DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Previous rejections are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
2. Previous rejection is withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment filed on 08/13/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ozturk et al., US-PGPUB 2019/0366491 (hereinafter Ozturk) in view of Barnes et al., US-PGPUB 2021/0362429 (hereinafter Barnes)
Regarding Claims 1 and 12. Ozturk discloses calibrating an additive manufacturing system for manufacturing a hybrid article, the additive manufacturing system comprising:
at least one measuring device (Fig. 4, 440’s, sensors);
a build plate (Fig. 4, 210, plate), including at least one fixture having a base device (Fig. 2, 213), and at least one calibration feature, wherein the calibration feature is arranged to have its position determined by the at least one measuring device (Fig. 2, 212, reference members, Paragraph [0027]);
(Claim 12: processing circuitry, and a memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processing circuitry, whereby said additive manufacturing system is operative for (Paragraph [0019], computer and memory; Fig. 1):
and wherein the method comprises:
measuring, a position of at least one calibration feature using the at least one
measuring device (Paragraph [0026], inspection system, including laser profiler and camera, Paragraph [0027], [0029], sensors 440 that detects positions and locations of the reference members);
determining a relative position between the measuring device and the at least one
calibration feature, determining a relative position between the measuring device and at least one fixture having a base device arranged in the build plate, based on the relative position between the measuring device and the calibration feature (Paragraph [0030], laser profiler and sensors measure the relative positions of the reference members; Figs. 2-5); and calibrating the additive manufacturing system based on the determined relative positions (Paragraph [0030], correct the offset by matching)
Ozturk further discloses heating the additive manufacturing system to the working temperatures to perform build process (Fig. 5, perform build process, Paragraph [0004], [0029])
Ozturk does not disclose measuring subsequent to the heating of the additive manufacturing system to the working temperature.
Barnes discloses measuring the reference areas before and after heating the additive manufacturing build materials to verify that the reference areas have been properly built (Fig. 3A; Paragraphs [0027], [0029], [0036]-[0037], references, measure again)
At the time of the invention filed, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use the teaching of Barnes in Ozturk and measure subsequent to the heating of the additive manufacturing system to the working temperature positions of at least one calibration feature as claimed, so as to verify that the additive manufacturing has been properly executed, correctly depositing and repairing the parts.
Regarding Claim 2. Ozturk discloses manufacturing the hybrid article using the calibrated additive manufacturing system (Paragraph [0030], repairing).
Regarding Claim 3. Ozturk discloses wherein the measuring comprises step includes measuring the position for a plurality of calibration features using a plurality of measuring device, wherein determining a relative position between the measuring device and the at least one calibration feature includes determining a relative position between each measuring device and its corresponding calibration feature, based on the measured position of each calibration feature; and wherein determining a relative position between the measuring device and each corresponding base device includes determining a relative position between each measuring device and its corresponding base devices (Figs. 2-5; each calibration features has a corresponding laser profiler that happens to be same and the claims do not recite the lasers to be different, sensors measuring the relative positions of the reference members)
Regarding Claim 4. Ozturk discloses measuring the position of each calibration feature includes scanning the edge of the calibration feature with the laser (Paragraph [0030], laser profiler; Figs. 2-4)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Widulle et al., US-PGPUB 2022/0072620
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HYUN D PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857