DETAILED ACTIONNotice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hintersehr (2010/0145189) in view of Saphier et al (2021/0321872) (herein “Saphier”). In regards to claim 1, Hintersehr teaches a device for acquiring an intraoral shape, the device comprising: a scanner for capturing intraoral geometry by imaging the inside of the intraoral shape (See; p[0001]); an air blower that injects compressed air (See; p[0013]); and an information processing device (See; p[0023]), wherein the air blower injects the compressed air against the object to be imaged when the scanner takes the images (See; p[0016]); wherein the scanner continuously acquires the sensing data indicating the intraoral shape while the air blower is injecting the compressed air against the object to be imaged (See; p[0016]); wherein the information processing device comprises a sensing data acquisition unit that receives sensing data indicating the intraoral shape from the scanner, a model generation unit that generates a three-dimensional model based on the sensing data (See; Abstract, p[0004]-p[0005] for CAD models and p[0012]-p[0014]), and an abutment tooth identification unit that identifies the gingiva and the abutment tooth included in the model based on characteristics of changes in the sensing data with the passage of time; and wherein the abutment tooth identification unit outputs at least one of a three-dimensional model of the abutment tooth, margin line, and a three-dimensional model of the gingiva (See; Abstract and p[0014]-p[0016] where it is implied that multiple teeth are imaged including an abutment tooth and gingiva. Where this would inherently happen over a passage of time since the scanning would not be instantaneous since the scanning happens while air is being delivered to expose regions for scanning. Thus changes would be inherently be detected over the length of time of applying the air and scanning). Hintersehr fails to explicitly teach wherein the abutment tooth identification unit outputs a three dimensional model of the abutment tooth, margin line that indicates a boundary between the abutment tooth and the gingiva and a three dimensional model of the gingiva. However, Saphier teaches wherein the abutment tooth identification unit outputs a three dimensional model of the abutment tooth, margin line that indicates a boundary between the abutment tooth and the gingiva and a three dimensional model of the gingiva (See; p[0272], p[0275], p[0295] where an intraoral scan generates a 3D model of abutment teeth, margin line and the surrounding gingiva). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hintersehr’s 3D model to include all important features in the intraoral scan such as in Saphier so as to create the most accurate 3D model. In regards to claim 2, Hintersehr teaches wherein the scanner and the air blower are built into a wand (See; Fig. 1). In regards to claim 6, Saphier teaches wherein the abutment identification unit has a machine learning unit that separates the gingiva from the abutment tooth (See; p[0269]-p[0276] where machine learning models are used to perform classification of dental sites and areas of interest including abutment teeth and gingiva).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hintersehr (2010/0145189) in view of Saphier et al (2021/0321872) (herein “Saphier”) and further In view of Yu (5,286,201). In regards to claim 3, Hintersehr fails to explicitly teach wherein the air blower is detachable from the wand in which the scanner is built in. Yu teaches an air dryer device that is detachable from a 3 way dental device (See; Fig. 2 and Column 1, lines 6-10). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Hintersehr’s air blower to be detachable so as to be able to better clean and maintain the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN A BOYD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627