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEX W MOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834