DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claim(s) 1-9, 20, 21, 23-27 and 29 are currently pending.
Claim(s) 20, 21, 23-27 and 29 have been withdrawn.
Claim(s) 1, 5, 7, 8, 20, 23, 25, 27 and 29 have been amended.
Claim(s) 10-19, 22 and 28 have been canceled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 20, 21, 23-27 and 29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected battery (Group 2), there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show reference characters 104A-E, 105, 109C and 109D, and 110 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “210” in para. 0029 of the instant published application has been used to designate both a box-like contained and a base. Furthermore, reference character “110” in para. 0037 of the instant published application has been used to designate both a terminal assembly and a terminal structure.
Examiner’s note: careful consideration of the instant specification and corresponding drawing figures is required to avoid further objections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2017/201033 A1, SOLESKI et al.* (hereinafter “Soleski”).
*cited in the IDS.
Regarding claim 1
Soleski teaches battery (28) comprising:
a housing (module housing 40) [Fig. 3-4 and para. 0041];
a plurality of cells (46) disposed in the housing (40) [Figs. 3-4 and para. 0041]; and
a terminal structure (see area delimited by the rectangle in annotated Figs. 3-4 below) comprising:
a terminal protrusion (positive and/or negative terminal connectors 70a and 70b) coupled to the plurality of cells (46) and supported by the housing cover (42) [Figs. 3-5, para. 0052], the terminal structure including a first surface (corresponding to top surface of positive and/or negative terminal connectors 70a and 70b) and multiple surfaces substantially orthogonal to the first surface (corresponding to recess walls 64a and/or 64b) [Fig. 3 and para. 0042]; and
a feature (corresponding to the walls 64a and/or 64b of recesses 54 comprising securement methods to secure terminal posts to the housing, the securement methods including, for example, mating features 66) to securely couple a connector (corresponding to terminal posts 52a and/or 52b) to the terminal structure [Figs. 3 and 5, paras. 0042 and 0044].
Figs. 3(left) and 4(right)
Examiner’s note: the feature is interpreted per claim 5 where the said feature includes the multiple surfaces.
Regarding claim 2
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the feature (see walls 64a and/or 64b of recesses 54) includes a shape of the terminal protrusion (the shape of the walls 64 of the molded recesses 54 delimit each terminal protrusion 70a and/or 70b) [Figs. 3-5, paras. 0042 and 0044].
Regarding claim 3
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the feature (walls 64a and/or 64b) includes a groove (see additional recesses 66) [Figs. 3 and 5, paras. 0042, 0044 and 0050].
Regarding claim 4
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the feature (walls 64a and/or 64b) includes a keyed construction (corresponding to additional recesses 66) [Fig. 5 and para. 0044].
Regarding claim 5
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the feature (walls 64a and/or 64b) includes the multiple surfaces (recesses 54a and 54b have internal geometries defined by internal recess walls 64a and 64b) [Figs. 3-5 and para. 0044].
Regarding claim 6
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the multiple surfaces include a second surface (2S), a third surface (3S) substantially parallel to the second surface (2S), a fourth surface (4S), and a fifth surface (5S) substantially parallel to the fourth surface (4S) [See cut-out of Fig. 3 below].
Cut-Out of Fig. 3
Regarding claim 8
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the terminal structure further includes a cavity (corresponding to recesses 54) [Figs. 4-5 and para. 0045], wherein the terminal protrusion (70a and/or 70b) is disposed within the cavity (54) [para. 0045], wherein the cavity (54) further includes a keyed construction (additional recesses 66) [Fig. 5 and para. 0044], and wherein the feature (walls 64a and/or 64b) includes the keyed construction (66) [para. 0044].
Regarding claim 9
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the keyed construction (66) includes a keyed cavity (mating features are additional recesses) continuous with the cavity (54) (certain of the internal walls 64 include the mating features) [Figs. 4-5 and para. 0044-0045].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soleski, as applied to claims 1-6, 8 and 9 above.
Regarding claim 7
Soleski teaches the battery as set forth above, wherein the terminal protrusion (70a and/or 70b) includes a hexagonal surface coupling the multiple surfaces (2S-5S) [see annotated Fig. 3 above and para. 0043].
Accordingly, Soleski does not teach the terminal protrusion including a rounded surface coupling the multiple surfaces.
However, in the absence of criticality or unexpected results, since applicant has not disclosed that the claimed geometry solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose, absent persuasive evidence that the particular geometry of the terminal protrusion is essential and/or significant, the shape of the surface coupling the multiple surfaces would be an obvious matter of design choice to one ordinarily skilled in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04).
It is noted that Soleski also discloses that each of the recesses are sized and shaped according to the shape of the corresponding terminal protrusion [para. 0043].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2022/0109135 A1, Altero et al. teaches a terminal structure (corresponding to battery connector assembly 10) comprising a terminal protrusion (58), the terminal structure (10) comprising a first surface (corresponding to top surface of terminal post 22) and multiple surfaces substantially orthogonal to the first surface (corresponding to side surface of terminal post 22) [Fig. 3]; and a feature (58) to securely couple a connector (22) to the terminal structure (10) [Fig. 1 and paras. 0023-0024].
/MAYLA GONZALEZ RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721