DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed 6/23/26 has been entered. Currently claims 1-10 and 12-15 are pending, claims 1-4, 9, 10 and 12 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase (JP 2000038451 which has been machine translated).
As to claims 5, 6, and 13-15 Iwase discloses a molded resin product that comprises 1-30 wt% of a ground product from a waste byproduct (abs) based on the total weight of the resin. The resin can be a biodegradable resin such as poly lactic acid resins, and the waste by-product can be orange peel. As seen in example 2 the composition comprises only orange peel with polymer. However, this reference is silent to the specifics of the claims.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Iwase and used an orange waste product in its entirely with PLA as Iwase discloses the use of waste products such as pulverizing mandarin oranges with biodegradable resins such as PLA. It would have been obvious to use this combination of materials as Iwase discloses overlapping scope of materials.
As to claim 8, Iwase discloses that the resin can have additional materials depending upon the use such as calcium carbonate.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Iwase (JP 2000038451 which has been machine translated) in view of Oki (US 20210403660).
Iwase renders obvious claim 5 for the reasons noted above, however is silent to the use of polyhydroxybutyrate as the resin.
Oki discloses a molded resin product comprising aliphatic polyester resins such as PLA and polyhydroxybutyrate (paragraph 50).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Iwase and used polyhydroxybutyrate as suggested by Oki as Iwase discloses the use of biodegradable aliphatic polyester resins and therefore the use of polyhydroxybutyrate would be a suitable resin as it’s a type of aliphatic polyester resin.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 5 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER M POLLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785