DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 03/29/2023, and 05/01/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TANOUE et al. USPGPUB 2017/0057010 (hereinafter “TANOUE”), in view of TAKEDA USPGPUB 2020/0070281 (hereinafter “TAKEDA”).
Regarding claim 1, TANOUE teaches a teaching device configured to teach an operation of a laser processing machine that irradiates a surface of a workpiece with a laser beam to perform laser processing on the workpiece ([Abstract] “A welding apparatus radiates a laser beam to a welding position in a state where a focal spot of the laser beam is in a near-focusing state”, and Paragraph [0031] “The workpiece distance Dw can be controlled by the control unit 10 to a predetermined target value through robot teaching, for example”, and Paragraph [0034] “The control unit 10 can control the laser radiation unit 2 such that the position in the Z-axis direction of the focal spot 22 of the laser beam 20 becomes closer to the welding apparatus 1 (laser radiation end 2a) than the laser-radiated surface 100a of the workpiece 100 is”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling laser radiation unit as a teaching device configured to teach an operation of a laser processing machine that irradiates a surface of a workpiece with a laser beam to perform laser processing on the workpiece), the teaching device comprising:
a parameter input receiving unit configured to receive an input of a beam size representing a size of an irradiation point of the laser beam on the surface (Paragraph [0033] “The control unit 10 controls the operation of the laser radiation unit 2. The laser radiation unit 2 radiates the laser beam 20 to the laser-radiated surface 100a of the workpiece 100 under the control of the control unit 10. Specifically, the control unit 10 controls the horizontal position of the laser beam 20 such that the laser beam 20 is radiated to a welding position 100b (first welding position) that is the position to be welded in the laser-radiated surface 100a. Moreover, the control unit 10 controls the position of a focal spot 22 of the laser beam 20 in the vertical direction (the direction from the laser-radiated surface 100a toward the welding apparatus 1) by controlling the position of the lens 4”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling operation of laser radiation unit to radiate on a surface of a workpiece by controlling the position of focal spot as parameter input receiving unit configured to receive an input of a beam size representing a size of an irradiation point of the laser beam on the surface);
a relational data acquiring unit configured to acquire relational data representing a relationship between a defocus amount, by which a focal point of the laser beam is to be shifted from the surface in an optical axis direction of the laser beam, and the beam size that changes in response to the defocus amount (Paragraph [0035] “FIG. 2 is a view showing the focal spot 22 in the near-focusing state. For example, the control unit 10 can control the focal spot 22 to be in the near-focusing state by controlling the lens 4 so as to move in the direction away from the laser-radiated surface 100a (in the direction of the arrow A). Here, when the position in the Z-axis direction of the focal spot 22 is denoted by Zf (focal position), the focal position Zf corresponds to the distance from the laser-radiated surface 100a to the focal spot 22 (the direction from the laser-radiated surface 100a toward the welding apparatus 1 is a positive direction). In other words, the focal position Zf corresponds to the amount of defocusing (the amount of displacement of the focal spot 22 from the laser-radiated surface 100a). Here, Zf>0 holds in the near-focusing state”, Paragraph [0036] “FIG. 3 is a view showing the focal spot 22 in the far-focusing state. For example, the control unit 10 can control the focal spot 22 to be in the far-focusing state by controlling the lens 4 so as to move in the direction toward the laser-radiated surface 100a (in the direction of the arrow B). The focal position Zf corresponds to the distance from the laser-radiated surface 100a to the focal spot 22 (the direction from the laser-radiated surface 100a toward the welding apparatus 1 is a positive direction). Here, Zf<0 holds in the far-focusing state”, and Paragraph [0038] “FIG. 4 is a view illustrating a relation between the focal position Zf and the laser diameter Ld. When the focal position Zf=0, i.e., when the position of the focal spot 22 coincides with the laser-radiated surface 100a, the laser diameter Ld (the diameter of the laser beam 20 in the laser-radiated surface 100a) is minimum. When the focal position Zf>0 (i.e., near-focusing state), the laser diameter Ld increases as the focal position Zf shifts in the positive direction (i.e., as the position of the focal spot 22 becomes closer to the welding apparatus 1). In other words, when the focal position Zf>0 (near focusing), the laser diameter Ld increases as the focal position Zf increases. On the other hand, when the focal position Zf<0 (i.e., far-focusing state), the laser diameter Ld increases as the focal position Zf shifts in the negative direction (i.e., as the position of the focal spot 22 becomes farther away from the welding apparatus 1)”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling the focal spot to be near-focusing state or far-focusing state based on the relation between focal position, and laser diameter as including a relational data acquiring unit configured to acquire relational data representing a relationship between a defocus amount, by which a focal point of the laser beam is to be shifted from the surface in an optical axis direction of the laser beam, and the beam size that changes in response to the defocus amount) wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling focal spot to be in near-focusing state, wherein the focal position focal position Zf as the a relational data acquiring unit configured to acquire relational data representing a relationship between a defocus amount, by which a focal point of the laser beam is to be shifted from the surface in an optical axis direction of the laser beam, and the beam size that changes in response to the defocus amount);
a conversion unit configured to convert the beam size received by the parameter input receiving unit into the corresponding defocus amount, based on the relational data (FIG. 4, Paragraph [0038], Paragraph [0039] “For example, in the example shown in FIG. 4, when the focal position Zf is 30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is 40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is 20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm. When the focal position Zf is −30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is −40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is −20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm”, wherein examiner interpreted the focal position corresponding to the diameter of the laser beam as converting the beam size into corresponding defocus amount, wherein examiner interpreted the focal position as the defocus amount, and laser diameter as the beam size); and
a program generating unit configured to generate an operation program for the laser processing, in which the converted defocus amount obtained by the conversion unit is defined as a command statement (Paragraph [0041] “the control unit 10 controls the focal position Zf so as to equal the target value Zf10 (>0). In other words, the control unit 10 controls the position of the focal spot 22 such that the distance from the laser radiation end 2a to the position of the focal spot 22 equals Dw10−Zf10. Here, the control-target laser diameter Ld (the target laser diameter that is the target value of the laser diameter Ld) is Ld10”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling the focal position to equal the target value as a program generating unit configured to generate an operation program for the laser processing, in which the converted defocus amount obtained by the conversion unit is defined as a command statement, wherein examiner interpreted correcting the focal position to equal a target value as the converted defocus amount).
TANOUE doesn’t explicitly teach the teaching device comprising: a parameter input receiving unit, a relational data acquiring unit, a conversion unit, and a program generating unit.
However, TAKEDA teaches the teaching device comprising: a parameter input receiving unit, a relational data acquiring unit, a conversion unit, and a program generating unit (Paragraph [0035] “The laser machining teaching device 1 is a programming device which can generate operation programs for the robot 10 and the scanner 50 off-line. In the structural example shown in FIG. 1, the laser machining teaching device 1 is connected with the robot controller 20 via a network, and the operation program for the robot 10 produced by the laser machining teaching device 1 can be transmitted from the laser machining teaching device 1 to the robot controller 20 via the network. The robot 10 is operated in accordance with the operation program loaded into the robot controller 20. Furthermore, the laser machining teaching device 1 generates an operation program for the scanner 50. The robot controller 20 may be constituted by a conventional computer comprising a CPU, ROM, RAM, a storage device, etc. The operation program for the scanner 50 generated by the laser machining teaching device 1 is transmitted from the laser machining teaching device 1 to a control unit of the scanner 50 via the robot controller 20. The control unit of the scanner 50 can operate in accordance with the loaded operation program. The control unit of the scanner 50 may be constituted by a conventional computer comprising a CPU, ROM, RAM, a storage device, etc”, wherein examiner interpreted the laser machining teaching device to include the various units, that would perform the operations described, and in combination with TANOUE teaches this teaching device).
TANOUE, and TAKEDA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to laser apparatus.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above processing of laser processing machine, as taught by TANOUE, and incorporating the teaching device, as taught by TAKEDA.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0003] “automatic setting of an optimum machining path to reduce machining operation time, i.e., cycle time, for all of the welding point groups to be machined and to improve weld quality in laser machining systems has been demanded”, as suggested by TAKEDA.
Regarding claim 2, TANOUE, and TAKEDA teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
TANOUE further teaches further comprising a focal point selection receiving unit configured to receive an input for selecting out-focus, in which the focal point is shifted from the surface toward a laser beam emitting part of the laser processing machine, or in-focus, in which the focal point is shifted from the surface away from the laser beam emitting part (Paragraph [0035] “FIG. 2 is a view showing the focal spot 22 in the near-focusing state. For example, the control unit 10 can control the focal spot 22 to be in the near-focusing state by controlling the lens 4 so as to move in the direction away from the laser-radiated surface 100a (in the direction of the arrow A)”, Paragraph [0036] “FIG. 3 is a view showing the focal spot 22 in the far-focusing state. For example, the control unit 10 can control the focal spot 22 to be in the far-focusing state by controlling the lens 4 so as to move in the direction toward the laser-radiated surface 100a (in the direction of the arrow B)”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling focal spot by controlling lens as including the a focal point selection receiving unit configured to receive an input for selecting out-focus, in which the focal point is shifted from the surface toward a laser beam emitting part of the laser processing machine, or in-focus, in which the focal point is shifted from the surface away from the laser beam emitting part),
wherein the relational data includes data representing the relationship between the beam size and the defocus amount of the out-focus and the in-focus (FIG. 4, Paragraph [0038], Paragraph [0039] “For example, in the example shown in FIG. 4, when the focal position Zf is 30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is 40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is 20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm. When the focal position Zf is −30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is −40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is −20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm”, wherein examiner interpreted the laser diameter, and focal position corresponding with each other as relational data including data representing the relationship between the beam size and the defocus amount of the out-focus and the in-focus), and
wherein the conversion unit is configured to convert the beam size received by the parameter input receiving unit into the defocus amount of the out-focus or the in-focus received by the focal point selection receiving unit (FIG. 4, Paragraph [0038], Paragraph [0039] “For example, in the example shown in FIG. 4, when the focal position Zf is 30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is 40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is 20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm. When the focal position Zf is −30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is −40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is −20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm”, and Paragraph [0041] “the control unit 10 controls the position of the focal spot 22 such that the distance from the laser radiation end 2a to the position of the focal spot 22 equals Dw10−Zf10. Here, the control-target laser diameter Ld (the target laser diameter that is the target value of the laser diameter Ld) is Ld10”, wherein examiner interpreted controlling the position of focal spot basede on the laser diameter and position of focal spot as converting the beam size into the defocus amount of the out-focus or the in-focus received by the focal point selection receiving unit).
Regarding claim 7, TANOUE, and TAKEDA teaches all of the features with respect to claim 1 as outlined above.
TANOUE further teaches a laser processing system (Paragraph [0030] “the welding apparatus 1 (laser welding apparatus)”) comprising:
the teaching device of claim 1; the laser processing machine (Paragraph [0030] “the welding apparatus 1 (laser welding apparatus)”); and
a control device configured to operate the laser processing machine in accordance with the operation program generated by the program generating unit to perform the laser processing (Paragraph [0032] “The control unit 10 controls the operation of the laser radiation unit 2. The laser radiation unit 2 radiates the laser beam 20 to the laser-radiated surface 100a of the workpiece 100 under the control of the control unit 10”, and Paragraph [0031] “The workpiece distance Dw can be controlled by the control unit 10 to a predetermined target value through robot teaching, for example. However, as described above, even when the control unit 10 controls the workpiece distance Dw so as to equal the target value, the actual workpiece distance Dw can deviate from the control-target workpiece distance Dw (the target value of the workpiece distance Dw) due to factors including displacement of the workpiece 100”).
Regarding claim 8, TANOUE teaches a method of teaching an operation of a laser processing machine that irradiates a surface of a workpiece with a laser beam to perform laser processing on the workpiece ([Abstract] “A welding apparatus radiates a laser beam to a welding position in a state where a focal spot of the laser beam is in a near-focusing state”, and Paragraph [0031] “The workpiece distance Dw can be controlled by the control unit 10 to a predetermined target value through robot teaching, for example”, and Paragraph [0034] “The control unit 10 can control the laser radiation unit 2 such that the position in the Z-axis direction of the focal spot 22 of the laser beam 20 becomes closer to the welding apparatus 1 (laser radiation end 2a) than the laser-radiated surface 100a of the workpiece 100 is”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling laser radiation unit as A method of teaching an operation of a laser processing machine that irradiates a surface of a workpiece with a laser beam to perform laser processing on the workpiece), the method comprising:
receiving, by a processor, an input of a beam size representing a size of an irradiation point of the laser beam on the surface (Paragraph [0033] “The control unit 10 controls the operation of the laser radiation unit 2. The laser radiation unit 2 radiates the laser beam 20 to the laser-radiated surface 100a of the workpiece 100 under the control of the control unit 10. Specifically, the control unit 10 controls the horizontal position of the laser beam 20 such that the laser beam 20 is radiated to a welding position 100b (first welding position) that is the position to be welded in the laser-radiated surface 100a. Moreover, the control unit 10 controls the position of a focal spot 22 of the laser beam 20 in the vertical direction (the direction from the laser-radiated surface 100a toward the welding apparatus 1) by controlling the position of the lens 4”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling operation of laser radiation unit to radiate on a surface of a workpiece by controlling the position of focal spot as including receiving, by a processor, an input of a beam size representing a size of an irradiation point of the laser beam on the surface);
acquiring, by the processor, relational data representing a relationship between a defocus amount, by which a focal point of the laser beam is to be shifted from the surface in an optical axis direction of the laser beam, and the beam size that changes in response to the defocus amount (Paragraph [0035] “FIG. 2 is a view showing the focal spot 22 in the near-focusing state. For example, the control unit 10 can control the focal spot 22 to be in the near-focusing state by controlling the lens 4 so as to move in the direction away from the laser-radiated surface 100a (in the direction of the arrow A). Here, when the position in the Z-axis direction of the focal spot 22 is denoted by Zf (focal position), the focal position Zf corresponds to the distance from the laser-radiated surface 100a to the focal spot 22 (the direction from the laser-radiated surface 100a toward the welding apparatus 1 is a positive direction). In other words, the focal position Zf corresponds to the amount of defocusing (the amount of displacement of the focal spot 22 from the laser-radiated surface 100a). Here, Zf>0 holds in the near-focusing state”, Paragraph [0036] “FIG. 3 is a view showing the focal spot 22 in the far-focusing state. For example, the control unit 10 can control the focal spot 22 to be in the far-focusing state by controlling the lens 4 so as to move in the direction toward the laser-radiated surface 100a (in the direction of the arrow B). The focal position Zf corresponds to the distance from the laser-radiated surface 100a to the focal spot 22 (the direction from the laser-radiated surface 100a toward the welding apparatus 1 is a positive direction). Here, Zf<0 holds in the far-focusing state”, and Paragraph [0038] “FIG. 4 is a view illustrating a relation between the focal position Zf and the laser diameter Ld. When the focal position Zf=0, i.e., when the position of the focal spot 22 coincides with the laser-radiated surface 100a, the laser diameter Ld (the diameter of the laser beam 20 in the laser-radiated surface 100a) is minimum. When the focal position Zf>0 (i.e., near-focusing state), the laser diameter Ld increases as the focal position Zf shifts in the positive direction (i.e., as the position of the focal spot 22 becomes closer to the welding apparatus 1). In other words, when the focal position Zf>0 (near focusing), the laser diameter Ld increases as the focal position Zf increases. On the other hand, when the focal position Zf<0 (i.e., far-focusing state), the laser diameter Ld increases as the focal position Zf shifts in the negative direction (i.e., as the position of the focal spot 22 becomes farther away from the welding apparatus 1)”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling the focal spot to be near-focusing state or far-focusing state based on the relation between focal position, and laser diameter as including an acquiring relational data representing a relationship between a defocus amount, by which a focal point of the laser beam is to be shifted from the surface in an optical axis direction of the laser beam, and the beam size that changes in response to the defocus amount) wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling focal spot to be in near-focusing state, wherein the focal position focal position Zf as the a relational data acquiring unit configured to acquire relational data representing a relationship between a defocus amount, by which a focal point of the laser beam is to be shifted from the surface in an optical axis direction of the laser beam, and the beam size that changes in response to the defocus amount);
converting, by the processor, the received beam size into the corresponding defocus amount, based on the relational data (FIG. 4, Paragraph [0038], Paragraph [0039] “For example, in the example shown in FIG. 4, when the focal position Zf is 30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is 40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is 20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm. When the focal position Zf is −30 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1300 μm. When the focal position Zf is −40 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 1700 μm. When the focal position Zf is −20 mm, the laser diameter Ld is 900 μm”, wherein examiner interpreted the focal position corresponding to the diameter of the laser beam as converting the beam size into corresponding defocus amount, wherein examiner interpreted the focal position as the defocus amount, and laser diameter as the beam size); and
generating, by the processor, an operation program for the laser processing in which the converted defocus amount is defined as a command statement (Paragraph [0041] “the control unit 10 controls the focal position Zf so as to equal the target value Zf10 (>0). In other words, the control unit 10 controls the position of the focal spot 22 such that the distance from the laser radiation end 2a to the position of the focal spot 22 equals Dw10−Zf10. Here, the control-target laser diameter Ld (the target laser diameter that is the target value of the laser diameter Ld) is Ld10”, wherein examiner interpreted control unit controlling the focal position to equal the target value as generating, by the processor, an operation program for the laser processing in which the converted defocus amount is defined as a command statement, wherein examiner interpreted correcting the focal position to equal a target value as the converted defocus amount).
TANOUE does not explicitly teach processor.
However, TAKEDA teaches processor (Paragraph [0035] “The laser machining teaching device 1 is a programming device which can generate operation programs for the robot 10 and the scanner 50 off-line. In the structural example shown in FIG. 1, the laser machining teaching device 1 is connected with the robot controller 20 via a network, and the operation program for the robot 10 produced by the laser machining teaching device 1 can be transmitted from the laser machining teaching device 1 to the robot controller 20 via the network. The robot 10 is operated in accordance with the operation program loaded into the robot controller 20. Furthermore, the laser machining teaching device 1 generates an operation program for the scanner 50. The robot controller 20 may be constituted by a conventional computer comprising a CPU, ROM, RAM, a storage device, etc. The operation program for the scanner 50 generated by the laser machining teaching device 1 is transmitted from the laser machining teaching device 1 to a control unit of the scanner 50 via the robot controller 20. The control unit of the scanner 50 can operate in accordance with the loaded operation program. The control unit of the scanner 50 may be constituted by a conventional computer comprising a CPU, ROM, RAM, a storage device, etc”, wherein examiner interpreted the laser machining teaching device as the processor, that would perform the operations described, and in combination with TANOUE teaches this teaching device).
TANOUE, and TAKEDA are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor and contain overlapping structural and functional similarities. They relate to laser apparatus.
Therefore, at the time of effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the above processing of laser processing method, as taught by TANOUE, and incorporating the teaching by processor, as taught by TAKEDA.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve Paragraph [0003] “automatic setting of an optimum machining path to reduce machining operation time, i.e., cycle time, for all of the welding point groups to be machined and to improve weld quality in laser machining systems has been demanded”, as suggested by TAKEDA.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and on the attached PTO Form 892 but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
ZHENG et al. [USPGPUB 2023/0150056] teaches an automatic surface tracing method, system, and storage medium are for laser processing.
MURAKAMI [USPGPUB 2019/0151988] teaches a laser machining apparatus includes a machining correlation data management unit configured to manage machining correlation data.
Takahashi et al. [USPGPUB 2011/0042360] teaches a process control apparatus controls a focus position of a laser beam.
Conclusion
/D.P./ Examiner, Art Unit 2119
/MOHAMMAD ALI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119