The Applicants’ Amendment to the Claims filed on 08/04/2026 is entered.
Claims 1-27, 34-36, 39-40, are canceled.
Claims 50-52 are new.
Claims 28-33, 37-38, and 41-52 are pending.
Claims 43-49 are withdrawn to non-elected invention group.
Claims 28-33, 37-38, 41-42, and 50-52 are under examination.
This is the First Office Action on the Merits of US 18/561,769 filed on 11/17/2023 which is a 371 of PCT/US2022/030299 filed on 05/20/2022
which claims US priority benefit of US Provisional 63/191,271 filed on 05/20/2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I (e.g., claims 28-42, and 50-52) in the reply filed on August 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 43-49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 4, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS statements filed on 11/17/2023, 04/17/2025, 08/04/2026, and 09/09/2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See page 11, para 0058. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 31 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “range” in line 3 should be amended to “ranges”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 30-33, 37, 41, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 30 recites the limitations "the clinically approved dosage of BEZALIP SR" in lines 2-3 and "the clinically approved dosage of DAYPRO" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim because claim 30 depends from claim 29 and base claim 28 which do not refer to a clinically approved dosage.
Claim 32 recites the limitations "the clinically approved dosage of BEZALIP SR" in line 3 and "the clinically approved dosage of DAYPRO" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim because claim 32 depends from claim 29 and base claim 28 which do not refer to a clinically approved dosage.
Claim 37 is indefinite because it recites “danuglipron (PF-06882961)”. It is unclear whether the structure of danuglipron is intended to be further limited by PF-06882961.
Claim 41 recites the limitation "the clinically approved dosage of said GLP-1 receptor agonist" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because claim 41 depends from base claim 28 which does not refer to a clinically approved dosage.
In addition, claims 30, and 32 contains the trademark/trade names BEZALIP SR, and DAYPRO. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade names are used to identify/describe bezafibrate sustained release and oxaprozin, respectively, and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claims 31, 33, and 50-52 are indefinite because they depend from indefinite claims and are not remedial.
Written Description
Claims 28, 37-38, and 41, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 28, 37-38, and 41 are drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the active ingredient of a fibroblast growth factor 7, including analogs of FGF7 combined with a GLP-1R agonist. Thus, claims required the critically essential element of the genus of analogs of FGF7 which function as a pharmaceutical when combined with a GLP-1R agonist. Note that the term analog is generally construed to have the plain meaning in the art which is a structure having similar function but not necessarily similar structure. In addition, in paragraph 0059 of the instant specification it states that “Analogs of FGF7, including hFGF7, have one or more of the following functional activities: improves parameters of metabolic health, recruitment of brown adipocyte stem/progenitor cells to increase the mass of BAT, increases energy expenditure or metabolic rate with no significant effects on food intake, morphogenesis of epithelium, reepithelialization of wounds, hair development, early lung organogenesis, and other mitogenic activity in keratinocytes”.
The Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has recently held that a "written description of an invention involving a chemical genus, like a description of a chemical species, 'requires a precise definition, such as be structure, formula [or] chemical name,' of the claimed subject matter sufficient to distinguish it from other materials." University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 1997 U.S. App. LEXlS 18221, at *23, quoting Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (bracketed material in original).
To fully describe a genus of genetic material, which is a chemical compound, applicants must (1) fully describe at least one species of the claimed genus sufficient to represent said genus whereby a skilled artisan, in view of the prior art, could predict the structure of other species encompassed by the claimed genus and (2) identify the common characteristics of the claimed molecules, e.g., structure, physical and/or chemical characteristics, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or a combination of these.
However, the state of the art provides evidence that a pharmaceutical comprising a GLP-1R agonist combined with Fgf7 is unpredictable. For example, Koehler et al disclose that the combination of a GLP-1R agonist combined with an Fgf7 is unpredictable regarding promotion of tumorigenesis in intestines, including small and large bowels. See Koehler et al “GLP-1R Agonists Promote Normal and Neoplastic Intestinal Growth through Mechanisms Requiring Fgf7” (Cell Metabolism 2015 Vol 21, pages 379-391 March 3, 2015).
While having written description of the claims drawn to the pharmaceutical comprising the species of instant SEQ ID Nos: 1-8, the instant specification nor the state of the art showed possession of the genus of analogs of FGF7. Claim 42 is remedial because it is limited to the species of SEQ ID Nos: 1-8. However, the specification does not provide sufficient descriptive support for the myriad of embodiments embraced by the claims. When there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. Given this lack of description of representative species encompassed by the genus of the claim, the specification does not sufficiently describe the claimed invention in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms that a skilled artisan would recognize that applicants were in possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
For inventions in an unpredictable art, adequate written description of a genus, which embraces widely variant species cannot be achieved by disclosing only one species within the genus. See, e.g., Eli Lilly. Description of a representative number of species does not require the description to be of such specificity that it would provide individual support for each species that the genus embraces. If a representative number of adequately described species are not disclosed for a genus, the claim to that genus must be rejected as lacking adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
In the instant case, the unpredictability of the art is evidenced by the cited references, above.
Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that a compound is part of the invention and reference to a potential method of isolating a compound. The compound itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601 at 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 28-33, 37-38, 41-42, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bianchi et al (US2023/0270825, filed on 12/18/2020), in view of Lee et al (US 2006/0069161), in further view of Saitoh et al (US 20190023657, filed on 01/24/2019).
Regarding claims 28-29, and 42, Bianchi et al disclose pharmaceutical compositions comprising bezafibrate as a first active ingredient, and a glucagon-like peptide-1 (GLP-1) receptor agonist as an additional active ingredient (see para 0600, 0639) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see para 0557). Note that claim 28 recites parts (a) and (b) in the alternative. For purpose of applying prior art, as presently written, claim 42 does not require the alternative of part (b) and therefore art which applies to part (a) also is applicable to claim 42.
Regarding claim 37, Bianchi et al disclose that the GLP-1R agonists include dulaglutide, semaglutide, albiglutide, exenatide, liraglutide, and lixisenatide.
Regarding claim 38, Bianchi et al discloses that the composition is in an injectable form or a solid dosage form. (See para 0672.)
However, Bianchi et al does not disclose oxaprozin (DAYPRO) as a third active ingredient.
Lee et al discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising bezafibrate (para 0009) as a first active ingredient, a second active ingredient of oxaprozin (para 0009, and pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (para[0182). Lee et al. discloses that their compositions are useful in treating preventing and reducing metabolic disorders, such as obesity, diabetes. [0008].
Regarding the dosage amount limitations of claims 30-33, and 50-52, Lee et al disclose that the pharmaceutical composition dosage of bezafibrate and oxaprozin ranges from 0.001 mg to 2000 mg per day [0185].
Claims 41, and 30-33, and 50-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for reasons provided above. For purpose of applying prior art, the dosage ranges from 0.001 mg to 2000 mg per day disclosed in Lee et al are construed to meet the dosage limitations of claims 30-33, and 50-52.
Further, regarding claim 41, Bianchi et al and Saitoh et al disclose dosage of GLP-1R agonist for use in a pharmaceutical. The dosage of Bianchi et al or Saitoh et al regarding GLP-1R agonist is construed to meet the limitation of about 10% to about 100% of a clinically approved dosage of the GLP-1R agonist.
However, neither Bianchi et al or Lee et al disclose the three active agents of base claim 28 (part a) in the same pharmaceutical composition.
Saitoh et al disclose pharmaceutical compositions comprising a combination of active ingredients (see para 0610) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see para 0680). Saitoh et al disclose two types of drug agents for their pharmaceutical compositions: (A) “a pain remedy drug” and (B) “a preventive and/or therapeutic drug for a disease with which pain is likely to occur” (see para 0612). Further, Saitoh et al disclose that types (A) and (B) may be combined in the same composition. (See para 0610). Saitoh et al disclose type (A) drugs include NSAIDS including oxaprozin. (See para 0617).
[0617] (A4) nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) [specifically, aspirin, mefenamic acid, diclofenac, sulindac, felbinac, etodolac, indomethacin, ibuprofen, ketoprofen, flurbiprofen, naproxen, pranoprofen, loxoprofen, zaltoprofen, piroxicam, lornoxicam, meloxicam, epirizole, tiaramide, diflusinal, fenbufen, fenoprofen, flufenisal, flurbiprofen, ketorolac, meclofenamic acid, nabumetone, nimesulide, nitroflurbiprofen, olsalazine, oxaprozin, phenylbutazone, sulfasalazine, tolmetin, zomepirac, and the like].
Further, Saitoh et al disclose that type (B) drugs include antioxidants including specifically bezafibrate, and GLP-1R agonists including specifically exenatide and liraglutide. (see para 0638).
Regarding claim 38, Saitoh et al discloses that the composition is in an injectable form or a solid dosage form. (See para 0680.)
The level of skill in the art was high before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art having the cited references would have been motivated to combine the oxaprozin, bezafibrate, and GLP-1R agonist into a combination pharmaceutical composition for the rationale of Saitoh et al to make it possible to lower the dosage of the individual drugs to reduce side effects. (See Saitoh et al para 0678).
It would have been obvious to combine the NSAID oxaprozin as a pain therapy drug with the antioxidant bezafibrate and the GLP1R agonists including exenatide and liraglutide because the cited references disclose that these are preferred embodiments of drugs which have been used for successful treatment of patients.
In view of the high skill level before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the NSAID oxaprozin as a pain therapy drug with the antioxidant bezafibrate and the GLP1R agonists including exenatide and liraglutide in a pharmaceutical composition to arrive at the presently claimed invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 28-33, 37-38, 41, and 50-52 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 20, 23, 25, 33-37, 39-40, and 42-43 of copending Application No. 17/924,694 in view of Saitoh et al (US 20190023657, filed on 01/24/2019).
Although the instant claims are not identical to the copending claims they are not patently distinct because they are rendered obvious over the combination of copending claims in view of Saitoh et al.
Regarding instant claims 28-29, copending claim 20 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of bezafibrate as a first active ingredient, a therapeutically effective amount of a second active ingredient selected from the group consisting of oxaprozin and zaltoprofen, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of bezafibrate ranges from about 5 mg to about 500 mg per day, and wherein the therapeutically effective amount of oxaprozin ranges from about 5 mg to about 500 mg.
Regarding instant claims 30-33, and 50-52, copending claim 23 recites that the therapeutically effective amount of bezafibrate ranges from about 100 mg to about 300 mg, and wherein the therapeutically effective amount of oxaprozin ranges from about 5 mg to about 500 mg which renders obvious the dosage limitations of bezafibrate from about 100 mg to about 400 mg and of oxaprozin from about 250 mg to about 500 mg.
However, the copending claims do not include a GLP-1R agonist as a third active ingredient in the pharmaceutical.
Saitoh et al disclose pharmaceutical compositions comprising a combination of active ingredients (see para 0610) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (see para 0680). Saitoh et al disclose two types of drug agents for their pharmaceutical compositions: (A) “a pain remedy drug” and (B) “a preventive and/or therapeutic drug for a disease with which pain is likely to occur” (see para 0612). Further, Saitoh et al disclose that types (A) and (B) may be combined in the same composition. (See para 0610). Saitoh et al disclose type (A) drugs include NSAIDS including oxaprozin. (See para 0617).
[0617] (A4) nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drugs (NSAIDs) [specifically, aspirin, mefenamic acid, diclofenac, sulindac, felbinac, etodolac, indomethacin, ibuprofen, ketoprofen, flurbiprofen, naproxen, pranoprofen, loxoprofen, zaltoprofen, piroxicam, lornoxicam, meloxicam, epirizole, tiaramide, diflusinal, fenbufen, fenoprofen, flufenisal, flurbiprofen, ketorolac, meclofenamic acid, nabumetone, nimesulide, nitroflurbiprofen, olsalazine, oxaprozin, phenylbutazone, sulfasalazine, tolmetin, zomepirac, and the like].
Further, Saitoh et al disclose that type (B) drugs include antioxidants including specifically bezafibrate, and GLP-1R agonists including specifically exenatide and liraglutide. (see para 0638).
Saitoh et al disclose that type (B) drugs include antioxidants including specifically bezafibrate, and GLP-1R agonists including specifically exenatide and liraglutide. (see para 0638).
Regarding instant claim 37, Saitoh et al disclose that type (B) drugs include antioxidants including specifically bezafibrate, and GLP-1R agonists including specifically exenatide and liraglutide. (see para 0638).
Regarding claim 38, Saitoh et al discloses that the composition is in an injectable form or a solid dosage form. (See para 0680.)
Further, regarding claim 41, Saitoh et al disclose dosage of GLP-1R agonist for use in a pharmaceutical. The dosage of Saitoh et al regarding GLP-1R agonist is construed to meet the limitation of about 10% to about 100% of a clinically approved dosage of the GLP-1R agonist.
The level of skill in the art was high before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art having the cited reference would have been motivated to combine the oxaprozin, bezafibrate, and GLP-1R agonist into a combination pharmaceutical composition for the rationale of Saitoh et al to make it possible to lower the dosage of the individual drugs to reduce side effects. (See Saitoh et al para 0678).
It would have been obvious to combine the NSAID oxaprozin as a pain therapy drug with the antioxidant bezafibrate and the GLP1R agonists including exenatide and liraglutide because the cited reference discloses that these are preferred embodiments of drugs which have been used for successful treatment of patients.
In view of the high skill level before the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention it is considered that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to combine the preferred embodiments of the copending claims including the NSAID oxaprozin as a pain therapy drug with the antioxidant bezafibrate and the GLP1R agonists of Saitoh et al including exenatide and liraglutide in a pharmaceutical composition to arrive at the presently claimed invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Related prior art which may be applied in a future office action if appropriate:
Sonavane et al (US 20210236426, filed on 04/25/2019).
Schobel et al (US 20190388302). Schobel et al disclose that specific active agents for their invention include Bezafibrate and Oxaprozin (see para 0130 & 0154), and liraglutide, and exenatide (see para 0138; 0157).
Kohn et al (WO 2006/124676; PCT/US2006/018554; 11/130,922) contemplates a pharmaceutical composition comprising a GLP-1R agonist and an additional active ingredient including FGF7. (See para 00271-276). Kohn does not recite the SEQ ID Nos of instant claim 42.
Leung (CA 2823721 A1, published 2012-08-23) contemplates a pharmaceutical composition comprising a GLP-1R agonist and an additional active ingredient and a pharmaceutical carrier. (See para 0094-0095). Leung includes FGF7 as a type of additional active ingredient. (See para 00135; 172). Leung does not recite the SEQ ID Nos of instant claim 42.
CATHERINE S. HIBBERT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/CATHERINE S HIBBERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658