DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dupre et al. (U.S. Patent No. 3,243,760). Regarding Claim 1, Dupre discloses an apparatus for coupling a set of cables (14a) to an electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16), comprising: an insert block (10aa) defining a first surface (Fig. 5) and a second surface (Fig. 5) and a volume (Fig. 5) therebetween, the insert block being electrically conductive, the insert block including: a set of contact elements (52a) disposed on the first surface to electrically couple to a set of first conductors (44, 49a) of the set of cables; and a set of first interconnects (12aa) arranged as an array through the volume of the insert block, each first interconnect including a passage (12aa) formed through the volume of the insert block; an insulator block (16a) coupled to the insert block at the second surface and including a set of second interconnects (22a) aligned to the set of first interconnects, the insulator block being electrically insulating; and a back plate (10a) coupled to the insulator block and including a set of third interconnects (12a) aligned to the set of first interconnects and the set of second interconnects, the back plate being electrically conductive, wherein a set of second conductors (42a) of the set of cables are disposable through the set of first interconnects, the set of second interconnects, and the set of third interconnects such that the set of second conductors are electrically insulated from the insert block and are electrically coupled to the back plate.
Regarding Claim 2, Dupre discloses the insert block being configured to be maintained at a negative or ground potential during use, and wherein the back plate is configured to attain, either continuously, in an intermittent manner, or both, a positive potential during use (Column 2, Lines 56-65).
Regarding Claim 3, Dupre discloses each first interconnect of the set of first interconnects including a narrow portion (Fig. 5) and a broad portion (Fig. 5) having a cross-sectional area greater than a cross-sectional area of the narrow portion, wherein a portion (Fig. 5) of the insulator block intrudes into the broad portion of each first interconnect of the set of first interconnects, such that each second interconnect of the set of second interconnects is disposed at least in part within the broad portion of its corresponding first interconnect.
Regarding Claim 4, Dupre discloses the electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16) being a magnetic coil.
Regarding Claim 5, Dupre discloses a side plate (10c) mechanically coupled to the insert block and the back plate to maintain the apparatus in place.
Regarding Claim 6, Dupre discloses the side plate being composed of a dielectric material (10c).
Regarding Claim 7, Dupre discloses a center-to-center separation (Fig. 5) between adjacent interconnects of the set of first interconnects being at most from about 0.1 to about 2 inches.
Regarding Claim 8, Dupre discloses a set of connectors (40), each connector of the set of connectors at least partially disposed within a corresponding second interconnect of the set of second interconnects, wherein during use each connector of the set of connectors is electrically coupled to a second conductor of a corresponding cable disposed in that second interconnect at a first end (Fig. 5) of that connector and is electrically and mechanically coupled to the back plate at a second end (Fig. 5) of that connector.
Regarding Claim 9, Dupre discloses the second end of that connector being coupled to a corresponding rod (42a) that is electrically coupled to back plate, wherein the rod is disposed in a corresponding third interconnect of the set of third interconnects of the back plate.
Regarding Claim 10, Dupre discloses each first interconnect of the set of first interconnects including a narrow portion (Fig. 5) and a broad portion (Fig. 5) having a cross-sectional diameter greater than a cross-sectional diameter of the narrow portion, and wherein the cross sectional diameter of the narrow portion is substantially equal to a cross-sectional diameter of the cable disposed in that first interconnect.
Regarding Claim 11, Dupre discloses, within a given first interconnect of the set of first interconnects, a portion (Fig. 5) of an insulation of the cable disposed in that first interconnect overlaps with a portion (Fig. 5) of the insulator block intruding into that first interconnect to define an axial standoff distance.
Regarding Claim 12, Dupre discloses the axial standoff distance being from about 1 inch to about 12 inches (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 13, Dupre discloses the set of cables including a set of twisted pair cables (14a), wherein a first cable of each twisted pair cable is electrically coupled to a corresponding contact element of the set of contact elements as the first conductor, and wherein a second cable of that twisted pair cable is electrically coupled to the back plate as the second conductor.
Regarding Claim 14, Dupre discloses the set of cables including a set of coaxial cables (14a), wherein a shield layer (44a) of each coaxial cable is electrically coupled to a corresponding contact element of the set of contact elements as the first conductor, and wherein a center conductor (42a) of that coaxial cable is electrically coupled to the back plate as the second conductor.
Regarding Claim 15, Dupre discloses the set of cables including a set of triaxial cables (14a), wherein a first shield layer (44a) and/or a second shield layer of each triaxial cable is electrically coupled to a corresponding contact element of the set of contact elements as the first conductor, and wherein a center conductor (42a) of that triaxial cable is electrically coupled to the back plate as the second conductor.
Regarding Claim 16, Dupre discloses each first conductor of the set of first conductors being electrically coupled to its corresponding contact element of the set of contact elements via a screw terminal (40a).
Regarding Claim 17, Dupre discloses the insert block and the back plate being each directly, electrically coupled to the electrical component without any intervening components (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 18, Dupre discloses a system, comprising: the apparatus; a first feed plate (10aa) electrically coupled to the back plate, wherein the first feed plate is further electrically coupled to the electrical component to deliver electrical current from the set of coaxial cables to the electrical component; a second feed plate (10a) electrically coupled to the electrical component to establish a return path for a return current from the electrical component, the second feed plate further electrically coupled to the insert block to permit the return current to return through the set of contact elements.
Regarding Claim 19, Dupre discloses the electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16) being a magnetic coil.
Regarding Claim 20, Dupre discloses a method of assembling an apparatus for coupling a set of cables (14a) to an electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16), comprising: coupling an insert block (10aa) to an insulator block (16a), the insert block defining a first surface (Fig. 5) and a second surface (Fig. 5) and a volume (Fig. 5) therebetween such that the insulator block is coupled to the insert block at the second surface, the insulator block being electrically insulating, the insert block being electrically conductive and including: a set of contact elements (52a) disposed on the first surface to electrically couple to a set of first conductors (44, 49a) of the set of cables; and a set of first interconnects (12aa) arranged as an array through the volume of the insert block, each first interconnect including a passage (12aa) formed through the volume of the insert block, the coupling including disposing portions of the insulator block within the insert block such that each second interconnect of a set of second interconnects (22a) of the insulator block is at least partially disposed within a broad portion of a corresponding first interconnect of the set of first interconnects; and coupling a back plate (10a) to the insulator block, the back plate being electrically conductive, such that each third interconnect of a set of third interconnects (12a) of the back plate is aligned with a corresponding second interconnect of the set of second interconnects of the insulator block, such that during use a set of second conductors (42a) of the set of cables are disposable through the set of first interconnects, the set of second interconnects, and the set of third interconnects and such that during use, the set of second conductors of the set of cables are electrically isolatable from the insert block and are electrically couplable to the back plate.
Regarding Claim 21, Dupre discloses coupling a first feed plate (10aa) to the back plate; and coupling the first feed plate to the electrical component to permit for delivery of electrical current from the set of cables to the electrical component during use.
Regarding Claim 22, Dupre discloses coupling a second feed plate (10a) to the electrical component to establish a return path for a return current from the electrical component; and coupling the second feed plate to the insert block to permit the return current to return through the set of contact elements.
Regarding Claim 23, Dupre discloses directly, electrically coupling the apparatus to the electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16) without any intervening components.
Regarding Claim 24, Dupre discloses coupling the set of cables to the apparatus by disposing the set of cables through the set of first interconnects, the set of second interconnects, and the set of third interconnects such that, for each cable of the set of cables, a second conductor of that cable is electrically insulated from the insert block; and coupling the center conductor of each cable to the back plate (Fig. 5).
Regarding Claim 25, Dupre discloses the set of cables being a set of coaxial cables (14a), further comprising coupling the set of coaxial cables to the apparatus by, for each coaxial cable of the set of coaxial cables: removing, from an end of that coaxial cable, a portion (Fig. 5) of an outer jacket (14c) of that coaxial cable along its length to generate a first exposed portion (Fig. 8) of that coaxial cable; removing, from the first exposed portion, a portion (Fig. 5) of a shield layer (44a) of that coaxial cable to generate a second exposed portion (Fig. 8) of that coaxial cable; removing, from the second exposed portion, a portion (Fig. 5) of an insulating layer of that coaxial cable to generate a third exposed portion (Fig. 8) of that coaxial cable, the third exposed portion including a center conductor (42a) of that coaxial cable as the second conductor; coupling the center conductor of that coaxial cable into a first end (Fig. 5) of a connector; coupling a second end (Fig. 5) of the connector to a rod (42a); inserting the coaxial cable into the apparatus via a selected first interconnect, its corresponding second interconnect, and its corresponding third interconnect, such that the connector abuts against the back plate and the rod protrudes beyond the back plate; coupling a remainder portion of the shield layer of that coaxial cable to a corresponding contact element of the insert block as the first conductor; and securing the rod against the back plate.
Regarding Claim 26, Dupre discloses the set of cables being a set of coaxial cables (14a), further comprising coupling the set of coaxial cables to the apparatus by, for each coaxial cable of the set of coaxial cables: removing, from an end of that coaxial cable, a portion (Fig. 5) of an outer jacket (14c) of that coaxial cable along its length to generate a first exposed portion (Fig. 8) of that coaxial cable; removing, from the first exposed portion, a portion (Fig. 5) of a shield layer (44a) of that coaxial cable to generate a second exposed portion (Fig. 8) of that coaxial cable; removing, from the second exposed portion, a portion (Fig. 5) of an insulating layer of that coaxial cable to generate a third exposed portion (Fig. 8) of that coaxial cable, the third exposed portion including a center conductor (42a) of that coaxial cable as the second conductor; inserting the coaxial cable into the apparatus via a selected first interconnect and its corresponding second interconnect, coupling the center conductor of that coaxial cable into a first end (Fig. 5) of a connector; coupling a second end (Fig. 5) of the connector to a rod (42a); securing the rod against the back plate via a selected third interconnect that corresponds to the first and second interconnects; and coupling a remainder portion of the shield layer of that coaxial cable to a corresponding contact element of the insert block as the first conductor.
Regarding Claim 27, Dupre discloses the electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16) including a magnetic coil.
Regarding Claim 28, Dupre discloses a method of circulating electrical current to an electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16) via a set of cables (14a) coupled to an apparatus, the method comprising: delivering the electrical current to the set of cables coupled to the apparatus, the apparatus including: an insert block (10aa) defining a first surface (Fig. 5) and a second surface (Fig. 5) and a volume (Fig. 5) therebetween, the insert block being electrically conductive and electrically coupled to the electrical component, the insert block including: a set of contact elements (52a) disposed on the first surface that are electrically coupled to a set of first conductors (44, 49a) of the set of cables; and a set of first interconnects (12aa) arranged as an array through the volume of the insert block, each first interconnect including a passage (12aa) formed through the volume of the insert block; an insulator block (16a) coupled to the insert block and including a set of second interconnects (22a) to align with the set of first interconnects, the insulator block being electrically insulating; and a back plate (10a) including a set of third interconnects (12a) aligned with the set of first interconnects and the set of second interconnects, wherein the set of cables are disposed through the set of first interconnects, the set of second interconnects, and the set of third interconnects such that, for each cable of the set of cables, a second conductor of that cable is electrically insulated from the insert block and is electrically coupled to the back plate, the back plate being electrically conductive; the delivering including delivering the electrical current to the electrical component via one of the back plate and the insert block; and receiving, from the electrical component, a return current via the other of the insert block and the back plate.
Regarding Claim 29, Dupre discloses the delivering the electrical current further comprising delivering the electrical current via a feed plate (10aa) electrically coupled to the electrical component.
Regarding Claim 30, Dupre discloses the receiving the return current further comprising receiving the return current via a feed plate (10aa) electrically coupled to the electrical component.
Regarding Claim 31, Dupre discloses the electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16) including a magnetic coil.
Regarding Claim 32, Dupre discloses maintaining, continuously or intermittently, the insert block at a negative or ground potential; and maintaining, continuously or intermittently the back plate at a positive potential (Column 2, Lines 56-65).
Regarding Claim 33, Dupre discloses an apparatus for coupling a set of cables (14a) to an electrical component (Column 2, Lines 13-16), comprising: an insert block (10aa) defining a first surface (Fig. 5) and a second surface (Fig. 5) and a volume (Fig. 5) therebetween, the insert block being electrically conductive, the insert block including: a set of contact elements (52a) disposed on the first surface to electrically couple to a set of first conductors (44, 49a) of the set of cables; and a set of first interconnects (12aa) arranged as an array through the volume of the insert block, each first interconnect including a passage (12aa) formed through the volume of the insert block; and an insulator block (16a) coupled to the insert block at the second surface and including a set of second interconnects (22a) aligned to the set of first interconnects, the insulator block being electrically insulating, wherein a set of second conductors (42a) of the set of cables are disposable through the set of first interconnects and the set of second interconnects such that the set of second conductors are electrically insulated from the insert block.
Regarding Claim 34, Dupre discloses a kit, comprising: a set of cables (14a), each cable of the set of cables including a first conductor and a second conductor; an insert block (10aa) defining a first surface (Fig. 5) and a second surface (Fig. 5) and a volume (Fig. 5) therebetween, the insert block being electrically conductive, the insert block including: a set of contact elements (52a) disposed on the first surface to electrically couple to a set of first conductors (44, 49a) of the set of cables; and a set of first interconnects (12aa) arranged as an array through the volume of the insert block, each first interconnect including a passage (12aa) formed through the volume of the insert block; an insulator block (16a) couplable to the insert block at the second surface and including a set of second interconnects (22a) that can be aligned to the set of first interconnects, the insulator block being electrically insulating; and a back plate (10a) couple able to the insulator block and including a set of third interconnects (12a) that can be aligned to the set of first interconnects and the set of second interconnects, the back plate being electrically conductive, wherein a set of second conductors (42a) of the set of cables are disposable through the set of first interconnects, the set of second interconnects, and the set of third interconnects such that the set of second conductors can be electrically insulated from the insert block and can be electrically coupled to the back plate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited prior art discloses electrical connectors, similar to Applicant’s claimed invention, having insert blocks and insulator blocks, set of cables and contact elements.
/EDWIN A. LEON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831