DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park et al.
(US 2021/0344033 A1, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on October 13, 2025, and hereinafter “Park”).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a tab plate ([0029]-[0031] and Fig. 1, first positive electrode plate 111 and second negative electrode plate 112), comprising a coating area ([0030]-[0031], [0061], [0063], [0067], and Fig. 2, first and second electrode active materials 111a and insulation layer 111c, second electrode plate 112 has the same structure as first electrode plate 111) and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area ([0030]-[0031] and Fig. 2, first and second non-coated part 111b), a boundary line being formed at a connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area (see Annotated Fig. 3 below, boundary line), wherein the empty foil area is cut to form a plurality of tabs of quadrilateral structure, and the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate ([0033], Fig. 2 and see Annotated Fig. 3 below, isosceles trapezoidal electrode tabs and length direction), four sides of each tab comprise a first side, a second side, and a third side, the third side is located in the empty foil area and is close to the boundary line, and the third side is parallel to the boundary line and is at a distance of less than 5 mm from the boundary line (see Annotated Fig. 3 below, first side, second side, and third side, third side is on the boundary line); the first side is arranged opposite to the second side, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the third side, an angle a is formed between the first side and the third side, and the angle a is an acute angle (see Annotated Fig. 3 below, acute angle β).
Park et al. Annotated Fig. 3
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein the tab plate is a positive electrode tab plate or a negative electrode tab plate ([0030]-[0031], [0063], [0067], first positive electrode plate 111 and second negative electrode plate 112 have the same structure), and a winding direction of the tab plate is the same as an orientation of the angle a ([0045]-[0051] and Fig. 4, winding direction indicated by length L).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses wherein the four sides of each tab also comprise a fourth side, the fourth side is away from the boundary line and is arranged opposite to the third side, the fourth side together with the first side, the second side and the third side form a quadrilateral shape ([0033] and see Annotated Fig. 3 below, isosceles trapezoidal electrode tabs with fourth side).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses the limitations of claim 1. Park further discloses a wound battery ([0028] and Fig. 1, secondary battery 100), comprising a positive electrode tab plate and a negative electrode tab plate ([0028]-[0031] and Fig. 1, electrode assembly 110 with first positive electrode plate 111 and second negative electrode plate 112), wherein the positive electrode tab plate and the negative electrode tab plate are the tab plate as claimed in claim 1 ([0030]-[0031], [0063], [0067]).
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses the limitations of claim 10. Park further discloses wherein the wound battery further comprises a first separator ([0029] and Fig. 1, separator 113), the first separator is sandwiched between the positive electrode tab plate and the negative electrode tab plate ([0034] and Fig. 1), wherein the positive electrode tab plate, the first separator and the negative electrode tab plate are stacked and wound to form a battery cell ([0029]), tabs of the positive electrode tab plate and tabs of the negative electrode tab plate are respectively located at both ends of the battery cell ([0042]-[0043] and Fig. 1, first non-coated part 111b connected to first current collecting plate 141 and second non-coated part connected to second current collecting plate 142, located on opposite ends of secondary battery 100).
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tajima et al. (JP 2014022102 A, cited by Applicant in IDS filed on April 20, 2026, machine translation relied upon herein, and hereinafter “Tajima”).
Regarding claim 1, Tajima discloses a tab plate ([0022], [0056], and see Annotated Fig. 11 below, positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25), comprising a coating area ([0056] and see Annotated Fig. 11 below, active material layers 24a and 25a) and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area ([0056] and see Annotated Fig. 11 below, uncoated active material portions 24b and 25b), a boundary line being formed at a connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, boundary line), wherein the empty foil area is cut to form a plurality of tabs of quadrilateral structure, and the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, tab and length direction), four sides of each tab comprise a first side, a second side, and a third side, the third side is located in the empty foil area and is close to the boundary line, and the third side is parallel to the boundary line and is at a distance of less than 5 mm from the boundary line (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, first side, second side, and third side, third side is on the boundary line); the first side is arranged opposite to the second side, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the third side, an angle a is formed between the first side and the third side, and the angle a is an acute angle (see Annotated Fig. 11 below, acute angle a).
Tajima et al. Annotated Fig. 11
Regarding claim 2, Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein the tab plate is a positive electrode tab plate or a negative electrode tab plate ([0046] and Fig. 6, positive electrode 44 and negative electrode 45, with the same structure as positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25), and a winding direction of the tab plate is the same as an orientation of the angle a (Fig. 6, winding direction parallel to boundary line).
Regarding claim 3, Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein the four sides of each tab also comprise a fourth side, the fourth side is away from the boundary line and is arranged opposite to the third side, the fourth side together with the first side, the second side and the third side form a quadrilateral shape (see Annotated Fig. 11 above, parallelogram tab with fourth side).
Regarding claim 5, Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein an angle formed between the second side and the third side is b, the angle b is a right angle or obtuse angle, and the sum of the angle a and the angle b is less than or equal to 180° (see Annotated Fig. 11 above, obtuse angle b).
Regarding claim 6, Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses wherein the tabs have a parallelogram structure (see Annotated Fig. 11 above, parallelogram tab).
Regarding claim 10, Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 1. Tajima further discloses a wound battery ([0045] and Fig. 6, wound secondary battery 30), comprising a positive electrode tab plate and a negative electrode tab plate wherein the positive electrode tab plate and the negative electrode tab plate are the tab plate as claimed in claim 1 ([0046] and Fig. 6, positive electrode 44 and negative electrode 45, with the same structure as positive electrode 24 and negative electrode 25).
Regarding claim 11, Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 10. Tajima further discloses wherein the wound battery further comprises a first separator, the first separator is sandwiched between the positive electrode tab plate and the negative electrode tab plate ([0046] and Fig. 6, separator 46 interposed between positive electrode 44 and negative electrode 45), wherein the positive electrode tab plate, the first separator and the negative electrode tab plate are stacked and wound to form a battery cell ([0046]), tabs of the positive electrode tab plate and tabs of the negative electrode tab plate are respectively located at both ends of the battery cell (Fig. 7, positive uncoated active material portion 44b and negative active material portion 45b located on opposite ends of secondary battery 30).
Claims 1-4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cho et al. (KR 20160092748 A, machine translation relied upon herein, and hereinafter “Cho”).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a tab plate ([0020] and see Annotated Fig. 6 below, positive plate 111 and negative plate 112), comprising a coating area ([0022], positive active material coating on positive plate 111 and negative active material coating on negative plate 112) and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area ([0024], [0044], and see Annotated Fig. 6 below, positive tabs 114 and negative tabs 115 formed by cutting uncoated portions of positive plate 111 and negative plate 112), a boundary line being formed at a connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area (see Annotated Fig. 6 below, boundary line), wherein the empty foil area is cut to form a plurality of tabs of quadrilateral structure ([0024] and see Annotated Fig. 6 below, positive tabs 114 and negative tabs 115), and the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate (Fig. 5), four sides of each tab comprise a first side, a second side, and a third side, the third side is located in the empty foil area and is close to the boundary line ([0043] and see Annotated Fig. 6 below, round portions 114c and first region 114a), and the third side is parallel to the boundary line and is at a distance of less than 5 mm from the boundary line (see Annotated Fig. 6 below, first region 114a on boundary line); the first side is arranged opposite to the second side, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the third side, an angle a is formed between the first side and the third side, and the angle a is an acute angle (see Annotated Fig. 6 below, acute angle a).
Cho et al. Annotated Fig. 6
Regarding claim 2, Cho discloses the limitations of claim 1. Cho further discloses wherein the tab plate is a positive electrode tab plate or a negative electrode tab plate ([0044], positive tab 114 and negative tab 115 may have the same structure), and a winding direction of the tab plate is the same as an orientation of the angle a (Figs. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 3, Cho discloses the limitations of claim 1. Cho further discloses wherein the four sides of each tab also comprise a fourth side, the fourth side is away from the boundary line and is arranged opposite to the third side, the fourth side together with the first side, the second side and the third side form a quadrilateral shape ([0043] and see Annotated Fig. 11 above, tab 114 with second region 114b).
Regarding claim 4, Cho discloses the limitations of claim 3. Cho further discloses wherein an angle formed between the first side and the fourth side is rounded, and an angle formed between the second side and the fourth side is rounded ([0046] and see Annotated Fig. 6 above, angle between second region 114b and round portion 114c is a concave rounded corner).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses the limitations of claim 1. Cho further discloses a wound battery ([0019]-[0021] and Fig. 3, secondary battery 100 with wound electrode assembly 110) comprising a positive electrode tab plate and a negative electrode tab plate ([0021], positive plate 111 and negative plate 112), wherein the positive electrode tab plate or the negative electrode tab plate are the tab plate as claimed in claim 1 ([0022]-[0023] and [0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7-8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Tanaka (JP 2014022116 A, machine translation relied upon herein).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the limitations of claim 3. Park does not disclose wherein an angle formed between the first side and the fourth side is rounded, and/or an angle formed between the second side and the fourth side is rounded.
Tanaka discloses positive electrode tab portions 37 and 39 with rounded obtuse angles ([0035] and Fig. 4, rounded angles θ5-θ8), and that the positive electrode plate 30 and negative electrode plate 40 have the same configuration ([0031]).
Park and Tanaka are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress deformation of the tip of the electrode tab (Tanaka [0035]).
Regarding claims 7, 13, 14, and 15, Park and modified Park disclose the limitations of 1, 2, 3, and 4 respectively. Park and modified Park further disclose wherein there is a spacing between every two adjacent tabs, but do not disclose that the length of the spacing is 1/10-1/2 of the length of the tab.
Tanaka discloses a slit with width 2 mm between current collector tab portions with width 15 mm each ([0037], Example 1), and width 20 mm ([0038], Example 2). In Example 1, the length of the spacing is 1/7.5 of the length of the tab, and in Example 2, the length of the spacing is 1/10 of the length of the tab.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress deformation of the tab when an external force is applied along the side surface of the tab, preventing bending, cracking, and deforming of the base of the tab (Tanaka [0013]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Park discloses the limitations of claim 8. Modified Park further discloses wherein the length of the spacing is 0.1 mm-10 mm (Tanaka [0037], slit with width 2 mm).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (US 2021/0344033 A1) in view of Xing et al. (CN 104409768 A, machine translation relied upon herein, and hereinafter “Xing”).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses flattening the electrode tab during winding and contacting the electrode tab with a current collecting plate [0014]). Park does not disclose wherein a distance of the tabs of the positive electrode tab plate beyond a top end of the first separator after being flattened is 0.5-5 mm, and a distance of the tabs of the negative electrode tab plate beyond a bottom end of the first separator after being flattened is less than 5 mm.
Xing discloses a tab 16 with a bending dimension of 0.3 to 3 mm in the height direction of cell 14 ([0030] and Figs. 1 and 6).
Xing is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrode plates of Park with the teachings of Xing, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve connection reliability between the tab and the terminal post, suppressing the possibility of breakage during assembly or use (Xing [0030]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Claims 4, 7-8, and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tajima (JP 2014022102 A) in view of Tanaka (JP 2014022116 A).
Regarding claim 4, Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 3. Tajima does not disclose wherein an angle formed between the first side and the fourth side is rounded, and/or an angle formed between the second side and the fourth side is rounded.
Tanaka discloses positive electrode tab portions 37 and 39 with rounded obtuse angles ([0035] and Fig. 4, rounded angles θ5-θ8), and that the positive electrode plate 30 and negative electrode plate 40 have the same configuration ([0031]).
Tajima is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of wound tab plates. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of Tajima with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress deformation of the tip of the electrode tab (Tanaka [0035]).
Regarding claims 7, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 17, Tajima and modified Tajima disclose the limitations of 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 respectively. Tajima and modified Tajima further disclose wherein there is a spacing between every two adjacent tabs, but do not disclose that the length of the spacing is 1/10-1/2 of the length of the tab.
Tanaka discloses a slit with width 2 mm between current collector tab portions with width 15 mm each ([0037], Example 1), and width 20 mm ([0038], Example 2). In Example 1, the length of the spacing is 1/7.5 of the length of the tab, and in Example 2, the length of the spacing is 1/10 of the length of the tab.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the electrodes of Tajima with the teachings of Tanaka, and one of ordinary skill would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would suppress deformation of the tab when an external force is applied along the side surface of the tab, preventing bending, cracking, and deforming of the base of the tab (Tanaka [0013]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Tajima discloses the limitations of claim 7. Modified Tajima further discloses wherein the length of the spacing is 0.1 mm-10 mm (Tanaka [0037], slit with width 2 mm).
Claims 9 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR 20160092748 A).
Regarding claims 9, 18, 19, and 20, Cho discloses the limitations of claim 1, 2, 3, and 4, respectively. Cho further discloses that the radius of the round portion is 1 to 1.5 times the length of the second region 114b ([0048]) and the radius of the round portion 114c is 0.35 to 1 times the height of the tab 114 ([0050]). Therefore, a ratio of the second region length to the height of the tab is (2-8.6):2. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976) (see MPEP § 2144.05(I)).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 and 18-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 2-3, 5-8, 10-14, and 15-17 of copending Application No. 18/563,928 in view of Park (US 2021/0344033 A1).
Claim 1 of the instant application claims a tab plate, comprising a coating area and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area, a boundary line being formed at a connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area, wherein the empty foil area is cut to form a plurality of tabs of quadrilateral structure, and the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate, four sides of each tab comprise a first side, a second side, and a third side, the third side is located in the empty foil area and is close to the boundary line, and the third side is parallel to the boundary line and is at a distance of less than 5 mm from the boundary line; the first side is arranged opposite to the second side, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the third side, an angle a is formed between the first side and the third side, and the angle a is an acute angle.
Claim 3 of the reference application claims a tab plate, comprising a coating area and an empty foil area located on one side of the coating area, wherein the empty foil area comprises a cutting area and a reserved area, the reserved area is located between the coating area and the cutting area, the cutting area is cut to form a plurality of tabs, wherein the plurality of tabs are arranged in sequence along a length direction of the tab plate; a partition line is formed at a connection position between the cutting area and the reserved area, each tab comprises a first side and a second side which are oppositely arranged, and both the first side and the second side intersect with the partition line, an angle a is formed between the first side and the partition line, and the angle a is an acute angle, wherein a boundary line is formed at the connection position between the empty foil area and the coating area, and a distance between the partition line and the boundary line is less than or equal to 5 mm. Claim 3 of the reference application does not disclose that the plurality of tabs are of quadrilateral structure, and that the third side is close to and parallel to the boundary line.
Park discloses tabs that are isosceles trapezoids ([0033] and Figs. 2 and 3), and that the third side is close to and parallel to the boundary line (see Park Annotated Fig. 3 above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the tab plate of the reference application with the teachings of Park, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. Doing so would improve flatness during winding, providing uniform welding strength and resistance and improving welding quality (Park [0059]-[0060]).
Claims 2, 7, 10, 5, 6, 11-14, 15-17 of the reference application recite the additional limitations of claim 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9-12, and 18-20 of the instant application, respectively. Claim 8 of the reference application recites the additional limitations of claims 3 and 4 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/J.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1726
/JEFFREY T BARTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1726 9 July 2026